List Mgmt. 2020 Trade Watch

Current no. of players on the list
Senior list - 34 (2-4 free*)
Rookie (Cat A) - 4 (0-2 free*)
Rookie (Cat B) - 2 (0 free)
Maximum list size of 44. Up to 36-38 senior list, 4-6 category A rookie list and 2 category B rookie list.
* Total of four list spots available, with a minimum of 2 senior list spots needing to be utilised.

List changes
IN: Daniher, Cockatoo, Uosis (R)
OUT: Christensen, Wooller, Allison (R), Skinner (R), Eagles (R), C. Lyons (R), Martin, Witherden, Cox, Hinge.
PROMOTED: Fullarton.
ROOKIED: Birchall, Mathieson, Ballendan.

Current picks
25, 53, 58, 69, 70
(2021 - 1st (MEL), 1st, 3rd (WCE), 3rd, 4th (MEL), 4th (COLL), 5th)

Useful links
2020 trade news compendium
List changes, contract status and key dates
2020 draft discussion thread

I think Witherden will be a player that ends up being very good for another club if we do let him go.

Not necessarily anything wrong with that. You can't keep everyone.

He did mention that we would be focusing on long term replacements, which may suggest that we are keen on keeping a couple of our early picks for the draft. But again, please don’t take this as gospel.
I do hope we draft a ruck to be the long term replacement. Ordinarily I'm not in favour of drafting them because big men take 6-7 years to mature, but we have Oscar in his prime to play first ruck, McStay in his prime to play relief, and Archie will be a capable backup for another season. So there's time to find a good one.

Pretty sure i've heard that internally, we really rate Dev and believe he has a big future with us. Witho will only go if he decides to move on for better opportunities. He can easily push his way into the 22 if he can improve. He played a lot of footy early on because he was drafted at a time when there were no competition for spots. The fact he isn't playing now isn't a sign of him going backwards, it is a sign of improved depth.
Whether Witho has regressed, or the team has progressed, the result is basically the same - others have gone ahead of him. Not impossible he will make it back into best 22, but clearly has some areas to improve for that to happen. But others might improve too.

Possibly mate. This bloke is certainly not a decision maker when it comes to any of our recruiting and more just sharing some of his thoughts and some of what he knows. But reading between the lines, it seems like they are the positions we are looking to fill. He did mention that we would be focusing on long term replacements, which may suggest that we are keen on keeping a couple of our early picks for the draft. But again, please don’t take this as gospel.

One thing I did forget to mention was that he/the club? (Can’t honestly remember if it was just his personal opinion) think that Ben Brown would NOT be a good fit for the team due to his playing style and would not be seriously looked at.

Lastly, (and this is also pretty obvious stuff) he said that the club want to keep their cards very close to their chest. The recruiters are obviously doing their due diligence behind the scenes and there is no shortage of players who would like to play for the Lions. But the sole focus at this stage is finals. I think that we may have to wait until the end of our finals campaign to get a real indication as to who we might be looking at.

Really can’t add much more than that, but exciting stuff. Go Lions

Thanks for sharing! 👍

I have been impressed with what the club have done in regards to drafting and trading. Not selling the farm to get players in and thus impacting on our draft selections. It’s a fine balance but I think we are doing it well.

In the ruck front, I thought a tweet from Mason Cox after our game was interesting. Basically “pretty amazing to see how far Brisbane have come over the years.” And then a mention for the Gabba crowd. Now I thought this was nice. Pies supporters were reminding him to concentrate on their game the next day and not the oppo teams. But I can’t recall too many players saying things like that about a team in general while playing for another team. I’ve seen oppo players receive a mention around their anniversary games but not like this. Apparently he played well too.

Deven could be an interesting situation too come trade period. Darren Glass becoming West Coast list manager may have some implications here.

Just spit balling, but he has a very easy way back home now with help from his list manager Uncle.
I'd think slim to zero chance it's even talked about. Has one of his best mates at the club, got his debut in round 1 and gets to learn off some of the best midfielders in the game. With Zorks and Robbo getting on there's likely to be some shuffling around of the midfield at some point and opportunities up for grabs, without even considering any injuries or suspensions that might pop up as well. Not much to gain going home besides being around family and more friends. WC midfield is stacked as well with Shuey, Kelly, Redden, Sheed and Yeo, so he wouldn't even be close to a solid 22 role. Plus you'd think their cash is tied up pretty well with all the veterans and guns they've gotta squeeze into their own salary cap. So I'd be mega surprised if that was even rumoured just because his uncle got a job with the list management.

One thing many people in footy don't seem to want in the narrative but it happens with lots of other kids you see at that age, they can't wait to get away from their families.

In the ruck front, I thought a tweet from Mason Cox after our game was interesting. Basically “pretty amazing to see how far Brisbane have come over the years.” And then a mention for the Gabba crowd. Now I thought this was nice. Pies supporters were reminding him to concentrate on their game the next day and not the oppo teams. But I can’t recall too many players saying things like that about a team in general while playing for another team. I’ve seen oppo players receive a mention around their anniversary games but not like this. Apparently he played well too.
A bit of rose-tinted glasses after great performances by each of them over the weekend, but I'm curious what a combo of Big O and Cox as the Ruck + Forward would look like in games. Personally I like the Daniher rumour if we can get him healthy. With how dynamic and athletic he is, imagine what we could do to Port's backline of short people with him added to the lineup.

One thing many people in footy don't seem to want in the narrative but it happens with lots of other kids you see at that age, they can't wait to get away from their families.
Especially in footy with the spotlight on you, I'm not sure I'd be keen to go to a club where my family member works in hiring and firing. Just wouldn't want any opportunities for people to think you're being treated differently because of your relationships or to have your relationship with them impacted based on choices they have to make about you. Keep things separate and build your own legacy.

I have been against us acquiring Daniher because I struggle with the concept of he and Hipwood fitting into the same forward line.

Both tall, stringbean physiques, both left footers and both given to spraying set shots at goal from easy distances and angles.

Pretty much the same player and do we need two of them up forward?

There is another possibility though.

As terrific as Robbo has been as a Lion, he surely is approaching his use by date as a wingman.

Soooo.....what if we had Daniher as the mobile tall forward and Hippy slotting into Robbo's wing position?

Hippy seems to have developed his engine really nicely this season and has been pushing up to the wing and even half back to take relieving outlet marks. Did it beautifully last Friday night I thought. Richo (Richmond) had a couple of stellar years performing this type of role in the second half of his career whilst remaining a genuine goal kicking threat in the forward half of the ground. Further, Hippy has generally been most dangerous when he's been able to use his athleticism, pace and agility to burn off his opponents

I think he'd make an ideal attacking wingman

Am I onto something here ?

I have been against us acquiring Daniher because I struggle with the concept of he and Hipwood fitting into the same forward line.

Both tall, stringbean physiques, both left footers and both given to spraying set shots at goal from easy distances and angles.

Pretty much the same player and do we need two of them up forward?

There is another possibility though.

As terrific as Robbo has been as a Lion, he surely is approaching his use by date as a wingman.

Soooo.....what if we had Daniher as the mobile tall forward and Hippy slotting into Robbo's wing position?

Hippy seems to have developed his engine really nicely this season and has been pushing up to the wing and even half back to take relieving outlet marks. Did it beautifully last Friday night I thought. Richo (Richmond) had a couple of stellar years performing this type of role in the second half of his career whilst remaining a genuine goal kicking threat in the forward half of the ground. Further, Hippy has generally been most dangerous when he's been able to use his athleticism, pace and agility to burn off his opponents

I think he'd make an ideal attacking wingman

Am I onto something here ?
Hey get into the queue....has been floated many times Hippy/wingman.

A big issue with Hipwood playing on the wing is that we like to play our skinny side winger at the stoppage. It relies on the winger to be able to read the ball out of the stoppage and position themselves to defend the breakaway from the pack, or run forward at the stoppage win and try to offer an option on the outside. I think the wing is more of a midfielder these days rather than the roaming half forward type (which I think Hipwood would be best suited to).

Who is Dev's best mate at the Club?

Yeah I'm curious too. I am hoping we get Nathan O'Driscoll in this draft as he seemed very close to Dev. Looks like he might go higher than our likely picks.

I think we have enough of ‘inside types’ and we don’t want to become like Melbourne. I think we will have a few different types come in. Like others I do believe we need another ruck even though I love what Oscar has brought Martin is on the decline and then there is only Archie. A lot of attaching drives are from the backhalf and I don’t think we as a club are consistent in this area so maybe either an intercepting third tall or HBF (am aware that we drafted two of these types last year). My personal preference from the draft are some x-factor types like Archie Perkins or Eddie Ford. One thing is for certain they do need to be able to win their own ball and show a desire to tackle (modern game).

Edit: or we could be looking to trade these types in.

Would not surprise me one bit if we traded up to Bulldogs pick 13 to get Heath Chapman. At 193cm can play tall, small, intercepting marking player and provides great run. Similar player to Berry/Brodie Smith.

What
Why do highlight videos only show the offensive highlights. No defense no game for the Lions (not saying he wouldn't be a good pick by the way).
The Highlight video is there to show his weapons as a player, which is his intercept marking. A great offense in intercept marking is a great defense in todays modern game.

Who is Dev's best mate at the Club?
Jaxon Prior.

Not his best mate, but close friends, they both worked for a football academy, running underage development camps, etc.

As well as playing in the same state teams since U12’s.

They talk about each other in their first interview on the Roar Deal podcast, post draft.

I think we have enough of ‘inside types’ and we don’t want to become like Melbourne. I think we will have a few different types come in. Like others I do believe we need another ruck even though I love what Oscar has brought Martin is on the decline and then there is only Archie. A lot of attaching drives are from the backhalf and I don’t think we as a club are consistent in this area so maybe either an intercepting third tall or HBF (am aware that we drafted two of these types last year). My personal preference from the draft are some x-factor types like Archie Perkins or Eddie Ford. One thing is for certain they do need to be able to win their own ball and show a desire to tackle (modern game).

Edit: or we could be looking to trade these types in.
My guess is Nakia Cockatoo is a similar type of player as Eddie Ford and Archie Perkins.

What are peoples thoughts on Peter Wright?

I've been thinking if Stefan Martin retires, we are short on a ruckmen who can cover for Smith and Big O. We won't find a ready made young ruckmen. If Wright is willing to play in the ruck, which he did in his junior days, he would be good cover not only for our ruck divisions, but also our key forwards. Even if we bring Daniher to the club it would create competition for spots and also strengthen the squad. It's just a thought, could be a handy pick up on the cheap, trade wise.

What are peoples thoughts on Peter Wright?

I've been thinking if Stefan Martin retires, we are short on a ruckmen who can cover for Smith and Big O. We won't find a ready made quality ruckmen. If Wright is willing to play in the ruck, which he did in his junior days he would be good cover not only for our ruck divisions, but also our key forwards. Even if we bring Daniher to the club it would create competition for spots and also straighten the squad. It's just a thought, could e handy pick up on the cheap, trade wise.

As I’ve said before, I reckon Mason Cox would be an amazing fit for us. He and O could literally 50/50 forward and ruck swap for us as a real point of difference to any other side in the comp. They are both highly capable ruckmen. O is fast becoming one of the top six rucks in the comp. I actually think Cox could become an excellent ruck as well if provided the minutes.

As forwards, both would stretch oppo defenders as 205cm+ contested marking options. I would bet both would take one contested I50 mark per game; that would be massive, pardon the pun.

This, in addition to all our other weapons, would add a lot IMO to our side,

List Mgmt. 2020 Trade Watch