Game Day 2021 AFL Grand Final - Melbourne v Western Bulldogs, Saturday 25 September, 7:15pm AEST, Optus Stadium

Reckon you guys are feeling the same way we are. Breathe, unclench buttocks, repeat.

Hopefully whichever way it goes the losing team today can say no excuses, we gave it our best shot, proud of the boys but the better team got us on the day.

Either way, it's been a hell of a season.

Good luck to all. Should be a cracker

Only difference is imo us the fact the Doggies have already broken their drought. I have no doubts that Doggie supporters are nervous af as we are but that 2016 win wasn't that long ago, so that gives us the edge in nervousness. Whatever happens I think both teams will be contesting for years to come.

Reckon you guys are feeling the same way we are. Breathe, unclench buttocks, repeat.

Hopefully whichever way it goes the losing team today can say no excuses, we gave it our best shot, proud of the boys but the better team got us on the day.

Either way, it's been a hell of a season.

Good luck to all. Should be a cracker

I have a feeling our two clubs are going to create a bit of a rivalry over the next few years, there may be some big finals games between us, now let’s all hope we can be at the MCG to watch it live.

Good luck today guys. Think it'll be a ripping game. I've got a tiny bit of history with the Demons. I played school footy against Max Gawn and when I was a kid Glenn Lovett was our next door neighbour, we used to play kick to kick over the fence during the mid 90's! There's a name you probably wouldn't have heard today haha

Hope it's close, I hate blow-out GF's but really think it'll be one of the best games in a while. Cheers

Been a funny day so far. Will continue to be.

I did a couple of hours' work this morning, went to an open home, did an interview about the agony of being a Dees fan for ABC Breakfast TV, and then did my racing form as I usually would. Off to another open home soon, then meeting a mate for a burger. Will watch the horses this afternoon (continuing where I currently am by shirking all parental responsibilities) and won't allow myself a beer until 5pm, otherwise I'll be pissed for kickoff.

Will knock up a big cheese and meat board, settle on the couch and watch the game whilst simultaneously keeping an eye on Bigfooty (Dees forum always) and social media. If we win, I will meet my old man for a celebratory drink or 4 and then see if I can rouse anybody to enjoy the Queensland nightlife.

It all feels very normal. I'm anxious, but I think we're the best team in the competition - if we can just play to our ability. I just need to know the result.

I'm going for a walk, and to kick any dog I come across.

I just realised I gave my dog a scratching behind the ear for a couple of minutes, which he loved...I've now resorted to giving him evil looks, he's very confused

If it's not a Bulldog then carry on, if it is a bulldog, get better taste in dogs :tearsofjoy:

He's a schnoodle. No way would I have one of those sniffling, slobbering bulldogs in my house haha

Trying to kill some time so I watched the press conference which I have been skipping lately. I've never realised just how likeable Goodwin and Gawn are. I especially loved Gawn talking about the previous great Dees sides as a lot of players, even captains, don't seem to really care about the history of the club before they got there. It's clear how much he cares and I can't help but like him on a day I'm dreading what he could do.

I'm not really sure why I'm posting on your forum but I'm all over the place right now. Good luck today, I reckon no matter what happens today will go down as one of the greatest grand finals.

I as a very young man knew John Northey, through that connection knew a lot more about his Dees teams than I otherwise would have. Followed them quite avidly during that era and was amazed that such an unextraordinary team could perform so well. B
Short chubby Brian Wilson was freakish in the forward line in those days, but I recall he missed critical games. 97 preliminary was unbelievable...still can't believe it, Buckenara of all people. Fast forward to today, I reckon the Dees have what it takes after they settle. The Tiges in 17 were quite edgy first 10 mins, then found their rhythm. I think it will be same today. Goodwin is extremely underrated coach, he prob like it that way.

DE1EC656-943B-45E9-8C12-B927FC686E74.jpeg

Watching this with one of my partners uni friends family who are all diehard Doggies supporters. Got the missus to grab me the last piece of Demons merch from the AFL store in the complex she works at!

Go Dees today!

Posted this at the start of the year.

I have a friend now in his late 60s who has attended almost every Melbourne game at the G since the 1960s. He got me into the 2000 and 2001 GFs on a MCC guest pass. I live in Queensland now but we still ring each other most Sunday nights to discuss the footy. He told me last Sunday night after I said that Melbourne are looking good, "I just want to see one flag before I die!"

I'm on the Melbourne bandwagon this year.

He sent me this photo this morning.

20210925_132659.jpg

C'mon Dees!!

View attachment 1245573

Watching this with one of my partners uni friends family who are all diehard Doggies supporters. Got the missus to grab me the last piece of Demons merch from the AFL store in the complex she works at!

Go Dees today!

Haha that definitely looks like the last piece of merch available.

Game Day 2021 AFL Grand Final - Melbourne v Western Bulldogs, Saturday 25 September, 7:15pm AEST, Optus Stadium