Training 2021 Training - pics, reports etc

I’m all for celebrating young players but I’d cool the jets on durdin. He was pick 37 in an average draft. I hope he is as good as you are all comparing him to but I’m not gonna set myself up for disappointment. If he proves to be a gem I’ll come back here and make an apology. Looking forward to the year. Finals has to be on the cards

Just enjoy his development mate, the kid isn't going to come out and kick 30+ in his first year ;)

Where are we fitting all these players in ... I'm of the opinion Smurf should be phased out this year. Get him to 300 games (this WILL happen peeps) and let him retire as the club champion he is.

Wing is interesting ... its either Willo/Newnes/Walsh, but it has been alluded to Walshy is set for more centre bounce time so ... maybe SPS on the Wing ... dunno, just doesn't strike me as that sort of player.
All good points. I'm very keen to get Murphy to 300, but not at the expense of a Dow/Stocker/Kemp/Philp/LOB who would be absolutely knocking down the door in the 2s.

Personally for rd 1 (where Newman is most likely still injured), I'd have SPS on HBF, Willo on the wing, and Walsh on the other. If Murph was to rotate between HFF and the wing, it would be then when Walshy plays in the guts.

Just enjoy his development mate, the kid isn't going to come out and kick 30+ in his first year ;)
I think we're all just cautious of a Dow/LOB 2.0

Both top 10 picks but haven't shown an awful lot for the investment put into them. There is still time for both, but I just hope with the VFL back up and running, we can get some serious development and senior games too.

In regards to Durdin, although he's only a pick in the late 30s, he's one of our only small forward prospects for our post Betts team.

Big year for all our youngsters.

Both top 10 picks but haven't shown an awful lot for the investment put into them. There is still time for both, but I just hope with the VFL back up and running, we can get some serious development and senior games too.

In regards to Durdin, although he's only a pick in the late 30s, he's one of our only small forward prospects for our post Betts team.

Cautious? It's pick 37, hardly the end of the world if it turns out to be nothing. Hopefully he can fill that small gap in the future, especially with Betts presumably playing his last year, but we'll see.

Dow and Lob certainly disappointing, but Dow played once in 2020 and LOB didn't play at all, hardly good for their development. Hopefully get some continuity in the 2's.

I wouldn't get the pitchforks and torches out until they've played 100 games or at the very least gotten to 23-24.

Looking forward to Harry and King development the most.

I’m all for celebrating young players but I’d cool the jets on durdin. He was pick 37 in an average draft. I hope he is as good as you are all comparing him to but I’m not gonna set myself up for disappointment. If he proves to be a gem I’ll come back here and make an apology. Looking forward to the year. Finals has to be on the cards
Historically, small forwards often don't go high in the draft. For example:

Brent Harvey: Pick 47
Eddie Betts: Preseason Draft
Charlie Cameron: Rookie Draft
Tom Papley: Rookie Draft
Stephen Milne: Rookie Draft
Michael Walters: Pick 53
Jeff Garlett: Rookie Draft
Anthony McDonald-Tippa: Rookie Draft
Luke Bruest: Rookie Draft

Again this year, clubs snapped up the KPP's and gun mids early, so Durdin may well have been the best small in the draft....time will tell of course, but I reckon he'll be a ripper, just got that gut feel.

Cautious? It's pick 37, hardly the end of the world if it turns out to be nothing. Hopefully he can fill that small gap in the future, especially with Betts presumably playing his last year, but we'll see.

Yep, just like I mentioned ;)

Dow and Lob certainly disappointing, but Dow played once in 2020 and LOB didn't play at all, hardly good for their development. Hopefully get some continuity in the 2's.

I wouldn't get the pitchforks and torches out until they've played 100 games or at the very least gotten to 23-24.

Dow 3 (his brother played 2), LOB 1 for 2020
But both played significant number of games in yr 1 & 2

So I take it your "ideal" (assuming everyone is fit) would look like this?

Plow Jones Marchy
Doc Weiters Saad

SPS as the seventh (which we usually play)

Correct. SPS to come off the wing and play defensive run as needed. He and Williams are just perfect for this role. We now have 2 perfect wingers with Williamson off the bench as the 3rd. Yep get excited if the coaches do this.

The minute Eddie gets injured or rested, I reckon Durdin is going to take his opportunity with both hands and make that spot his own.

Rd 1:
Martin, Casboult, Fisher
Betts, McKay, McGovern

By years' end:
Martin, Curnow, Fisher
Durdin, McKay, McGovern
Spot on. Would love Gibbons to be the 7th forward on the bench out of that lot, rotating through the midfield as well. Expect guys like Fog, Philp and Honey to provide some serious competition too.

Historically, small forwards often don't go high in the draft. For example:

Brent Harvey: Pick 47
Eddie Betts: Preseason Draft
Charlie Cameron: Rookie Draft
Tom Papley: Rookie Draft
Stephen Milne: Rookie Draft
Michael Walters: Pick 53
Jeff Garlett: Rookie Draft
Anthony McDonald-Tippa: Rookie Draft
Luke Bruest: Rookie Draft

Again this year, clubs snapped up the KPP's and gun mids early, so Durdin may well have been the best small in the draft....time will tell of course, but I reckon he'll be a ripper, just got that gut feel.

Good research BH ... solid.

Fisher?

I’m hopeful our new no 16 in Carroll can emulate our old no 16 in Campo and get some decent game time on a wing in his first year, have high hopes for the smooth moving youngster.

Spent the year at Colts level.

Is skinny and also late December bday.

He'd be behind a logjam of players fighting for midfield time.

I don't think we'll see him much at senior level this year.

But I'm very excited about him. Plays inside and out, has good skills and decision making. Can't wait til he comes into the side.

Training 2021 Training - pics, reports etc