Fixture 2023 Fixture News & Leaks : Round 1 Released, see OP

Over the last 10 years the only 2 clubs to have played more away games in Bumfuq, Idaho (Port Adelaide and Gold Coast) have both had in place agreements with the home clubs to be the away team for some of those junkets.

Being the 2nd most winning club over the last 4 years evidently counts for nothing.
the china games were home for us and as a result we lost a metricon home game. just saying

Adelaide and Port get a huge leg up by having SA host magic round. I can't see how they should get an extra advantage by playing teams from interstate.

They're getting 11 home games outside of this anyway. In essence now both are getting 12 home games in Adelaide against non-SA club's.

This is my point. If the Magic Round is held in Adelaide, then the SA teams get an extra home game advantage whether they play a Showdown in it or not.

Each SA team will get 13 games in Adelaide with 2 being Showdowns - so 11 games with an advantage and 10 away games with a disadvantage. This won’t change whether you play one of the Showdowns in Magic Round or you don’t. If it makes no difference, don’t waste the Showdown in Magic Round.

Adelaide and Port get a huge leg up by having SA host magic round. I can't see how they should get an extra advantage by playing teams from interstate.

They're getting 11 home games outside of this anyway. In essence now both are getting 12 home games in Adelaide against non-SA club's.
And it would be the same for Sydney and GWS or Brisbane and Gold Coast or West Coast and Fremantle when magic round rolls around to New South Wales, Queensland and Western Australia respectively. Nothing to see here, move on…

This is my point. If the Magic Round is held in Adelaide, then the SA teams get an extra home game advantage whether they play a Showdown in it or not.

Each SA team will get 13 games in Adelaide with 2 being Showdowns - so 11 games with an advantage and 10 away games with a disadvantage. This won’t change whether you play one of the Showdowns in Magic Round or you don’t. If it makes no difference, don’t waste the Showdown in Magic Round.
The whole justification was based around all the other clubs having 11 home, 11 away and 1 neutral.

To 2 club's they get 11 home games and 12 away games. A distinct disadvantage because the AFL aren't playing a Showdown. If it were in Queensland, NSW or Tassie I guarantee that you'd get a Q Clash, Coathanger cup or Hawthorne vs North as one of the matches respectively. As it should be.

And it would be the same for Sydney and GWS or Brisbane and Gold Coast or West Coast and Fremantle when magic round rolls around to New South Wales, Queensland and Western Australia respectively. Nothing to see here, move on…
That's the point, wherever it's held, it should 100% have a Derby or Showdown so that the other clubs don't get disadvantaged by it.

The Showdown is one of if not the biggest rivalry in AFL today. Guaranteed to bring a big crowd in any round it’s played. It doesn’t need to be played not should be in Magic Round. And I doubt if it were in QLD they’d play the Q Clash or in WA the Western Derby or in NSW the Battle of the Bridge.

They should. That's the point.

If it were in NSW or Queensland they absolutely would. If it were in Tassie, they'd do Hawks vs North.

They should. That's the point.

If it were in NSW or Queensland they absolutely would. If it were in Tassie, they'd do Hawks vs North.

I don’t think they would. If they played it in Sydney they’d want the Swans and Giants playing separate games to try to guarantee a semi-decent crowd for at least two games.

Whoever plays Adelaide and Port will get a 12th away game, so just get them to host a couple of teams that aren’t playing finals anyway. Make it us, who cares. At least that’d get us out of playing in Elizabeth or Nurioopta.

There’s so many inequities in the fixture, this is just one more.

The theory behind Carlton v North is purely a bigger crowd. Which it will. Still, stiff for the Dogs.

Yes but also Carlton (along with North) were the first clubs to push for the GF fixture for years, so if you look at it from that perspective, it's fair enough..

What a complete load of utter s**t.
The Bulldogs get shafted for North not being very good.

I am willing to bet my house Channel 7 pushed hard for Carlton to be part of the Good Friday game..

No doubt about it - more eyes on the game means more advertising dollars, but it’s still a slap in the face.

Agreed, in fairness (least from an on field perspective and performance) it should have been North Melbourne, not The Dogs that should have been punted if the AFL wanted a bigger club like Carlton, but we all know the AFL doesn't really operate like that.

The AFL imo owes the Doggies a bone and should at least try throw your club and have a Marquee game/annual fixture against say The Dees on another public holiday if possible.
Frankly I am a bit sick of Hawthorn v Geelong on Easter Monday, would be happy for Dogs v Dees to replace that for a few years or so.

same leg up that vic clubs get by playing 13-15 games in victoria every year?

Agreed, besides, if this thing becomes an annual event, it will rotate every season, so it's not always going to be hosted in Adelaide/SA.

Bit of unnecessary grizzling over the whole Magic Round concept from that perspective imo (I don't see we actually need it at all tbh, unless you want to grow it in a developing footy state or region, like NSW, QLD or even Tassie)

Agreed, besides, if this thing becomes an annual event, it will rotate every season, so it's not always going to be hosted in Adelaide/SA.

Bit of unnecessary grizzling over the whole Magic Round concept from that perspective imo (I don't see we actually need it at all tbh, unless you want to grow it in a developing footy state or region, like NSW, QLD or even Tassie)
share it around between SA, WA, QLD and NSW. every 4 years one of them gets to host it. SA will do it best like we usually do with events.

Not so much with the Grand Prix though lol :)

But I like your proposal generally.

Not so much with the Grand Prix though lol :)

But I like your proposal generally.
Well that's why it was taken off us.... it was massive and we did it well. Vic government Offred more cash for it. i was only 12 at the time when we lost it but the Adelaide GP had a much better feel/vibe etc to any of the Albert Park ones i have been to. something special about that Adelaide Street circuit.
i just hope the Saturday double header at Adelaide oval has 4 big drawing clubs.. Caltron and Collingwood have massive fan base over here. Would be great to see them clash.. along with a Geelong v Richmond. i reckon the Crows will get the Thursday night timeslot against a Bulldogs or a Essendon. Port to hopefully get the Dees on a Friday night

Fixture 2023 Fixture News & Leaks : Round 1 Released, see OP