News 2023 St Kilda Media Thread

In the VFL for Sandringham? He was pretty good in the ruck contests Billy but he was next to useless around the ground.

He was kind of the opposite to Marshall but Roma isn't as bad in the ruck contests as Billy was around the ground.

How dare you, none can point at a scoreboard like ol Billy, Roma wished his hands moved so pointedly towards a positive direction.

In the VFL for Sandringham? He was pretty good in the ruck contests Billy but he was next to useless around the ground.

He was kind of the opposite to Marshall but Roma isn't as bad in the ruck contests as Billy was around the ground.
I think he was better round the ground than they played him for. He was a pretty good set shot but they made him handball off which was terribly insulting I thought.
Maybe they should actually do that with Roma.

We had 32,000 members during those years and didn't capitalise on our most successful era ever because of shoddy off-field management. Nobody cares that we sold more tickets at games, we were millions in debt when Finnis took over.

It's very simple. Look at the state the club was in when he took over and look at the state it's in now. Do that for all our administrations and rank them. I reckon Finnis is right up there if not the best we have ever had.

• Doubled membership
  • Reduced debt
  • Filled all sponsorship spaces (first time in club history)
  • Brought us back to Moorabbin (the excuses about "oh it was easier because the AFL wanted it" is absolutely hilarious by the way)

You'll see how much of a difference he made to our football club when Lethlean leaves and we weigh up his performance as CEO. Yes made some bad calls but who doesn't? Everyone was raving about Bassat being a hard arse and now even you're complaining about the appointments of Lyon and co.
Our stadium deal at Etihad was the real problem, it's no wonder we couldn't get any money into the bank

Good point mate I had forgotten about that

How dare you, none can point at a scoreboard like ol Billy, Roma wished his hands moved so pointedly towards a positive direction.

That was the highlight of his career for us with that massive upset against Freo, I think they were top of the ladder and we were last on the ladder.

7afe034ae5e85be2117a2e8df9fb258e.jpg

I actually liked Billy and his work around the ground was improving but I think it was the concussions that ended his career with us rather than Finnis.

Unless I'm mistaken, didn't he send out a tweet saying he didn't rate the way Sincs plays a couple of weeks back? Something about continuing the long saints history of playing selfish footy and wanting to look over his videos?
GT not getting enough clicks...better be controversial for a bit 🙄
I don't mind the old curmudgeon truth be told, but Jesus he comes out with some dumb shit sometimes.

Credit where credit is due - he seemed to do an excellent job with our finances which was extremely challenging, the great rebuild of Moorabbin facilities and all the soft & cuddly stuff - on balance probably close to an A grade result.

The core football business (which to be fair is partly dependent on money & facilities) - at best seemed an afterthought and sadly neglected leading to the Saints becoming largely irrelevant and supporters losing hope and becoming disenchanted - D grade result.

But because the AFL gave us a massive distribution and council and state government funded it as a community facility to share with several others. We haven't really generated the money ourselves because we get no-one to games and are not playing regular finals to bring more people to the games. We do have good membership numbers but I'd think that ours seems to have grown at around the same level as other AFL clubs.

We should never have left Moorabin, he did make the decision to return though.

We would have had our own cash to spend if we made ourselves attractive.

GT not getting enough clicks...better be controversial for a bit 🙄
I don't mind the old curmudgeon truth be told, but Jesus he comes out with some dumb s**t sometimes.

His message is probably right but I think his target was wrong. The side is playing for themselves but you don't look at Sincs and think that he's one of the selfish ones. If you had 22 Sinclairs you aren't as shit as us.

But because the AFL gave us a massive distribution and council and state government funded it as a community facility to share with several others. We haven't really generated the money ourselves because we get no-one to games and are not playing regular finals to bring more people to the games. We do have good membership numbers but I'd think that ours seems to have grown at around the same level as other AFL clubs.

We should never have left Moorabin, he did make the decision to return though.

We would have had our own cash to spend if we made ourselves attractive.
Agree with what you say but just make the point it takes a lot of time, patience & expertise to get money out of the Council & State Governments.

Dealing with those guys isn’t easy & have sent many around the bend!

His message is probably right but I think his target was wrong. The side is playing for themselves but you don't look at Sincs and think that he's one of the selfish ones. If you had 22 Sinclairs you aren't as s**t as us.
If we had 22 Sinclair’s there a fair chance I would be buying a very nice Grange in September & pulling the cork out!

Ross Lyon on 3AW football 9/7

Ross offers so much more insight in his press conferences/interviews than his predecessors
Always feel so much better after listening to him
the world is not ending LOL
We are in good hands

He's an excellent communicator. He really seems to be in control of things, it makes me much less stressed to know that there are some professional people in important positions finally.

We are in good hands
So funny I feel the same way LOL. I've felt pretty pissed off with some performances immediately post-game and then 30 minutes later I'll watch his presser and go eh it's not too bad.

No wonder he was in real estate can sell sand to an Arab that bloke

Was at the game so I didn’t see the tv and doubt I’ll watch a replay.
RTB said that for the first time he lost his cool - when exactly was that, if anyone remembers?
I’d be interested to know what finally made him lose it. I would imagine he would not have been happy with Cordy going down but can’t believe that would have been the moment.