Fortunately the AFL schedules the finals fixture, not the participating clubs.Geelong would take a Kardinia Park final against anyone 100 times out of 100, and wouldn’t give a second thought to the attendance.
Fantastic crowd at the MCG. Much higher than I expected.
- Geelong's highest 'home' crowd in history surpassing the previous record of 87,653 against Essendon in 1989.
- 2nd biggest Geelong H&A crowd in history.
- 7th biggest Carlton H&A crowd in history.
Well the ACT isn't really a solid footy area, where Tassie is, or supposed to be. Not a well thought out comment by Matthews.
Would get the same for our own team rather than part time visitors of course. No footy to go to now until August now, that hurts.Absolutely. The Giants are also Canberra’s AFL team, and this is indicated by the sold out games we have had so far at Manuka.
I decided when the fixture came out that I wanted to go to this game.Yeah North need to get out of Tassie. There will be the usual retorts but Tassie just doesn't seem convincing that it's a footy loving state at times.
So going by my calculations, yesterdays crowd of 87,775 between Geelong and Carlton ranks as the 9th highest Home and Away crowd (29th overall) on a non-public holiday. The top 9 are -
1. 91,571 Carl v Ess R19 2000
2. 88,468 Ess v Rich R21 2007
3. 88,287 Carl v Coll R23 2022
4. 88,181 Coll v Carl R3 2011
5. 88,180 Rich v Coll R19 2018
6. 88,115 Coll v Geel R9 2010
7. 88,066 Coll v Ess R19 1992
8. 87,984 Carl v Ess R22 1995
9. 87,775 Geel v Carl R7 2024
Well done to both teams supporters!
That rd 19, 2000 crowd might be broken this Friday night.So going by my calculations, yesterdays crowd of 87,775 between Geelong and Carlton ranks as the 9th highest Home and Away crowd (29th overall) on a non-public holiday. The top 9 are -
2. 88,468 Ess v Rich R21 2007
3. 88,287 Carl v Coll R23 2022
4. 88,181 Coll v Carl R3 2011
5. 88,180 Rich v Coll R19 2018
6. 88,115 Coll v Geel R9 2010
7. 88,066 Coll v Ess R19 1992
8. 87,984 Carl v Ess R22 1995
9. 87,775 Geel v Carl R7 2024
Well done to both teams supporters!
My apologies. Had season openers marked as a public holiday on my end.You left out RD 1 2018, Rich V Carl 90,151
and 2023 RD 1, Rich V Carl 88,084
Just made a small edit to your numbers. Just outside the top 10
2. 90,151 Rich V Carl RD 1 2018
3. 88,468 Ess v Rich R21 2007
4. 88,287 Carl v Coll R23 2022
5. 88,181 Coll v Carl R3 2011
6. 88,180 Rich v Coll R19 2018
7. 88,115 Coll v Geel R9 2010
8. 88,084 Rich V Carl RD 1 2023
9. 88,066 Coll v Ess R19 1992
10. 87,984 Carl v Ess R22 1995
-------------------------------------
11. 87,775 Geel v Carl R7 2024
My apologies. Had season openers marked as a public holiday on my end.
Looking at that, I can’t help but think Vic is split between the Big 4, the Middle 3 (who are each in the table) and the bottom 3 (who are not in the table).
But is Melbourne only in the middle 3 because they have a good team right now? Hawthorn are at least there even with a poor team. I look at it as a middle two and a bottom four, albeit Melbourne probably have the biggest financial muscle of that bottom four.Looking at that, I can’t help but think Vic is split between the Big 4, the Middle 3 (who are each in the table) and the bottom 3 (who are not in the table).
St kilda have a bigger base than what they are given credit for. Just dont see it very much.But is Melbourne only in the middle 3 because they have a good team right now? Hawthorn are at least there even with a poor team. I look at it as a middle two and a bottom four, albeit Melbourne probably have the biggest financial muscle of that bottom four.
Pretty ordinary crowd at the GC match so no spike because Hardwick is the coach they need to start winning matches to get their crowds up.Looking at that, I can’t help but think Vic is split between the Big 4, the Middle 3 (who are each in the table) and the bottom 3 (who are not in the table).
Maybe so, but they simply don't have the financial power that other clubs have. From memory they're only stronger than North, Gold Coast and GWS (now that Brisbane are back in the black).St kilda have a bigger base than what they are given credit for. Just dont see it very much.
Give it time and it will improve. Winning people in a new area takes time and 13 initial years of being awful is tough to overcome. Part of the problem is how hard their stadium is to access. The AFL made a mistake picking Carrara. They made a mistake with the Sydney Showground too, but at least that's getting a shiny new rail line connecting jt to both Sydney CBD and Parramatta CBD. Carrara has no transport solution on the horizon.Pretty ordinary crowd at the GC match so no spike because Hardwick is the coach they need to start winning matches to get their crowds up.
Because they've all sucked on the field and their stadia have usually been in awful locations. It doesn't help that the Gold Coast has been a very decentralised place, that is only starting to change now because they have light rail to concentrate development. But both the Suns and Titans play a long way from anywhere serviced by the light rail.I'm still not a fan of major sports being played at the GC as almost ALL have failed down the years!
I strongly disagree, this is just a case of the grass looking greener on the other side of the fence. The Gold Coast has almost four times as many people, many more footy fans and many more businesses to draw on for sponsorship. And it's growing much faster than Townsville.A second QLD would have been better in one of the large cities the north like Townsville where I reckon the tens of millions spent on the Suns would be more appropriate in growing the game in a greenfield site.
Looking at that, I can’t help but think Vic is split between the Big 4, the Middle 3 (who are each in the table) and the bottom 3 (who are not in the table).