List Mgmt. 2024 Draft/Trade/FA Thread – Pick 9, and big fishes Tom Campbell and Harry Sharp in 🎣🐟, ANB departs to the Crows for Pick 28 😢

Confirmed outs:
  • Alex Neal-Bullen (Traded to Adelaide)
  • Angus Brayshaw (Retired)
  • Ben Brown (Retired)
  • Lachie Hunter (Retired)
  • Adam Tomlinson (Delisted)
  • Josh Schache (Delisted)
  • Kyah Farris-White (Delisted)
  • Future First (Traded to Essendon)
  • Future Third (Traded to Adelaide)
  • Picks 40, 54, 65 (Traded to Essendon)
  • Pick 49 (Traded to Brisbane)
  • Joel Smith (Delisted)
Confirmed ins:
  • Tom Campbell (Free Agent from St Kilda)
  • Pick 9 (Traded from Essendon)
  • Harry Sharp (Traded from Brisbane)
  • Future Third (Traded from Brisbane)
On-traded:
  • Pick 28 (from Adelaide, to Essendon)
  • Pick 46 (from Adelaide, to Essendon)
  • Future Third (from Essendon, to Brisbane)

ESPN have him at pick 7 and Reid at 16 in their phantom draft.

Cal Twomey has Reid at 5 and Lindsay at 18.

I’m certain everything will tighten up in the week prior to the draft, but that’s a fair difference.
I'll take Twomey's opinion over an organisation that hired Knightmare as a 'draft expert', lol.

See I am leaning towards Langford. Thing is this draft has a lot of computations. So Smilie, Smith, Draper, FOS, Armstrong ,Langford, Lalor, Reid, could all go anywhere even No 1.

Smillie is the one I'm probably least enthusiastic about of that lot. What are his real strengths besides being tall?

Apparently recruiters are size queens themselves. They look at his size and they go "Next Bont or Crippa!"

Reminds me of the Nik Cox hype, despite the guy never really resembling an AFL footballer (Smillie will be better than that, but seems pretty vanilla outside of his height to me).

I'd wager that Nik Cox was 182 instead of 2+metres he would probably be a pick in the 60s,

I want us to draft for speed and run, linking up thru the middle and delivering into f50.

To me the player has to have the foot-speed and vision to see the opportunities before him, as well as ability to
step off-line, to break the lines in heavy traffic.

Has to be able to become an inside/outside mid.
This is 'the-now', appearing in-front of us in 2024.

Skip the size concept as they can't usually break-lines.
-----------------------

I also want us to trade up into the top 15, as a 2nd pick this year.

Lindsay or Reid for mine at P5

Joe Berry hopefully with another pick inside p15... maybe around p11.?

2 of these kids in our 1st Rnd would be great.
------------------------

2nd Rnd pickups - Maybe look here for tall marking options... a tall-follower type, or Power marking Key-forward.

-------------------

After 2nd Rnd. - lets go for a specialist small half-forward over head marking type... agility and evasiveness.

Put up Oliver for him it would get done
Wouldn't come close imo. SDK as a promising KPP at 23 is worth a fair bit more than Oliver, who not only has off-field issues, but hasn't played anywhere near his best footy for two years now.

As much as I like Reid I'd be wrapped with Draper or Jagga also, I'd be happy if we took any of those 3. I wouldn't even be upset if we went with Langford either. So many great options. Now watch us pick Smillie.

Yeah, I've certainly come around to Jagga – when I read about him initially, I wasn't super keen, but reckon some of the write-ups undersold him and made him seem one-dimensional. Looks like a smooth mover and just a smart player all round – probably the safest bet in the draft with Ashcroft. Reckon he probably goes before our pick though.

Agree on the others.

Why am I not surprised 2 rounds goes up to almost pick 50
It is actually becoming a real problem. The amount of locked away cheap talent going to NSW and Qld teams will only get worse with so many families relocating up there from the past few years.

We already have Swans, Lions and Giants entrenched in the top end for most of the last 6-8 years. If Suns ever get their act together and stop wasting their talent they will be right up there. Could easily see those 4 teams being the top 4 in coming years.

Wait until Tassie are taking a bunch of Vic talent under whatever BS rules the AFL put together. Really tough for smaller Vic clubs.

It is actually becoming a real problem. The amount of locked away cheap talent going to NSW and Qld teams will only get worse with so many families relocating up there from the past few years.

We already have Swans, Lions and Giants entrenched in the top end for most of the last 6-8 years. If Suns ever get their act together and stop wasting their talent they will be right up there. Could easily see those 4 teams being the top 4 in coming years.

Wait until Tassie are taking a bunch of Vic talent under whatever BS rules the AFL put together. Really tough for smaller Vic clubs.
Yeah it's hard seeing any of those clubs North of our border bottoming out. All 4 teams have unbelievably talented lists and supposedly a ton of young talent coming through the academies and father/son prospects. Minnow clubs like us really have to bottom out for a number of years to gather top end draft picks to have a chance. Even Hawks had to endure a number of years in obscurity. The Cats are just an enigma. They do however have a huge catchment area and an appealing draw home for youth in that area, but they've managed to never bottom out. Suns are the sleeping giant. Such a talented list, and once it unlocks will be hard to beat. Already gathering a nice home ground advantage. Once they start to figure out how to win away, they will take off.

Chad Warner at pick 39
Erroll Gulden at pick 32 (Bailey Laurie 🚮)

Would be handy as well.

My current two-round phantom, incorporating likely trades, free agent compensation, father-son and NGA bids.

As we get closer, I'll add the why's and where's and maybe some player evaluations.

Unfortunately, given the way I was treated by Demonland and their support of a bully, very unlikely I will be providing my usual inside information.
  1. Brisbane - Levi Ashcroft
  2. Richmond - Finn O'Sullivan
  3. North Melbourne - Harvey Langford
  4. Richmond - Sam Lalor
  5. Adelaide - Sid Draper
  6. Melbourne - Murphy Reid
  7. Gold Coast - Alix Tauru
  8. St Kilda - Jagga Smith
  9. St Kilda - Harry Armstrong
  10. Essendon - Josh Smillie
  11. Fremantle - Joe Berry
  12. Richmond - Jack Whitlock
  13. Carlton - Luke Trainor
  14. Gold Coast - Leo Lombard
  15. West Coast Eagles - Bo Allan
  16. GWS - Jobe Shanahan
  17. GWS - Taj Hotton
  18. GWS - Tobie Travaglia
  19. Richmond - Matt Whitlock
  20. Essendon - Isaac Kako
  21. Western Bulldogs - Xavier Lindsay
  22. Fremantle - Jonty Faull
  23. Sydney - Alex Dodson
  24. Sydney - Oliver Hannaford
  25. Carlton - Ben Camporeale
  26. Richmond - Jesse Dattoli
  27. Richmond - Harrison Oliver
  28. Richmond - Jack Ough
  29. North Melbourne - Cooper Hynes
  30. West Coast Eagles - Tom Gross
  31. St Kilda - Christian Moraes
  32. GWS - Logan Smith
  33. Melbourne - Jay Polkinghorne
  34. Fremantle - Ned Bowman
  35. Brisbane - Sam Marshall
  36. Richmond - Sam Davidson
  37. West Coast - Malakai Champion
  38. Hawthorn - Liam McMahon
  39. Western Bulldogs - Noah Mraz
  40. Collingwood - Charlie Nicholls
  41. St Kilda - Adrian Cole
  42. Port Adelaide - Benny Barrett
  43. Geelong - Lachlan Jaques
  44. Port Adelaide - Tom Sims
  45. St Kilda - Sam Linder
  46. Collingwood - Doug Kerr
  47. Melbourne - Harry Charleson
Interesting post. Are you able to break down the trades and compos?

Dragons won the Coates Talent League flag again. Armstrong kicked four, Murphy Reid had seven disposals and a goal in the first quarter, but then went off with a knee injury (unsure how bad).

Chad Warner at pick 39
Erroll Gulden at pick 32 (Bailey Laurie 🚮)

Would be handy as well.
Yeah I’m as doom and gloom as anyone but all the CFL is stacked against us is a bit of a cop out. Good clubs find a way. We’ve just got to stop being utter dickheads and make some tough calls.

List Mgmt. 2024 Draft/Trade/FA Thread – Pick 9, and big fishes Tom Campbell and Harry Sharp in 🎣🐟, ANB departs to the Crows for Pick 28 😢