2025 Best 23

Not a chance in hell that we play 5 draftees in Rd 1.

Plus Prestia and Bauer would need to be injured or horribly out of form not to play Rd 1. I reckon at least one of Miller and Blight will play too.
Funny, Miller in early season, never in selection frame. Tarrant, Gibcus and then Young were ahead. So, I don't expect him to play early. Miller lost form late year and , shoudda been dropped. Blight looks like he's training the house down. Definitely maybe. Maybe Trainor. Young isn't recovered enough.

The club managing Gibcus differently would be an opening for Blight. 5day break & flight killed him & Prestia. And I'm just waiting to hear Yze froth about Balta fwd. Balta got selected up forward last year to make way for Blight.

In the 5 year plan I'd be giving every opportunity to the gang of 8. We looked Brown grow 5 cms while JVan Rooyen run around Game 1 year 1. Blair looks like he's picked kids who are ready to go. I'd be playing as many as possible.

Brown's been good not great. Why not Trainor?

backs --- smith --- blight---vlaustin
hbacks-- brown---gibcus---trainor
center-- HRS--- tarranto--banks
hfwds-- MRJ -- fawcett---campbell
ffwds--mansell - lynch---lalor
rucks nankervis--smillie--prestia
inter -- balta--broad--mcauliffe--green--clarke
Balta starting on the pine come onnnnn

FB: Young - Gibcus - Broad
HB: Brown - Vlastuin - Short
C: Ralphsmith - Prestia - McIntosh
HF: Mansell - Balta - Smillie
FF: Campbell - Lynch - Lefau

FOL: Nankervis - Taranto - Ross

INT: Hopper - Lalor - Dow - MRJ
SUB: Trainor

Emerg: Armstrong - Sonsie - McAuliffe - Bauer

OK, It may change a bit by Feb...Ha
Bit of old Dimma loyalty in you.

MacIntosh on the wing, when he lost his spot there last year.
Same with Dow who was in the VFL by years end.
Young, Gibcus and Lefau will not be around until after the season starts. 12 generally from ACL's.
Balta at CHF, we just recruited 3 key's and Fawcett is fit, one of them will be pressing, my bet Faull because he is further advance mentally (hard nut). Bauer has so much talent, if fit he has to play.

God I hope Trainor can take kick ins.

Rose-tinted and misguided vision of our 2025 matchwinners:

FB: Broad Balta Young
HB: Vlastuin Gibcus Trez
C: McAuliffe Taranto Hugo
HF: Mansell Bauer Smillie
FF: Moz Lynch Green
R: Nank Lalor Hotton
INT: Trainor Campbell Faull Armstrong
SUB: Lefau

Emergencies Prestia, Ross, Brown, Hopper

Piss Short Sonsie Ryan and Koz off to the magoos or below

This would be my early round 1 side -

FB: Blight - Miller - Broad
HB: Brown - Balta - Vlastuin
C: Banks - Hopper - Ralphsmith
HF: Campbell - Lynch - Ross
FF: Bauer - Armstrong - Mansell
FOL: Nankervis - Taranto - Prestia
INT (from): McAuliffe - MRJ - Lalor - Smillie - Short - Sonsie - Smith - Green - Trezise, Trainor

Gibcus, Lefau, Clarke will likely slot in once they have recovered from the ACLs. Pre-season stand out from Armstrong, Sims, Fawcett, Ryan and Faull to start @ full forward.

Looking at that team, if we have a good run with injury, I think it's far from guaranteed that we finish last. It's not bad on paper. Need a couple of youngsters like Brown, Banks, Ralphsmith, Campbell etc to have break out seasons. Plus a fit and firing Hopper and Lynch.

Funny, Miller in early season, never in selection frame. Tarrant, Gibcus and then Young were ahead. So, I don't expect him to play early. Miller lost form late year and , shoudda been dropped. Blight looks like he's training the house down. Definitely maybe. Maybe Trainor. Young isn't recovered enough.

The club managing Gibcus differently would be an opening for Blight. 5day break & flight killed him & Prestia. And I'm just waiting to hear Yze froth about Balta fwd. Balta got selected up forward last year to make way for Blight.

In the 5 year plan I'd be giving every opportunity to the gang of 8. We looked Brown grow 5 cms while JVan Rooyen run around Game 1 year 1. Blair looks like he's picked kids who are ready to go. I'd be playing as many as possible.

Brown's been good not great. Why not Trainor?
I think Trainor (barring injury) plays very early along with Smill & Lalor.

Round 1​

FB: Blight, Balta, Broad
HB: Brown, Vlastuin, Short
CEN: Ralphsmith, Prestia, Ross
FOL: Nankervis, Taranto, Hopper
HF:Green, Faull, Campbell
FF: Mansell, Lynch, Rioli Jnr

BEN: Banks, Smillie, Lalor, Armstrong, Smith

Full Strength

FB: Gibcus, Balta, Broad
HB: Brown, Vlastuin, Short
CEN: Ralphsmith, Prestia, Ross
FOL: Nankervis, Taranto, Smillie
HF: Lalor, Lefau, Campbell
FF: Mansell, Lynch, Rioli Jnr

BEN: Banks, Hopper, Clarke, Faull, Smith

FB: Trainor Balta Broad
HB: Brown Gibcus Vlastuin
C: Ralphsmith Taranto Banks
HF: Hotton Faull Lalor
FF: Mansell Lynch MRJ
FOLL: Nank Lalor Smilie

INT: McAuliffe, Ross, Trezise, Campbell
SUB: Clarke

No Presita no short no hopper. No worries.

We have 25 players who have played 25 or under games. It's genuinely wild to think of how inexperienced the side is going to be each week. The blowtorch is going to be on the fitness staff and the coaches. If we are competitive at times but run out of gas a lot with a young side, it will be palatable. Feels like we need 2.5 solid years with these kids getting game time to even think about being competitive. It's a massive challenge ahead but looking forward to it all hopefully clicking at once. If all of the draftees this year miraculously make it into players, a third of our sides is sorted.

Well, nothing except they're all comfortably in our best team. Who have you got in the midfield in place of Prestia and Ross?
Centre and ruck lines are mcauliffe, Taranto, ralphsmith, nankervis, Lalor, Hotton. Wanted to include at least all the first round draftees. I did also say it was rose tinted and misguided.

Kane isn’t necessarily a winger/outsider but I really like him and wanted to put him somewhere in the mids. Same personal bias applies to Rioli Trezise Young Bauer Mansell and Green.

Round 1 2025
FB Gibcus Balta Miller
HF Smith Broad Vlastuin
C Hugo Taranto Banks
HF Mansell Armstrong/Faul MJR
F Campbell Lynch Green
FOLL Nank Hopper Prestia
Int Ross Short Smille Lalor
Sub McIntosh

I would want to find a spot for Blight but I think he is the same type of intercepter as Gibcus and isn't a straight lock down type.

Round 1 2025
FB Gibcus Balta Miller
HF Smith Broad Vlastuin
C Hugo Taranto Banks
F Campbell Lynch Green
FOLL Nank Hopper Prestia
Sub McIntosh

I would want to find a spot for Blight but I think he is the same type of intercepter as Gibcus and isn't a straight lock down type.
Mate that kid is build like a tank strong overhead and long kick. Now with proper fitness he will shine and will be better than a lean injured gibcus. I would play him chb what goes past him Balta can clean up. Banks I'm not convinced. Armstrong strong kid he wil play early and won't come out of the side unless he needs a rest.

Round 1 2025
FB Gibcus Balta Miller
HF Smith Broad Vlastuin
C Hugo Taranto Banks
F Campbell Lynch Green
FOLL Nank Hopper Prestia
Sub McIntosh

I doubt that Gibcus plays round 1, all the ACL boys are tracking for a few weeks into the season before being available for selection.

2025 Best 23