2025 Best 23

Who else are you going to put in there? We drafted 10 kids, zero mature age recruits and then lost 3 of our top 5 fastest movers in Bolton, Rioli & Baker. The young mid's didn't show enough in 2024 to be seriously pegged for a starting role & no one in their right mind should be including rookies in their starting 18.

The draft was pretty exciting and a small moment of joy, but reality needs to kick back in now & be prepared for a absolutely brutal 2025. This side is lopsided between old and very slow, injury prone &, very young,likely not going to be "AFL ready in size or endurance" to be expected to make a immediate impact.

I spent zero time looking into the recruits pre the draft but after reading multiple articles, highlight videos since the draft, i think the club had a good crack with the players they selected - only 1 or 2 reaches that are then excused due to some nice "slide" pick-ups ( ie Faull then Armstrong ) & the trade with Nth was a great decision, no matter what 2025 brings.

I do wish however we could have traded up to get that pick #3 as i think Jagga will be a immediate, great long-term midfielder. A guy who can't help but get 20-30 touches every weekend, possibly ready to go with Hopper, Prestia, Nank being the bulls that protect him would have been a good fit.

The 2025 crop don't appear to be "instant impact" types, but long-term promising prospects. As far as 2025 is concerned, its going to be a bloodbath unless we have 2 of these kids have "Judd / Walsh" debut seasons. The backline looks possibly sound, but i think they will be overwhelmed based on our weak midfield.

My best 23 is what i think it might look like half way through 2025, where a few injured blokes are back in contention but, likely, the old brigade are being the benefit of the doubt to allow the rookies to get some VFL time in first. This would be assuming no one has gotten injured & the guys currently injured are progressing as expected. Not necessarily the team i'd want - but i think they will lean much harder on the older brigadee before riding the kids, unless they immediately spark.

B: Broad Balta Young
HB: Vlaustin Blight Short
C: Ralph-Smith Hopper Ross
HF: MRJ Brown Lalor
F: Ryan / Kosi Lynch Mansell
FOLL: Nank. Taranto. Prestia
Bench from : Gibcus. Ryan/Kosi, Smillie, McAuliffe. Dow. Banks, KMac. Campbell. Trainor. Bauer. Miller. Clarke. Sonsie

I'd prefer Brown down back, along with Gibcus. A backline of Gibcus. Brown, Balta with hopefully/likely 1 of Blight/Young

The thing that stands out to me is, just how slow this side looks - there could be some very overwhelming losses if a fast team gets on top of us early. They will play guys like Kosi, Ryan, Miller well before Faull, Armstrong etc. They have given these guys semi long-term contracts on real/some money - they are paying them like they are expecting them to be playing seniors.

With no injuries, the side looks weird, but ok. But, If any one, or more, of Balta, Vlaustin, Lynch, Taranto, Nank, goes down - the side will decline very fast in their portion of the field. The exciting part is that outside the top 7 players, 8 to 40 are very even and positions will really be week to week i think until a side picks itself. Its prime for some of these guys to take a leap and get paid. However, the ceiling of quite a few is very suspect. There is potentially another season of 8+ changes in the next 2 years if the likes of Dow, Miller, Ryan, Kosi, Sonsie, Campbell, Blight, Lynch, Prestia, KMac have poor seasons, due to either form or repeated injures etc.
These backlines I'm seeing are a train wreck waiting to happen, where's the line breaking pace coming from? Three talls, along with Broad and Vlastuin who can take a tall as well. Blight, Balta and Young are too much combined with the other two. We always run a 7 player backline (one on the bench) so let's adjust a bit for that.

FB: Broad, Balta, Short
HB: HRS, Miller, Brown
IC: Trezise/Smith and Bauer (Utility)

I have no idea why you'd have Brown as CHF, so let's swap him out (already done) for one of the plethora of KPF's (proper forwards) that we have on the list. Ryan is the 2nd ruck so he comes in off the bench, Kosi should only be used in an emergency.

HF: Campbell, Fawcett, MRJ
FF: Mansell, Lynch, Faull
IC: Ryan and Bauer (utility)

Both of these Back and Forward lines are much faster, more dynamic and more competitive.

I'm not going to address the centre line or Followers as that's going to take too long

If all fit:

B: Broad Balta Trainor
HB: Vlastuin Blight Short
C: Ralph-Smith Smillie Ross
HF: MRJ Fawcett Lalor
F: Clarke Campbell Lynch Mansell
Bench (5 of these depending on matchups): Gibcus, Hopper, McAuliffe, Bauer, Ryan or Kosi (not both), Brown, Clarke.

You guys aren't showing enough faith in our new recruits. Lalor, Smillie & Trainor are all in if fit. Fawcett also rewarded for his pre-season and pure size.

If all fit:

F: Clarke Lynch Mansell
Bench from : Gibcus, Hopper, McAuliffe, Bauer, Ryan or Kosi (not both), Brown.

You guys aren't showing enough faith in our new recruits. Lalor, Smillie & Trainor are all in if fit. Fawcett also rewarded for his pre-season and pure size.

Fawcett 🤣

Kid hasn't touched it at VFL level yet.

If all fit:

F: Clarke Lynch Mansell
Bench from : Gibcus, Hopper, McAuliffe, Bauer, Ryan or Kosi (not both), Brown.

Where's Seth Campbell? One of the first picked I reckon

B: Broad Balta Smith
C: Ralphsmith Smillie Ross
HF: Lalor Bauer Campbell
F: Sims Lynch MRJ
Bench from :Trainor, Hopper, McAuliffe, Brown

Losing Rioli means you need speed in the backline. Kaleb Smith is the best option. Had a sneaky good draft year with 20 touches a game off HB but slid due to injuries/exposure. He is blazing fast. Give him free reign at HB.

Ryan is a ruck so if he's not playing #1 ruck he's not in my team.

Bauer biggest preseason improver means he plays as 3rd tall. So you need one more tall forward next to Lynch who can ruck. Sims makes the most sense to me and he's physically most ready. None of the other KPP's can ruck and play forward.

Might be one rookie too heavy so in that case Trainor can go out if needed for whoever (probably Steely Greene as the side lacks another crumber).

Some other names - Steely Greene I like him but where does he fit in? Is he really a forward? Sonsie it's him vs McAuliffie. Brown or Tresize not both. Banks or Ross. Banks is still too soft and inconsistent for my liking. Miller or Blight and I see more upside in Blight.

Kmac and Dow not even in my consideration in the first 26-27 names I'd reel off as options. Kosi LOL. Clarke don't mind for the future but not ready off the injury. Gibcus not ready.

B Tom Brown, Josh Gibcus, Nick Vlastuin
HB Jayden Short, Noah Balta, Nathan Broad
C Judson Clarke, Tim Taranto, Sam Banks
HF Rhyan Mansell, Harry Armstrong, Maurice Rioli
FF Josh Smillie, Tom Lynch, Jonty Faull
Foll Toby Nankervis, Jacob Hopper, Sam Lalor
Int Dion Prestia, Tom Sims, Taj Hotton, Luke Trainor

We lack speed, that is why Clarke is on the wing. No matter how fast slow players move the ball, they can't catch the oppo on defence. We need to go after high-class midfield/backline speed to finish off the squad balance. The new draftees will add speed while they are still at the peak of their agility before gaining size and muscle over the next few seasons.

Maybe a direct long-kicking style this season to utilise our talls, that can be defended with a slower midfield is the way to go.

My idea is the Hardwick 2010 model, get 50 senior games into the highly rated kids asap while playing someone like Prestia to teach and take the hits while he is still around.

B: Broad Balta Smith
C: Ralphsmith Smillie Ross
HF: Lalor Bauer Campbell
F: Sims Lynch MRJ
Bench from :Trainor, Hopper, McAuliffe, Brown

Losing Rioli means you need speed in the backline. Kaleb Smith is the best option. Had a sneaky good draft year with 20 touches a game off HB but slid due to injuries/exposure. He is blazing fast. Give him free reign at HB.

Ryan is a ruck so if he's not playing #1 ruck he's not in my team.

Bauer biggest preseason improver means he plays as 3rd tall. So you need one more tall forward next to Lynch who can ruck. Sims makes the most sense to me and he's physically most ready. None of the other KPP's can ruck and play forward.

Might be one rookie too heavy so in that case Trainor can go out if needed for whoever (probably Steely Greene as the side lacks another crumber).

Some other names - Steely Greene I like him but where does he fit in? Is he really a forward? Sonsie it's him vs McAuliffie. Brown or Tresize not both. Banks or Ross. Banks is still too soft and inconsistent for my liking. Miller or Blight and I see more upside in Blight.

Kmac and Dow not even in my consideration in the first 26-27 names I'd reel off as options. Kosi LOL. Clarke don't mind for the future but not ready off the injury. Gibcus not ready.
Smith flies so far under the radar here he might as well play for Freo. Has put on a lot of size, has pace to burn and best of all his natural instinct is to take the game on. He does not **** around. Should be getting games ahead of Short if there's only room for one of them.

I thought Smith was just the work experience kid who made coffees

These backlines I'm seeing are a train wreck waiting to happen, where's the line breaking pace coming from? Three talls, along with Broad and Vlastuin who can take a tall as well. Blight, Balta and Young are too much combined with the other two. We always run a 7 player backline (one on the bench) so let's adjust a bit for that.

FB: Broad, Balta, Short
HB: HRS, Miller, Brown
IC: Trezise/Smith and Bauer (Utility)

I have no idea why you'd have Brown as CHF, so let's swap him out (already done) for one of the plethora of KPF's (proper forwards) that we have on the list. Ryan is the 2nd ruck so he comes in off the bench, Kosi should only be used in an emergency.

HF: Campbell, Fawcett, MRJ
FF: Mansell, Lynch, Faull
IC: Ryan and Bauer (utility)

Both of these Back and Forward lines are much faster, more dynamic and more competitive.

I'm not going to address the centre line or Followers as that's going to take too long

I had Brown forward as thats where Yze was playing him near the end of the season & where he probably played his best footy if being honest, and exactly for the reason you are saying - they were to "defensive/tall" etcAs i said in the post, i prefer Brown down back & think he should be named there, but based on the current side, one of Balta or Brown will likely be placed forward and i god praying hope its not Balta,. If i see Balta forward this year i will ****ing puke.

The run from the backline is going to be poor and its to be expected considering they traded the 2 best ones we had in Baker + Rioli. Its why i wanted to offer a contact to Markov as a stop-gap, but the club chose not to & as such, you have to think that they are going to put someone new back there in a development role. Ralph-Smith to me is an option, but not a great one. I don't think he has the defensive mindfulness to last down there. Putting Mansell back there after a breakout season down forward where we are also incredibly short on speed, pressure types makes little sense. Brown back there would be fine with me - but im not sure if he will be a running type in the AFL. He is a bit of an odd one to be honest. Did he have a massive growth spurt or something? When he was being drafted back in 2021 his draft profile had him as 186cm (https://central.rookieme.com/afl/player/tom-brown/) and he is now 193cm. What his position ends up will certainly be interesting.

I think Trevise will be given a early go to take that spot, and at 23 years old if he is any good, he will take that spot. I'm just not sure if he is "good enough", but when coaching a rebuilding team that has been gutted for "rebuild purposes", being "good enough" is slanted towards "lets hope he is good enough"

I agree your bacline is probably faster - but as if Vlaustin isn't getting a game back there. He is probably our best player. I think you have to have a somewhat "defense first" approach with that backline. Miller has never really had my confidence and his pathetic showing in the 2nd half of '24 has me even more "off" his boat- I think he is a ordinary-ordinary player & VFL is probably his level. He will get games for sure as they are paying him like they expect him to be in the 23, but i would be surprised if he ever was part of a team that had meaningful wings.

Club might decide to put KMAC in the HBF role, especially if Ross, Ralph-Smith or Banks can take command of the wings. His height and reach make him a decent aerial "spoil" defender & he can definitely run all day. He has played at times in that role, but never really looked good enough. But, that was during the "dynasty" era & most of the guys who also played that role are gone. I would likely put him + Trevise in the opposite HBF position than Short and hope 1 of the 2 has a good year to make the position their own

When it comes to running defenders, the best ones are not always the fastest. There was no shortage of arguments between me & lots of posters here who were crowing about Rioli's success there & some claimed he was "better than Houli". At the time, I said Dan was fine, but to me he wont be the best HBF on a Richmond side that has meaningul success & that proved to be pretty true, although i will say with enough honesty that Dan exceeded my expectations of him as a defender, but i still think that Dan's burst came often at the cost of a consistent coehsive back 6 structure & if we turned it over when trying to rebound, it was an automatic goal to the opposition. Having a back back 6 that can be defenders first is always the key to me & it shows mostly with Short. When he could be a defender alongside Houli, Astbury, Rance, Grimes, Broad, Vlaustin with a midfield that doesn't commit 1000 turnovers & get slaughtered in the clearances- he will win the Best & Fairest .But anything less than that & he starts to look like a pretty ordinary player.

the biggest thing to watch in 2025 is if Yze can actually formulate a structure that makes any part of our field look "organised". On paper the team looked average in 2024, but the actual results were far less than "average". You can have a bunch of names make up a side that don't look like "all-stars", but play like them & that is when you know you have the right coach. Last year that was not the case

I had Brown forward as thats where Yze was playing him near the end of the season & where he probably played his best footy if being honest, and exactly for the reason you are saying - they were to "defensive/tall" etcAs i said in the post, i prefer Brown down back & think he should be named there, but based on the current side, one of Balta or Brown will likely be placed forward and i god praying hope its not Balta,. If i see Balta forward this year i will ****ing puke.

The run from the backline is going to be poor and its to be expected considering they traded the 2 best ones we had in Baker + Rioli. Its why i wanted to offer a contact to Markov as a stop-gap, but the club chose not to & as such, you have to think that they are going to put someone new back there in a development role. Ralph-Smith to me is an option, but not a great one. I don't think he has the defensive mindfulness to last down there. Putting Mansell back there after a breakout season down forward where we are also incredibly short on speed, pressure types makes little sense. Brown back there would be fine with me - but im not sure if he will be a running type in the AFL. He is a bit of an odd one to be honest. Did he have a massive growth spurt or something? When he was being drafted back in 2021 his draft profile had him as 186cm (https://central.rookieme.com/afl/player/tom-brown/) and he is now 193cm. What his position ends up will certainly be interesting.

I think Trevise will be given a early go to take that spot, and at 23 years old if he is any good, he will take that spot. I'm just not sure if he is "good enough", but when coaching a rebuilding team that has been gutted for "rebuild purposes", being "good enough" is slanted towards "lets hope he is good enough"

I agree your bacline is probably faster - but as if Vlaustin isn't getting a game back there. He is probably our best player. Miller has never really had my confidence and his pathetic showing in the 2nd half of '24 has me even more "off" his boat - I think he is a ordinary-ordinary player & VFL is probably his level. Club might decide to put KMAC in the HBF role, especially if Ross, Ralph-Smith or Banks can take command of the wings.
Vlastuin was an oversight, Brown to bench and Vlastuin on field.

The only reason Brown played forward was that no one else was available, simple. KMac even played as a KPF as well, illustrating the dire position we were in.

From training reports so far this preseason HRS is training with the backs, Smith and Trezise are impressing as well with Bauer being a standout.

Vlastuin was an oversight, Brown to bench and Vlastuin on field.

The only reason Brown played forward was that no one else was available, simple. KMac even played as a KPF as well, illustrating the dire position we were in.

From training reports so far this preseason HRS is training with the backs, Smith and Trezise are impressing as well with Bauer being a standout.

Yep true. But i reckon the forward stocks are no better this year, how have they changed? I still question if Lynch can play more than 10 games, LeFau is injured for most of the year & Ryan is gross. All the prospects are just prospects for now & can't be seriously put on a list like this. Its these same reasons why Balta, despite being clearly a Key position defender, has wasted 2 years playing forward. When your list has giant gaping holes, coaches play blokes out of position. Its a strategy i hate tbh. I'd prefer we just play the players in the positions we want them to evolve into, unless there is a "lesson" that needs to be taught. As i said, the team i named is not the team i want - but the team i think we will "get"

Our prospects, Fawcett, Gray and Bauer haven't had a chance yet to prove themselves because they've been injured. LeFau showed some excellent signs given that he had to hold down the No.1 KPF role until he unfortunately went down too. This year will be perfect as an opportunity for them to show their wares given that we're in full on development mode.

Our forward stocks have significantly improved on the back of the draft with Faull, Armstrong and Sims added along with Trainor in defence. To say that our forward stocks are no better this year is not true.

Run from back line should be sorted with short, trez, smith, possibly give banks a go there, possibly switch Maurice there for a bit if he can do a running bounce at sufficient speed. We need defensive coverage along the centre line, enough to give the backs a chance to take their positions. All too often I saw miller or vlastuin trying to cover too much ground when the oppo kicked a lollipop into forward 50.

A makelele/kante type defensive midfielder role with pace and positional sense would be desirable. Maybe smillie or mcauliffe could cover that.

Run from back line should be sorted with short, trez, smith, possibly give banks a go there, possibly switch Maurice there for a bit if he can do a running bounce at sufficient speed. We need defensive coverage along the centre line, enough to give the backs a chance to take their positions. All too often I saw miller or vlastuin trying to cover too much ground when the oppo kicked a lollipop into forward 50.

A makelele/kante type defensive midfielder role with pace and positional sense would be desirable. Maybe smillie or mcauliffe could cover that.
Thing I hate about playing a "defensive mid" is it seems to rob that player of all their natural offensive instincts over time. So you dont want a Smilie/Lalor/Mac in that role. You really have to be a failed mid thats on the last roll of the dice. I nominate Dow.

Yeah will Dow do an effective job for the team though? Does he stick tackles? Does he have enough pace or mongrel factor?

Scratch that, based on what you’ve said I reckon Short would be perfect for that role.

Our prospects, Fawcett, Gray and Bauer haven't had a chance yet to prove themselves because they've been injured. LeFau showed some excellent signs given that he had to hold down the No.1 KPF role until he unfortunately went down too. This year will be perfect as an opportunity for them to show their wares given that we're in full on development mode.

Our forward stocks have significantly improved on the back of the draft with Faull, Armstrong and Sims added along with Trainor in defence. To say that our forward stocks are no better this year is not true.
Dont bother mate as he will never see anything positive

Lefau was brilliant when he played whilst being under manned in the foward line and did his knee over 6 months ago and looks like he will be ready start of the season and round 3-4 the latest

Lynch is now fit and looks to be participating in all the training and we still have 3 months to go and should be cherry ripe for the start of the season

Fawcett looks like he also is over his injuries and added some serious size to his frame and reports at training are extremely bullish from people who have been watchers of training for decades

Bauer another that has been burning up the track at training and participated in everything

Then we have KOSI - I have nothing good to say here

Dont bother mate as he will never see anything positive

Lefau was brilliant when he played whilst being under manned in the foward line and did his knee over 6 months ago and looks like he will be ready start of the season and round 3-4 the latest

Lynch is now fit and looks to be participating in all the training and we still have 3 months to go and should be cherry ripe for the start of the season

Fawcett looks like he also is over his injuries and added some serious size to his frame and reports at training are extremely bullish from people who have been watchers of training for decades

Bauer another that has been burning up the track at training and participated in everything

Then we have KOSI - I have nothing good to say here
Yeah, I shouldn't have bothered replying, got sucked in I guess.

Bauer has me intrigued, according to reports he's added some serious running power to his repertoire. It will be interesting to see how he's going to be deployed.

Kosi = Urgh

2025 Best 23