Sub Prestia

B Tom Brown, Josh Gibcus, Nick Vlastuin
HB Jayden Short, Noah Balta, Nathan Broad
C Judson Clarke, Tim Taranto, Sam Banks
HF Rhyan Mansell, Harry Armstrong, Maurice Rioli
FF Josh Smillie, Tom Lynch, Jonty Faull
Foll Toby Nankervis, Jacob Hopper, Sam Lalor
Int Dion Prestia, Tom Sims, Taj Hotton, Luke Trainor

We lack speed, that is why Clarke is on the wing. No matter how fast slow players move the ball, they can't catch the oppo on defence. We need to go after high-class midfield/backline speed to finish off the squad balance. The new draftees will add speed while they are still at the peak of their agility before gaining size and muscle over the next few seasons.

Maybe a direct long-kicking style this season to utilise our talls, that can be defended with a slower midfield is the way to go.

My idea is the Hardwick 2010 model, get 50 senior games into the highly rated kids asap while playing someone like Prestia to teach and take the hits while he is still around.
Gibcus & Broad run a lot. Balta's quick.

need speed? and no Hugo who runs a lot, at pace.
no Smith? 2nd fastest player vs Saints.
no Campbell? He was our best runner vs Pies. 14.8 kms 3ks at speed, top speed 31.8kmh
Miller is quicker than Brown

Gibcus & Broad run a lot. Balta's quick.

need speed? and no Hugo who runs a lot, at pace.
no Smith? 2nd fastest player vs Saints.
no Campbell? He was our best runner vs Pies. 14.8 kms 3ks at speed, top speed 31.8kmh
Miller is quicker than Brown
I said speed, not people who run a lot.
Hugo, Smith and Campbell sure, but they are all fringe players who would replace other fringe players. (Clarke, Rioli, Mansell, Banks)
Miller quicker than Brown?... They're both slow.
None of that solves our current lack of speed imo (if I'm right and we have one) unless most of those fringe players step up and become prominent players.

The problem is we have older players slowing down, good slower players (Hopperanto), and our 2 prized recruits we need to get games into are also slower mids.

Taking into consideration the blokes coming off long term injuries.
I also think if they are fit then Lalor and Smillie will debut. The young talls im not so sure about.

This is what i believe the club will do early rounds.

Vlastuin - Blight/Miller - Broad
Brown - Balta - Short.

H RS - Hopper - Banks
Nankervis - Taranto - Prestia

Bauer - Koschitzke - Campbell
Mansell - Lynch - Rioli.

Smillie - Lalor - Ross - McIntosh.

A fully fit Squad i would approach it along these lines.

Vlastuin - Balta - Trainor
Brown - Gibcus - Smith/Trezise

Banks - McAullife - Campbell
Nankervis - Taranto - Hotton

Bauer - KPF - Clarke. Best performed young kpf. Bauer third tall
Rioli - Lynch - Alger

Smillie - Lalor - Broad - Hopper - Prestia - Lefau

I said speed, not people who run a lot.
Hugo, Smith and Campbell sure, but they are all fringe players who would replace other fringe players. (Clarke, Rioli, Mansell, Banks)
Miller quicker than Brown?... They're both slow.
None of that solves our current lack of speed imo (if I'm right and we have one) unless most of those fringe players step up and become prominent players.

The problem is we have older players slowing down, good slower players (Hopperanto), and our 2 prized recruits we need to get games into are also slower mids.
B. Miller fastest player on the ground vs Pies this year at 32. 3 km/h

and fastest player on the ground vs Power at 32. 1 km/h

Brown vs Miller?

Neither for me.

J. Clarke ~ emerging small fwd. zero wing attributes. need players to score.

Lynch and Bauer start the year. Bauer was killing it.

Doubt if Faull and Armstrong start. I hope Sims is back up ruck

A fit Hopper & Taranto runs, pressures, tackles, gets clearances. Kmac2 ~ 2 preseason down ~ tank'll improve.

Jack Ross plays wing well.

Our best 23 excluding our players returning from long term injury is actually looking pretty solid.

B: Broad, Miller, Vlastuin
HB: Short, Balta, Brown
C: HRS, Smillie, Banks
HF: Campbell, Bauer, MRJ
F: Armstrong, Lynch, Mansell
R: Nank, Taranto, Hopper
Int: Prestia, Lalor, Ross, Trezise
Sub: McAuliffe

Not sure on back-up ruck with this team, maybe just stick Smillie in there as he’ll prob be 200cm come round 1.

Obviously there are quite a few others with a potential claim on best 23 spots, and we’ll be looking to the likes of Blight, Trainor or even Kozi to help cover Balta’s suspension.

The exciting part about this group being half decent is that there is a lot of promise in the players not mentioned and the ones returning from injury.

Our best 23 excluding our players returning from long term injury is actually looking pretty solid.

HB: Short, Balta, Brown
HF: Campbell, Bauer, MRJ
Int: Prestia, Lalor, Ross, Trezise
Sub: McAuliffe

Not sure on back-up ruck with this team, maybe just stick Smillie in there as he’ll prob be 200cm come round 1.

Obviously there are quite a few others with a potential claim on best 23 spots, and we’ll be looking to the likes of Blight, Trainor or even Kozi to help cover Balta’s suspension.

The exciting part about this group being half decent is that there is a lot of promise in the players not mentioned and the ones returning from injury.
Pretty close to mine so I'll steal it as a base. I'd love to see this line-up round 1:

HB: Trainor, Blight, Brown
HF: Campbell, Bauer, Lalor
Int: Prestia, McAuliffe, Ross, Ryan
Sub: MRJ

Youth on every line as well as some older heads to keep it together.
That back line would be practically impenetrable aerially with Brown and Trainor both creative highly skilled users off hb.
Forward line looks a lot more dangerous than last year replacing part time forwards with natural goal kickers.
Midfield a bit one paced but certainly competitive, Smillie adds a whole new dimension with his height.
Ryan in to give Nank a chop out, good signs from training.
Be great if we could roll with this for the first month.

Pretty close to mine so I'll steal it as a base. I'd love to see this line-up round 1:

HB: Trainor, Blight, Brown
HF: Campbell, Bauer, Lalor
Int: Prestia, McAuliffe, Ross, Ryan
Sub: MRJ

Youth on every line as well as some older heads to keep it together.
That back line would be practically impenetrable aerially with Brown and Trainor both creative highly skilled users off hb.
Forward line looks a lot more dangerous than last year replacing part time forwards with natural goal kickers.
Midfield a bit one paced but certainly competitive, Smillie adds a whole new dimension with his height.
Ryan in to give Nank a chop out, good signs from training.
Be great if we could roll with this for the first month.
Back line ~ impenetrable ? Not a runner there. When the ball hits the ground in Carltons forward line, Owies be spewing he is at West Coast.
You're dropping Short ~ injury will be the only thing that keeps him out of Yze's team. Brown AND Trainor? I reckon we see one or the other. You have no defenders on the bench.
Smith a very good chance on the bench. Too much mid depth on your bench.
Lalor? I doubt it. slight injury concern. I reckon Smilie starts the year, Lalor comes IN in a month.
MRJ off the bench
Probably Fawcett or grey get the first crack ahead of Armstrong.. Been at the club a bit longer. Need to see if they can play AFL.
Ross Ryan? puuke. Ross will play ahead of Banks on the wing.
we averaged 9 goals a game last year. North Melb 10 goals. Carlton make the 8 with 13 goals a game. Lynch brings 2....

Back line ~ impenetrable ? Not a runner there. When the ball hits the ground in Carltons forward line, Owies be spewing he is at West Coast.
You're dropping Short ~ injury will be the only thing that keeps him out of Yze's team. Brown AND Trainor? I reckon we see one or the other. You have no defenders on the bench.
Smith a very good chance on the bench. Too much mid depth on your bench.
Lalor? I doubt it. slight injury concern. I reckon Smilie starts the year, Lalor comes IN in a month.
MRJ off the bench
Probably Fawcett or grey get the first crack ahead of Armstrong.. Been at the club a bit longer. Need to see if they can play AFL.
Ross Ryan? puuke. Ross will play ahead of Banks on the wing.
we averaged 9 goals a game last year. North Melb 10 goals. Carlton make the 8 with 13 goals a game. Lynch brings 2....

Not a runner in the back line? Read some training reports on Brown, I'll wait. Trainor is touted as a potential winger. Both have the added bonus of being strong marks and extremely good kicks. Short's done, he'll get games but not based on form.
Don't need defenders on the bench. Rotate Ross/Banks/HRS back there. Smilie can even pinch hit down back.
Lalor will play round 1, we're not ****ing around this year with the rebuild.
MRJ's role is defunct, unless he can prove to be a scoring option he's VFL or injected late in the game for a burst of speed from sub.
Fawcett has done nothing but get bigger. Armstrong gives us way more versatility.
Ross/Banks on the winger, either way.
Ryan plays because Nank can't do it alone, has added size and is showing a bit from training reports. Need to find out if he's worth persisting with or draft Emmett.
Lynch immediately makes us more dangerous even if he's not scoring simply because he makes their defenders more accountable. Allows guys like Bauer and Armstrong to get better runs at it.

Im assuming the five recovering acl's Hotton, Gibcus, Lefau, Young, Clarke won't play early rounds. Balta is suspended and ive heard Rioli has had a limited pre season so far.
Thats probably seven who won't play round 1.

Reports say Blight has been outstanding and While he faded late in the season Miller is coming off a decent year.
Reports also say Trainor looks very likely.

If we are to reward form and good off seasons then id guess those three would be right up there for the tall defensive options.

I prefer Smith to be given a go at Dan Rioli,s role because i think he has all the right attributes for that role.
Vlastuin is a lock and i would start Brown instead of Broad for more run and Broady can be the stop gap from the bench.
I have ignored Short but we all know he will be picked most likely in front of Smith which would be a mistake imo.

I think Banks and H RS will get first crack at the wings. The other options imo are plentiful. I can imagine all of the following Campbell, Ross who needs to play as a proper mid Broad, Smith, Trezise and Short all performing this role.

Forward half well i think Kossie will play here, both Miller and Blight are in front of him and deserve first crack at the kpd spots.
If we play two young talls with Lynch then i think Kossie will play kpd but in the magoos. I just cannot see them not picking Kossie weather we agree or not. Its a bit like the Short situation, do we go potentially better youth? or stick with experience and mature bodies? not that Short uses his body.

With no Clarke or Rioli then i hope Alger shows a bit. They will play Mansell again experience and he had a real dip last year. Campbell will likely play high h/f.
The key forwards are likely to be Lynch and Kossie not popular i know. Then i would play either Sims as the fwd /ruck if he shows enough giving Nankervis a chop out or the more mobile and agile Bauer as a third tall fwd.
Its one thing wishing for a few tall kids to get games but they need to show they are ready.

Trainor - Blight - Vlastuin
Brown - Miller - Smith

Banks - Taranto - HRS

Lalor - Kossie - Campbell
Mansell - Lynch - Bauer

Nankervis - Smillie - Prestia

Broad - Alger - Hopper - McAuliffe - Ross.

Im assuming the five recovering acl's Hotton, Gibcus, Lefau, Young, Clarke won't play early rounds. Balta is suspended and ive heard Rioli has had a limited pre season so far.

Reports say Blight has been outstanding and While he faded late in the season Miller is coming off a decent year.

If we are to reward form and good off seasons then id guess those three would be right up there for the tall defensive options.

I prefer Smith to be given a go at Dan Rioli,s role because i think he has all the right attributes for that role.
Vlastuin is a lock and i would start Brown instead of Broad for more run and Broady can be the stop gap from the bench.
I have ignored Short but we all know he will be picked most likely in front of Smith which would be a mistake imo.

I think Banks and H RS will get first crack at the wings. The other options imo are plentiful. I can imagine all of the following Campbell, Ross who needs to play as a proper mid Broad, Smith, Trezise and Short all performing this role.

Forward half well i think Kossie will play here, both Miller and Blight are in front of him and deserve first crack at the kpd spots.
If we play two young talls with Lynch then i think Kossie will play kpd but in the magoos. I just cannot see them not picking Kossie weather we agree or not. Its a bit like the Short situation, do we go potentially better youth? or stick with experience and mature bodies? not that Short uses his body.

With no Clarke or Rioli then i hope Alger shows a bit. They will play Mansell again experience and he had a real dip last year. Campbell will likely play high h/f.
The key forwards are likely to be Lynch and Kossie not popular i know. Then i would play either Sims as the fwd /ruck if he shows enough giving Nankervis a chop out or the more mobile and agile Bauer as a third tall fwd.
Its one thing wishing for a few tall kids to get games but they need to show they are ready.

Brown - Miller - Smith

Banks - Taranto - HRS

Mansell - Lynch - Bauer

Kossie is training as a defender. Won’t play fwd

If that is the case and they actually play him as a defender then i wonder if they will pick him in front of both Blight and Miller. I hope not i think those two have earnt the right at first crack.

If they dont pick him then he will play kpd in the magoos id say. Atm we are already going to have to pick tall forwards for the key defensive posts in the magoos. So it will help the magoos if he plays defense.

One silver lining if he does not play forward then we will definately play at least one young tall fwd and possibly two.

Sims as a chop out for Nank and Bauer as a more mobile tall fwd would work well for starters.

The other thing i wonder is if Lynch goes down early again will Kossie then be pushed back forward.

We actually have experienced tall backs and some kids who need to be developed there.
We only have the one experienced key forward and he is 32 and becoming injury prone.

If that is the case and they actually play him as a defender then i wonder if they will pick him in front of both Blight and Miller. I hope not i think those two have earnt the right at first crack.

If they dont pick him then he will play kpd in the magoos id say. Atm we are already going to have to pick tall forwards for the key defensive posts in the magoos. So it will help the magoos if he plays defense.

One silver lining if he does not play forward then we will definately play at least one young tall fwd and possibly two.

Sims as a chop out for Nank and Bauer as a more mobile tall fwd would work well for starters.

The other thing i wonder is if Lynch goes down early again will Kossie then be pushed back forward.

We actually have experienced tall backs and some kids who need to be developed there.
We only have the one experienced key forward and he is 32 and becoming injury prone.
He’s better then miller

I thought Miller was more than handy for the most part of the year.
He did fall in a hole at the back end and undid a lot of the good work he did..

I thought he improved a fair bit in a lot of areas but did drop away with 1v1 contests and not committing to contests for whatever reasons.

When was the last time Kossie played in defense and played well. One criticism of Kossie was his hands dropping so many marks he should have taken.
Kossie or Miller it doesn't really matter, Balta Gibcus and Trainor are the way forward imo.
Just with Balta's suspension and Young and Gibcus acl's i reckon Miller should get first crack along with Blight.

Brown - Miller - Smith

Banks - Taranto - HRS

Mansell - Lynch - Bauer

At least for the first game Trainor will not start. De Konic would be too big for him. The other change I see happening is Ross will play half forward/midfield and my left field tip is that Bauer will start on the wing as a marking option out of defence. Banks I see as rotating through defence. I don’t see him as a wing. Maybe long term he could be a wing.

I think Fawcett will play CHF. Training reports say he is crashing in hard and very fit and lively.

Judging by training reports, looks like Bauer will play as the running half forward up to the wing connecting player. We have missed that since Jack did it and I think he will get a gig early, hopefully he clicks. He has some of Jacks attributes in that he can mark from many angles, so running the lines would suit him.

I can't see us blooding to many debutants rd.1. Our midfield mix given it gets through the preseason will be Prestia, Taranto, Hopper, Ross, McAuliffe, probably in that order. Big ask for Smillie or Lalor to replace an of them as starting mids. Lalor could play deep and Smillie off the bench perhaps, if their preseason form and fitness warrants. Shouldn't take long for an injury to open the gap if usual circumstance play out, so they won't have to wait long if they are not selected.

Do not want Short in the backline but it seems probably inevitable. Yze needs to make a stand and play some new players like Smith or Trezise to change things up. Our work moving the ball forward was awful last year and I think Short was a big part of that with his kick it to me junior footy attitude. Smith and Trezise and fast and quite tough, especially Trezise.

It will be interesting to see if they go for Sims or Ryan as backup to Nank. Again preseason will determine, but you can't play Lynch and Ryan in the same forward line I don't think, too slow. Sims is very mobile so might be worth a punt.

Zero Hanger rated both our fwd and mid as 18th worst in the comp. Can't argue with either assessment. Backline hasn't been done yet. It's pretty decent with Vlastuin, Broad (both getting on) Balta all reliable and great quality..... unknowns are Gibcus's mental state and trust in his body. Brown was average to good last year but as a 4th year 1st round pick I'm expecting a massive improvement and would like to see his so called running abilities on full display. Miller, Trezise need to fight for spots. Trainor is long term would love to see him play 5 -10 games seniors to get games into him.

Short was barely best 22 last year and as a senior experienced player needs to show true leadership and step up to fill Dan Riolis void. No more cheap possessions and piss weak tackles or might as well trade him out. With our list demographic I'm happy to finish last so long as kids get plenty of opportunities and rewarded for VFL form. I don't want to see underperforming blokes like McIntosh, Dow, Young, Short getting gifted games (because you need experience). It's time blokes like Ralphsmith, MRJ, Ryan, Banks, Campbell, Sonsie, Bauer, Clarke, Green, Smith, Kozitschke show how hungry they are to be part of our next tilt at a flag.

I'm hoping Ross, Hopper get a clean run of health to figure out where they fit in future plans. Hoping Mcauliffe has worked on his tank and can play out games and improve as loved the glimpses and mongrel he's already shown. Fawcett, Bauer and Gray all deserve opportunities to line up alongside a hopefully fit Lynch. As does Blight down back.

I can handle a worse season than last year if I see an actual game plan and heaps of games pumped into the kids. 2 top 4 picks will be a phenomenal light at the end of the tunnel. Seeing Dow, McIntosh, Kozitsche, Ryan and Short serve up lousy slop is unacceptable. Better off spreading the love getting 10- 15 games into the future kids than 22 dreadful efforts each from that lot. If Hopper doesn't play 18+ good to great games without his customary 3 - 4 injuries we might as well cut our losses and trade him out paying $300k of his salary for another late 1st round pick.

Rd 1 2024
TIGERS

B: D.Grimes, T.Young, J.Gibcus
HB: J.Short, N.Broad, N.Vlastuin
C: K.McIntosh, T.Taranto, J.Ross
HF: M.Rioli, L.Baker, S.Bolton
F: N.Balta, D.Martin, T.Lynch
FOLL: T.Nankervis - C, J.Hopper, D.Prestia
I/C: D.Rioli, T.Dow, M.Pickett, R.Mansell, S.Campbell
EMG: T.Brown, S.Naismith, S.Banks

At least 9 changes from our R1 team last year minimum. Dow out for me makes 10.

In: Smillie, Lalor, Bauer, Blight, Kosi/Miller, Ralphsmith, Banks, Sonsie, Brown & Ryan.

It's going to be a very interesting team come round 1. Very young around the edges but reasonably stable and old through the core. Following some training reports especially from PRE, I think the side rd.1 may look a bit like this.

B: Vlastuin, Blight, Broad
HB: Brown, Miller, Smith
C: HRS, Taranto, Campbell
HF: Bauer, Fawcett, Mansell
F: Lalor, Lynch, Greene or Rioli

R: Nank, Prestia, Ross

INT: Hopper, Short, Ryan, McAuliffe, Smillie (sub)

next: Kosi (key back), Banks, Trezise, Sonsie.

On paper not a strong side, but lots of upside and lots of pace, and still plenty youth to add.

Not best 23, just prediction for round 1 vs Carlton

Broad, Miller, Koschitzke
Vlastuin, Blight, Short
Ralphsmith, Hopper, Banks
Campbell, Bauer, Sonsie
Mansell, Lynch, Rioli
Nankervis, Taranto, Prestia
Brown, Ross, Smillie, Green

It doesn't make for great reading, we're gonna get smacked.

sonsie has to find a gear this year.
Hopper not auto selection, gotta work his way in.
We need speed then more speed and not the powder looking stuff.

Anybody that doesn't have Short in our best 22 really needs to rethink their sides.
Having the majority of our experience come from the back half will only be beneficial for all the younger players involved as they will serve as on field voices and leaders seeing play unfold in front of them.

Kaleb Smith's first pre season as a half back does not uproot the 10 years Short has had in the club to personify what it means to be a Richmond Man. Drafted in 2015 he has seen every up and down this club has had the pleasure of gracing us with over the last decade.

My picks for the back flanks have to be Short and Brown.

2025 Best 23