Mega Thread 2025 Media & Miscellaneous Thread

Back by popular demand. However...

There has been some aggro from publishers of articles in recent months about sites that copypasta their content onto other sites, particularly the paywalled ones, which could lead to fines and whanot for those that do it. Apparently there are copywrite laws for these things. As a result we can no longer have full articles reposted here, so if you come across something then please refrain from nabbing the whole thing and just post the link. Quoting a paragraph or two and linking the source is fine however, just don't get greedy.

Here's the updated site-wide rule: https://www.bigfooty.com/forum/threads/please-read-re-copyright-posting-newspaper-articles.1389553/

Here's an example of what you can do:

"If West Coast was the gold standard for how to operate, then Fremantle's arrival into the AFL in 1995 could be viewed as a series of cautionary tales.

Despite eight wins in that debut season, a series of poor recruiting choices meant they didn't play their first final until 2003."

If they believe that us not making finals until 2003 was solely due to "a series of poor recruiting choices" then I have a bridge to sell them.

Thanks for your understanding.

I see Chappy as being the Wagner replacement rather than Draper

That’s basically what I was saying. Chapman defends less due to Draper being in the side and rebounds more.

I don’t think Chapman kicks it as long as Wagner but he’s certainly more skilful on the shorter kicks. I said a few years ago I thought Chapman could become our best player - Not sure I still think that tbh but injuries have meant we haven’t seen even close to the most Chapman can offer and the sky is the limit.

That’s basically what I was saying. Chapman defends less due to Draper being in the side and rebounds more.

I don’t think Chapman kicks it as long as Wagner but he’s certainly more skilful on the shorter kicks. I said a few years ago I thought Chapman could become our best player - Not sure I still think that tbh but injuries have meant we haven’t seen even close to the most Chapman can offer and the sky is the limit.

Sorry mate, was agreeing with you while responding to Ignoramus saying he doesn't see how Draper could replace Wagner (he doesn't).

Chappy at draft had a solid yo-yo test and a 3.03s 20m sprint so he has the pedigree, just hasn't had a good run at it

Sorry mate, was agreeing with you while responding to Ignoramus saying he doesn't see how Draper could replace Wagner (he doesn't).

Chappy at draft had a solid yo-yo test and a 3.03s 20m sprint so he has the pedigree, just hasn't had a good run at it

I’ve also said on here I think Draper is going to be pretty special. A lot said we wouldn’t pick him in the best 22 if he isn’t best 22 but he’s either the best KPD in the AFL under 22 or he’s the next Michael Johnson type (or both). Those types don’t stay on your list too long if you’re playing them in the WAFL because they’re best 22 at about 15 or 16 teams across the competition on pure merit.

Does anyone know if the Indigenous All Stars match will be available on the watchafl/Fox Footy international subscription? The preseason game against the Dees on March 2 is listed, but I don't see the IAS game.

I will be SUPER not happy if I can't watch it!! 😡😤

Ginbey, Reid, Hewitt, Chesser, Allan.

Not where the stats are coming from.
Top 10 picks, not 1st round picks.

If it was 1st round, we’d be adding Sturt, Clark, Chapman and Reid to our list.

Also they seem to have omitted JOM, I guess one of two preselected 17yos doesn’t count as top 10.

View attachment 2213015

No. of top-10 draft picks on list in 2025
Gold Coast 10
North Melbourne 10
Essendon 9
Fremantle 8
Greater Western Sydney 8
St Kilda 8
Carlton 7
Melbourne 7
Richmond 7
Adelaide 6
Brisbane 6
Western Bulldogs 6
Collingwood 5
Port Adelaide 5
Sydney 5
Geelong 4
Hawthorn 4
West Coast 2
If you read to the end you will see my reason for posting this.
What’s interesting is that most of the best sides in the comp are in the bottom half of that list…

Does anyone know if the Indigenous All Stars match will be available on the watchafl/Fox Footy international subscription? The preseason game against the Dees on March 2 is listed, but I don't see the IAS game.

I’d be very surprised if it’s not. And pissed.

Top 10 picks, not 1st round picks.

If it was 1st round, we’d be adding Sturt, Clark, Chapman and Reid to our list.

Also they seem to have omitted JOM, I guess one of two preselected 17yos doesn’t count as top 10.
Pretty sure JOM, Martin and Hogan would've gone top three let alone top ten. Crouch still would've gone top ten but it's more borderline.

What’s interesting is that most of the best sides in the comp are in the bottom half of that list…

Go tell WCE supporters that - it's a sign they are on the right track

It's interesting. I guess the teams that have consistently been up there (Geelong, Sydney, Brisbane) haven't had a clean out or bottomed out (and therefore received top 10 picks) but have managed to stay alive by trading in proven players (irrespective of draft position - Geelong: Dangerfield, Cameron, Stanley, Caddy, Tuohy, Rohan, Smith) to stay competitive, have drafted well outside the top 10 (Geelong: Stewart, Holmes, Dempsey), or had academy player advantages (Sydney: Heeney, Mills, Blakey)

Jeremy Cameron for Geelong would arguably have been top 10 if not an underage recruit for GWS. Bit like JOM, Hogan - their omissions are probably meaningful, and a blindspot in the data

On our side - I feel one of our strengths is how we draft outside the top 10 (hello Treacy, Barlow, Sandi, Neale, etc) - and more recently bringing in the right players like Clark, Bolton, Sharp. We've had good returns from the top 10 players we've lost, we just need our academy to be as productive as Sydney's to get the machine fully cranking.

Well, it makes sense that good teams who have been competing for some time don't have as many top 10 picks - Geebung, Sydney etc have been in finals more often than not over the last decade or so - but there comes a point where you fade and then have to rebuild through the draft. You can do it dramatically like Richmond are electing to do or you can do it like complete cackhanded clamfisters like West Coast, who have been historically bad for three plus years and only have 2 top 10 picks to show for it.

Oh, and Liam Baker.

Well, it makes sense that good teams who have been competing for some time don't have as many top 10 picks - Geebung, Sydney etc have been in finals more often than not over the last decade or so - but there comes a point where you fade and then have to rebuild through the draft. You can do it dramatically like Richmond are electing to do or you can do it like complete cackhanded clamfisters like West Coast, who have been historically bad for three plus years and only have 2 top 10 picks to show for it.

Oh, and Liam Baker.
And Owies

I don't see a reason it would not be on Kayo at least.

I assume Fox Footy international subscription as well.

I think at worse, AFL.com.au will have a stream, but this is very unlikely.

I’ve also said on here I think Draper is going to be pretty special. A lot said we wouldn’t pick him in the best 22 if he isn’t best 22 but he’s either the best KPD in the AFL under 22 or he’s the next Michael Johnson type (or both). Those types don’t stay on your list too long if you’re playing them in the WAFL because they’re best 22 at about 15 or 16 teams across the competition on pure merit.

Draper is 20 and contracted for the next 3 seasons.

Can't see us playing Draper, Cox, Pearce, Chapman and Ryan who plays tall in the same 22 so IMO Draper will need an injury to the other 4 to get a game this year or we're top heavy.

If given opportunities Chapman and Draper could possibly go past Cox this year which would make trade week interesting.

Especially when he insists on the commentators pronouncing it "Ohies". It's clearly Owies. The man has a permanent booboo. Entitled Carltank Wet Toast w***ers.
Chrissy Teigen Pain GIF by First We Feast

When is the West Australian going to do training reports for Freo? We get regular puff pieces re-hashed by Woodcock based on info already available in the media but no real 'news'.

He obviously has time to wander over to Lathlain a couple of times a week but can't be bothered driving down to Cockburn.

Thank goodness for the club reports and photos on Insta and X.

On SM-S911B using BigFooty.com mobile app

Mega Thread 2025 Media & Miscellaneous Thread