Position 2025 Midfielders

not many have mentioned taranto. if his price started with a 4, im sure more people would take notice. hes a steal at 500k.
He's the ultimate butcher, playing in a very weak side. In 2023 the Tigers won 10 matches and drew 1, they were competitive. If they have another poor season like 2024 (which I expect), Tim Clangranto is going to break all sorts of clanger records.

Agree though, if he was low $400k or cheaper I'd consider him as a stepping stone, because he will improve slightly, but at $510k, he's a big pass for me. There are lots of better options for cheaper.

I was doing some homework yesterday on Bolton ......I didn't realise over his career, how high his CBA % were

I was of the opinion he dabbled, had periods of CBA attendance ....however he's consistently had 30%+ CBA's

This and his record at OS has seen him sneak into my side

View attachment 2211713
He was mainly just doing the cba’s and going straight forward after. I assume he’d do something similar at freo if he’s getting CBA’s

fook me, he went mental
View attachment 2212933

What's with the low scores throughout the season? Feel like he goes missing sometimes. Wonder if the above is the new norm.

23.5 yo, 70+ games, durable, good preseason, built like a brick shithouse, he could explode

I love Will Day so much, but you got me thinking
Will Day could be a good option but Newcombe is the one for me, no one really looking at him either so a real POD option.

Built incredibly well, durable, improvement 📈, good pre season, bottom of his prime age with 70+ games and great form end of the year.

🤷‍♂️🤷‍♂️

Remember these games are all minus Will Day and Mackenzie

Day got injured early in the tiges match so Newcombe had to carry the load

Not saying he wont continue this form but there was certainly more points up for grabs in the midfield
Will Day doesn’t change much, he played similarly with him in the side, actually also performs better at points with him playing.

Mackenzie wasn’t getting enough CBAs to make an impact.

Both of these players and including Newcombe can play other positions aswell, Newcombe has shown to be able to go forward at times as has Day and they will likely be the two number one CBA holders by a fair margin.

Will Day could be a good option but Newcombe is the one for me, no one really looking at him either so a real POD option.

Built incredibly well, durable, improvement 📈, good pre season, bottom of his prime age with 70+ games and great form end of the year.

🤷‍♂️🤷‍♂️
stevebbb Also I missed your comment about early season form, and low scores.

His floor was generally 90-100, the low scores aligned with an overall underperforming side.

The fact for him that really excites me is that he performs and Hawthorn generally win or do well. He is the barometer of this side.

Rounds 1-5
66, 66, 84 all decent losses.
110 when he performed for one quarter to drag Hawthorn back into it.
61 in a big loss.

129 win over North.
67 in a loss to Sydney.
95 win over Dogs.
136 win over St Kilda.
68 loss to Port (tight loss but a poor game).

3 wins and
96, 110, 97 scores.

Generally low disposal numbers aswell, so the impact in regards to possession and scores is good.

122, 105 in two more big wins.
65 in a big loss.
110 in a win.

76 in a win, scores very spread and dominance in other areas for Hawthorn.

100, 105 (loss), 91, 162, 140 and the two finals games, 149 and 131 (loss).

When Hawthorn losses big: 66, 66, 84, 61, 67, 65. = 68.1 (avg)

When Hawthorn has close losses: 105, 131, 110, 68. = 103.5 (excluding the poor game it is 115)

When Hawthorn wins: 162, 149, 140, 136, 129, 122, 110, 110, 105, 100, 97, 96, 95, 91, 76 = 114 (excluding one poor game, 117.2)

Form backend of 2024:
Non SC
Last 5 games before finals:
29 disposals @ 82% DE
13 contested
8.5 clearances (5 CL)
1 goal a game
1.6 goal assists
9.2 score involvements

28 coaches votes over 5 games

100, 105, 91, 162, 140

120 avg

Finals games
V Dogs
35 disposals @ 80% DE
12 contested
1 goal
1 goal assist
10 score involvements
9 marks
6 inside 50s
149 SC

V Port
31 disposals @ 77%
16 contested
6 clearances
2 goal assists
6 score involvements
6 tackles
4 inside 50s
131 SC

Not specifically looking in the SuperCoach glasses, Newcombe has a good shout of being a good option in 2025.

His backend form, the fact that he is such a barometer of the side that when he performs Hawthorn tend to win. This probably also comes into account with how people believe Hawthorn will go.

But interesting, and an owned percentage of just 3% 👀

His floor was generally 90-100, the low scores aligned with an overall underperforming side.

The fact for him that really excites me is that he performs and Hawthorn generally win or do well. He is the barometer of this side.

Rounds 1-5
61 in a big loss.

129 win over North.
67 in a loss to Sydney.
95 win over Dogs.
136 win over St Kilda.

3 wins and
96, 110, 97 scores.

Generally low disposal numbers aswell, so the impact in regards to possession and scores is good.

65 in a big loss.
110 in a win.

When Hawthorn has close losses: 105, 131, 110, 68. = 103.5 (excluding the poor game it is 115)

When Hawthorn wins: 162, 149, 140, 136, 129, 122, 110, 110, 105, 100, 97, 96, 95, 91, 76 = 114 (excluding one poor game, 117.2)

Form backend of 2024:
Non SC
29 disposals @ 82% DE
13 contested
8.5 clearances (5 CL)
1 goal a game
1.6 goal assists
9.2 score involvements

100, 105, 91, 162, 140

120 avg

Finals games
V Dogs
35 disposals @ 80% DE
12 contested
1 goal
1 goal assist
10 score involvements
9 marks
6 inside 50s
149 SC

V Port
31 disposals @ 77%
16 contested
6 clearances
2 goal assists
6 score involvements
6 tackles
4 inside 50s
131 SC

Not specifically looking in the SuperCoach glasses, Newcombe has a good shout of being a good option in 2025.

His backend form, the fact that he is such a barometer of the side that when he performs Hawthorn tend to win. This probably also comes into account with how people believe Hawthorn will go.

Ripper analysis mate, appreciate the effort.

Geez you got me thinking now. I've had Day locked in all preseason, but Newcombe might be a good shout. He won't ever be tagged, whereas Day will cop attention. Definitely going to keep my eye on him over the preseason.

He's the ultimate butcher, playing in a very weak side. In 2023 the Tigers won 10 matches and drew 1, they were competitive. If they have another poor season like 2024 (which I expect), Tim Clangranto is going to break all sorts of clanger records.

Agree though, if he was low $400k or cheaper I'd consider him as a stepping stone, because he will improve slightly, but at $510k, he's a big pass for me. There are lots of better options for cheaper.

It's his birthday today, please be nice.

Will Day talking about playing forward at times.

steve buscemi people to kill GIF

Yeah was tossing up between Rozee, Richards, and Newcombe for M3, but it feels like I might actually take the punt on Newcombe this time (had Rozee last season). Newcombe has a bit of a Serong feel to it from last year when he exploded out the gate with huge scores. He's definitely someone on that trajectory that could add a good 10 points to his average.

Rounds 1-5
61 in a big loss.

129 win over North.
67 in a loss to Sydney.
95 win over Dogs.
136 win over St Kilda.

3 wins and
96, 110, 97 scores.

65 in a big loss.
110 in a win.

Form backend of 2024:
Non SC
29 disposals @ 82% DE
13 contested
8.5 clearances (5 CL)
1 goal a game
1.6 goal assists
9.2 score involvements

100, 105, 91, 162, 140

120 avg

Finals games
V Dogs
35 disposals @ 80% DE
12 contested
1 goal
1 goal assist
10 score involvements
9 marks
6 inside 50s
149 SC

V Port
31 disposals @ 77%
16 contested
6 clearances
2 goal assists
6 score involvements
6 tackles
4 inside 50s
131 SC

Only thing I'm against having him (he is in my team) but Hawks may regress I think.

Geez you got me thinking now. I've had Day locked in all preseason, but Newcombe might be a good shout. He won't ever be tagged, whereas Day will cop attention. Definitely going to keep my eye on him over the preseason.
Newcombe will cop attention as will Day, he’s probably harder to tag due to his size, like you see with Petracca, especially since he can go forward. Day can go forward so both are good options.

I just don’t know about Day due to his lack of continuity. Ceiling for both is very high.

Just not sure you can trust Newcombe. His start to the season burnt a lot of people.

Would much rather 🌹 at that price.
Again it sits heavily with what I provided, he played poorly as did others, the group entirely wasn’t there but him particularly leading to poor team performance, when he got going the team did too. Not as much a reliant but he is a big barometer in Hawthorns midfield and team. It’s a POD option. Do or don’t.

Rounds 1-5
61 in a big loss.

129 win over North.
67 in a loss to Sydney.
95 win over Dogs.
136 win over St Kilda.

3 wins and
96, 110, 97 scores.

65 in a big loss.
110 in a win.

Form backend of 2024:
Non SC
29 disposals @ 82% DE
13 contested
8.5 clearances (5 CL)
1 goal a game
1.6 goal assists
9.2 score involvements

100, 105, 91, 162, 140

120 avg

Finals games
V Dogs
35 disposals @ 80% DE
12 contested
1 goal
1 goal assist
10 score involvements
9 marks
6 inside 50s
149 SC

V Port
31 disposals @ 77%
16 contested
6 clearances
2 goal assists
6 score involvements
6 tackles
4 inside 50s
131 SC

I had the kent all last season and got burnt, so it had left a bad taste in my mouth.

Now the caveat - I've been playing SC for a very long time.
Throughout the years, I nearly always pick a break out player, pretty much every year, a year too early.

If history repeats as normal, he's good for 110+

I had the kent all last season and got burnt, so it had left a bad taste in my mouth.

Now the caveat - I've been playing SC for a very long time.
Throughout the years, I nearly always pick a break out player, pretty much every year, a year too early.

If history repeats as normal, he's good for 110+
Hahahahaah that’s funny.

But he burnt me too, but his pre season this year has been night and day even from last year. Looks in incredible condition and it’s crazy how much difference it is. Which you don’t notice at the time, especially with his focus and improvement being something that’ll help his game significantly.

Hahahahaah that’s funny.

But he burnt me too, but his pre season this year has been night and day even from last year. Looks in incredible condition and it’s crazy how much difference it is. Which you don’t notice at the time, especially with his focus and improvement being something that’ll help his game significantly.

Sold GIFs - Find & Share on GIPHY

But GIFs | Tenor

YARN | I've been burned so many times, | Schitt's Creek (2015) - S04E12  Singles Week | Video gifs by quotes | 64e2b69a | 紗

Happened Again GIFs - Find & Share on GIPHY

Or GIFs | Tenor

YARN | ...I will hunt you down... | Friends (1994) - S07E23 The One with  Monica and Chandler's Wedding (1) | Video clips by quotes | 70dce853 | 紗

changin 500 on Make a GIF

Newk has been tagged a few times before and hasn't done well when he has been.
I'm wary of him SC wise, especially at his current price.

Newk has been tagged a few times before and hasn't done well when he has been.
I'm wary of him SC wise, especially at his current price.
I wouldn’t say he hasn’t done well, but it still aligns with what I provided. When he’s not playing well the team hasn’t. However he and Day both will play more forward time in 2025, especially if tagged. But I’d think of it more like the role Bont plays. Main midfielders who rest there or play forward if tagged at stages. Day can also play half back.

I think he’s got risk, as does Day, Oliver and others in the mid price and low premo prices.

At worst they’re still decent options and at best they’re the break out thing people want. Excluding Oliver who presumably if fit gets back to his best footy.

Position 2025 Midfielders