2025 player moves - ins and outs

People (including the clubs) always say that as though it means they’re playing for free. “Oh yeah we’ve got a connection there, so-and-so knows him”

There’s always a connection - doesn’t change the fact they’re just changing local clubs to get a big sign on few.

Fools gold.

The under 19 “signings” continue at Boronia with yet more kids from The Basin… must be shattering for them kids who have been Basin since Under 9 have jumped ship to Boronia. They’re notably not mentioning that they’re from The Basin so I imagine it’s a bit of a sensitive point, The Basin have been totally plundered over the past couple of years.

Quite a few have headed to Bayswater aswell. Only got themselves to blame.

Why would it be a Sensitive point?

I don’t know, but you read thru the signing announcements and hear all about their history and what club they are from, except the Basin boys where it is conspicuously absent.

I guess they don’t feel great about taking a big number of junior players from another club.

It’s more of a game / league issue for mine, happens a fair bit… no point talking about expansion or participation when it’s just players on merry go rounds across clubs. The pie isn’t growing, just being cut differently.

I don’t know, but you read thru the signing announcements and hear all about their history and what club they are from, except the Basin boys where it is conspicuously absent.

I guess they don’t feel great about taking a big number of junior players from another club.

It’s more of a game / league issue for mine, happens a fair bit… no point talking about expansion or participation when it’s just players on merry go rounds across clubs. The pie isn’t growing, just being cut differently.
Bunk always the voice of reason 😊

Boronia have basically recruited a whole u19s team from other clubs including over 12 from The Basin and only have a handful from their own junior club. Lucky they don’t have a points system in u19s they would be well over. Stand corrected but I believe in the Essendon league you can only recruit a certain amount of players from 1 club. Maybe the Efnl should look into something like that.

Speaking to a ex Basin committee person from the junior club he stated that people from Boronia had approached juniors from The basin late in the season about crossing over and offering free registration shorts socks etc. The Basin then offered the same but it was too late as too many had already jumped ship. They are not happy about it and either are a couple of other clubs.

Boronia have basically recruited a whole u19s team from other clubs including over 12 from The Basin and only have a handful from their own junior club. Lucky they don’t have a points system in u19s they would be well over. Stand corrected but I believe in the Essendon league you can only recruit a certain amount of players from 1 club. Maybe the Efnl should look into something like that.

I’m in favour of a national transfer rule where any one club can only take a certain number of players from another single club each year (say 5 for arguments sake)

Nothing hurts clubs more than these mass walkouts. At senior level they can and have ended clubs.

But you should be able to refuse clearances after say the 5th player.

Obviously there could be exceptions applied where a club folds or players are moving interstate etc.

It would encourage more players to stick around rather than whole teams upping and moving to another club.

Should be 10 player points each.

I’m in favour of a national transfer rule where any one club can only take a certain number of players from another single club each year (say 5 for arguments sake)

Nothing hurts clubs more than these mass walkouts. At senior level they can and have ended clubs.

Obviously there could be exceptions applied where a club folds or players are moving interstate etc.

It would encourage more players to stick around rather than whole teams upping and moving to another club.
Pretty sure that when Deer Park crossed over to the Essendon league that they could only recruit a certain numbers of players from within the league and clubs

I don't think in this day and age you can force players to play somewhere. Careers are short, end of the day AFLVIC and EFNL want players playing, not calling it a day if they are made to stay somewhere they don't want to be.

Success makes people wanna hang around. I know the basin have had some issues with the council and their deck and what have you. But I went there a good 12 years ago and the place was buzzing, huge turnout by the start of the seniors and everyone was at least double parked with beers or spirits. Obviously somethings changed since then.

I don't think in this day and age you can force players to play somewhere. Careers are short, end of the day AFLVIC and EFNL want players playing, not calling it a day if they are made to stay somewhere they don't want to be.

Success makes people wanna hang around. I know the basin have had some issues with the council and their deck and what have you. But I went there a good 12 years ago and the place was buzzing, huge turnout by the start of the seniors and everyone was at least double parked with beers or spirits. Obviously somethings changed since then.

Money keeps players and loses them.

They are not happy about it and either are a couple of other clubs.

A few clubs local to Boronia believe there had been a gentleman's agreement not to attack each other for many years but this off season Boronia went all out, not just with 19s but also senior players. A number of club captains, B&F winners and club stalwarts were contacted by the Boronia football department.

The feeling from other clubs is they had respected the deal and so had Boronia until now, but they were caught off guard.

A few clubs local to Boronia believe there had been a gentleman's agreement not to attack each other for many years but this off season Boronia went all out, not just with 19s but also senior players. A number of club captains, B&F winners and club stalwarts were contacted by the Boronia football department.

The feeling from other clubs is they had respected the deal and so had Boronia until now, but they were caught off guard.
There are a few cliches here. It's a two-way street and what goes around comes around.

He was a great young player for Upwey. Prem Eastern will be a great test for him. Ripper kid, I reckon he will get some good game time in the 1s for them.
Absolute gun for his age. Has finished in the top 10 of the Outer East FNL best and fairest.
Hard as nails and is a very good user of the football. Was chased by a number of clubs across the league.

What is interesting to note VFL clubs have turned him away as he is not an 'athlete'. Once again shows the ridiculous nature of the system where you need to attend a private school or be able to run a sub 4 minute kilometre - they apparently are key measures for young footballers aspiring for a higher level!

Absolute gun for his age. Has finished in the top 10 of the Outer East FNL best and fairest.
Hard as nails and is a very good user of the football. Was chased by a number of clubs across the league.

What is interesting to note VFL clubs have turned him away as he is not an 'athlete'. Once again shows the ridiculous nature of the system where you need to attend a private school or be able to run a sub 4 minute kilometre - they apparently are key measures for young footballers aspiring for a higher level!

The truth with this stuff is usually somewhere in the middle. VFL footy is another step up in terms of fitness and athleticism and there’s no doubt you have to be bloody fit and very very good runner to make a go of it as a VFL midfielder. You’ll most often be going up against AFL-listed mids. There’s plenty of local footballers who think they’d be able to do it but a lot fewer who actually could.

You might be able to hang in during training etc but if VFL clubs have limited list spots and are often filled by players either on or coming off AFL lists.

Absolutely some will make the step up, but most won’t.

Was turned away from Eastern TAC when he was clearly better than more than a few.

2025 player moves - ins and outs