Training 2025 Pre-Season - Standards are currently being driven

Cooper Harvey: What a nice surprise to see his development. Just used it beautifully, and contested hard. Won a lot of ball and set up plays more than once. Not like his father at all, he's a different player, but you know when someone has it, and he has it. Very hopeful signs.
Obviously I hope you're correct, but I absolutely do not trust myself or anyone else to subjectively gauge who 'has it' after Lazzaro's meteoric rise during last year's preseason.

If you're hoping to see content about football/match sim stuff, I've been told that it's unlikely. The football department under Viney has really cracked down on what they can share in terms of practice footage, especially from match-sim and gameplan/structure stuff.

The media team has put out a few things today but nothing substantive.

Good to have that confirmed as it's pretty much what The Dark was hinting at earlier this week - we are getting to a phase where the football department's interests in holding back details of tactics, game plan, player positioning, and evolution of the team are more important than a few entitled fans wanting to see footage.

I don't have a good grasp of what is normal, but it feels like we have a lot of players off injured, and quite important ones too (Duursma, Daniel, Fisher, etc). Is that standard?

Re: quiet Sheezel, there's been a few reports that he's had some niggles, right? He might be playing in 2nd gear for that reason, which I'm all for if it helps him get back to sustainable play.
Sheezel one of a very small number of players with absolutely zero to prove in pre season. He could still be at Torquay watching the waves for all I care.

Good to have that confirmed as it's pretty much what The Dark was hinting at earlier this week - we are getting to a phase where the football department's interests in holding back details of tactics, game plan, player positioning, and evolution of the team are more important than a few entitled fans wanting to see footage.

Sounds like it. Personally I think it is mostly irrelevant, sessions are open - anyone that wants to see what we're up to will be able to do so. Come the first few rounds of the season it will be what it is. Just my 2c.

Wardlaw downgraded to the steak knives in a short few hours.

Thanks Judas.

VFL stronger by the minute!

It’s easy to forget we are not even at the end of Jan yet.

The team looks much more advanced in their prep for so early in the preseason that it’s hard to believe we are just under 2 months before round 1. The praccy match looked like a late Feb hit out.

Importantly didn’t seem to be any injuries

It was very physical and congested as most of these matches are. The end to end rebound weren’t common but enough to look good and instill confidence when they happened.

Some howling skill errors but as a whole much improved than previous years, and again it’s very early.

Re individual players

Powell - best on again. Getting heaps of the footy and so composed with disposal. Shrugging tackles more and more (still gets caught doing too much at times but he obviously has a clarko gold pass to do so). Running seems a clear level above previous years.

WAP - speaking of improved running. Down a level from Powell but not by much. Plenty of footy. Plenty of clearances. Plenty of holding the ball tackles on wardlaw, Parker etc. and the debate about his speed should be put to rest this year. He’s fit and fast. Ran away from plenty of blokes out of stoppage.I Might need to reassess his best 22 status.

Wardlaw - very good again following on
From last week

LDU - typical LDu pre season game. 25 possessions in second gear. Looking good.

Sheezel - much less centre square time (but still some). Got it a moderate amount in the first half, then went into beast mode up forward setting up everything in the second.

Kerch - similar to sheez, went crazy in the second half. Missed a few targets early.

Goad - so let’s keep things in perspective. Whilst we are all touching ourselves about how he’s developing, he’s still a ways off. I thought he got manhandled in the ruck again, but his follow up is very good. And when he gets the ball and runs, it’s awesome. Marking will be his big issue. Hopefully like X once he fills out and confidence increases he starts clunking them. He’s kind of like goldy the moment without the deft skills, but 3 X as fast. Special mention when he was playing forward in the last qrt. Led out from full forward at great speed and looked like he belonged at full forward. Was ignored on the lead though. Certainly was a handful for Chom.

Clunkbar - surely this guy makes it as an afl player. Second best forward in the first half, should have had 3. Then best defender in the second half. Keeps surprising me with what he can do. Has no issue finding the footy. He also regularly goes clunk.

Ford and Curtis - just worked so well together and with larkey. I think there’s a reason that the 3 always play on the same team. Ie ford is playing round 1.

Scott - very good game. Very competitive, and tackling has gone up. Running down guys from behind the last 2 weeks. Hopefully he starts the year at his best.

Goater - as mentioned, looks like we’ve dodged a bullet here. Might be the best recovery from an Achilles we’ve seen. Running on top of the ground in that first half and worked hard running after.

Dursma - was happy to see him running strongly after half time. Worked very hard which is my knock on him.

LOL. Seriously there is nothing tactically that will have the opposition shaking in their boots. Plus all clubs have spies and Hardon Street is there for all to visit. Pretty hard to keep things secret for too long in the AFL. Having said that, I couldn't give a flying **** what content the club releases. Unless it is political. Looking forward to the club carrying on like pork chops over "Invasion Day" via their socials. :stern look

I'm liking the Phillips and Powell comments. Would be huge if they can be major contributors this year to support LDU, Wardlaw and Sheez.
I really wouldn’t mind seeing all of Wardlaw/Simpkin/Sheez and Parker rotated through mid/HF if LDU, WAP and TP can lock down the majority of centre work successfully.

My thoughts on today:

Tom Powell: stand out mid for the day. Clean, fast, and got plenty of it. Will take the next step this year.
Will Phillips: see Tom Powell. Very close second. Surprisingly good, clean, and competitive. He is a clearance mid. He is not a tagger. Really had the hunger today and looks super fit.
Taylor Goad: I've probably said enough, but there's a lot to like. Got involved much more than at any time last season and is really coming along. Atheltic, tall, and seems to have added self-belief. Look out in the next few years.
Cooper Harvey: What a nice surprise to see his development. Just used it beautifully, and contested hard. Won a lot of ball and set up plays more than once. Not like his father at all, he's a different player, but you know when someone has it, and he has it. Very hopeful signs.
Nick Larkey: Looks fit, ready to go and as primed as ever. Hard to notice if the addition of Darling helped him or not. He's just a very good player.
Paul Curtis: Outstanding display. Kick three, could have had 5 and yes it's a match sim, but he looked sharp, quick, and made some beautiful quick decisions with the ball. Seems like he's been told he can lead up at the ball carrier and that's what he did. Set for a big year.
Finbar Maley: Have we found another backman? Looks like it. His marking has never been in question. His kicking for goal has let him down so plonk him in the backline. Not only does he intercept, but he uses it well too. A big plus from today. Keep an eye on him in the backline for the rest of the pre-season.
George Wardlaw: was George Wardlaw. Looked great, tackled, got away handballs while being tackled, and got involved in chains. Looks in good shape for the season.
Luke Parker: Was heavily involved, doing the things we're used to watching him do for his former club. Will be a massive plus for our midfield as a unit. Worth everything we paid for him.
LDU: In cruise mode a la Harry. Looked great but didn't have to do too much. Kicking still an issue at times.
Hansen Jr: I've been big on this guy in the past. I saw nothing today that changed my mind. Played a wing/half fwd role and got involved quite a bit. Great hands in traffic and looked composed with it. Ran the whole game out, rather than being flashy at times.
Tristan Xerri: See LDU and Sheezel. Much the same as before. As good as Goad was, he was no match for Tristan most of the time. Played forward as well.
Eddie Ford: Only played the 2nd half, don't know why, but kicked two nice goals.
Can Zurhaar: Did bits and pieces, but I feel like his reputation alone won't be enough this year. Looked a bit slow to move it on at times, but still kicked a goal and was handy.
Jack Darling: Was a presence in the forward line but didn't to too much outside of an easy Joe the Goose in the last quarter.
Jy Simpkin: Looked great. Sole captaincy seems to suit him. Did not play a lot of mid time but did get around the ball and up forward. Looks really fit and moble.
LMac: Was LMac. Solid without being flashy. Had to play on Pauly and was made to look stupid a few times, but Pauly is going to do that to more than a few backmen this year.
Jacko Archer: Hardly noticed him. Not sure if he went off injured or not? A bit of a worry at the moment.
Miller Bergmen: Did okay in the backline. Got beaten a few times. Okay at other times.
Josh Goater: Great to see him back. Only played a qtr and a half. Seemed to cope okay and ran laps after that.
Caleb Daniel: Didn't do too much. Carrying an injury obviously and did rehab in the 2nd half.
Brynn Teakle: Not really that noticeable. Kicked a goal and spent a bit of time in the ruck. Suspect Goad may have gone past him in just one match sim.
Riley Hardeman: Looked great. Also played limited minutes, but was quick and used it well.
Dylan Stephens: Didn't look out of place. Got to where the ball was more than I expected he would. Contested well.
Colby McKercher: Coasted in the first half (or maybe that was just me) but really got going in the 2nd half and was the player we saw last year. Nothing to worry about here at all.
Bailey Scott: Ran all day as per usual and was clean and influential. A best 22 lock and looks set for a good year. Still as lightly framed as ever.
Zac Fisher: Only played the first half but was one of the standouts. Really competitive and clean. Got a fair bit of it off half back and up the left wing. Great signs. Much better than what we saw most of the time last year.
Charlie Comben: Played a Chom-like game, as expected. Couldn't keep up with Goad when he went forward, but I don't think anyone else would have either. Looked great.
Kallan Dawson: An excellent backup if Logue, Corr and/or others don't get up. A really good guy to have on your list.
Zane Duursma: Played limited minutes and was hardly involved when he was out there. A real concern for mine. Maybe it's because of whatever injury he's carrying.
Toby Pink: Was good for the most part, but now just might be depth if we have injuries. Didn't mind his game at all.
Jacob Konstanty: had a short for goal in the first and then went off or just was invisible. Not sure which. Didn't see him after the 1st quarter.

Did not see: 1st year players, Logue, Corr, BGeorge, WDawson, Tucker, CCJ

Any questions please fire away.
Just some positional type stuff mate.
Did JD do any relief rucking? I think this will determine whether Brynn gets a run early.
Would you say Colby played more wing or half back? Who would be next in line after Scott for the other wing position?

Goad - so let’s keep things in perspective. Whilst we are all touching ourselves about how he’s developing, he’s still a ways off. I thought he got manhandled in the ruck again, but his follow up is very good. And when he gets the ball and runs, it’s awesome. Marking will be his big issue. Hopefully like X once he fills out and confidence increases he starts clunking them. He’s kind of like goldy the moment without the deft skills, but 3 X as fast. Special mention when he was playing forward in the last qrt. Led out from full forward at great speed and looked like he belonged at full forward. Was ignored on the lead though. Certainly was a handful for Chom.

If Goldy was 6”10 and had a standing reach a full hand length higher, maybe. Goads comparatively bigger than Goldy to what Goldy is to Griffen Logue.

Goad is physically a freak of nature, he’s over 3” bigger than Luke Jackson and probably even more athletic.

If he actually becomes even a B grade forward combined with his obviously ceiling as a ruckman, you are talking about Darcy/Jackson level talent.

LOL. Seriously there is nothing tactically that will have the opposition shaking in their boots. Plus all clubs have spies and Hardon Street is there for all to visit. Pretty hard to keep things secret for too long in the AFL. Having said that, I couldn't give a flying **** what content the club releases. Unless it is political. Looking forward to the club carrying on like pork chops over "Invasion Day" via their socials. :stern look
Why do you have to spread your brand of politics then?

I go there halfway through the second qtr:

Powell was great. Covered ground. Kicking was exceptional.

Wardlaw was good with ball in hand.

Parker is such a great addition. Bloke can football.

Phillips was noticeably cleaner. However, his kicking has little hurt factor.

LDU was LDU. Untouchable when not scragged and hit a fair few bullet passes that have been touch and go previously.

Comben was getting plastered by all in Sunbury. The whole list having a go at him.

Curtis is leaner. And meaner. And going to have a ****ing great year.

McDonald still looks lost and never near an opponent.

I refuse to believe Caleb Daniel wasn’t an extra in The Wizard Of Oz.

Goad his extra terrestrial type movement for a bloke who’s 200cm tall. Like watching Gumby on crystal meth.

Harvey was involved. Sheezel did Sheezel things.

Fisher looked slick when he was on the field.

Stephens continued to disappoint. Missing targets regularly.

Goad moves like a cat.
Oh No Facepalm GIF
:p

Happy to see so many positive comments after our intraclub hit out, a positive sign that our Men's team are finally heading in the right direction.

The club is currently on a 12 game winning streak, I hope by the time our AFLW team start their premiership defence that streak has been extended to (about) 32. Make it happen Clarko. ;)

Just on training reports. I think there is a genuine chance the Finbar goes past both Teakle & Darling by the mid point of this year.

His development curve from the start of last year to now has been nothing short of incredible.
Doesn't Darling have a 3 year contract? :stern look

Training 2025 Pre-Season - Standards are currently being driven