- Dec 27, 2017
- AFL Club
- North Melbourne
Zurhaar better play well if he’s going to roll with that set up he’s got going on.
Started 7.30amJust got down to training and um they've just finished. I just asked a bloke who happened to be Kingy and he said looks like we missed it. Lol
Obviously Kingy and I didn't get the memoStarted 7.30am
Obviously Kingy and I didn't get the memo
YesDid you speak to him?
I didn't ask him. Our convo was around whether we should have a coffee cart.Is he friends with Bard yet?
I didn't ask him. Our convo was around whether we should have a coffee cart.
Website mentioned 7:30-9:30Just got down to training and um they've just finished. I just asked a bloke who happened to be Kingy and he said looks like we missed it. Lol
He's absolutely not slow, and his positioning is a lot better than fine- might be almost the best in the league as a key forward when it comes to reading the play. No mystery imo, its his movement/general athleticism (more quick/agile not explosive) combined with footy brain that makes him special.He's still a bloody mysterious player though. His positioning is fine but not special, he's not great above his head, and he's slow. I'm not sure how he gets his goals, outside of the fact he's probably the most targeted forward in the league (not his fault). I think I was the only one to predict him for less than 50 snags in last year's pre-season predictions, because he just doesn't excite me that much.
At the same time though, we owe him for saving the club's arse during its darkest hour. I still haven't worked him out and don't think I ever will
He gets his goals by being one of the most accurate kicks in the history of the gameHe's still a bloody mysterious player though. His positioning is fine but not special, he's not great above his head, and he's slow. I'm not sure how he gets his goals, outside of the fact he's probably the most targeted forward in the league (not his fault). I think I was the only one to predict him for less than 50 snags in last year's pre-season predictions, because he just doesn't excite me that much.
At the same time though, we owe him for saving the club's arse during its darkest hour. I still haven't worked him out and don't think I ever will
Have to disagree with his positioning. Multiple people have mentioned that he is in fact quick, so it looks like I might be wrong there.He's absolutely not slow, and his positioning is a lot better than fine- might be almost the best in the league as a key forward when it comes to reading the play. No mystery imo, its his movement/general athleticism (more quick/agile not explosive) combined with footy brain that makes him special.
He’s exceptionally poor in 1v1 contests.Especially considering that - apart from being 2 metres tall and a dead-eye in front of goals - Lark’s main strength is forward craft and leading patterns.
What is Comben’s main weakness as a defender? One-on-one defending? No. It’s remaining in play and not losing his man.
Wasn’t much going on today, seemed like an ‘extras’ session. Around 10-12 did there own thing and the others just did basic drills all designed on getting some touch and some overlap transition.Website mentioned 7:30-9:30
Seems only was 7:30-9
He’s exceptionally poor in 1v1 contests.
Close to the league worst.
He’s lost 42% of his 1v1 contests.Disagree he's exceptionally poor and close to the league's worse but it doesn't matter.
He plays to his strengths - like all the good players do.
It's a bit like Hawthorn supporters complaining that Jason Dunstall couldn't get off the ground.
You mean he's lost 42% of his 1v2 contests.He’s lost 42% of his 1v1 contests.
The Dunstall comparison is asinine.
So he wins most (the majority) of them.He’s lost 42% of his 1v1 contests.
We’ll see how he goes in the pre season matches but I think if we are being serious, he isn’t forging a 1v1 he may play as a 7th loose defenderWe laugh at Magic, and he’s a better defender than Comben.
The elite KPD’s lose between 15-25%.
Comben needs to get waaaaaay better in this respect.
Yes there is no doubt about this but people have to remember he's virtually played 7 months as a key defender. As with some of our other players I get the frustration but you have to think in baby steps, last year in a lot of the games he played really well and in some games he had some problems with the opposition, if he didn't I certainly would have been surprised and he performed pretty much as I expected.We laugh at Magic, and he’s a better defender than Comben.
The elite KPD’s lose between 15-25%.
Comben needs to get waaaaaay better in this respect.
I reckon LDU ran about 50 x 100m at about 3/4 pace. Same as Fisher and Hardeman?? Tucker did more than a handful at the back end of training too. LDU, Parker, Duursma, Wardlaw and someone else - I forget - were running lengths earlier in the piece. Jy and Colby had a cruisy day, CM as mentioned barefoot in the park Caleb Daniel and Aiden Corr worked together, Corr just rolling through one handed, both showed good intensity. Bumped into a mate I used to play footy with so wasn't really paying attention too much.
Riley Hardeman has a nice swerve on him, River Stevens has a decent left peg too. Tommy Powell is very like a Luke Parker younger brother. Big year for Tommy I reckon - a good runner, smart footballer, neat skills and quite demanding.
I might remember more .... maybe, but there was not a whole lot going on, as mentioned a bit earlier
Well I was outgunned on the location, so had to trapse into the big smoke. I couldn't even tell you the name of the place, was kinda near Haighs Chocolates in whatever arcade .... place was on the left and up a bit .... if you're facing north .... had the eggs benedict which were pretty yummy, didn't have to pay which was even better. Might have to start taking my best little mate into town every now and then .... $10 parking was a bonus, and straight onto the freeway. Not a bad adventure. We even snuck in a beer next to platform 12 .... or beside the Yarra if you look the other wayWaiting to hear on where’d you go for breakfast more importantly…
Spot on, old mate saw him at the pool last week and said he’s ripped the fittest he’s ever been. Mid field minutes coming up. If he can’t put in his best year to date this season then I reckon we trade himZurhaar better play well if he’s going to roll with that set up he’s got going on.