Player Watch #21: Callum Coleman-Jones - out for season after suffering Achilles rupture vs CFC on GoodFriday - go well CCJ

He is not and never will be a ruckman, not even a second one. Terrible when in that position and should not be used in that role.
Hey mate. Relax. Five angry posts in a row on this page. It's getting obsessive. You don't rate him, you've made it clear. That's fine.

Log off and go for a walk or something. This sort of obsessive angst doesn't help anyone or anything, especially when we've got precious little to be happy about in regards to this club as is. Footy ain't the be all and end all

oh you poor lost soul - someone questioned your idiotic summation that CCJ will follow the development path of Drew and Taz and you go all cry baby. FFS! Your resilience is worse than our backline.

I don't find your posts offensive - they are just soft, ridiculous assertions that reek of football illiteracy.
Champ all I said was big men take time, not that he would inevitably follow Drew and Taz’s development. He may make it, he may not: you don’t know and I don’t know. I merely pointed out that similar things were said about other big blokes at similar stages of their careers.

Keep having a sook though: speaking of reeking I can get you a load of manure cheap if you want to dump it at the club 🤙

Hey mate. Relax. Five angry posts in a row on this page. It's getting obsessive. You don't rate him, you've made it clear. That's fine.

Log off and go for a walk or something. This sort of obsessive angst doesn't help anyone or anything, especially when we've got precious little to be happy about in regards to this club as is. Footy ain't the be all and end all
Angry? I was posting as my son was having a bath and now I’m posting as I’m doing a shit.. mate no ones angry I’m just making a point.

The amount of excuses people are mustering for him is comical. His output is atrocious and he’s 24 year old.

Getting older also won’t change the fact that he’s lumbering and slow.

I get it you have convinced yourself into thinking that he has had a good season and/or is somehow going to magically ‘come good’ but every ounce of reality suggests otherwise.

Not angry just realistic and honest.

Angry? I was posting as my son was having a bath and now I’m posting as I’m doing a s**t.. mate no ones angry I’m just making a point.

The amount of excuses people are mustering for him is comical. His output is atrocious and he’s 24 year old.

Getting older also won’t change the fact that he’s lumbering and slow.

I get it you have convinced yourself into thinking that he has had a good season and/or is somehow going to magically ‘come good’ but every ounce of reality suggests otherwise.

Not angry just realistic and honest.
Never said anything of the sort. I've said he's had a couple of good games this year and that he's been really ****ing important in a couple of competitive performances, that's all.

I don't know if I'd describe a series of posts potting him as realistic in any practical sense. There's realistic, then there's purposeless beating of the dead horse. Like Mav does with Stephenson, like some campaigner whose name escapes me did with Bonar, like Nostrils with Scott. It's just football

Never said anything of the sort. I've said he's had a couple of good games this year and that he's been really ******* important in a couple of competitive performances, that's all.

I don't know if I'd describe a series of posts potting him as realistic in any practical sense. There's realistic, then there's purposeless beating of the dead horse. Like Mav does with Stephenson, like some campaigner whose name escapes me did with Bonar, like Nostrils with Scott. It's just football
Mate when I was a teenager and young adult I got upset about football matches… I’m many years older and wiser and a football result does not impact me negatively in any way.

So you’re preaching to the converted on this one.

Rather than bicker with one another i think we can all accept the facts,

We were diddled by the tigers,
He aint real flash,
Hes the best 2nd tall option we have it present.

The only short term option of replacing him at present is chom and with his injuries background that is far from a lock, medium term its a FA or some other avenue of mature recruit. Longer term is the draft. And the latter is most likely because sadly i cant see us contending for years.

He’s had a poor month, but statistically what else is the second ruck/ second tall forward meant to do? For the season, he is on a par with Casboult, Weideman, Lobb and Cox - I get that these players are all spuds but even the upper tier of that sort of player (Thilthorpe, McLean), are only averaging an extra touch or 2 a game as the only real point of difference. I think 10 touches, 1 goal and 7+ hit outs seems to be pretty okay for a resting ruck?
He wasn't really trying this week.

16 possessions and 2 goals is his best this year. That's a fair ceiling for his sort of player (ie a big unco lug.) But he has to compete otherwise he is wasting our time and his.

Won't be a popular opinion but he was on absolute hiding to nothing on Sunday and he was far from our worst. I don't recall De Koning or Ratugolea dominating him in the air and he largely created a contest, often outnumbered. We had 15 inside 50's up until half time, I cannot blame anyone forward of the ball for Sunday's result.

The facts are the forward line has worked better since his return. I am not saying he is peak Corey McKernan but he isnt our biggest problem and you could easily mount a case to state he is playing an adequate role in an average team.

Let's put of all this energy into sorting out our midfield when we don't win the ball, our other wingman, our tackle numbers and our team defense.

Won't be a popular opinion but he was an absolute hiding to nothing on Sunday and he was far from our worst. I don't recall De Koning or Ratugolea dominating him in the air and he largely created a contest, often outnumbered. We had 15 inside 50's up until half time, I cannot blame anyone forward of the ball for Sunday's result.

The facts are the forward line has worked better since his return. I am not saying he is peak Corey McKernan but he isnt our biggest problem and you could easily mount a case to state he is playing an adequate role in an average team.

Let's put of all this energy into sorting out our midfield when we don't win the ball, our other wingman, our tackle numbers and our team defense.
Ratugalea worked him out of a couple of contests long down the line early in the game. He was between wing and their f50 when it happened.

Allowing Sicily and Frost to double team Souv? Nah.
Like that wouldn’t have happened if CCJ plays though.
Sicily is going to go at world record pace for marks on Sunday.
Greenwood will at least make his opponent earn it and isn’t totally useless around the ground.
Frost is a bigger donkey than what CCJ is. If he plays we are better off.

The original deal wasn't great but that's done and dusted. We have no choice now but to milk him (not an euphemism) for the rest of the year and hope he produces some tangible promise for the future.

I was critical of the trade at the time but... can sympathise that those involved on our side wanted to double down on a young promising player from a successful (still feels wrong) club finally having their head turned.

It probably created some confidence in the way we approach players to then chase a quality prospect like Logue with some expectation of success.

Like that wouldn’t have happened if CCJ plays though.
Sicily is going to go at world record pace for marks on Sunday.
Greenwood will at least make his opponent earn it and isn’t totally useless around the ground.
Frost is a bigger donkey than what CCJ is. If he plays we are better off.
I'd be playing a defensive role on Sicily - Greenwood is the one.

I still think we need multiple key forward targets and I personally do attribute Larkeys year with having CCJ/Chom next to him.

And yes I agree CCJ & Frost are donkeys.

I still think we need multiple key forward targets and I personally do attribute Larkeys year with having CCJ/Chom next to him.

My issue with CCJ is unless he plays with aggression he is absolutely useless.
He is the opposite of Wardlaw. Wardlaw reminds me of Oliver in the way he comes to play every game and just lifts those around him. These types of footballers bring you success.
CCJ needs to be told his mrs cheated on him or his best mates in hospital, bloody anything to get the blood boiling. I played my senior footy the same tbf and its why I have a desk job now. But the point stands if he doesnt click into gear (I doubt he will) he will be on a trade site or sitting behind a desk in 12 months too.
I know hes been there for structure since Charlie went down but I genuinely believe Greenwood offers more as the 2nd tall. If not for that Ratts needs to keep setting standards at selection that they way he went about it last week and for 3 quarters against Adelaide was rubbish. I loved the bump he put on when he gave away 50. I want to see more of that not just one offs.

Fordy played the defensive forward role on Stewart in the 3rd last week, which had them moving Stewart into the middle in the last. I’d give him the job on Sicily to start off.

Wouldn’t be at all surprising to see CCJ returning to */giants/swans output this week, which is entirely acceptable for his role.

Looked the goods? Hahahahahaha. He took a couple of contested marks and that is looking the goods… the bar has gone lower everyone. Hahahahahahaha.
Yeh actually, he was ****ing good. He was either A) clunking them on the wings, around the 50 or B) bringing the ball to the feet of George and Will and co. So yes. He was looking the goods you **** wit.

Games are not on OUR terms. The games we were in, 50/50 contests, he was ****in good. Pull up any ****ing stat you like but this stat wont be in it, If a big man cant mark it, bringing the ball to ground in forward press momentum is worth just as much.

****in ancient gronk, you know drop kicks are an illegal disposal these days yeh?

Won't be a popular opinion but he was on absolute hiding to nothing on Sunday and he was far from our worst. I don't recall De Koning or Ratugolea dominating him in the air and he largely created a contest, often outnumbered. We had 15 inside 50's up until half time, I cannot blame anyone forward of the ball for Sunday's result.

Nah, I've never seen a bloke stop competing like that since JHF.

I'm happy to persevere, and people have a point about his structural contribution. But further to your point, there was a passage of play in our F50 when CCJ literally stopped and watched a player run away from him. Not a great look

100% I was already dirty on his attitude and then saw that passage early in the fourth where Larkey goaled and was like NOPE.

Do you remember when?

Player Watch #21: Callum Coleman-Jones - out for season after suffering Achilles rupture vs CFC on GoodFriday - go well CCJ