Retired #21: Dyson Heppell - Goodnight, sweet prince. What a legend! 🤙 - 24/8

Heppell is an ok player but not elite and I don't think he is the right captain for our club thought that before he was given the spot. talks to much rubbish and cliches something that ****ing annoys me. just me but I would have Michael Hurley as our captain...!!!

Has been ordinary in the last two weeks - It's noticeable his ball-handling which is usually assured has been problematic in the last two weeks.

Heppell is the least of our issues. Had an ordinary two weeks but geez....his body of work goes back years.

To those calling for a move to half-back...he is the only player on our list that resembles a genuine, AFL standard inside midfielder. Not sure who you think replaces him!

He got his hands dirty, that is for sure but his kicking was terrible! He wasn’t Robinson Crusoe though. Hopefully we can sharpen our kicking up a bit over the next few weeks.

Nothing went right for him by foot today, but that doesn't concern me at all. Just one of those unfortunate days where nothing came off the boot cleanly. He won't have too many of those. Other than that, absolutely loved the way he cracked in and won the contested ball. Really stood up and set the tone from the outset - he had a point to prove and he delivered.

54.8% overall but the commentary I just heard was more about his kicking efficiency than overall, so it might be misleading. Played really well otherwise.

Respectfully disagree. Dys is having no issues finding the footy but his decision making and skills are ****ing woeful this year

Thought he was one of our best. Was calm with ball in hand and especially early down back and took some nice marks.

Cracked in hard and busted his gut. Kicking wasn't the best but from what I recall there were a few missed because the guys up the ground did not read the play well enough.

Focusing on his disposal is missing the point by a long shot. He is such a good leader

How is it missing the point? He is an absolute turnover merchant this year, even when he has time and space. I nearly vomited when he ****ed up the most basic switch this afternoon.

Courageous or not, his shithouse kicking and poor decision making MUST improve

How is it missing the point? He is an absolute turnover merchant this year, even when he has time and space. I nearly vomited when he ****** up the most basic switch this afternoon.

Courageous or not, his shithouse kicking and poor decision making MUST improve
I dare say he was knackered from running himself into the ****ing ground, after 11 in the first, and putting his body constantly on the line; but yeah you from your seat in the outer or on the couch are spewing up cos he missed a few kicks... lol

I dare say he was knackered from running himself into the ******* ground, after 11 in the first, and putting his body constantly on the line; but yeah you from your seat in the outer or on the couch are spewing up cos he missed a few kicks... lol

What the hell does me being a fan in the crowd have to do with my ability to have an opinion?

What I wrote was completely valid, you can get the ball as much as you want but if ends up going straight back to the opposition you are actually having a negative impact on the game.

Have you watched a game of football in your life?

I reckon he might be carrying an injury to his foot/ankle. Usually he can turn on a dime or utilise his sidestep, however the last couple of weeks he's been sliding and slipping around a bit; might also explain his disposal today. Just an observation, I could be completely wrong.

All that aside, I noticed he spent some time down back in the 1st, looked damn good too. That said, he had no issues finding the ball as a midfielder either.

Heppell set the standard early in the game by sticking his nose over the ball and winning contested possessions - His kicking today was a non-issue.

How can you say running at 54%, constantly kicking direct to the opposition or a team mate in a terrible position was a non issue?

And he was rated third best player by the coaches - Enough said.

Retired #21: Dyson Heppell - Goodnight, sweet prince. What a legend! 🤙 - 24/8