Player Watch #21: Jacob Townsend - JJ Liston Medalist 2017

morris is way down the list and heading further south...

With depth obviously we can rest players a bit more. Chapman needs a rest can Elton step up ( I thought his senior appearance was OK)

McIntosh Lambert Batchelor had good years, but with some depth could've had some rest. Yarran & Townsend cover some bases here.

If Griff is off his game again, surely McBean gets a chance?

Foley Pettard Knights didn't play much last year but gives new players a chance

Sam Lloyd ~ 15 games this year : Lennon , C Ellis to play some more....

& speaking of Ellis's ~ maybe time for Brandon to go back to 2s occasionally
Ellis back to the two's.................yeah nah.

sent from the bada bing.

Can't see it happening.
Nope has a poor tank and cant play midfield, with the reduced cap and no sub, and the club playing lennon he wont get a game
With a second year in C Ellis and Drummond, could see Edwards playing more that forward role with the reduced cap and no sub. Add Lennon like you said, can't see Lloyd making it without injuries. If we recruit Yarran, then he'll slot in that role like he did in the early days for Blues. If we decide to play him in his latest role then catchya later Hunt.

Really Arnot got dropped after laying nine tackles in a game.
DH game plan doesn't rely on tackling
Anyway if you think he will improve us then you're as delusional as the mob down at pro
Not my concept of a big fish that we desperately need
I'm my opinion TI I think he may play the defensive forward role and rotate through.
So for me he will replace the Morris/Lloyd/Gordon/Petterd spot.
Obviously Lloyd and Gordon weren't very defensive but he will take a forward spot I think.
Basically meaning he will be 21-22 and have to work from there.
They did try Arnot in a similar role but he just wasnt really good enough.

I'm my opinion TI I think he may play the defensive forward role and rotate through.
So for me he will replace the Morris/Lloyd/Gordon/Petterd spot.
Obviously Lloyd and Gordon weren't very defensive but he will take a forward spot I think.
Basically meaning he will be 21-22 and have to work from there.
They did try Arnot in a similar role but he just wasnt really good enough.
Gee RD that could turn out to be more comical than Morros cameos .
i will be intrigued on seeing that bc going by most comments on here he will be Cotchin's body guard.

Gee RD that could turn out to be more comical than Morros cameos .
i will be intrigued on seeing that bc going by most comments on here he will be Cotchin's body guard.
I don't think it will be comical.
Townsends played most of his footy forward and it comes very naturally to him.
He has a very good nose for a goal.
No doubt he will spend time in the middle but he's not going to be in there heaps initially you wouldn't think.
I might be completely wrong.

I thought i read somewhere he was top 2-3 at GWS for 3km time trials, i would think if he hasn't got a good tank he has a good foundation....

Cant comment on the rest other than the tackling highlights haven't heard or seen of him...

Some perspective, we get this kid for pick 70. Realistically we have either ripped GWS off or we picked a kid who may play the odd game.

Many have this kid playing R1. Could be but it will depend on his preseason performance not that the guy could tackle.
Maybe but remember GWS offered this bloke a 3 year deal. You don't do that for a spud.

they tried to offer him a new 2 year deal though, so its not like they were happy to see the back of him. He could very well be the inside mid we desperately need
He's not meant to be a world beater on his own, I'd like to see him help take the stress off of cotch & miles which will help them take their game to the next level
3 year deal not 2.

Ellis back to the two's.................yeah nah.

sent from the bada bing.
I'm sure it won't happen cos Dimma will want to keep the team as stable as possible, but I reckon he has below average games and with the likes of Yarran, C. Ellis, Brando wants to improve his disposal, & be sure to be impacting games for 4 qtrs.

In regards to Ellis in the two's I think we can be better at managing our players during the season and give blokes a spell every so often, particularly Maric. We don't need a full strength team against the weaker sides all the time.

I'm sure it won't happen cos Dimma will want to keep the team as stable as possible, but I reckon he has below average games and with the likes of Yarran, C. Ellis, Brando wants to improve his disposal, & be sure to be impacting games for 4 qtrs.

Brando will benefit from less rotations because his opponents won't be able to maintain as high a level of intensity across the whole game and therefore he will be better rested when he comes to make his disposal.

Player Watch #21: Jacob Townsend - JJ Liston Medalist 2017