Player Watch #30: Reece Conca

This from a mate of mine who was at Tigers training yesterday on the Sunshine Coast.
'Went to training today and Reece Conca lapped everyone in the 20 metre repeat sprints and Jake Batchelor smashed everyone in the 300 m sprints. Then they had a practice match and both of them were s***. I also watched Daniel Rioli out mark Astbury in the square.'

Thats great we all HOPE our players improve and succeed. But when talking about what they have done so far that means jack shit.
With older players in particular i deal in honesty not hope when it comes to performance and obvious weaknesses.
Lol Conca is 24, hardly old. Players improve all the time. To write a player off before the season has even started due to past performance alone is ludicrous and creates a poor environment which discourages improvement. IF Conca reaches the point where he is clearly best 22 he should be given every opporrunity to play; at that point past performance is irrelevant. And if you have attended any training sessions you would likely have seen Conca is pushing for a R1 spot.

Another slant ..... 17 other clubs gave up on Conca because once up for trade there was zilch interest.
It's a fair question: If this bloke is so good, why was there no interest from anyone at the trading table?
As pointed out earlier, he is the quintessential Tigers player, who will occupy a spot on our list for 7-9 years, hoping, praying, wishing he justifies being a number 6 pick (and we'll do that with players regardless of their draft number).
Reecey will even excite once this year, by playing a good game against Hawthorm, or St Kilda, or Brisbane, but he won't back it up. That'll be enough for supporters and likely the club to say let's persevere and offer him two more years.
Regradless of form, or lack there of, I would have jettisoned him simply by virtue of his body issues.
I liken it to the film The Zodiac about the serial killer in San Francisco, when the detective investigating the case tells the mateur detective re a suspect: "The Rick Marshalls of this world will suck you dry."
Exactly how I feel about Conca ..... always going to be and always excuses .... he don't deliver.

FFS stop perpetuating mistruths. A claim was made that pre injury Conca was one of our best and most consistent players. I offered the B&F as a way of measuring that claim. Would seem to be as good a measure as any. Now if you finish in the bottom 6-7 in B&F performances in years where you've played 17-19 games (which is a large enough sample size) I think it's a strong argument to state he was not one of our best and most consistent players in that time. I'd go a step further that based on those performances you couldn't even rate him as a "B" level player.

All other arguments have focused on potential or capability. Not what he has put out to date. Has he had some good games? Yes. Consistent? No. I would have expected (and I'm sure the club would have too) much much more from a pick 6. What is so difficult to understand about that?

You're right, I shouldn't have said he was on of our best and most consistent players, because he wasn't. He was exciting in 2012, and only in his second year, so that upped my impression of his year.

With that said, when people get hyperbolic and generalise it is contagious, so when you said he'd never had a break out game or shown he can play at the level, which a) I showed was wrong and b) is hyperbolic, I did exactly what you did, which was to say something wrong and hyperbolic.

But what happened after you pointed out I was wrong? You reframed the argument to be only about whether or not he was one of the best and most consistent players without noting that evidence had been used to show your claims were also wrong. So you glossed over the fact that your negativity got in the way of objectively judging him and then just continue on saying he's not at the level, when really we should be meeting in the middle saying, 'Reece has shown B grade ability but has since failed to show it consistently, which is a worry. Hopefully he does better this year'. Surely that's reasonable?

Can we just stop this thread for a bit, cos non of us know anything. One person says Conca was a standout in the match simulation, another says he was shite. Some say he is useless, other reckon there's something to work with. We are probably all a bit right and a bit wrong. Will this go on until the season starts, or god forbid if he gets a game..... circle work.

You're right, I shouldn't have said he was on of our best and most consistent players, because he wasn't. He was exciting in 2012, and only in his second year, so that upped my impression of his year.

With that said, when people get hyperbolic and generalise it is contagious, so when you said he'd never had a break out game or shown he can play at the level, which a) I showed was wrong and b) is hyperbolic, I did exactly what you did, which was to say something wrong and hyperbolic.

But what happened after you pointed out I was wrong? You reframed the argument to be only about whether or not he was one of the best and most consistent players without noting that evidence had been used to show your claims were also wrong. So you glossed over the fact that your negativity got in the way of objectively judging him and then just continue on saying he's not at the level, when really we should be meeting in the middle saying, 'Reece has shown B grade ability but has since failed to show it consistently, which is a worry. Hopefully he does better this year'. Surely that's reasonable?

Not at all I think you're being contrarian and quite petty for the sake of it. My points are valid and support the contention I made. The "two break out" games he had were against who? It does not detract from the fact he hasn't been consistent enough performer to warrant a "b" rating. The fact he was almost delisted this year surely reflects that. The points you raise about a couple games where he played well only serve to demonstrate how he has consistently not been able to reach those dizzying heights of performance. Hence his B&F finishes.

I will accept a slight overstep by stating that he's never had a "breakout game". Although a "breakout game" is normally followed by a period of comparable consistency which he hasn't matched. How many players can you say that for that never went on to have long careers in the afl.

Simply put Reece has never put in a consistent enough body of work to be rated as highly as you suggested. Which really is the point not these minor hang ups you have about two games where he punched out a reasonable performance. I'm amazed you think this is somehow reperenstative of him being able to play at this level consistently. Bit non-sensical isn't it?

Does he have the potential to get there? who knows but you certainly can't make a prediction based off he has delivered to date. Which really is the point.

I'm interested to know what his skill set is

from what I see he isn't quick, athletic, tall, strong overhead, elite runner, ball magnet, laser foot skills.....

just an overhyped, overrated vanilla plodder who fits in well with a few others at RFC

To his credit he was working hard yesterday in a drill that got very physical. He copped a ripper of a hit to the mid section that doubled him over, we heard it clearly from the boundary line....big smack!!! ..... but to his credit he pushed on with the drill. Could've easily called for the nurse and rolled over....speaking to him after training he had a positive outlook on the season ahead.
He's wearing yellow and black so I hope this year he takes a big leap.

To his credit he was working hard yesterday in a drill that got very physical. He copped a ripper of a hit to the mid section that doubled him over, we heard it clearly from the boundary line....big smack!!! ..... but to his credit he pushed on with the drill. Could've easily called for the nurse and rolled over....speaking to him after training he had a positive outlook on the season ahead.
He's wearing yellow and black so I hope this year he takes a big leap.
That last sentence spot on. we all bitch and fight on here but at the end of the day we all hope for better things to come.

should of traded him to the eagles when we had the oppurtunity. bloke is a dud with paper mache hammies he cant kick either. the reason we are in the spot we are in is we have wasted first rounders on conca/griff/lennon/corey ellis and so on

Another slant ..... 17 other clubs gave up on Conca because once up for trade there was zilch interest.
It's a fair question: If this bloke is so good, why was there no interest from anyone at the trading table?
As pointed out earlier, he is the quintessential Tigers player, who will occupy a spot on our list for 7-9 years, hoping, praying, wishing he justifies being a number 6 pick (and we'll do that with players regardless of their draft number).
Reecey will even excite once this year, by playing a good game against Hawthorm, or St Kilda, or Brisbane, but he won't back it up. That'll be enough for supporters and likely the club to say let's persevere and offer him two more years.
Regradless of form, or lack there of, I would have jettisoned him simply by virtue of his body issues.
I liken it to the film The Zodiac about the serial killer in San Francisco, when the detective investigating the case tells the mateur detective re a suspect: "The Rick Marshalls of this world will suck you dry."
Exactly how I feel about Conca ..... always going to be and always excuses .... he don't deliver.
There was no interest cos no one was taking a punt on the hammies.

Apparently hes training very well and looks in great nic. So heres hoping

There was no interest cos no one was taking a punt on the hammies.

Apparently hes training very well and looks in great nic. So heres hoping

How is it we took a punt on Dion Prestia? Chris Knights back when? The Hawks took a punt on O'Meara? Carlton took on Billy Smedts from Geelong with an injury history.
With respect buddy, Conca's hammies are only part of the equation why no one wanted him.
I hope I am wrong but I'm sure he'll see out his two years without much of a whimper and quietly be seen carving it up in the WAFL Twos in 2019.

IMO B.Ellis, Grigg, Miles and Conca are all fighting kids for spots in the team and Ellis and Grigg would be the front runners based on flexability

How is it we took a punt on Dion Prestia? Chris Knights back when? The Hawks took a punt on O'Meara? Carlton took on Billy Smedts from Geelong with an injury history.
With respect buddy, Conca's hammies are only part of the equation why no one wanted him.
I hope I am wrong but I'm sure he'll see out his two years without much of a whimper and quietly be seen carving it up in the WAFL Twos in 2019.

You constantly bag the club for doing so, so you cant really use it as a positive in an argument as to why other clubs didn't take Conca IMO

However I do agree that his hammies are only half the problem. IMO if he was a delisted free agent, there would have been plenty of interest, however the fact he was still on our list, clubs would have to give something up for him, and I think that would have been the determining factor in there being zero interest.

Player Watch #30: Reece Conca