Player Watch #32 Samson Ryan

Well this is our midfield group allegedly
MIDFIELDERS: Dustin Martin, Dion Prestia, Shane Edwards, Shai Bolton, Trent Cotchin, Kane Lambert, Kamdyn McIntosh, Jack Graham, Marlion Pickett, Jack Ross, Thomson Dow, Riley Collier-Dawkins, Will Martyn, Noah Cumberland, Hugo Ralphsmith, Patrick Naish.
How many more do you want??????

Exactly, alledgedly, clearly there is fewer than that and a number have to get past the training wheels

I am so glad we still got Graham and Shai to go through to ensure we got some strength in there at a young age.

Some say CCJ is unproven but RCD is?? :drunk:

**** here we go again.
Dow is NOT a defender, has never been a defender and won't be a defender.
RCD is NOT a defender, has never been a defender and won't be a defender.

We all saw what happened when Ross was made to lose weight and run off half back. It was a disaster and it won't be happening again.

We didn't choose 18yo untried B grade mids in this draft (despite your protestations) because we have a traffic jam of mids waiting in the wings and frankly they are better than the kids in this draft once we got past Fin McCrae.

We didn't pick Callow (overweight and slow) or Baldwin (2 ACLs) for the same reasons nobody else chose them. Anyone who thinks either if these kids is a Jack Reiwoldt replacement has rocks in their head.

After three flags in four years you'd think we'd trust the club instead of losing our marbles over a bunch of bog average kids (Jack Carroll went at number 40 ffs and Carlton are welcome to him) in the worst draft in history.

It's kinda funny every year come draft time everyone gets excited about what's said about players by Twomey, Knightmare, Balmer in the papers
And if we don't draft said players, the melts are crazy, example Jack Carroll, Callow, Baldwin etc
The game's played on grass not paper peoples 🤦‍♂️ 🤦‍♂️🤦‍♂️

Exactly, alledgedly, clearly there is fewer than that and a number have to get past the training wheels

I am so glad we still got Graham and Shai to go through to ensure we got some strength in there at a young age.

Some say CCJ is unproven but RCD is?? :drunk:

Well we all have to start riding the bicycle somehow, training wheels are a good way to start
Anyone on our list with less than 10-15 games is unproven

MIDFIELDERS: Dustin Martin, Dion Prestia, Shane Edwards, Shai Bolton, Trent Cotchin, Kane Lambert, Kamdyn McIntosh, Jack Graham, Marlion Pickett, Jack Ross, Thomson Dow, Riley Collier-Dawkins, Will Martyn, Noah Cumberland, Hugo Ralphsmith, Patrick Naish.

Plus let's face it it's not as if they are all getting a game because their are ample spots up for grabs in the first 22. I for one am not complaining we just didn't just mindlessly add another one to the logjam. After three premierships in the last four years I assume they know what they are dooing.

Didn't sumich say stack was an inside mid...

Plus let's face it it's not as if they are all getting a game because their are ample spots up for grabs in the first 22. I for one am not complaining we just didn't just mindlessly add another one to the logjam. After three premierships in the last four years I assume they know what they are dooing.

Jeez you could throw Josh Caddy in as a Mid, played wing in 2019 season and GF
We have plenty, don't know what Mr Magic is on (bongs or L.S.D maybe?), not that there is anything wrong with that
We also delisted 2 in English and Turner FFS

Get the feeling in a full time professional environment he may just surprise a few.....just a little hunch....🐯

Jeez you could throw Josh Caddy in as a Mid, played wing in 2019 season and GF
We have plenty, don't know what Mr Magic is on (bongs or L.S.D maybe?), not that there is anything wrong with that
We also delisted 2 in English and Turner FFS

Caddy is not a wingman, that is proven.

He is not quick enough with the endurance.

He is not really a inside mid either. Been there done that.

Sure he play play there and go through the motions in a weakish team but when we are playing against contenders in a final Caddy is not a wingman nor inside mid to create the competitive advantage we need.

The thing is all our rucks are relatively young, Cotch 30 or so, Dusty near 30, Edwards beyond 30, Caddy near 30, Prestia not far off, Lambert similar. Nank, Soldo, CCJ, Chol, Biggy all younger

Caddy is not a wingman, that is proven.

He is not quick enough with the endurance.

He is not really a inside mid either. Been there done that.

Sure he play play there and go through the motions in a weakish team but when we are playing against contenders in a final Caddy is not a wingman nor inside mid to create the competitive advantage we need

Caddy is a wing according to dimma and a very good back up option

Hopefully the like of Stack or Dow can go past him

Idk cause it's hard to find 6'7 people that are good at football probably

Especially when you keep winning flags

And if nank goes down Chol is the only ruck prior to Ryan

CCJ? and other part timers

I think some are underrating Nank. He gets injured we bring in a replacement,yeah right

I think some are underestimating how good Dusty can be at 37 to.

I think some are underrating some on our list. Some seem to think 3-4 years at the most more and our window closing. I think some are selling Dusty and Co short

I think that this is a good question to pose. We have a lot of rucks on our list but if we really look at it, they are either undersized, dual position players (like CCJ) or spent like 1-2 years playing AFL before being drafted. Ryan is our only ruck that is a genuine full-time ruckman, not undersized and was already familiar with playing footy well before being drafted. Because of this, I think that Ryan is a good investment by the club. The other thing that our club highlighted in the draft summary video and is also evident in the game posted by Thommo 42 is how good of a kick he is for a ruckman and his creativity in the ruck. He's also good in the air and reasonable at ground level.

If he is already destroying grown men in the ruck as a kid, is a good decision-maker, is a good kick and can dominate in the air, then his potential is huge. He could end up one of the premier players in the ruck competition-wide if he builds on his fitness and strength, and a top-tier ruck is harder to find than a serviceable to good mid.

Didn't necessarily need to pick him at pick 40, but if they were always going to walk away with only 2 picks in this draft, then it makes sense to do so if one of the picks was always going to be Rioli Jr.

Just really happy to see him get picked up, we thought he would go last year - but the academy system really screwed him around last year. Playing Lions u18s, then Allies, then NEAFL, then QAFL - hard to get into a groove, especially as a ruck when every week you have different mids to play with.

This year with cancellation of NEAFL, the QAFL was chock full of all the best talent young and old and he was one of several very good ruckmen, probably only beaten once by Fraser Thurlow who is mid 20's, previously AFL listed and many good judges think Essendon let him go too early.

Samson is excellent below his knees and has very good skills for a big man, his tap work has always been his strength, can go with either hand and jump off either foot and tap it 360*. The biggest step he took this year was sitting in the hole in defence and down the line as an exit option, took heaps of contested marks, some of them in huge moments. Really elevated his game, which was great to see and I feel it was as a result of settling into a single environment instead of bouncing around clubs every week like the academy kids are forced to do.

Not declaring him a star, but I was confident he would be picked up and I knew we had Collingwood and Richmond scouts at some games this year, and in one of them he was best on by such a margin I was sure after that day he would go in the main draft, not rookie. Has a 196cm teammate 2 years younger I thought as unlucky not to go as well.

I reckon he is still growing too, he was around 200cm about 12-18 months ago. He grew at least 2 inches in the last 12 months and started to fill out.

Just really happy to see him get picked up, we thought he would go last year - but the academy system really screwed him around last year. Playing Lions u18s, then Allies, then NEAFL, then QAFL - hard to get into a groove, especially as a ruck when every week you have different mids to play with.

This year with cancellation of NEAFL, the QAFL was chock full of all the best talent young and old and he was one of several very good ruckmen, probably only beaten once by Fraser Thurlow who is mid 20's, previously AFL listed and many good judges think Essendon let him go too early.

Samson is excellent below his knees and has very good skills for a big man, his tap work has always been his strength, can go with either hand and jump off either foot and tap it 360*. The biggest step he took this year was sitting in the hole in defence and down the line as an exit option, took heaps of contested marks, some of them in huge moments. Really elevated his game, which was great to see and I feel it was as a result of settling into a single environment instead of bouncing around clubs every week like the academy kids are forced to do.

Not declaring him a star, but I was confident he would be picked up and I knew we had Collingwood and Richmond scouts at some games this year, and in one of them he was best on by such a margin I was sure after that day he would go in the main draft, not rookie. Has a 196cm teammate 2 years younger I thought as unlucky not to go as well.

I reckon he is still growing too, he was around 200cm about 12-18 months ago. He grew at least 2 inches in the last 12 months and started to fill out.

Great information, thanks for posting Thommo.

About time we started getting something back from Collingwood after what you vandals did to our list in the 80’s. 😂

Great input did he every play as a resting forward ruck or do you think his capable in that role as a forward.Who is his mate 196cm you rate.

Again thanks a lot for the kind info Thommo 42, much appreciated :thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu:

Ryan at 206cm and 96kg (could possibly be 100kg once season starts) is our Soldo backup next season
Remember how good Soldo was in at least halving the ruck contests against Gawn, Nic Nat, Grundy, the better bigger rucks, that Nank can't compete against due to being only 199cm (undersized)
At 206cm he could out leap most if not all of the taller rucks at other teams, that seems a logical strategy on our part, given Soldo aint playing much if at all next year

Great input did he every play as a resting forward ruck or do you think his capable in that role as a forward.Who is his mate 196cm you rate.

In 2019, he played forward a bit.

However in 2020, with shortened quarters and only an 8 game h&a season he rucked pretty much one out all year, just short stints on the pine once a quarter.

Jack Briskey is the other quality tall. Incredibly athletic.

Extract from the herald sun from a recruiter.

Massive ruckman Samson Ryan is 208cm and could play pretty soon I think, even though he was more a rookie player taken in the national draft. It fits with Ivan Soldo coming back from an ACL.

Player Watch #32 Samson Ryan