Player Watch #33: Kamdyn McIntosh Re-Signed until 2025

Interesting read re Ellis, didnā€™t realise it was club initiated šŸ˜®

Agree with others though smart move by the club considering the re-signing of Dusty and the signing of Lynch on big $ in recent years.

Give opportunities to younger players like Stack, Egg, Naish, Turner or play established stars like Edwards, Lambert, on the wing alongside Cadds.

Creating cap space and developing our next wave of stars

Ellis would have been told he was still a required player but would be taking a pay cut, or big offers elsewhere would not be matched. business is business and tigers decision makers and brando and his family and management all handled it beautifully.
Exactly, Brando was a Richmond Man, and the Club respected that, but there was also the chance for a 1st Round Compo pick and that influenced decisions as well, no matter what some of the nuffties want to say about it being 'disrespectful'. It's business! It happened! It was misread by the Tiges though and we ended up with a 2nd round pick - didn't matter, we were never going to match that money, and probably couldn't anyway. Brando may well have put a bit of mayonaise on being shaken up and upset - the truth can do that sometimes though - as KMac is finding as well. The ride up is beautiful, the fall can be brutal to the self-esteem and the hip pocket if not managed well.

Exactly, Brando was a Richmond Man, and the Club respected that, but there was also the chance for a 1st Round Compo pick and that influenced decisions as well, no matter what some of the nuffties want to say about it being 'disrespectful'. It business! It happened! It was misread by the Tiges and we ended up with a 2nd round pick - didn't matter, we were never going to match that money, and probably couldn't anyway. Brando may well have put a bit of mayonaise on being shaken up and upset - the truth can do that sometimes though - as KMac is finding as well. The ride up is beautiful, the fall can be brutal to the self-esteem and the hip pocket if not managed well.
The journo is getting a BS angle on it I reckon. The midfielder admitted it was tough being told he was no longer required by the Tigers halfway through last season. The journo forgot to add 'at my current wage.'
ā€œI was pretty shaken up and upset when I was told.ā€
Journo could've added 'thank goodness there was an offer on the table from the Suns all year.'

Exactly, Brando was a Richmond Man, and the Club respected that, but there was also the chance for a 1st Round Compo pick and that influenced decisions as well, no matter what some of the nuffties want to say about it being 'disrespectful'. It's business! It happened! It was misread by the Tiges though and we ended up with a 2nd round pick - didn't matter, we were never going to match that money, and probably couldn't anyway. Brando may well have put a bit of mayonaise on being shaken up and upset - the truth can do that sometimes though - as KMac is finding as well. The ride up is beautiful, the fall can be brutal to the self-esteem and the hip pocket if not managed well.
Donā€™t forget with the AFL giving GC the leg up with picks if we hadā€™ve gotten a first rounder for him in a draft that wasnā€™t a great one alot of clubs wouldā€™ve got their noses outta joint.
I donā€™t think the FD saw that coming till late either.

Disagree on your last point
Best team should be named for any given game especially the grand final

Ellis was the best player for the job according to the coaching staff so he played
What he was doing the following season is irrelevant
Our afl side is for winning games and flags and the vfl side is for development
Na he was kissed on the you know what and has always been a spud.Clearly not best 22 and with horrid deficiencies.They finally woke up to it.

Ellis would have been told he was still a required player but would be taking a pay cut, or big offers elsewhere would not be matched. business is business and tigers decision makers and brando and his family and management all handled it beautifully.

Carlton acted like clowns and probably could have had Butler and Brando and change, but instead they got Jack Martin at an inflated price which is sure to upset a few Bluebagger players who would be playing for peanuts.
You dont know any of that just more excuses for a dud.
Fact he was told his services were no longer required that from the horses mouth. He also said the news upset him and shook him up.

The club probably did it so he had time to shop himself around. At the end of the day Carlton wisely pulled out and there was only gcs left who were desperate for any old mature hack.

Imo he should not have been getting games if he was no longer required not as if he was going to be hard to replace.

Donā€™t forget with the AFL giving GC the leg up with picks if we hadā€™ve gotten a first rounder for him in a draft that wasnā€™t a great one alot of clubs wouldā€™ve got their noses outta joint.
I donā€™t think the FD saw that coming till late either.
It should be an equation. If the player's salary is in a certain bracket, the club losing the player gets compensated fairly.
Ifthe AFL decides to give you end-of-first-round draft compensation for losing Ellis ...
thenit is simply wrong. Obviously, that's not your fault nor your problem. But I'm predicting the magic 11 herbs

do they listen to Barrett, or is he just an AFL voice. Softening us up for what happened.

Na he was kissed on the you know what and has always been a spud.Clearly not best 22 and with horrid deficiencies.They finally woke up to it.

Personally think you are being a tad harsh but he definitely isnā€™t the perfect player
Thw way I see it he wouldnā€™t of been selected in the grand final if he wasnā€™t best 22 from the available players
But he was on e fringe and the club felt going forward he would of been overtaken by the next crop coming through

Personally think you are being a tad harsh but he definitely isnā€™t the perfect player
Thw way I see it he wouldnā€™t of been selected in the grand final if he wasnā€™t best 22 from the available players
But he was on e fringe and the club felt going forward he would of been overtaken by the next crop coming through

Spot on.

Common sense tells you he was best 22 or he wouldn't have played, that simple.. From memory he was pretty good in the Prelim also!

Spot on.

Common sense tells you he was best 22 or he wouldn't have played, that simple.. From memory he was pretty good in the Prelim also!

Precisely. Best 22, did his role very well. Even backed into trouble a couple of times late. But the haters missed those.
his primary issue is that his role is one that the new talented kids can do. Simple as that. Cash played a part also. The club actually helped him get into a very good deal to set him up.
I hope he goes well at GC.

Spot on.

Not sure he was best 22 in purest sense of the word, but he was best of the available players in the available form with the available experience to play that role. He was a natural selection in the circumstances.

Spot on.

LOL he was way down on his norm the first two finals and was literally putrid in the G/F. And his norm is not that great.

Common sense says they do get selections wrong and they dont always pick best 22 players.

Common sense says he was not worth keeping and they knew it from half way thru the yr. they did have plenty of options and they chose not to
utilise them.
Instead gifting a total soft hack games in front of more deserving players who would be far better for the experience and finals exposure and would probably have given more than him.

Did they get it wrong well simply put yes imo. Im not one of those head in the sand supporters who thinks they get every single thing right.
Ellis in the team or out of it from half way thru the yr would not have changed a thing. Imo better to play players we knew were going to be around than a fringe player who we knew wouldnt be.

LOL he was way down on his norm the first two finals and was literally putrid in the G/F. And his norm is not that great.

Common sense says they do get selections wrong and they dont always pick best 22 players.

Common sense says he was not worth keeping and they knew it from half way thru the yr. they did have plenty of options and they chose not to
utilise them.
Instead gifting a total soft hack games in front of more deserving players who would be far better for the experience and finals exposure and would probably have given more than him.

Did they get it wrong well simply put yes imo. Im not one of those head in the sand supporters who thinks they get every single thing right.
Ellis in the team or out of it from half way thru the yr would not have changed a thing. Imo better to play players we knew were going to be around than a fringe player who we knew wouldnt be.

At one layer or two I wouldn't disagree with you, but there's so much more to a game of footy. The Richmond Footy Department value filling spaces as much as they value regular stats. And I quote.... "I still maintain that the very best players in the League are the ones who make those around them better", say Hardwick. You'd assume he's about to mention Lynch, or Martin or Cotchin, but he goes another way. "Rioli is a great example. People might look at him and his Supercoach points and possession rate and it's not high, but he does a lot of things that get us goals, and they don't register a stat." Hardwick adds, "There might be a day that the ball carries over and he kicks four goals, but he's more likely to go four weeks without any and George is the same. What they do is so important to us winning, and it's not measured in kicks, marks, handballs - or even tackles!"

Now with those couple of additional layers considered, it's probably telling of Brandon's Brisbane final's game (that I too thought was a bit ho-hum quite frankly). Total distance covered is drooled over by TV networks and commentators alike, but Richmond Sport Science Manager, Brendan Fahrner explains "Sprint distance is a more important measure. Daniel Rioli sprinting tonight was elite, well above average, last week was the same. Bolton, Ellis and Short had strong sprinting nights as well, where they excel at largely unrewarded running, busting their arses to catch-an-corral and close down gaps".

The Brisbane final rested on two key tenets of the Richmond Game plan it was said. When beaten at stoppages, restrict, curtail, limit and minimise. When winning stoppages run, break, create and maximise. Hardwick was said to have summed that up pre-game "If Brisbane win the ball, what are they running into? Richmond numbers", he said. "But when we win the ball first, we are gone, boys, absolutely gone". That sums up the two halves perfectly.

All of that is just meant to say that the game plan and team rules are multi-layered. It's not enough to walk away and say you thought Rioli or Ellis had shit games, fact is what they did fitted unrewarded roles for the team. Superficially the game may well have been ordinary, but Ellis didn't need to be best 22, just best at the role and all reports indicate he did just that. That said, so long Brandon, thanks for the effort. Enjoy the medals Brandon, Mopsy and I will just watch on from afar, through different lens ;) :D

Kudos to Konrad Marshall

At one layer or two I wouldn't disagree with you, but there so much more to a game of footy. The Richmond Footy Department value filling spaces as much as they value regular stats. And I quote.... "I still maintain that the very best players in the League are the ones who make those around them better", say Hardwick. You'd assume he's about to mention Lynch, or Martin or Cotchin, but he goes another way. "Rioli is a great example. People might look at him and his Supercoach points and possession rate and it's not high, but he does a lot of things that get us goals, and they don't register a stat." Hardwick adds, "There might be a day that the ball carries over and he kicks four goals, but he's more likely to go four weeks without any and George is the same. What they do is so important to us winning, and it's not measured in kicks, marks, handballs - or even tackles!"

Now with those couple of additional layers considered, it's probably telling of Brandon's Brisbane final's game (that I too thought was a bit ho-hum quite frankly). Total distance covered is drooled over by TV networks and commentators alike, but Richmond Sport Science Manager, Brendan Fahrner explains "Sprint distance is a more important measure. Daniel Rioli sprinting tonight was elite, well above average, last week was the same. Bolton, Ellis and Short had strong sprinting nights as well, where they excel at largely unrewarded running, busting their arses to catch-an-corral and close down gaps".

The Brisbane final rested on two key tenets of the Richmond Game plan it was said. When beaten at stoppages, restrict, curtail, limit and minimise. When winning stoppages run, break, create and maximise. Hardwick was said to have summed that up pre-game "If Brisbane win the ball, what are they running into? Richmond numbers", he said. "But when we win the ball first, we are gone, boys, absolutely gone". That sums up the two halves perfectly.

All of that is just meant to say that the game plan and team rules are multi-layered. It's not enough to walk away and say you thought Rioli or Ellis had shit games, fact is what they did fitted unrewarded roles for the team. Superficially the game may well have been ordinary, but Ellis didn't need to be best 22, just best at the role and all reports indicate he did just that. That said, so long Brandon, thanks for the effort. Enjoy the medals Brandon, Mopsy and I will just watch on from afar though different lens ;) :D
We won that match...as far as I am concerned the best players got the job done!

It can be anything you want, the footy department has a view too ;)

At one layer or two I wouldn't disagree with you, but there so much more to a game of footy. The Richmond Footy Department value filling spaces as much as they value regular stats. And I quote.... "I still maintain that the very best players in the League are the ones who make those around them better", say Hardwick. You'd assume he's about to mention Lynch, or Martin or Cotchin, but he goes another way. "Rioli is a great example. People might look at him and his Supercoach points and possession rate and it's not high, but he does a lot of things that get us goals, and they don't register a stat." Hardwick adds, "There might be a day that the ball carries over and he kicks four goals, but he's more likely to go four weeks without any and George is the same. What they do is so important to us winning, and it's not measured in kicks, marks, handballs - or even tackles!"

All of that is just meant to say that the game plan and team rules are multi-layered. It's not enough to walk away and say you thought Rioli or Ellis had shit games, fact is what they did fitted unrewarded roles for the team. Superficially the game may well have been ordinary, but Ellis didn't need to be best 22, just best at the role and all reports indicate he did just that. That said, so long Brandon, thanks for the effort. Enjoy the medals Brandon, Mopsy and I will just watch on from afar though different lens ;) :D

outstanding post. Nailed it

And BEllis as well I bet! ;)
ā€œWe see the world, not as it is, but as we areā”€ā”€or, as we are conditioned to see it.ā€
Stephen Covey

When I read the coaches' interpretations, I realise I watch modern football but understand maybe 1/2 of what is really going on. If RFC can be winning flags with the 22 it puts on the park each week I'll reserve criticism of selections. I have players that I like, but whoever runs out there in our colours gets my support.
Ellis not resigning with us in 2020 but playing out the year was professional modern sport. If he was best available then he gets picked. Although I still reckon RFC telling any player they weren't required 1/2 way through a season is unusual.
If selectors value Kmac's tank, then he gets selected on the Ellis wing. I'm hoping during the year we get a look at some youth.

When I read the coaches' interpretations, I realise I watch modern football but understand maybe 1/2 of what is really going on. If RFC can be winning flags with the 22 it puts on the park each week I'll reserve criticism of selections. I have players that I like, but whoever runs out there in our colours gets my support.
Ellis not resigning with us in 2020 but playing out the year was professional modern sport. If he was best available then he gets picked. Although I still reckon RFC telling any player they weren't required 1/2 way through a season is unusual.
If selectors value Kmac's tank, then he gets selected on the Ellis wing. I'm hoping during the year we get a look at some youth.

:clapping: That comment is a bit like the Richmond Man ethos - you made yourself vulnerable by admitting something that years ago would have been picked on as a weakness and perhaps told why the F are you even commenting on here. And I think that is relevant to understand as supporters and fans, myself included, that being hypercritical doesn't fit Richmond anymore, that weakness just needs to be made better somehow and it's OK to look to your mate to back you up on that, provided there are other strengths that allow you to "BE A STAR AT YOUR ROLE". We don't have any SAD SACKS at our Club it seems, so perhaps a few outside the Club need to get out of there sacks too.

I wonder if KMac took a few weeks to live that through again, to see his future as pressure from below, that that is an actual role, that he was not a worse player, others are being lifted up by him somehow and he just needs to strive to be a star at his role.

You dont know any of that just more excuses for a dud.
Fact he was told his services were no longer required that from the horses mouth. He also said the news upset him and shook him up.

The club probably did it so he had time to shop himself around. At the end of the day Carlton wisely pulled out and there was only gcs left who were desperate for any old mature hack.

Imo he should not have been getting games if he was no longer required not as if he was going to be hard to replace.
You're mad if you think the club didn't think he was best 22 but he played in the GF anyway. šŸ¤£

Or perhaps, the Club picks players for the ability to be a Star at their Role without necessarily being better than guys who are emergencies etc. It probably doesn't matter though. Correct call, best 22 or not.

:clapping: That comment is a bit like the Richmond Man ethos - you made yourself vulnerable by admitting something that years ago would have been picked on as a weakness and perhaps told why the F are you even commenting on here. And I think that is relevant to understand as supporters and fans, myself included, that being hypercritical doesn't fit Richmond anymore, that weakness just need to be made better somehow and it's OK to look to your mate to back you up on that, provided there are other strengths that allow you to "BE A STAR AT YOUR ROLE". We don't have any SAD SACKS at our Club it seems, so perhaps a few outside the Club need to get out of there sacks too.

I wonder if KMac took a few weeks to live that through again, to see his future as pressure from below, that that is an actual role, that he was not a worse player, others are being lifted up by him somehow and he just needs to strive to be a star at his role.

I wonder if this applies to posters also? Being hyper critical is just being negative, it doesnt give anyone great insight.

I often laugh at comments made about how we got things wrong based on their opinions.

Irrespective of the individual decisions collectively we won the flag by 14 odd goals, even if they were right about just one of their criticisms id consider it petty and irrelevant given the final results.

Those who dont complain dont neccessarly think club is doing everything 100% correct either, just the bigger picture looks very good so why waste time on the small stuff.

I wonder if this applies to posters also? Being hyper critical is just being negative, it doesnt give anyone great insight.

I often laugh at comments made about how we got things wrong based on their opinions.

Irrespective of the individual decisions collectively we won the flag by 14 odd goals, even if they were right about just one of their criticisms id consider it petty and irrelevant given the final results.

Those who dont complain dont neccessarly think club is doing everything 100% correct either, just the bigger picture looks very good so why waste time on the small stuff.

I consider that spot-on and was what I was alluding to in a fair, less pointed way. Criticisms of themselves don't have to be a bad thing when they are about an act or a deed, but when they become personal or just personality driven........................they probably serve little purpose. I think the Club is teaching supporters a thing or two just quietly.

Player Watch #33: Kamdyn McIntosh Re-Signed until 2025