Player Watch #34: Jack Graham - MOVED TO WCE - PICK 42 Received

I want this kid to succeed as much as the next bloke but what i dont get is why we sugar coat his game. He has areas he must improve in the same goes for most of the second 22 and some getting a regular game.

We dont know what the coaches instruct unless your in the inner sanctum. my money says they want him to win more contested ball win more clearances and round his game out so he becomes a very good well rounded player. To suggest they only want half a player who only does the defensive well is ludicrous.
I'm with you there. I would much rather see him getting more of the ball, as I think he can. I know the coaches do rate pressure acts very highly, but if your opponent keeps getting the ball first and dishing it off, then you are not all that effective. I do however appreciate the way he hits contest after contest. I think we can all agree he needs to round out his game.

Be careful you will have posting saying you dont watch the games or dont understand it when everyone can see what needs to be improved.

Let's just remember we're talking about a bloke who's just turned 21 and has 23 senior games under his belt... He ain't no superstar yet, but he has great potential. He's got time on his side to work on his ball getting game, and I reckon he'll blossom in seasons to come.

you both dont understand how valuable he is to the game plan

I actually feel a bit sorry for him the way he is played. For all we know we had a Tom Mitchell on our hands or not. He has great endurance, gut runs from contest to contest, has neat skills... but doesn't get much of the ball. Yes I understand that his roll is pressure, but he seems to have the makings of a see ball get ball type, so we probably selling him short.
Mitchell took some years to come on. Graham has played one full season of footy. I'd love to know if he could be that hard nut ball getter we need. And he would still be a good pressure player, it's in his DNA.

Let's just remember we're talking about a bloke who's just turned 21 and has 23 senior games under his belt... He ain't no superstar yet, but he has great potential. He's got time on his side to work on his ball getting game, and I reckon he'll blossom in seasons to come.

"but he should be getting more goals and kicks and clearances and tagging the best player in the league and winning RFC grand finals more often"

Very well said mate!

We know he can get the ball and use it well. He has been used in a primarily defensive pressure role. As he gets that into his muscle memory he'll be able to pick up that extra possession a quarter. Then over time a couple each quarter. And suddenly he's 20+ per game and a pressure monster still. I look 2 years ahead and am very excited. If in 2 years he's still basically a pressure role player I am happy that we have such a good player at what he does, but slightly disappointed in the rest of the game. But if Graham just improves a bit, and then a bit, we have a genuine star.

Don’t forget at centre square stoppages theyre a team of three and a Ruck.
Someone watches Nanks tap
Someone watches the oppo ruck and someones a sweeper.
They 30 sec to work out who’s doin what...
Last year we had twenty different players attend a centre sq stoppage.
He might be the sweeper most of the time, but he’s good at it.

You cant have a midfielder getting the ball 12 times a game.

His role is important but his posessions need to improve dramatically which I think they will in time. If they didnt, regardless of his role, he would require upgrading.

You cant have a midfielder getting the ball 12 times a game.

His role is important but his posessions need to improve dramatically which I think they will in time. If they didnt, regardless of his role, he would require upgrading.
oh dear did you ever play footy mate?

Hard to get a read on the value of a defensive midfielder I reckon but it doesn’t make great reading Nank ave more poss but I reckon he’s gonna be a ripper.
Captain u16 state team
Captain u18 state team
U18 AA
The kid didn’t get a preseason 2017 cause of hamstring issues and we all know about his shoulder this pre season.
I found this..

He trained under a limited program in the 2017 pre-season due to the effects of hamstring tendinitis.[24][25] Graham remained in the clubs injury rehab ground until early March as a result of the injury, failing to play in the club's JLT Community Seriescampaign.[26] He suffered a further injury setback that month when he fractured his ankle during a club training session.[27] In late June he was removed from the club's long-term injury list and played his first half of football with the club's reserves side in the VFL.[28]Graham sustained a further ankle injury after one half of VFL play in mid-July. He did not return to the match after a first half in which he recorded a stunning 21 disposals, 14 contested possessions, eight clearances and six tackles.[29] He recovered from the injury after missing one match and returned to VFL football in late July.[

He’s 21 and played 23 games, dunno if he can reach his best this year but whenever he can it’ll be top shelf I reckon.

Needs to become more offensive and hunt the ball more. If it does it really deepens our midfield and allows us to play more than just our 'scrap it forward' game plan. I believe we need to become more rounded in the middle and collect more disposal.

He will. He's a kid that came in to playa role. He is a proven ball getter at junior level. All he needs to do is mature a bit, become more comfortable and have the shackles taken of somewhat. He knows he belongs and it's rare that junior contested ball monsters can't translate that somewhat to the AFL. Might be 2019, might be 2020, but he'll be a great all round inside mid.

Graham rcd and ross will be the mainstays of our future midfield. Pretty tough group. Hope we start to give graham the responsibility. If he can start accumulating more at the coal face then we can immediately start to counter teams that get such a large amount of the ball like the pies and crows

The inside talent in that threesome is very nice to think about. If they do come through then we will have a decade of bruising other teams in the contest. And a fair bit of outside as well.

I know that typically you don't get the potential to happen. But a man can dream. :p

Imagine in a few years we have those 3 monstering it, with Dan on the outside, plus whoever else makes it out of the kids. Could extend Cotch and Dusty's careers. I love it when Cotch is freed up from the inside work, he dominates games. It would be awesome apart from contending for premierships to rebuild the team whilst in top. :rainbow:

oh dear did you ever play footy mate?

Oh great, another expert who has achieved nothing and using the "did you ever play footy mate? "line.

He is a defensive mid who gets small forward type posession numbers? Even the good defensive mids with a strict tagging role get the ball more and he rarely plays a strict tagging role.

I am not knocking the kid, but FFS take the blinkers off

Conca for all his nay sayers, had similar pressure acts and tackles, or not far off, but far more posessions most games and still got criticised. Criticism is ok precious.

Player Watch #34: Jack Graham - MOVED TO WCE - PICK 42 Received