Player Watch #44: Cameron Zurhaar - has re-signed until the end of 2029 - finishes 6th in the 24' SBM

Lunchtime for judas
animation breast GIF by Rough Sketchz

images.jpeg.jpg

Some of it (more so the general vitriol aimed at his family) is getting a bit uncomfortable for me.
If I was on twitter i'd have directed my comment straight at his mum. She jumped in and made the comment "move on and grow up". You can't wade into a fight like that and not expect to cop it back.

I dunno Ferbs, maybe I'm mellowing with age. I just think it's becoming more and more apparent that he may have some issues, and I don't feel great potting him anymore. His mum is just going in to bat for her 19yo kid like we all would.

That does not in anyway justify what he did to our club, but we'll get a couple of guns out of his treachery so that's that for me.

Let him know on field, but the social media circus is a bit gross for me.

I dunno Ferbs, maybe I'm mellowing with age. I just think it's becoming more and more apparent that he may have some issues, and I don't feel great potting him anymore. His mum is just going in to bat for her 19yo kid like we all would.

That does not in anyway justify what he did to our club, but we'll get a couple of guns out of his treachery so that's that for me.

I don't care for the comment's directed at his mum (as someone said earlier, it's the typical mum thing of being blissfully unaware that she's thrown him under the bus even more haha) but i have no issue with the rest...if it stays clean.

Cam posting about him, fans calling him a mumma's boy, sook etc. Is more than fine IMO. He made his own bed. Now he should expect to cop it for the rest of his career. He's got 800k a year to help him sleep at night. Given his figjam attitude I doubt it's anything but water off a duck's back for him. Sadly i think it'd probably motivate him against us. Especially in a few years when he matures and learns to deal with a tag.

In saying that, it is 2022 and the AFL likes to create new rules when North are involved. If it carries on a bit more and the topic of bullying/mental health is brought up it wouldn't surprise me if North players were warned to not say anything on field and North members pressured into not booing or shouting anything. Threats of fines and peer pressure to do the right thing...:drunk:

Someone @ cam and let him know that the fans will pay any fines the club incurs against judas
There are some old buggers on here like Hojuman who will remember the first match Paul Salmon played against North.

Salmon had kicked several bags in his first few games and he is now up against North at Arden St.

North name Bill Berry, an ex * reserves player to play on Salmon. At the ground there was a rumour spreading like wildfire that Bill was in the team to beat the crap out of Salmon every time the ball came near. The rumour was being spread by North people who were taunting the* supporters and obviously, the plan was for the message to get to the * dressing room to intimate Salmon.

Bill didn't bash him, but Salmon played like he was shit-scared for most of the game.

Does anyone think this will work a second time around?

Tend to agree. Comments on his disloyalty and football decisions are fine.

But I've had a feeling that this kid might be headed for some "time out" from the game because his mental and emotional maturity are just not there. I'm sure there's many reasons for that.

The Zurhaar stuff is all fine and a bit of fun and showmanship. But his mum defending him means the line of fun has been crossed while people then telling her to effectively 'GAG-' makes me cringe.

I didn't like his decision to burn the footy club we love but all the 'mummy boy' innuendo etc is getting a bit OTT imo. Bit old school.

Tend to agree. Comments on his disloyalty and football decisions are fine.

But I've had a feeling that this kid might be headed for some "time out" from the game because his mental and emotional maturity are just not there. I'm sure there's many reasons for that.

The Zurhaar stuff is all fine and a bit of fun and showmanship. But his mum defending him means the line of fun has been crossed while people then telling her to effectively 'GAG-' makes me cringe.

I didn't like his decision to burn the footy club we love but all the 'mummy boy' innuendo etc is getting a bit OTT imo. Bit old school.
He claimed homesickness and then she tried to defend him on social media. I think Mummy's Boy is pretty apt, unless there is some very specific innuendo you're talking about. I'm with you in disapproving of the people directly posting at her though.

Personally don't give much of a stuff if he has to have a "time out" at some point, as callous as that sounds. He has a support network (that we graciously let him be closer to) and he needs to own his decisions. If (when) he gets cursed at for every game of his career, he needs to just accept that it's a consequence of his own actions. Wait just 12 months and it wouldn't have been this way. Pretty sure that on his salary he can afford to see a few shrinks to bolster his mental health skills anyway, and if he's not doing that then once again that's on him.

He claimed homesickness and then she tried to defend him on social media. I think Mummy's Boy is pretty apt, unless there is some very specific innuendo you're talking about. I'm with you in disapproving of the people directly posting at her though.

Personally don't give much of a stuff if he has to have a "time out" at some point, as callous as that sounds. He has a support network (that we graciously let him be closer to) and he needs to own his decisions. If (when) he gets cursed at for every game of his career, he needs to just accept that it's a consequence of his own actions. Wait just 12 months and it wouldn't have been this way. Pretty sure that on his salary he can afford to see a few shrinks to bolster his mental health skills anyway, and if he's not doing that then once again that's on him.

Mate I've happily thrown shit at him on here so I have no right to suddenly take the pious position. From that standpoint can't disagree with what you say.

But Themanbun kind of touched on it. There's an invisible line imo that gut feel says is being approached.

He took the piss on our club and for that I'll always resent him.

But - he's also a 19yo kid probably with a spectrum of good and bad influences and she's assumedly a remarried single mum looking out for her kid and fumbling her way into a very visible world. I can't take glee out of them potentially crashing against the PR rocks.

Let's not forget our club was a mess. We defended ourselves at trade time (as a fan base on here) but if Zurhaar and Todd were potentially both out the door before things change, it's likely a few of our leaders were more occupied ensuring their own survival as Rome was burning than worrying about an unprofessional talented brat.

The moment he made comments about the club being unsettled and not a good environment is what justify’s any animosity. I’m sure he (or at least his manager) knew what would come from that. That’s going to war against a whole membership base, for no reason.
Could have just stuck to ‘I need my family’ and ‘I’m home sick’ narrative. But to try and justify his decision by taking a low blow at the club and the playing list who remain at the ‘unsettled’ club. Gloves are off.

Player Watch #44: Cameron Zurhaar - has re-signed until the end of 2029 - finishes 6th in the 24' SBM