Player Watch #44 Sydney Stack

He has taken to AFL footy like a duck to water.

Some of his kicking last night was off the charts good.

He moves a bit like McLeod.
Hi contested marking is an absolute highlight to me. Dosent flinch a contest no matter whos running at him. If he keeps his head screwed on right hes going to be a very special player for us.

Spot on with the McLeod comparison too. It was the first thing i thought when i saw his junior highlights.

Hi contested marking is an absolute highlight to me. Dosent flinch a contest no matter whos running at him. If he keeps his head screwed on right hes going to be a very special player for us.

Spot on with the McLeod comparison too. It was the first thing i thought when i saw his junior highlights.

More like David Wirrpanda than Bunji McLeod

Stack is a chance to win the Rising Star award for the year.Sure Walsh and Rozee have been good but Stackbis starting to influence games. It would be a great middle finger to the recruiting dinosaurs of the AFL.

Walsh has started to tire as the season has gone on not running out games like he did in the first couple of rounds

Where as Stack as just gone from strength to strength adding something new to his highlight reel every game

Is bizarre hasnt got on a nom yet.

Was at Arden St today, he walked past us and saw Tarryn Thomas who was standing near me, went over and greeted him warmly.

Not a big bloke Sydney

Was at Arden St today, he walked past us and saw Tarryn Thomas who was standing near me, went over and greeted him warmly.

Not a big bloke Sydney

Great to see being himself and that's why he's so likeable to you get what you see.

Gone to outright 2nd in the rising star betting.

Wow, that's streaking up. What's not to love about his courage and dare, but it amazes me he never looks to be hurt at all, and he's been crunched more than once! Seen him slowed up for a bit, but never seems to develop a hobble, limp or look sore. Now I just hope I haven't mozzed him!

Not a big bloke Sydney
Did you notice Stack rubbed Thomas's hair as a nice gesture of respect after a tackle as he got up. Such an old fashioned footballer, would not have thought twice about taking him out with a big bump, but help him up afterwards.

Wow, that's streaking up. What's not to love about his courage and dare, but it amazes me he never looks to be hurt at all, and he's been crunched more than once! Seen him slowed up for a bit, but never seems to develop a hobble, limp or look sore. Now I just hope I haven't mozzed him!
Yeah good call, SS seems pretty resilient!

i wonder how much stacky will improve next year with a full pre-season and Rance in the team

It won't necessarily work like that. Reports are he nearly killed himself in pre season this year so he may not get any fitter than he is now. Also changing dynamics like Rance coming back may or may not help a guy like Stack in terms of his own form. When Rance is there the gameplan in defence is about Rance. In his absence, you can see suddenly Edwards, Grimes, Astbury, Stack maybe even Houli are getting more of the ball and flourishing.

Did you notice Stack rubbed Thomas's hair as a nice gesture of respect after a tackle as he got up. Such an old fashioned footballer, would not have thought twice about taking him out with a big bump, but help him up afterwards.

I thought it was after Tarryn took his mark late (when he then kicked the sealer), I did see the gesture, it was a real "Nice mark, got me there cuz, but I'll nail you next time". It was a really genuine gesture regardless of when it happened - Stacky helped Tarryn up and ruffled his hair as you say.

Was god yesterday at Arden Street, him and Tarryn obviously aren't mates from growing up (WA vs Tassie) and wouldn't have played rep footy together or anything, but when Stacky noticed Tarryn he went straight for him and Tarryn cracked an immediate smile when he saw Sydney coming up.

They literally just did an impressively fancy handshake and exchanged a few words and Stack wandered on but there was genuine respect between them, great to see.

It is going to be the great duel of the next decade those blokes, albeit I think Tarryn might grow into playing a bit taller than Stacky.

I’m a massive fan of stack. Love him.

But Walsh will win the rising star and he deserves it

If Walsh played for us you would
all agree ya **** Heads 😂
I don't think I'd trade Stack for Walsh. Walsh is an elite runner with a very solid skill base who reads the play incredibly, but he does not have Stack's x-factor and sheer class. Will see how the last half of the season pans out but Stack is closing the gap.

I wouldn’t swap them either mate.

But this year as a whole, Walsh deserves the rising star award.

Player Watch #44 Sydney Stack