7 & Fox Footy Issues

Incredible double standards from most on here:

re no commentary many are running the line "Business is business". But then get their panties in a knot about HD.

Apply consistent logic - Channel 7 has a monopoly, so why bust out the extra cash for HD? You'll still watch it. Business, after all, is business.

And I don't believe the Southern Cross argument. Last night during ads I heard commentators actually talk to the production truck about the shot they wanted when the coverage resumed.

You're right about the HD thing - it's a business decision taken by 7. What I would like to see is the AFL making it a requirement to have a HD feed as part of the rights. That would take the decision out of 7's hands. There, consistent again. :)

Foxtel (Bogan tv) made an utterly unequivocal commitment to broadcast all nine games in HD and without ads. For me, the biggest issue is that they appear to be such a bunch of amateur bogans that they have not made sure that 7 are contractually obligated to provide it to Bogan tv in the first place.

Two thIngs can happen now:

1 they pull out the contract and enforce a contract clause requiring 7 to provide HD

Or

2 they just admit they are incompetent Bogans who were too busy drinking jack Daniels, growing mullets and watching jerry Springer to do the normal thing and ensure an adequate contract was in place before they committed to the subscribers (or victims).

If its 2 I look forward to them making good with rebates etc!

Incredible double standards from most on here:

re no commentary many are running the line "Business is business". But then get their panties in a knot about HD.

Apply consistent logic - Channel 7 has a monopoly, so why bust out the extra cash for HD? You'll still watch it. Business, after all, is business.

And I don't believe the Southern Cross argument. Last night during ads I heard commentators actually talk to the production truck about the shot they wanted when the coverage resumed.

7 are using the HD trucks so the game is shot in HD. They are paying for it they just aren't using it. Same as what TEN did when they lost the rights.

Why should Seven talk after a goal when they are at an ad break? To enhance Foxtel's coverage?

I've got no problem with what Seven are doing. If I was in their position, I'd be doing exactly the same thing. It's not up to Seven to make Fox Footy's coverage more appealing to viewers.

Fox Footy is in competition to Seven. Seven paid a mint for the rights, commercial revenue offsets their outlay, they want as many people watching on 7. As it stands, if Fox has no replay or no commentary after a goal then I'm just as happy to watch on 7 with the ads which has a better picture on my TV!

They aren't doing so great at it at the moment. A staurday night match shown at 12:30am and absolutely none shown on Sunday. It seems they don't want an audience.

i see you're in brisbane mate, i think everything you will have had all matches live on 7mate so far.

Ronnie thats because the Lions and Suns matches are shown on 7 into QLD, even if they are a foxtel game. So those two games were shown yesterday on 7 or 7mate in QLD but nobody else got them on 7 (well SA got the Suns-Crows game).

7 only get 4 games per round, and you actually got 5 this round:

GWS-Syd, Rich-Carl, Haw-Coll, Melb-BL, GC-Adel.

Even in Melbourne there are no games on 7 today. It is just a quirk of the elongated round this week.

What I would like to see is the AFL making it a requirement to have a HD feed as part of the rights. . :)

This. The AFL failed (yet again) in their ability to understand all the potential issues that would arise.

Channel 7, are just doing what they have done for years, protecting their revenue.

Just like when they refused to broadcast games live (ie. Friday nights), it took until the AFL told them that they would have to broadcast games live, before any changes were made.

I think it's likely we won't see any changes until the next deal.

What I would like to see is the AFL making it a requirement to have a HD feed as part of the rights.

It's not like many of us weren't saying this a long time ago. Sport needs to be live, in full and in high definition. We're getting closer, we're just not quite there yet.

I fail to see how Seven are making a good decision by pissing off people (viewers, Foxtel and the AFL). No one is going to go back and watch their coverage because of it, and I imagine the amount of people who would be deterred from getting Foxtel/Austar because of it would be absolutely minimal. All they are doing is damaging their own brand from a PR perspective.

Like i said, if i had the option between dead air, and 500 annoying Allianz or AAMI ads (alliteration not intended), i'd pick the dead air every time. Probably even provides a bit more atmosphere if you can hear the crowd at the ground responding to the goal. I doubt anyone with the choice is staying with 7 regardless. Like you said, it just makes them sound like a bunch of whiny kids.

7 & Fox Footy Issues