Delisted #7: Leroy Jetta

Re: 7. Leroy Jetta

heyyy
Leroy Jetta has been my favourite player, ever since he was picked at number 15 in the Draft of 06
many of my friends tell me, whats it like to idol such a S**T footballer
i ignore there comments
As u can see in my myspace www.myspace.com/maco_david
i am loyal to Leroy and i think he will come up as one of the competions better Forward pockets/midfielders

Stick with him, he has shown there is potential there in his 11 games to date, just needs to keep developing and showing improvements over the next couple of seasons.

P.S. He was taken at Pick 18 in the 2006 draft.

You clearly have no idea what you're talking about given that you're willing to strike a cross through Jetta's name whilst he has played just over 10 games.

I'll give you a tip - outside Essendon he is very highly rated and a club such as the Eagles would pounce on a deal to secure Jetta.

And frankly if they want him that much & want to offer a good pick &/or players I would hope we would seriously look at it. I'm not writing the kid off but by the same token I have never been impressed by him. Would like to have seen something special even if it was only a glimpse but I think some people here just assume because he's aboriginal that he has freak skills. Would love to see him become a matchwinner but my personal opinion is that he will struggle to live up to the hype. Certainly looks a fair way off the midfield star we've all been hoping for.

Tell me, how many guys midway through their second season do?

He does have freak skills, his goal in the Aboriginal All-Stars game was incredible. He rarely misses targets.

You should see him cruise around at training, he hits guys lace out with ease.

Leroy's averaging the second most tackles a game at the club only behind Alwyn Davey this season. His defensive pressure has been superb.

He's given us some great glimpses. Remember when he split the pack against Carlton before dishing off a handball to Lovett who then burned down the centre and goaled?

Remember his goal against Fremantle last year?

He's still finding his feet, as are most guys just 11 games into their career.

Give him some time, he's ready to explode.

I was watching the highlights on the winners on foxtel and Jetta was directly responsible for two of our goals in the last with skill and vision.

That chip kick to McPhee running into goal was brilliant.

From what I've seen if he doesn't become a seriously good player in 2 years then I'll give up football.

I was watching the highlights on the winners on foxtel and Jetta was directly responsible for two of our goals in the last with skill and vision.

That chip kick to McPhee running into goal was brilliant.

From what I've seen if he doesn't become a seriously good player in 2 years then I'll give up football.

That's another point, his vision on the ground is incredible.

As we improve as a team, we'll see what this kid's really capable of.

I stand by Jetta. I've seem him play great games last year (i.e Round 1 v adelaide). He's young, still finding his way, but when he does... look out!

Tell me, how many guys midway through their second season do?

For example from our own club I'd say Houli has certainly shown far more at the same stage of development as has Reimers. At this same point last year guys like Murphy, Pendelbury, & Thomas had certainly shown plenty for there fans to be excited about. I'm just saying that so far Jetta hasn't shown ME that he is in this league.

He does have freak skills, his goal in the Aboriginal All-Stars game was incredible. He rarely misses targets.

Have you not seen his recent disposal? His kicks against Adelaide for example were mostly very poor & missed the targets. He hasn't been an effective goal sneak. His defensive pressure has been good but we simply aren't getting enough from him yet & he needs to improve on his ball winning.

You should see him cruise around at training, he hits guys lace out with ease.

I've seen him train. That doesn't always translate onto the field for the real stuff. Bolton for example was a magnificent trainer. Henno never used to drop easy chest marks at Windy Hill but come gameday its a hell of a lot different

Leroy's averaging the second most tackles a game at the club only behind Alwyn Davey this season. His defensive pressure has been superb.

As I said this is a good part of his game but for where he's playing I'd much rather possesions & goals than tackles.

He's given us some great glimpses. Remember when he split the pack against Carlton before dishing off a handball to Lovett who then burned down the centre and goaled?

It was a good handball & something he can build on but I think its mostly his disposal by foot that is currently lacking & his ability to get more of the ball.

Remember his goal against Fremantle last year?

Can't say I specifically do but I'd much rather have remember him kicking a goal against Adelaide from a set shot.

He's still finding his feet, as are most guys just 11 games into their career.
Give him some time, he's ready to explode.

Like I said I'm not writing him off but I just personally don't believe he will be anything special based on what I've seen of him in his AFL, VFL & junior footy so far. I'm more excited by Hilsop's potential. I'd love nothing more than to see Jetta become the next Kerr or Burgoyne. Getting 25+ touches every week & running rings around the oppositions & pinpointing stabs on to Gumby's chest. I just don't think thats going to happen.

Have you not seen his recent disposal? His kicks against Adelaide for example were mostly very poor & missed the targets. He hasn't been an effective goal sneak. His defensive pressure has been good but we simply aren't getting enough from him yet & he needs to improve on his ball winning.

He set up two goals in the last quarter with two precise kicks...

Houli and Reimers haven't had to deal with OP last time I heard.

BTW - I think way too much is being expected of Jetta; he came to the club with OP and a very limited fitness base, and currently is experience hamstring difficulties.

For example from our own club I'd say Houli has certainly shown far more at the same stage of development as has Reimers. At this same point last year guys like Murphy, Pendelbury, & Thomas had certainly shown plenty for there fans to be excited about. I'm just saying that so far Jetta hasn't shown ME that he is in this league.

Now lets have a look at the people you have named. Houli, Reimers, Murphy, Pendlebury and Thomas. Whats common to all? None of them have had any injuries, in their early career.

Injuries play a huge role in a young players ability to 1. Get Fit, and 2. personal confidence. Jetta had serious problems with OP which would be one of footballers more feared injuries. It stuffed up his season last year completely. Then he started playing good football this year and had a hamstring injury just as he was finding form.

Nice of you to pick some guys who were taken 1, 2, 3 as well. Of course you would expect them to show a bit.

Guys develop differently. Cooney came into the AFL with huge amount of buzz, and its only now that we are seeing why he was picked at number 1. Others looked very good when they were young ie ricky dyson and now no one rates him. Give Leroy time. Seriously he is 19. He is one of the few players to be All Australian in two years at under 18 level. Even when he plays a 'bad game' in supporters eyes he still has 5-7 tackles, and 3 goal assists.

All those guys were far more ready made prospects than Leroy.

They didn't have anywhere near the injury problems that Leroy's had. It's much easier settling into senior football when you're playing a game every weekend.

If you want to compare him to others, let's compare Leroy's first 11 games with Gary Ablett jnr's first 12. Disposal average is virtually identical, with Ablett having kicked a few more goals which isn't surprising given Ablett was playing in a better side.

Not all guys break out from day 1.

I didn't see all of last week's match, so I'm not really in a position to comment. Can't say I noticed any obvious blunders.

And no he hasn't been an effective goal sneak, but who would be in our current side?

Matthew Lloyd's struggling to be an effective Full Forward.

I've seen him train. That doesn't always translate onto the field for the real stuff. Bolton for example was a magnificent trainer. Henno never used to drop easy chest marks at Windy Hill but come gameday its a hell of a lot different

It's a bit different when you're 19.

Leroy's still finding his feet in the side, Henneman and Bolton were given endless chances to find their feet and weren't up to it.

You've got to reserve judgement there.

As I said this is a good part of his game but for where he's playing I'd much rather possesions & goals than tackles.

So would everybody.

But simply, at the moment he's not getting the opportunities for bags of possessions and goals.

It was a good handball & something he can build on but I think its mostly his disposal by foot that is currently lacking & his ability to get more of the ball.

You said you wanted a glimpse of something special, that was an example.

Can't say I specifically do but I'd much rather have remember him kicking a goal against Adelaide from a set shot.

The running, bouncing goal.

And for the record, he has kicked a set shot goal against Adelaide.

Like I said I'm not writing him off but I just personally don't believe he will be anything special based on what I've seen of him in his AFL, VFL & junior footy so far. I'm more excited by Hilsop's potential. I'd love nothing more than to see Jetta become the next Kerr or Burgoyne. Getting 25+ touches every week & running rings around the oppositions & pinpointing stabs on to Gumby's chest. I just don't think thats going to happen.

He may not be anything special, few players are.

He has some tremendous potential though, he's just not translating it all into AFL level yet.

I hope you Jetta fans are right about him. I've got my doubts though. I just don't see much in him at all. I'm very happy with pretty much every other kid on the list though, just not Jetta:(
I'd be happy to see him traded at the end of the year if we could get a decent deal for him which I think we would as everyone else seems to rate him so highly.

I hope he finds his feet this season and proves me wrong

he will not be traded. you dont trade talented kids and he has already signed a new contract

I see a lot of Damien Cupido in Leroy Jetta, unsure of whether he is really going to pull through. With an inform Davey he is not needed at the club.

Nah mate thats bull crap. You can never have enough pressure on the opposition, watch the North game and you will see how much damage these blokes can cause with defensive pressure.
His only 19, has suffered a lot of groin related injuries not only last year but in his draft year and has also had a hamstring injury this season. His confidence is down but that happens to everyone, especially young players finding their feet. Will hold off before I really assess him but from what I have seen of him in the under 18s, and at times with us, he has far to much talent to not at least be a handy type for the Essendon Football club.

have a look at his highlights package in the 2006 draftees video on bomber tv. the kid just oozes class. just needs to get his confidence up

you spud.

Jetta spent his entire pre-season holiday in the Essendon Gym working on his fitness.

Cupido would rarely have set foot in there.

What a stupid thing to say :rolleyes:

Dont know about you but I'd love two Davey's running around the pockets.

Okay, i accept your critisism, maybe i didn't take into account his injuries, however I will stand my ground on the fact that I don't believe Jetta has long proficient future at the club, I would much prefer monfires/Winderlich/Dyson/ even Reimers creating forward pressure, he may show small blazes of brilliance but doubt he will be a reliable performer, which is why the comparison to Cupido was made. Looking at raw statistics he has scored 1 goal in 8 games this year as forward and only got over 10 possesions in one game, on the contrary his tackling count is comparatively high.

Dont know about you but I'd love two Davey's running around the pockets.

So would I. Unfortunately we've only got one Davey and a Jetta.

He looked a bit better tonight but I still was't that impressed. I still say we could trade him. I reckon he'll get a good price.

Possessions Leroy, give me possessions!

Is trying hard but 8 touches is not up to standard. I'm still confident he will be a good player, but he needs to do more.

Okay, i accept your critisism, maybe i didn't take into account his injuries, however I will stand my ground on the fact that I don't believe Jetta has long proficient future at the club, I would much prefer monfires/Winderlich/Dyson/ even Reimers creating forward pressure, he may show small blazes of brilliance but doubt he will be a reliable performer, which is why the comparison to Cupido was made. Looking at raw statistics he has scored 1 goal in 8 games this year as forward and only got over 10 possesions in one game, on the contrary his tackling count is comparatively high.

:eek: don't know how much of the bombers you have seen but defensive pressure is not really ricky's thing....

One thing I can say for Leeroy is that he has been consistently OK. Not consistently bad or good, just OK. This is fine for his stage of development. I do think he needs to kick more goals for us. If he averages 10 possessions, 4-5 tackles, and a goal per game I would take that every time for this year