Player Watch #9: Trent Cotchin is an obscenely good 3 x Premiership Captain, Victorian Captain & Brownlow Medalist

About 4 or 5.
Yeah it was more of a running gag for Dimma because he would jokingly bring her up in press conferences and the media seemed to enjoy the banter

But in reality she would of had no more or less of a presence at the club as any other coaches partner

Didn’t Scott and Goodwin go through separations during the same period? Seems Dimma’s split only got focus due to some tall poppy syndrome at play with us being at the peak of our powers

Yeah it was more of a running gag for Dimma because he would jokingly bring her up in press conferences and the media seemed to enjoy the banter

But in reality she would of had no more or less of a presence at the club as any other coaches partner

Didn’t Scott and Goodwin go through separations during the same period? Seems Dimma’s split only got focus due to some tall poppy syndrome at play with us being at the peak of our powers
Mrs hardwick apparently forced him to pick pickett for the gf at gunpoint.

Tbf if Mrs Hardwick is anything like my better half she would be managing every single second of my life

He does not have to be flawless.
He’s just another bloke like you and I. He was the footy coach. It was his job.
Being flawless in example is his job mate. That’s why he is a head coach and paid big bucks. It’s then about the type of example you want to set. For Dimma, it was the family man, mrs hardwick vibe that he chose. You can’t preach something for others to follow and then behind the scenes not live those values. When you get found out everyone realises it was all a fraud

Could you eloborate on the above?
Would be interested to hear about it.
A cryptic comment about higgins saying he was "good and bad but that's for another day" (ie no details). Lids and cotchin a bit of rivalry between them. Vickery a bit odd. Cotch and sheds walking in on some players about to take drugs. Grab the book, it's great!

Just had a random thought about the great man.

How good was his 2012 Brownlow year, and how does it stack up to other Brownlow seasons.

I would could confidently say Cotchin 2012 was > than:
  • Neale 2023
  • Cripps 2022
  • Wines 2021
  • Neale 2020
  • Fyfe 2019
  • Mitchell 2018
  • Priddis 2014
  • Mitchell 2012
  • Judd 2010
  • Cooney 2008
  • Bartel 2007
  • Goodes 2006
  • Cousins 2005
  • Goodes, Buckley, Ricciuto 2003
  • Black 2002
  • Akermanis 2001
  • Woewodin 2000

IMO only Dusty, Danger, Fyfe (once), Swan, Judd (once) and GAJ (twice) has better Brownlow seasons.

What a farkin legend

How good was his 2012 Brownlow year, and how does it stack up to other Brownlow seasons.

• Neale 2023
  • Cripps 2022
  • Wines 2021
  • Neale 2020
  • Fyfe 2019
  • Mitchell 2018
  • Priddis 2014
  • Mitchell 2012
  • Judd 2010
  • Cooney 2008
  • Bartel 2007
  • Goodes 2006
  • Cousins 2005
  • Black 2002
  • Akermanis 2001
  • Woewodin 2000

IMO only Dusty, Danger, Fyfe (once), Swan, Judd (once) and GAJ (twice) has better Brownlow seasons.

What a farkin legend

Was a beast prior to the knee v freo.

Afl changed 2 rules directly for chimp iirc

Being flawless in example is his job mate. That’s why he is a head coach and paid big bucks. It’s then about the type of example you want to set. For Dimma, it was the family man, mrs hardwick vibe that he chose. You can’t preach something for others to follow and then behind the scenes not live those values. When you get found out everyone realises it was all a fraud

Disagree.
He preached being yourself, to continually grow and be the best you can be. He definitely did not preach how to manage your personal life.
His marriage failed, like many others. Nothing to do with his job.

Some interesting things in the book. Some interestkng insights on Jack Higgins, Lids and Vickery. Plus the story about the 6 or 7 players taking drugs early on. What do people reckon? Great book I reckon, couldn't put it down!
I want to know who the six players that went to Neville Crowe’s funeral were

• Neale 2023
  • Cripps 2022
  • Wines 2021
  • Neale 2020
  • Fyfe 2019
  • Mitchell 2018
  • Priddis 2014
  • Mitchell 2012
  • Judd 2010
  • Cooney 2008
  • Bartel 2007
  • Goodes 2006
  • Cousins 2005
  • Black 2002
  • Akermanis 2001
  • Woewodin 2000

What a farkin legend
what about 💉watson

• Neale 2023
  • Cripps 2022
  • Wines 2021
  • Neale 2020
  • Fyfe 2019
  • Mitchell 2018
  • Priddis 2014
  • Mitchell 2012
  • Judd 2010
  • Cooney 2008
  • Bartel 2007
  • Goodes 2006
  • Cousins 2005
  • Black 2002
  • Akermanis 2001
  • Woewodin 2000

What a farkin legend
Definitely going in with supporter eyes here.

And the fairest fixture - every team played each other exactly once in H&A. And it completely shut down the numpties who carry on about our MCG advantage.
I keep reminding Lions supporters at work.
You were given a great gift but failed to open it.

• Neale 2023
  • Cripps 2022
  • Wines 2021
  • Neale 2020
  • Fyfe 2019
  • Mitchell 2018
  • Priddis 2014
  • Mitchell 2012
  • Judd 2010
  • Cooney 2008
  • Bartel 2007
  • Goodes 2006
  • Cousins 2005
  • Black 2002
  • Akermanis 2001
  • Woewodin 2000

What a farkin legend
Where do you rate Sam Mitchell in all that?

dont rate the covid one

felt like a nob cup
Covid Cup was the best. It proved we were a great dynastic side.

Played one game with Home ground advantage all year (v Carlton in RD 1 - as if Carlton don't play most of their games at the MCG anyway, rather than their 'technical' home ground at Marvel), and played 3 games 'away' - the rest were neutral. Finished 3rd (the two sides that finished above us - Port played 6 games with Home ground advantage and 2 'away' - Lions played 9 'home' games and 2 'away'. We then beat the side that finished top (Port) on their home ground in the prelim and won the flag on a neutral site.

(Interestingly, Geelong had 3 home games and 4 away. They finished 4th. But for Covid which forced games to hubs, Richmond and Geelong were clearly the two best sides).

Covid Cup was the best. It proved we were a great dynastic side.

Played one game with Home ground advantage all year (v Carlton in RD 1 - as if Carlton don't play most of their games at the MCG anyway, rather than their 'technical' home ground at Marvel), and played 3 games 'away' - the rest were neutral. Finished 3rd (the two sides that finished above us - Port played 6 games with Home ground advantage and 2 'away' - Lions played 9 'home' games and 2 'away'. We then beat the side that finished top (Port) on their home ground in the prelim and won the flag on a neutral site.

(Interestingly, Geelong had 3 home games and 4 away. They finished 4th. But for Covid which forced games to hubs, Richmond and Geelong were clearly the two best sides).
Really put the rubber stamp of our era in 2020.
I don't care what the oppo nuff nuffs or some media people say or more the point didn't say,But 2020 defined us as a great side.
As you stated we went all over the place and even on GF day we lost 2 important players in defence in Vlas & Houli(Hammy issues).
Yet we still prevailed.
What a Team!

Player Watch #9: Trent Cotchin is an obscenely good 3 x Premiership Captain, Victorian Captain & Brownlow Medalist