A thread on politics- have some balls and post

I've said it before, but if you can't afford to pay your workers a decent wage you don't have a viable business model. If you have less than 15 employees you can already get rid of your employees for practically any reason within the first 12 months. Employees are an investment in your business, you should treat them like it and try to develop them to be an asset instead of just having the ability to churn them until you luck into one that pays off.

Well said, and I believe most look at it that way. Good people are incredibly hard to find, when you get them you do everything to keep them. This is the reason I found the article interesting.
With an unemployment rate around 5.5 % and full employment around 4.5%, very few businesses could afford to screw their workers.

Unless they are subcontractors.
I was talking to an Uncle and my 2 cousins who are bricklayers here in Adelaide and shocked when they told me that builders in Adelaide are paying the same rates from around 2002 to their subbies. They have been around/just under $1 a brick since 2002, supplying their own public liability insurance, no workcover, no holiday pay, no sick pay and no superannuation.

Maybe if you don't call your workers *******s and treat them with respect they'd be more productive.
Hahahahahahahah! That is really funny Ruse! Because respect runs 2 ways, and the young ones of today have none.

I was talking to an Uncle and my 2 cousins who are bricklayers here in Adelaide and shocked when they told me that builders in Adelaide are paying the same rates from around 2002 to their subbies. They have been around/just under $1 a brick since 2002, supplying their own public liability insurance, no workcover, no holiday pay, no sick pay and no superannuation.
In the case of Sub-Contractors, in most cases it is other subcontractors who drive and keep those prices down. You will always find one prepared to work for the lower price and therfore they are the ones who set the rate.
If it is the Builder driving prices down, it is just to get work. If he gets the work, then the subcontractors get the work. Otherwise they all sit on their Asses at home, with no work.
When things pick up, the rates will go up and vice versa.

I spent the majority of the noughties in sham contract direct sales roles, partially because I was sold the dream and really believed I could make more money that way. Largely though, it was because I was being exploited due to my poor mental health and its contribution to making me believe that I would never be able to keep a regular job. My poor mental health also prevented me from taking the necessary steps to get what I was owed through fair work Australia action because you can only go back 6 years. It's probably why I have so much sympathy for exploited workers.

If your workers don't respect you then its not them its you, bro.
I dont have any problems with the people who work for me!
It's quite funny though, from the bloke with nothing respectful to say about anyone on Big Footy - but thats ok Ruse, you take the moral high ground Mate!

I dont have any problems with the people who work for me!
It's quite funny though, from the bloke with nothing respectful to say about anyone on Big Footy - but thats ok Ruse, you take the moral high ground Mate!
I'm not one of your little workers bro I don't have to kiss your arse.

You want respect then earn it.

I'm not one of your little workers bro I don't have to kiss your arse.

You want respect then earn it.
I have pretty thick skin Ruse, you can say what ever you want about me.
But I think Chris Fagan should have earnt a little respect from you this year.

If your workers don't respect you then its not them its you, bro.

Been on both sides of that fence & found as an employee it's one hell of a good way to become unemployed & from the other side, sometimes an employer can only do so much with an employee who wants to run things his way, you know, cake & eat it too.
I tend to think if someone has given you a job you owe some respect right from,the start, the employer doesn't have to earn it, he only has to keep it.

Indeed. This is the same approach employed by right wing hypocrites who start spouting off about “free speech” in the face of the lunatic rantings of fascists and the racist fringe in Australia, while completely losing their tiny little minds when Yassmin Abdel-Magied observes that as a nation we should not forget the way we have treated refugees on Manus Island and Nauru. Very transparent.

Case in point regarding the hypocritical approach to free speech adopted by right wing dinosaurs. You can have free speech, provided you agree with us and only in approved contexts. Abbott wants to stop people hearing a song that promotes love, empathy and understanding. This is a strain of the same virus that sees books burnt and "degenerate" art destroyed. It is a deeply resistant illness of the soul that is a feature of right wing authoritarian thinking.
http://www.theage.com.au/federal-po...hem-from-nrl-grand-final-20170927-gyq1ja.html

This is what Abbott wants banned at the NRL Final.

Same Love
Macklemore, Ryan Lewis

When I was in the 3rd grade I thought that I was gay 'cause I could draw,
My uncle was and I kept my room straight
I told my mom, tears rushing down my face, she's like,
"Ben you've loved girls since before pre-K"
Trippin', yeah, I guess she had a point, didn't she?
A bunch of stereotypes all in my head
I remember doing the math like "Yeah, I'm good a little league"
A pre-conceived idea of what it all meant
For those who like the same sex had the characteristics
The right-wing conservatives think its a decision
And you can be cured with some treatment and religion
Man-made, rewiring of a pre-disposition. Playing God
Ahh nah, here we go
America the brave
Still fears what we don't know And God loves all his children it's somehow forgotten
But we paraphrase a book written 3, 500 hundred years ago
I don't know
And I can't change
Even if I tried
Even if I wanted to
And I can't change
Even if I tried
Even if I wanted to
My love, my love, my love
She keeps me warm
If I was gay I would think hip-hop hates me
Have you read the Youtube comments lately
"Man that's gay" Gets dropped on the daily
We've become so numb to what we're sayin'
Our culture founded from oppression
Yeah, we don't have acceptance for 'em
Call each other ******s behind the keys of a message board
A word routed in hate, yet our genre still ignores it
Gay is synonymous with the lesser
It's the same hate that's caused wars from religion
Gender to skin color the complexion of your pigment
The same fight that lead people to walk-outs and sit-ins,
It's human rights for everybody
There is no difference
Live on! And be yourself!
When I was in church, they taught me something else
If you preach hate at the service Those words aren't anointed
And that Holy Water, that you soak in is then poisoned
When everyone else Is more comfortable remaining voiceless
Rather than fighting for humans, that have had their rights stolen
I might not be the same But that's not important
No freedom 'til we're equal
Damn right I support it
I don't know
And I can't change
Even if I tried
Even if I wanted to
She keeps me warm
We press play Don't press pause
Progress, march on!
With a veil over our eyes
We turn our back on the cause
'Till the day That my uncles can be united by law
Their kids are walkin' around the hallway
Plagued by pain in their heart
A world so hateful, some would rather die than be who they are
And a certificate on paper
Isn't gonna solve it all, but it's a damn good place to start
No law's gonna change us
We have to change us. Whatever God you believe in
We come from the same one
Strip away the fear
Underneath it's all the same love
About time that we raised up
And I can't change
Even if I tried
Even if I wanted to
And I can't change
Even if I tried
Even if I wanted to
She keeps me warm
Love is patient, love is kind
Love is patient
Love is kind (Not crying on Sundays)
Love is patient, (Not crying on Sundays) love is kind (I'm not crying on Sundays)
Love is patient, (Not crying on Sundays) love is kind(I'm not crying on Sundays)
Love is patient, love is kind

Before anyone posts that the left behave in the same way, I would argue that there is a difference between free speech and the HATE SPEECH that gets anti fascist and anti racist activists out onto the streets.

YES.

That song was a number one hit and is only one of a number of songs he will perform. This was known at the start of the month when the entertainment for the game was announced. NOW suddenly it's an issue and the right wing nuts like Abbott and his adoring media are trying to paint it as a deliberate political stunt from the NRL. Macklemore is releasing his new album, so of course he would take the opportunity to perform/promote, and as if you wouldn't perform one of your number one songs.
This has all come about because some coodabeen hasbeen homophobe is feeling insecure.
But a Change.org petition has been started by ex-NRL player Tony Wall demanding the “LGBTIQ anthem” not be played and that “LGBTIQ politics is taken out of the NRL”.

Wall played 10 games for Western Suburbs in 1995.

He said playing Same Love was a “bold political stance” and his family would feel “uncomfortable” at the footy.
He feels "uncomfortable". And this is where the "lefty yes voters" get accused of intolerance, because I have to say "WHAT A **** WIT", in response to this kind of shit from ignorant bigots creating a storm. No-one was politicising the grand final until this dickhead started his pissy petition.
Pop singer sings hit single. Get over yourselves, homophobes. Uncomfortable? Ask the LGBTQIA community about feeling uncomfortable.
If anyone is politicising, it's Abbort and cohorts. They all need to grow up.

That song was a number one hit and is only one of a number of songs he will perform. This was known at the start of the month when the entertainment for the game was announced. NOW suddenly it's an issue and the right wing nuts like Abbott and his adoring media are trying to paint it as a deliberate political stunt from the NRL. Macklemore is releasing his new album, so of course he would take the opportunity to perform/promote, and as if you wouldn't perform one of your number one songs.
This has all come about because some coodabeen hasbeen homophobe is feeling insecure.

He feels "uncomfortable". And this is where the "lefty yes voters" get accused of intolerance, because I have to say "WHAT A **** WIT", in response to this kind of shit from ignorant bigots creating a storm. No-one was politicising the grand final until this dickhead started his pissy petition.
Pop singer sings hit single. Get over yourselves, homophobes. Uncomfortable? Ask the LGBTQIA community about feeling uncomfortable.
If anyone is politicising, it's Abbort and cohorts. They all need to grow up.
Well put.

George Brandis criticising Tony has made me not despise him for the second time in a matter of weeks and it makes me feel uncomfortable.
The essential difference is that Brandis is a small “l” political lunatic while Abbott is a big “L” POLITICAL LUNATIC.

Been on both sides of that fence & found as an employee it's one hell of a good way to become unemployed & from the other side, sometimes an employer can only do so much with an employee who wants to run things his way, you know, cake & eat it too.
I tend to think if someone has given you a job you owe some respect right from,the start, the employer doesn't have to earn it, he only has to keep it.
The only thing I owe an employer is my labour. That's it. You give me money and I work. End of transaction.

... and the employer pockets the surplus value, Comrade Ruse.

I know you're being sarcastic I am so ******* sick of being exploited and powerless to do anything about it.

Start your own business & you'll definitely find yourself with so much extra cash & free time on your hands that you'll have no idea as to what to do with it all, and it's all provided by your exploited workers.
That's all you need to do to stop being exploited!

I know you're being sarcastic I am so ******* sick of being exploited and powerless to do anything about it.
Hey Ruse - I wasn’t being sarcastic.

I studied Marx and Engels extensively as an undergraduate at Melbourne University in the early 80’s. In particular, I did a really interesting subject called “Origins of Marketplace Society” which looked at the transition from Feudalism to Capitalism. My Masters Thesis "Radicalism and Conservative Reaction in Melbourne 1919 - 1929" made extensive use of archived correspondence between leading Australian radicals, minutes of Victorian Socialist Party meetings and internal documents from the Communist Party of Australia. I found the people I was writing about quite inspirational at times, but also funny. These activists had a sense of humour. In Brisbane in 1919 there was a group called the Communist Party Propaganda Department, which consisted of one man. I have a copy of a letter he received where he was asked by a Melbourne Communist, very tongue in cheek, "How's the revolution going in the Red State Queensland?" ('Red' Ted Theodore was ALP Premier at the time) to which the writer answered his own question, "Pretty dead no doubt - like the rest of Australia." At the time Australia was the Worker's Paradise with strong Trade Unions, Arbitration, an Eight Hour Day and a fair dinkum Living Wage. Revolutionary sentiment was never going to catch on, but I could not help but be drawn to these idealists. Also shows how far backwards we have gone since then.

I have also spent a number of years teaching the History of Revolutions. I find the Marxist analysis of Capitalism compelling.

Sorry if you feel under the pump, but I was expressing solidarity. I often refer to people as "comrade." When I was teaching in Beijing I was taken by the way some people referred to each other in a way that recognised their job and hence their contribution to the greater good of society - Comrade Bus Driver or Comrade Barber. For people you knew, it was still a practise, but you substituted comrade with their surname - Nee Teacher. Fascinating.

A thread on politics- have some balls and post