Academy: Gold Coast SUNS Gun Factory

Hearing that this weekends U18 game v Lions has been cancelled.
Apparently not enough numbers due AFL Academy game, VFL call ups and injuries.

Can anyone confirm? Was going to head out on Sunday and watch.

Hearing that this weekends U18 game v Lions has been cancelled.
Apparently not enough numbers due AFL Academy game, VFL call ups and injuries.

Can anyone confirm? Was going to head out on Sunday and watch.

Yes correct cancelled, this was an extra game added anyway so the right decision made I reckon

ROGERS BOLTING UP DRAFT BOARDS

The Gold Coast Suns may have to match an earlier than expected bid on Jake Rogers in this year’s national draft after a hot start to the year from the midfielder.
The Suns Academy member – who is also part of the AFL Academy squad – has been one of the early-season bolters.
Across three Coates Talent League matches, he has averaged 26 disposals, 7 tackles, 6.7 clearances, 5.7 score involvements and 145 ranking points.
Rogers also impressed for the AFL Academy side in its first exhibition match against Port Adelaide’s SANFL side last month, racking up 12 disposals, seven tackles and a goal.
“Jake’s had a fantastic pre-season,” Lockyer said.
“Like all of the Gold Coast Academy players that are in the AFL Academy, he got the opportunity to pretty much do a full pre-season with the Suns. So the physical preparation and the learning and the training standards that Jake was exposed to have clearly set him up to be pretty successful so far this year. He’s got speed and he values working both sides of the ball in offence and defence. He had some extraordinary numbers of tackles. He’s one that’s certainly pretty exciting for us.”

Walter, Rogers and Read all about to play in the AFL Academy game against Carlton's VFL team and the AFL website is streaming the game. Would be nice if we could round out the week with a solid performance all three academy boys after wins for the red and gold at the AFL & VFL levels.

Jake Rogers getting plenty of the ball 👍
Funny to see Jack Martin out there for Carlton. Guess that just show where's he at in his career.

Neutral observers are saying Rogers is absolutely in the bests for the AFL Academy and is quite possibly best on. Backs up the article that came out during the week that Rogers was bolting up the draft order. Walter apparently started well too. Not sure about Read.

Funny to see Jack Martin out there for Carlton. Guess that just show where's he at in his career.

Neutral observers are saying Rogers is absolutely in the bests for the AFL Academy and is quite possibly best on. Backs up the article that came out during the week that Rogers was bolting up the draft order. Walter apparently started well too. Not sure about Read.
26 Disposals 4 Marks for Rogers - BOG according to one commentator.

Kid has elite speed and good skills. Perfect AFL traits and what we need. His quick hands and footy brain combined with his speed help both offensively and defensively. His size didn’t appear to be an issue against Carlton’s VFL players.

Saw snippets from Walter and Read exactly as described previously.

Guess that is what high level coaaching from a young age can do.

Great for GC footy
IMO it's a combination of the AFL Commission investing an extra $400k into our academy pathway each year coupled with the explosion in population growth we've seen on the GC since the COVID period began. The AFL Commission started investing that extra $400k into our academy in 2018 (which also happened to be the year we first got access our elite training and admin facilities) and that was when the likes of Walter, Read and Rogers had just entered our academy at 12-13 years of age. That means these three boys are a part of the very first draft class of academy players to go the whole way through our fully funded academy pathway and have access to world class training facilities the whole time. It also helps that our academy team now competes in the really strong U19 Coates Talent League and that our academy players have the opportunity to play VFL footy for our reserves team when they don't have other rep commitments.

You only have to look at the talent coming through in the following years with Lombard/Nanacarrow next year and Addinsall/Murray the following year to see they are also potential first round picks after being named AAs in their respective age group. It's entirely possible we're going to see a solid production line of academy talent joining our list from now onwards and that is an amazing outcome for our club/city/state. 2023 would easily be the strongest draft class that Queensland has ever produced and most of the credit needs to go to our academy pathway with the way we've developed these boys into genuine first round draft picks. The fact that a Varsity College student/Broadbeach junior went down to Marvel Stadium yesterday and was best on ground in a team full of Australia's best U18 talent against mostly AFL listed players from a top 8 team in Carlton is an outstanding achievement.

Another great thing about producing high end local talent is the effect it has at the grassroots level. Kids from the Gold Coast will see guys like Rogers and Walter tearing it up in the AFL and will start to believe they can make it too. 'Rogers played junior footy for Broadbeach like me? Maybe I can make it!' It also drums up more of a tribal feel within our supporter base because Australians are naturally drawn more to people from their own city/state. It's why the Queensland State of Origin team is so popular. Exciting times ahead!

IMO it's a combination of the AFL Commission investing an extra $400k into our academy pathway each year coupled with the explosion in population growth we've seen on the GC since the COVID period began. The AFL Commission started investing that extra $400k into our academy in 2018 (which also happened to be the year we first got access our elite training and admin facilities) and that was when the likes of Walter, Read and Rogers had just entered our academy at 12-13 years of age. That means these three boys are a part of the very first draft class of academy players to go the whole way through our fully funded academy pathway and have access to world class training facilities the whole time. It also helps that our academy team now competes in the really strong U19 Coates Talent League and that our academy players have the opportunity to play VFL footy for our reserves team when they don't have other rep commitments.

You only have to look at the talent coming through in the following years with Lombard/Nanacarrow next year and Addinsall/Murray the following year to see they are also potential first round picks after being named AAs in their respective age group. It's entirely possible we're going to see a solid production line of academy talent joining our list from now onwards and that is an amazing outcome for our club/city/state. 2023 would easily be the strongest draft class that Queensland has ever produced and most of the credit needs to go to our academy pathway with the way we've developed these boys into genuine first round draft picks. The fact that a Varsity College student/Broadbeach junior went down to Marvel Stadium yesterday and was best on ground in a team full of Australia's best U18 talent against mostly AFL listed players from a top 8 team in Carlton is an outstanding achievement.

Another great thing about producing high end local talent is the effect it has at the grassroots level. Kids from the Gold Coast will see guys like Rogers and Walter tearing it up in the AFL and will start to believe they can make it too. 'Rogers played junior footy for Broadbeach like me? Maybe I can make it!' It also drums up more of a tribal feel within our supporter base because Australians are naturally drawn more to people from their own city/state. It's why the Queensland State of Origin team is so popular. Exciting times ahead!
Not to mention will graham this year. Cooper Hynes for next year, Zeke uwland and Max Hudson in 2025 and also another highly anticipated player in Kalani White.

Love the positivity but in 2006, 8 of the top 32 picks were Qlders and from memory about 14 all up. It was one out of the box perhaps as a result of the Lions 3 peat? Dunno. Can’t see that ever happening again.

But great to see 3 genuine draftees out of acad in one year very encouraging

Love the positivity but in 2006, 8 of the top 32 picks were Qlders
I imagine that was an outlier as far as drafts go, though. I feel like it’s rare to see more than 1 or 2 top QLD products.

I’m not going to check the facts, so could be wrong.

Also, we have QLD players who are essentially drafted out of Melbourne (like Ashcroft), as that’s where they do their schooling and play their 16/17 year old games in Vic.

Thought you lads might be interested:

Thanks mate. That video would be the first time some of our supporters have seen Rogers play and it's hard not get excited when you see how comfortable he looks against AFL opposition and playing alongside the best U18 prospects in the nation. In that video you can clearly see why Rogers' game is often compared to a young Zorko and ironically they come from the same junior club (Broadbeach). Absolute gun in the making and I'm confident he'll play AFL games for us next year.

Love the positivity but in 2006, 8 of the top 32 picks were Qlders and from memory about 14 all up. It was one out of the box perhaps as a result of the Lions 3 peat? Dunno. Can’t see that ever happening again.

But great to see 3 genuine draftees out of acad in one year very encouraging
Yeah, that's fair. That 2006 crop was pretty remarkable and probably drastically helped our cause for securing an AFL licence two years later. Having said that, I'm fairly confident Jake Rogers & Jed Walter will end up being better players than David Armitage (pick 9) & Shaun Hampson (pick 17) so you have to take quality in account here too. If Walter goes pick 3, Rogers goes pick 6 and Read goes pick 15 then is that better than an Armitage & Hampson plus an extra 6 picks beyond the 2nd round? Keeping in mind Will Graham will potentially also be drafted later in the order. Most of the Queenslanders drafted in 2006 had rather uninspiring AFL careers with Kurt Tippett (pick 32) being the exception but even he was a latecomer to the sport and was never guaranteed to make it. Just depends on what you value more - quality or quantity.

If we can get ahead of the Walter bid via trade/being s**t and land Nick Watson, Jed Walter, Jake Rogers and Ethan Read I will fap so hard my peepee will fall off.
I'm sure that's the plan at this stage so prepare your body.

Thanks mate. That video would be the first time some of our supporters have seen Rogers play and it's hard not get excited when you see how comfortable he looks against AFL opposition and playing alongside the best U18 prospects in the nation. In that video you can clearly see why Rogers' game is often compared to a young Zorko and ironically they come from the same junior club (Broadbeach). Absolute gun in the making and I'm confident he'll play AFL games for us next year.
I'm planning to do more of Rogers and start on some Jed Walter soon. I'll post them in here as I go.

A couple of extra cm would not hurt. But hey, he is already of Pickett's height.

Meh. We have big mids. He provides a point of difference. Rather see him with burst, skills, groundball ability and quick hands than a cm or two.

Academy: Gold Coast SUNS Gun Factory