Delisted Adrian Dodoro - Leaving EFC. #putoutyourjackets

Cliff notes:
  • Stepping back from his current senior role following the 2023 AFL Draft
  • Transition plan, raised the possibility with Vozzo in April
  • Replacement is Matt Rosa, whose thread is here: Welcome to Essendon Matthew Rosa – AFL Talent & Operations Manager!
Full text from media release said:
To coincide with this announcement, the Club’s General Manager of List and Recruiting, Adrian Dodoro, has made the decision to take a step back from his current senior role following this year’s NAB AFL National Draft. He will lead the Club through the upcoming 2023 Trade and Draft period in his current position prior to transitioning to and assisting Matt Rosa moving forward.
Dodoro, an Essendon Life Member, has played a significant role at the Bombers over nearly three decades and said the time was right to take a step back.
“I approached Craig back in April to discuss the concept of transition and I feel that now is the right time to make this decision,” Dodoro said.
"I sat on the panel to assist in the selection of Matt, and I believe he will be an outstanding acquisition to the Club for years to come. I look forward to working with Matt moving forward.
“These roles are very taxing on individuals and their families and it just feels like that. After nearly three decades and with stability in key roles at the Club, now is the right time for me to take a step back in to a role which will provide me and my family with a better work life balance.
“More immediately, we have an important few months coming up and I’m looking forward to playing my part to deliver a strong Trade and Draft period for the Club to ensure that the playing list is in a strong position for the future.”
Essendon CEO Craig Vozzo acknowledged the significant impact Dodoro has made at the Club since joining in a full-time role in 1998.
“Adrian is a highly respected Life Member of the Essendon Football Club and has made an enormous contribution to the Club and the wider AFL industry during his time in football, including assisting to navigate the Club through unprecedented and challenging periods,” Vozzo said.
“Throughout his time at the Bombers, Adrian’s commitment and passion to take the Club forward in its list management and recruiting, has been unquestionable. Some of the Champions of Essendon have been identified and selected by Adrian, and we will always be grateful for the important and enduring role he has played.
“On behalf of the entire Club, we would like to acknowledge Adrian’s selfless decision and we look forward to his ongoing contribution to the Club.
“Adrian will work with Matt to ensure a smooth hand-over and a successful transition of responsibilities.”

Sack Adrian Dodoro

To give Hirdy the best chance of success I reckon we need a new list manager...one who wont recruit Mark Williams / Hayden Skipworth for instance. Who is with me?

Re: Sack Adrian Dodoro

To give Hirdy the best chance of success I reckon we need a new list manager...one who wont recruit Mark Williams / Hayden Skipworth for instance. Who is with me?

Pretty sure it was Knights who pushed for these moves.

The recruitment manager get's direction from the head coach.

Excuse my ignorance.

But does someone have a brief job description for 'recruitment manager' and 'list manager'? I'm trying to understand the differences.

Also, how do we judge their performance? Seems pretty obvious for a recruitment manager, but not sure about list manager.

I think we need to invest more $$ into recruiting. The last All-Australian player that was recruited to our club was Jason Johnson, in 1996 (I just heard on SEN).

Not a very compelling record, who ever is in charge.

Congratulations.

I don't post here often, and wasn't about to go searching through months of posts to check if it'd come up.
Sorry mate, wasn't having a crack at you.

Was more an observation of how often the media "break" a story, rumour, stat or piece of trivia - such as that - long after it surfaces on here.

I highly doubt this is one of those times, but often there's no doubt they use this place to write/tell their stories.

Could possibly come down to a decison between the 7th best midfielder or the best ruckman in the draft. Easy choice from where i sit but obviously plenty of people have different views. Cant imagine much gold in the rookie draft this year after the Suns sign up the cream the state leagues with pre listed player signings, then they have to add 8 to their rookie list (not sure of the order) so unless we've spotted a gem playing in some remote bush league i dont like our chances.

Edit: and add the GWS picks to play in their VFL side next year.

We should have another AA from that period.

Scott Lucas

How he never made AA is beyond me.

It is an interesting stat, not that it alone, determines the success of a footy club.

Pretty Sure Lucas did make AA, didn't he?

EDIT: Wow you're right, he didn't.

And spuds like A.kellaway, C.Bolton, C.Brown etc, who weren't good enough to tie up Scott's shoelaces did.

Makes me angry.

When you look at teams who've had a crack at 3 or 4 premierships in a row...in the modern years, one thing is clear. That's simply that they've had a great number of midfielders where two or three of them are brownlow medalists.

It's staggering how many have no idea of how the modern game works, and what's our real standout concerns.

We've targetted highly talked about KPPs and drafted them. We've got more than what we require in our list. Yes, with Laycock going down and Bock not coming on, we require another ruckman. But not in the expense of a gun on baller with our first two picks.

Look at Melboure...they got Scully and Trengove, but instead of drafting a tall with pick 11, they went for Gysberts and then they followed that up with Tapscott at 19. I almost fell off the chair listening to the draft.

They already have Grimes, Morton, Blease, Strauss, Bennell...that too on top of Davey, Sylvia, Jones, Maloney. I mean, they are not trying to build the 8th best midfield in the comp..nor are they busy building an okay midfield to finish 12th. You don't hear the Melbourne recruiting people saying what the DUD was saying, do you?

They are in the process of building the best midfield group in the competition...they are really set now. And that's the key to sustained success in this modern era.

Who's the DUD picked up that make him this top shot, giving interviews like that? It's not about getting Melksham last year, with a couple of rookies and saying we've drafted enough...

We need to build the best midfield group in the comp, because we are going to face that Melbourne group for the next 10 years, with Martin, Cotchin, Foley, Deledio at Rich...Swallow, Cunnington, Ziebell, Bastinac, Adams at North....Gibbs, Murphy, Judd, Simpson, Yarran, Lucas at Carlton.
Swann, Pendlebury, Sidebottom, Beams, Wellingham and Co at Collingoood. Bulldogs, St Kilda, Geelong...the bloody GC :eek:...What hope do we have?

It will be another 10 years of horror, if we don't start addressing this in the draft for next 2-3 years and build a group of great midfielders.

We also need find a better way to develop our recruits...as equally. As they are not developing in the rate where other clubs are devloping their youngsters.

We should have another AA from that period.

Scott Lucas

How he never made AA is beyond me.

It is an interesting stat, not that it alone, determines the success of a footy club.

James Hird anyone?

Draft pick no.79

Scott Lucas should have made AA, I was also unaware that he didn't. Ridiculous that he didn't. But he was drafted under the old recruiting manager - Noel Judkins IIRC. Same with Hird.

Correct me if I'm wrong.

Delisted Adrian Dodoro - Leaving EFC. #putoutyourjackets