AFL 2014 Ladder Predictions

Respect NM, but just can't fathom why so many (and not just NM supporters) have them so high! Also, bias aside, I'd be very surprised if Carlton didn't finish a lot higher than the average position most BF experts have them finishing in - is it Carlton hate, not sure? Roll on 2014.

I'm like you, I got Carlton finishing in the 8 personally. They really flying under the radar for next season despite the fact they did win a final (thought they had no chance), sure, on technicality they got in but they still produced the goods when it mattered.
I also feel as though Kreuzer will finally have a big season of consistent footy which elevates him into the top 10 rucks of the comp, he's been very injury-prone but at 24, he is now at the stage where most ruckman begin dominating.
The loss of Betts isn't that big of a deal either as Carlton's issues have never been their smalls....they got too many of those types, it's making sure Waite and Henderson remain healthy and can finally play out back-to-back seasons without injury or suspension hindering their year.

I'm like you, I got Carlton finishing in the 8 personally. They really flying under the radar for next season despite the fact they did win a final (thought they had no chance), sure, on technicality they got in but they still produced the goods when it mattered.
I also feel as though Kreuzer will finally have a big season of consistent footy which elevates him into the top 10 rucks of the comp, he's been very injury-prone but at 24, he is now at the stage where most ruckman begin dominating.
The loss of Betts isn't that big of a deal either as Carlton's issues have never been their smalls....they got too many of those types, it's making sure Waite and Henderson remain healthy and can finally play out back-to-back seasons without injury or suspension hindering their year.

That's nice. Carlton wins a final against a clearly overwhelmed Richmond at the MCG, when they were down by 30 points at the half, a ground they had played at countless times that season and 'they produced the goods when it mattered'. Then they get flogged by 30+ points in Sydney. We win a final against Collingwood away from home at the MCG which we had only played once in Round 1, having had the lead for 98% of the game, and only lose to Geelong by 18 points after leading at half time...but I bet you've got us dropping out, right?

Thought so.

That's nice. Carlton wins a final against a clearly overwhelmed Richmond at the MCG, when they were down by 30 points at the half, a ground they had played at countless times that season and 'they produced the goods when it mattered'. Then they get flogged by 30+ points in Sydney. We win a final against Collingwood away from home at the MCG which we had only played once in Round 1, having had the lead for 98% of the game, and only lose to Geelong by 18 points after leading at half time...but I bet you've got us dropping out, right?

Thought so.

No one mentioned anything good, bad or indifferent about Port...

Sydney look super strong, the Tigers & GCoast both have great midfields now and will be the big improvers this year, Crows will go alright with Walker back, and can see the Blues tumbling down the ladder

1. Sydney
2. Hawks
3. Freo
4. Richmond
__
5. Geelong
6. Pies
7. Bombers
8. Crows
____
9. North
10. GCoast
11. Port
12. WCoast
13. Lions
14. Blues
15. Bulldogs
16. GWS
17. Saints

Sydney look super strong, the Tigers & GCoast both have great midfields now and will be the big improvers this year, Crows will go alright with Walker back, and can see the Blues tumbling down the ladder

1. Sydney
2. Hawks
3. Freo
4. Richmond
__
5. Geelong
6. Pies
7. Bombers
8. Crows
____
9. North
10. GCoast
11. Port
12. WCoast
13. Lions
14. Blues
15. Bulldogs
16. GWS
17. Saints
Don't rate the Dees a chance to form a team? ;)

If Richmond finish top and Brisbane finish last, I'll support Melbourne Demons for the rest of my life.

No chance of either event happening.
The latter probably will.

Hope you're right on this one! I have a suspicion that injury will continue to curb Kreuzer's output - I hope that I'm wrong on this one and that he gets a good uninterrupted run and really struts his stuff.

Menzel (pity his brother at the Cats has had such a horrid run) is looking really good (he is a talent) and will cover for the loss of Eddie.

Lot of POTENTIAL tall options up forward - need the big lump of a lad that is Casboult to learn how to kick and be our "poor man's Cloke"!

Liking the lack of hype going into 2014. Everyone looks good at this time of year so let's see how things pan out.

I tried to come up with a list towards the end of the season, but it was too damn difficult!
This is the way I see it now;

FREMANTLE- Hate their style of footy but bloody hell does it win games.
HAWTHORN- Still got a good list even without Buddy.
NORTH MELBOURNE- Gave so many good teams a run for their money in 2013. Need to string 4 quarters.
SYDNEY- Very powerful all over the ground, especially up forward.
RICHMOND- Still going to be hungry after losing to a ninth placed team in a final. Unforgivable.
GEELONG- They are still going to be strong, but I think we will be seeing the end of their dominant era.
PORT ADELAIDE- Big things yet to come from this club, young group with unfinished business as it seems.
GOLD COAST- This team is going to start pushing other clubs harder and harder. Doing everything right.

ESSENDON- I think the drug saga will continue to play around with the clubs minds.
ADELAIDE- Has bigger issues than just their forward line. Grandpa pods was a poor choice IMO.
CARLTON- Unimpressive and fluked it into the finals. Will be competitive though.
COLLINGWOOD- After seeing the way they finished off the year and how Buckley reacted, I think we might see a Michael Voss all over again.
WEST COAST- I want to put this team higher but they will have to do some work to get there.
WESTERN BULLDOGS- Played very well towards the end of the year, but won't climb much higher on the ladder.
BRISBANE- After so many players left and under a new coach, will be rebuilding.
MELBOURNE- They have a solid list and with a decent coach might actually win a few more games.
GWS- Will string together a few more wins but are behind Gold Coast in terms of development.
ST. KILDA- Wow... sorry Saints fans, but I think you are going to have a very unfortunate year.

As I said at the start, this is very difficult to come up with. Only time will tell what September is going to look like.

PORT ADELAIDE- Big things yet to come from this club, young group with unfinished business as it seems.

The only issue I have when trying to do my ladder is they couldn't really trouble many of the better sides.
They did also receive a fairly nice fixture due to obvious reasons the year/s beforehand.

They played Carlton twice and lost both, lost to Hawthorn by 45, lost to Geelong 3 times, lost to Richmond by 40, lost to Essendon by 30, lost to Fremantle by 75 and then (potential) up-and-comers North Melbourne beat them also.

They did defeat Sydney though and then beat Collingwood twice.

The only issue I have when trying to do my ladder is they couldn't really trouble many of the better sides.
They did also receive a fairly nice fixture due to obvious reasons the year/s beforehand.

They played Carlton twice and lost both, lost to Hawthorn by 45, lost to Geelong 3 times, lost to Richmond by 40, lost to Essendon by 30, lost to Fremantle by 75 and then (potential) up-and-comers North Melbourne beat them also.

They did defeat Sydney though and then beat Collingwood twice.

I reckon you should go back and watch the Hawthorn match, the final Geelong match, the Essendon match and the second Carlton match. You'd be surprised how well we performed against those teams. A bad run of the umpires can drastically effect the result of a game against teams of that caliber.

hate to break it to you but Geelong were clearly out of shape in that game, you got us at a good time after a pretty taxing final the week earlier but 22 scoring shots to 8 in the second half, they found their groove and took that 2nd half form into the preliminary final.
Injuries do play a significant part I agree but you weren't the only side missing key players.

Umpiring cannot be blamed in the Carlton game, for one: you were playing at home and held a slight advantage in that regard and two: you had a 5 goal lead at 3 quarter time but only managed 3.2 in the last quarter.
Carlton booted 8.2 and stormed home to win it.

hate to break it to you but Geelong were clearly out of shape in that game, you got us at a good time after a pretty taxing final the week earlier but 22 scoring shots to 8 in the second half, they found their groove and took that 2nd half form into the preliminary final.
Injuries do play a significant part I agree but you weren't the only side missing key players.

Umpiring cannot be blamed in the Carlton game, for one: you were playing at home and held a slight advantage in that regard and two: you had a 5 goal lead at 3 quarter time but only managed 3.2 in the last quarter.
Carlton booted 8.2 and stormed home to win it.

That's correct, umpiring definitely wasn't to blame for the Carlton game. We had an extremely dominating 3 quarters where Carlton looked like a second rate side. I have a feeling Port Adelaide took their foot off the pedal looking towards the next weeks final against Collingwood. Or maybe they were just exhausted. I'll give credit where it's due. Carlton had a brilliant last quarter though.
As for the Geelong game, yes the cats came out firing after half time, but it's not like Port Adelaide didn't try their guts out either. I'm not gonna say the umpires were favouring the Geelong side, but 12-12 free kicks at 3/4 time turning into 24-14 at full time raises some suspicions.

but 12-12 free kicks at 3/4 time turning into 24-14 at full time raises some suspicions.

Port Adelaide were clearly outplayed in both quarters, you guys were down by 4 goals at the 18 minute mark of the final quarter, Geelong took the foot of the pedal, game was over.

To suggest umpiring cost Port Adelaide the game is embarrassing because Port Adelaide also got beaten by Geelong earlier by 48 points and then again by 25 points in a similar fashion to the final where the game was over at 3 quarter time but late goals made the final result look more respectable.

That is the primary issue with easy fixturing, you don't get tested on a weekly basis against the best, it makes winning consecutive finals all the more difficult.

Port Adelaide were clearly outplayed in both quarters, you guys were down by 4 goals at the 18 minute mark of the final quarter, Geelong took the foot of the pedal, game was over.

To suggest umpiring cost Port Adelaide the game is embarrassing because Port Adelaide also got beaten by Geelong earlier by 48 points and then again by 25 points in a similar fashion to the final where the game was over at 3 quarter time but late goals made the final result look more respectable.

That is the primary issue with easy fixturing, you don't get tested on a weekly basis against the best, it makes winning consecutive finals all the more difficult.

Dude you are blind if you don't think that Geelong had an easy run with the umps in the final quarter. Yes you guys came out firing in the second half but we were also right there with you. As I said earlier, when a quality team like Geelong gets a couple of "free kicks" they will take full advantage of them and cause some serious damage on the scoreboard. If the free kicks were given fairly, then the game was 50/50.
Anyway enough of that. I was still stoked with how we played that game, and we will only improve this year. I think the dominance that Geelong has had over Port Adelaide for the last 6 years is going to come to a finish. We'll just have to wait and see.

I did watch the Hawthorn match and as Hinkley put it 'you gotta lesson from a very good Football team' mate you weren't even close but having said that Port are super impressive it's just that don't try and make it sound like your Top 4 just yet.

If you look at my ladder prediction, I actually have them in 7th. I just think that people are taking them as easy-beats. Which I just don't think is going to happen.

1. Fremantle
2. Hawthorn
3. North Melbourne
4. Sydney
5. Geelong
6. Port Adelaide
7. Adelaide
8. Richmond

9. West Coast
10. Carlton
11. Gold Coast
12. Collingwood

13. Brisbane
14. Essendon
15. Western Bulldogs
16. St Kilda
17. GWS
18. Melbourne

Would appreciate everyones feedback

1. Fremantle
2. Collingwood
3. Sydney
4. West Coast
5. Hawthorn
6. Richmond
7. North Melbourne
8. Essendon

9. Adelaide
10. Gold Coast
11. Port Adelaide
12. Geelong
13. Carlton
14. Brisbane
15. Bulldogs
16. St Kilda
17. Melbourne
18. GWS

Would appreciate everyones feedback

1. Fremantle
2. Collingwood
3. Sydney
4. West Coast
5. Hawthorn
6. Richmond
7. North Melbourne
8. Essendon

9. Adelaide
10. Gold Coast
11. Port Adelaide
12. Geelong
13. Carlton
14. Brisbane
15. Bulldogs
16. St Kilda
17. Melbourne
18. GWS

Top 4 will come from Swans, Hawks, Cats, Dockers, Tigers, Pies & Bombers.
To predict something out of left field, Hawks most likely to fall in a hole. Lose any of Hodge/Mitchell/Roughy and they will struggle.
West Coast don't have a midfield capable of beating the better sides...Kerr is a massive loss.
Port were good last year but miles and miles from top 4. Geelong beat them in second gear in the finals a sure sign they have to improve heaps.
Adelaide will struggle to make the 8. Rely far too much on Dangerfield. Their young brigade are massively over-rated based on the soft draw they had in 2012.
North play some super games but also play some absolute crap. Against Freo they looked like wooden spooners. Del Santo is a down hill skier, will help them but only if they play well.

Saints are a monty for the wooden spoon.

If you look at my ladder prediction, I actually have them in 7th. I just think that people are taking them as easy-beats. Which I just don't think is going to happen.
I don't think they are easy beats at all! And on a side note is Schulz one of the most underrated Forwards in the comp? Every time I watch Port play that bloke gives a great contest each time.

He sure has a dead eye kick. Probably one of the only full forwards I saw that goes through the exact same approach for a goal every time.
In the years gone past he'd actually gotten himself into strife for being a bit too courageous. Pretty sure he had internal bleeding in 2012 and it was quite serious too. 2013 he changed is game-plan slightly so he wasn't going for ridiculous marks, but still making a big impact. Really happy we secured him for another 2 years.

AFL 2014 Ladder Predictions