Multiplat AFL 23: Launch Thread (Xbox release date TBC)

STATE OF PLAY:
  • The game is out for Steam and PlayStation. There have been issues with Xbox release and it is unclear when the game will be available.
  • Big Ant are aware that there are playability issues & bugs at present.
  • Content has been temporarily removed from the game to identify where the issues lie.
  • This content will be re-introduced via patches in the coming days.
  • Big Ant have released a summary of what is to be reintroduced, which can be seen below.

Issues & constructive criticism are best communicated to: support.bigant.com

Michaels Twitch video with QA from Ross(BigAntStudios) from 31:40

What I've noticed since the PS patch overnight and still needs work:

• handballing is better but still not where it should be.
  • should be able to lock onto a player we want to kick to. Will stop the kicking a random distance or to someone you weren't aiming for
  • tackling needs to be easier and more effective
  • introduce tactics into the game e.g. zone, man on man, defensive, offensive etc. it could then stop the AI from having free players everywhere
  • wind needs to affect ball trajectory more. Higher wind, further the ball will move from where you've aimed
  • need more depth in management mode. Inbox that allows messages to advise suspensions (contest or not), injuries (expected weeks out), messages from players management advising they wish to be traded or that they want to be traded to your club etc.
  • kicking speed needs to be faster when on the run

Just a few things I've noticed and would hope could be implemented into game.

Does a review really impact your choice in buying a game or not though? I can imagine a few in here wouldn’t see critically acclaimed games like GTA V or Red Dead as 10/10 games but is that enough to stop you buying a game? In relevance to AFL games its too hard to compare them because most of the time they’re released a generation after the previous game (minus Live & Live 2).

Day 2 of asking on a possibility on fixing management drafts/free agency , such as bald draftees, being able to select numbers for mid season pick ups, AI actually selecting 18 year olds in drafts rather then ex after players that are 27 at pick 5 and also tactics

Finally managed to play my first game of AFL23 on PS5 and honestly - it’s not bad. Played a single game on easiest, GWS vs Gold Coast and smashed them (like I expected on easiest).

Only issue was the default coach was giving the coaches address during the break and not Adam Kingsley - but didn’t mind it at all.

Day 2 of asking on a possibility on fixing management drafts/free agency , such as bald draftees, being able to select numbers for mid season pick ups, AI actually selecting 18 year olds in drafts rather then ex after players that are 27 at pick 5 and also tactics
Have you logged it with bigant support? This is not the support channel.

Does a review really impact your choice in buying a game or not though? I can imagine a few in here wouldn’t see critically acclaimed games like GTA V or Red Dead as 10/10 games but is that enough to stop you buying a game? In relevance to AFL games its too hard to compare them because most of the time they’re released a generation after the previous game (minus Live & Live 2).

Tbh I wish I checked comments and reviews before buying. Have had some fun with it, but would have held off until the game was finished before putting down 100 dollars for it. I just don't think a game should be released this underdone. Understand that was likely not Big Ants intention, but ultimately you can't blame people for feeling that way. I haven't requested a refund etc because I do intend to play it... When it's actually playable.

Well for me personally if a review isn't out before or at launch it's a big red flag. And then we all saw how this game launched, so the red flag was justified. Reviews have come out a week or more after launch (and after daily patches) and it's still getting 5/10. So yeah, for me, being in this thread where some people will defend the game to the death and others ... will not, it's sometimes hard to judge. But then I see professional reviews being pretty bloody consistent, then it does help. Like I've said, my Xbox version is still on preorder, and I will continue to wait and see as best I can because I would love a decent footy game, but I trust berisha's review in particular because everything I've read from him here has been pretty fair and balanced. If he says it's a 5/10 game, I believe it. It's also hard to dispute GoldbergsGold's excellent videos and general feedback.

On the flip side there are definitely games I will buy without hesitation. A new Doom or Wolfenstein? I am there, reviews be damned 🤣

Yes and No. As an Xbox user in this case had no choice but now having seen first hand what it is like it had made my mind up for sure that it is a hard no.
In the past reviews never bothered me but as you get older and with kids you don't get a lot of time so the half hour I want to spend gaming I want it on something good. I check out the reviews on Madden , MLB, NBA, FIFA and see if there is much added or changed it determines whether I purchase that year or skip until the following year. Positive with Game Pass is MLB , Madden and FIFA tend to go on there now so its not so bad.

I still have that bug where the commentators stop, and then at the end of the quarter the game pans to a shot of the forward flank where you have to force quit!!!!
Happens to me in my second match. (Playing 5 minute quarters). Reported this to Big Ant...and noticed some extra issues (like framerate drop) before it did.
I now get through this by completely closing the game app down after my first game.

A few questions.

-Will there be national anthems for Anzac Day
-Logos on the ground for special rounds such as Anzac round, indigenous round and finals games
-Grand finals jumper patches
-Gold AFL Logo to team who wins the flag
-Realistic finals schedule
-Change to gather round fixture in following season in management mode
-players in the draft that aren’t always bald
-Change in weather (rain, cloudy)
-Change in time of day for twilight games going from day to night at end of the game
-Inbox for management mode
-When are state leagues coming in
-Realistic crowd sounds after a goal is kicked.

This will make a huge difference to the experience of the game, gameplay has improved heaps but still needs a bit.
Thanks

Is it to give an accurate perspective of the experience a consumer would get if they purchased when the review is published, or just perpetuate a lazy personal agenda?
if BA are going to leave the game up on storefronts and accept people’s money for the game as they have, those people have the right to write whatever they want about what they have played. what do you want them to do, write about some hypothetical build of the game that hasn’t been patched in yet, because that’s what people will eventually play?

Can anyone tell me what the auto interchange is like now?

Also does it work in management mode?
It worked in my existing Season mode... not sure about Management mode.

Still a bit weird... Max King was put on the Wing for me, and Dougal Howard in the Ruck (even though I had Jack Hayes as the backup Ruck in the team).
Also noticed Hunter Clark was subbed off automatically too.... I reckon the Sub should still be Manual.

Is there actually a decent crowd on PS4 now?? Surely?
That's a performance thing. PS4 = less power... so the focus would be to have a performant game with good player visuals.... sacrificing crowd size/detail.
Maybe they should cut the 3d crowd out, and use flat multicoloured panels like AFL 99 did.

if BA are going to leave the game up on storefronts and accept people’s money for the game as they have, those people have the right to write whatever they want about what they have played. what do you want them to do, write about some hypothetical build of the game that hasn’t been patched in yet, because that’s what people will eventually play?
My reasonable expectation is that a review of the game is as at the build on the date they played it, and not show screenshots or make points only relevant to prior builds.

It worked in my existing Season mode... not sure about Management mode.

Still a bit weird... Max King was put on the Wing for me, and Dougal Howard in the Ruck (even though I had Jack Hayes as the backup Ruck in the team).
Also noticed Hunter Clark was subbed off automatically too.... I reckon the Sub should still be Manual.
The sub just acts as a fifth interchange spot. It changes just as the others do.

I think I could live with a few errors if we could still edit the team with auto interchanges on, so I could fix it manually.

My reasonable expectation is that a review of the game is as at the build on the date they played it, and not show screenshots or make points only relevant to prior builds.

So you're OK with the 5/10 reviews, but not a 4/10 review?

Got it.

Expecting a review to ignore the biggest story the game has told is a weird take, but I understand why you'd have that view.

I would hope such reviews get updates too...
Corrections for when the game changes and improves...

But instead, they typically just sit there... no updates... and even so, people who first read it probably won't return to it to the article later on to see what changed (like they would when playing a game).
I can understand the disappointment at a bad review... especially when the team are working their backsides off to fix up the launch patch issue.