Multiplat AFL 23: Launch Thread (Xbox release date TBC)

STATE OF PLAY:
  • The game is out for Steam and PlayStation. There have been issues with Xbox release and it is unclear when the game will be available.
  • Big Ant are aware that there are playability issues & bugs at present.
  • Content has been temporarily removed from the game to identify where the issues lie.
  • This content will be re-introduced via patches in the coming days.
  • Big Ant have released a summary of what is to be reintroduced, which can be seen below.

Issues & constructive criticism are best communicated to: support.bigant.com

Michaels Twitch video with QA from Ross(BigAntStudios) from 31:40

I just found that Radial Player Select is working!!!
L1 + R Stick

Not sure if it was this patch, or an earlier one… only problem is there’s no indicator to show who you are selecting… but it works to get someone further to one side of the ball.
This makes is a different game!
While still not 100% perfect, I found I could float someone back defensively better and cut off some attacks… even double-team the dominant CHF.

Just had a cracking match against Melbourne and lost by 2 points in a thriller.

What are these patches actually doing? We're 2 weeks after release and huge issues from day one appear to not even be on the agenda to fix?

One of the issues I had with the game and it has always been the same with AFL games. You could have Liam Baker at full back , on ball or full forward and he still plays the same, if you time the mark right he will outmark taller opponents regardless of skill. You could have Dylan Grimes play at full foward and is goal kicking is no different to Tom Lynch, he can snap , or banana no issues. I found it is the same on their cricket games whether Steve Smith is a spin specialist has no impact on how the game plans out from what I have seen. Unlike NBA where clearly if a player like Mitchell Robinson is trying to hit 3's or free throws your next to no chance of it happening even if you time it well on the metre.

There are major differences under the hood in how the AI in Cricket behaves based on the player batting, and the current situation in game (i.e. wickets/runs etc.)

The statistical differences in AFL will become more important as we balance the game - but we need a balanced game before we tweak that further.

I think a big part of the problem is that no one actually knows how the game is meant to be played.

I'd love to see a video of the best two Big Ant players breaking down a match they've had. Going through things like Hands Up and specific timings etc.

It's the blind leading the blind in here.
I think it is more in the case that there is no way you can accurately present AFL in a video game form. There is a lack of pack style play and complex free kicks like holding the man, high contact , front on contact etc which makes up a huge part of the game in real life. It is essentially a win the ball boot it long and try pluck a mark or find loose players out on a chain. There is no real marking contests which have 4 plus players involved which happens a lot in modern footy , its not often you see one on one contested situations in the forward halves.

There are major differences under the hood in how the AI in Cricket behaves based on the player batting, and the current situation in game (i.e. wickets/runs etc.)

The statistical differences in AFL will become more important as we balance the game - but we need a balanced game before we tweak that further.
Well I have sunk enough time in cricket and I feel that none of those stats have any impact whatsoever, come up against players who's weak skill is the pull or hook, you bowl short to them and they still whack you all over the place.

I have created teams in the past and reduced or improved skills in areas and its never changed the way the AI has played against me.

It occurs quite often where a Nathan Lyon for example will hit you all around the park even though his batting stats are weak , regardless of whether its pace or spin etc.

Don't get me wrong I love the game and I feel like it plays well I just don't feel like any of the "perks" players have any bearing on the games I have played.

I’m not sure why BigAntStudios disliked this. Seems like a pretty reasonable opinion.

The company needs a Community Manager/PR person that doesn’t get emotional with consumers.
I wasn't replying to you though, I was replying to BlackMamba who did make those assertions.

You literally mention me in the post. So now I'm not only not allowed to disagree with anyone, I'm also not allowed to reply.

One way traffic.

Anyone that likes the game is delusional or on my payroll, including all streamers and attendees of the launch party.

Anyone that hates the game, whether they've actually played it or not, has a reasonable and well founded opinion.

Clearly we need Ed Langdon in long sleeves….or at least the ability to edit players

I think a big part of the problem is that no one actually knows how the game is meant to be played.

I'd love to see a video of the best two Big Ant players breaking down a match they've had. Going through things like Hands Up and specific timings etc.

It's the blind leading the blind in here.
A mate and I did a session together where we were basically 'mythbusters'... That was with Patch 3 though... but will probably do it again.
Things like 'OK, you purposely get tackled...but try a kick away', 'Now you sprint and purposely get tackled...and try a kick away'...

We discovered quite a bit back then... And now with the Guide, there are a few other things I reckon we can try.

What are these patches actually doing? We're 2 weeks after release and huge issues from day one appear to not even be on the agenda to fix?
I think quite a few of the big issues have been fixed...like not being able to tackle, always easily winning a marking contest...etc.
Still got some game hangs.... but I haven't had a full crash in a while...so something appears fixed there.

What are the issues which you're talking about?

I just found that Radial Player Select is working!!!
L1 + R Stick

Not sure if it was this patch, or an earlier one… only problem is there’s no indicator to show who you are selecting… but it works to get someone further to one side of the ball.
BigAntStudios Was this a new inclusion, or did I miss it from a while back?
I'm guessing we're still missing an indicator for the radial player selection, which the Guide mentions.

Also, did the Guide get an update? Maybe the 'Free Kicks' page.... I can't remember if that was in there before.

I got a response from BA Support in regards to adding a secondary position for players to help reduce auto interchanges being so random and was told:

‘This is actually a really interesting idea. We'll pass this on and see what improvements we can continue making to the interchange system.’

Fingers absolutely crossed!! 🤞🏽🤞🏽🤞🏽

BigAntStudios - I appreciate all the work by your team to get us to this point. I am enjoying the game and loving the daily improvements.

A few points from me.
  • The swap player button doesn't seem to work (PC with Xbox controller) - so often I'm stuck as the man on the mark and can't change. As a result, I don't feel in control of the players on the field.
  • Spoiling for me almost always ends up with the opposition roving it and running through - it's got to the point that I only spoil where I know it will either go out of bounds or rushed behind. Also hate that the spoiling player is rendered out of the contest.
  • Quick handballs are needed - just takes way too long to get a quick handball out. Happy for accuracy to be scarified but we need quick handballs.
  • Ruck contests - way too many clear get aways - watch any afl game and the number of clean get aways from a center bounce are minimal.
  • Set shots are way too easy and boring - the second bar should have a sweet spot that you need to stop the marker within. The angle, player rating, distance, winds should define how big the sweet spot is and how quick the marker moves - if you miss left or right the kick is impacted. I don't even know what the current second timer does as it doesn't appear to impact anything. Wind can't be the only thing impacting a set shot. If we are catering for kids, make the set shot an option, because right now taking set shot is beautiful looking but boring as hell.
Looking forward to watching this improve more and more. There is so much potential here and I think we are setup perfectly for future games.

A mate and I did a session together where we were basically 'mythbusters'... That was with Patch 3 though... but will probably do it again.
Things like 'OK, you purposely get tackled...but try a kick away', 'Now you sprint and purposely get tackled...and try a kick away'...

We discovered quite a bit back then... And now with the Guide, there are a few other things I reckon we can try.
Yeah was thinking of doing this myself with a second controller. Let me know how you go though please!

I think quite a few of the big issues have been fixed...like not being able to tackle, always easily winning a marking contest...etc.
Still got some game hangs.... but I haven't had a full crash in a while...so something appears fixed there.

What are the issues which you're talking about?
The teleporting of the ball.
The teleporting of the players.
The speed of the players when they game decides the outcome.
The player switching
Handballs are all janky still

This is just obvious shit I can see whilst watching streams but all are pretty important to having a fun game.

Haven't played in a week, so the difference is immense (ps5). Finally have a game on our hands!

One huge thing that annoys me is the CPU never misses. Just played WCE twice and they kicked 15 straight, 7.5 minute quarters, and 14.2 respectively. And player switching is ass. Might put it away for another few days, let a few more patches come out, then I can finally start a coach career

On Pixel 7 Pro using BigFooty.com mobile app

The player switching

This is just obvious s**t I can see whilst watching streams but all are pretty important to having a fun game.
Fair enough.
I still think the things fixed since day 1 are the higher priority, and they're getting through them.
The game is a lot better now... Player radial switching helps a lot... and janky handballs can be (not always) from lack of power in them.

Hopefully the other points will also get some love soon. No doubt if the launch wasn't a fizzer, they would have already been addressed.

The player switching

This is just obvious s**t I can see whilst watching streams but all are pretty important to having a fun game.
The lack of user and CPU teammate total control puts the game down. I wish players could make leads and I can precision kick to a specific spot for them to run into, similar to their Rugby League Live games they have that. On the flip side, I wish the opposition CPU could counteract with trying to block space, but it'd only be fun if I had total control over my players and can precision dispose and move.

So I just played a management career game, crows v hawks at UTAS. I don’t think the wind metre could have moved any quicker and 100% affected the shots. AI missed about 7 shots and I missed 5. First time the wind actually did anything. It’s the fastest I have seen it move though. Has anyone else had any wind affecting their kicks?