bacon buster

Jul 8, 2003
Man Utd, LA Lakers
i'm very interested in getting the HTC Desire, but am a bit concerned about the lack of AFL apps, and aussie related apps in general.

i'm using the iPhone 3G at the moment, and while i love the apps, the 3G running 4.0 is just a dog. i'd obviously look at the iPhone 4, but stock is an issue, and the feedback i've received so far has been poor.

i'm thinking that the apps will be available soon enough, but don't really want to jump in without the app support already there.

so, to anyone using a desire or other android phone - how do you find the apps?

There's an app called Total Footy. It shows the upcoming rounds and who's playing who. Great app but it doesn't show any stats except the final/quarter by quarter scores.

In regards to where you get apps, the phone comes with a preinstalled app called "Market." You just search whatever you want in that :thumbsu: Obviously requires a network connection on your phone to work though!

what are you looking for exactly?

In terms of AFL apps there is things like total footy which update the scores automatically but personally I just prefer looking at real websites and doing it.

For Melbourne there are things like tram hunter and melbourne trains if you need that sort of stuff.

General "australian" apps can be found at

http://www.appbrain.com/search?q=australia

well i use the supercoach app a fair bit, and didn't see that. superfooty would also be handy.

one i use nearly every day is runkeeper, but i notice that that is available.

thanks for that link. i was browsing the apps on the official google market page, but it didn't allow for a 'search'

generally speaking then, people are happy with the availability of the apps?

Generally the store has what I'm looking for. Although it doesn't seem to have a lot of the iPhone games I want. I'm sure they'll get released eventually though. The Android OS is relatively new I think.

so the resolution on the desire is ok for the web version?

the res on the iPhone 3G is shit, and makes the web version unusable really.

Awesome phone, best out there

Don't worry about the apps, they will be available over time

Apps I have installed (not that I use them all). All free

Astro
Bump
Dolphin Browser
EPL Buddy
First Aid
Ebay
Free Caddie
HowfarAmI
Footy Scoreboad
IMDb
Lookout
Profiles
SmartRuler
SmartShortcuts
AussieWeatherRadar

I have quite a few others ie games but nothing worth mentioning...

On a side note, the phone runs like a dream, but there is an update on its way that will take the speed and smoothness to another level, its like upgrading the processor!
Mate "rooted (Like formatting the phone and re-installed operating system from scratch) on his Desire to be able to use Froyo 2.2 and it is a ripper. I wont go that way and wait for the official update, can't wait..

Another good thing about Desire and Froyo 2.2 is that you can purchase an install external memory ie sd card and you can install and run apps of the SD card,,,and supports flash

But wait, there is more to come...

http://mobilementalism.com/2010/07/01/new-3d-user-interface-coming-to-android-3-gingerbread/

Is there any news on an app being developed for Android yet? I was going to get a Samsung Nexus S running gingerbread 2.3 or should I just use the AFL site for dream team?

I've got one but it's shithouse, it's called AFL Live Scores. I'll have a look for a decent one next time I'm on the app store.

The phone though, ohh man best thing going around

If your after Fantasy information, while he doesn't have an android app, there is Fanfooty. They did (and still do currently) have a mobile version of the site for scoring but that may disappear when there iPhone app drops.

HTH

(NB: Full disclosure. I am a friend of the owner, m0nty. I do a podcast with him, but I have no financial benefit (even the podcast makes no money for me) from the success of FanFooty. To be honest, my main reason for posting is as an Android Fanboy trying to push the Android numbers on the site up! :D:D)

Just made my own! Free version is 'Crunch AFL 2011'.

Searchable database of nearly 2500 games (2000-2011).

Programming is such a steep learning curve... but what else to do while waiting for the footy to restart.

AFL Apps on Android