AFL Canberra Div 3, div 4 (Canb Dist) Part 2

Ta Rowdy 1 - I checked on the blues web and gathered they hadn't won due to the paucity of celebratory report

Gerbil

How quick do you expect a match report up on line? I'd suggest most clubs that have websites don't get their reports up in 3 or 4 days, but you expect the Blues to do it instantly?

Your expectations are a tad high - you might have noticed AAP, News Limited and Fairfax don't report on our matches!

You aren't coming in late - Poor old RSPumpa (in what must have been a rare moment off the disco biscuits and drinking bong water) was asking whom were the stars and hardmen of Div 3 and 4 and it seemed to evaporate so I thught I would suggest my picks for the best of both - I am a spectator occassionaly - through the team I support and my niece is a boundary umpire - I have only seen the man you describe as a Tin Man three times - but he has 'seemed' very straight line and hard at the footy with all the skills - ADFA were terrified of him
I was gunna leave this one alone, but if adfa were terrified of poido then god help us if we need them to defend our country. Poido does indeed have silky skills a great shot for goal but although he did improve on his hardness towards the end of the year i dont think he would have terrified many or any . maybe some of his oponents could allaborate on this.
I think the jets will win div 4 and harman div 3

I was gunna leave this one alone, but if adfa were terrified of poido then god help us if we need them to defend our country. Poido does indeed have silky skills a great shot for goal but although he did improve on his hardness towards the end of the year i dont think he would have terrified many or any . maybe some of his oponents could allaborate on this.
I think the jets will win div 4 and harman div 3

You have to remember most of those boys have only just come from junior clubs and not senior footy.
I wouldn't question them defending our country, anyway that is off topic.

I said it at the start of the year, Poido needs to grow a set of stones. For someone who has his skill and size he is the biggest pussy in Div 4. If he went hard at the ball and didn't shy away from packs and seagull he could be a devastating player in Div 4, maybe... just maybe Div 3 depending on the club. A lot of people may disagree but I think he could do it, only if he grew them though.... and stopped his missus putting ghey colour in his hair :p

You have to remember most of those boys have only just come from junior clubs and not senior footy.
I wouldn't question them defending our country, anyway that is off topic.

I said it at the start of the year, Poido needs to grow a set of stones. For someone who has his skill and size he is the biggest pussy in Div 4. If he went hard at the ball and didn't shy away from packs and seagull he could be a devastating player in Div 4, maybe... just maybe Div 3 depending on the club. A lot of people may disagree but I think he could do it, only if he grew them though.... and stopped his missus putting ghey colour in his hair :p
Love ur work longhaul:D

Gerbil

How quick do you expect a match report up on line? I'd suggest most clubs that have websites don't get their reports up in 3 or 4 days, but you expect the Blues to do it instantly?

Your expectations are a tad high - you might have noticed AAP, News Limited and Fairfax don't report on our matches!

Ferret - as is your perogative - when you win the match report flies up in mere hours - not a criticism - an observation - you seem sensitive about your club every time someone makes a comment that you don't like - it wasn't disparaging - just noting that if there isn't a report its likely you didn't win - and before you jump on me in a rage - check your web and see the timings for wins vs. losses

Hardest man in Div 4 - Azzo from Cooma.
He poleaxed me ten years ago and I still have nightmares about it.

Worst person to get hit by in Div 3 - Chief from Tuggeranong. My shoulder is still sore.

Hardest man in Div 4 - Azzo from Cooma.
He poleaxed me ten years ago and I still have nightmares about it.

Worst person to get hit by in Div 3 - Chief from Tuggeranong. My shoulder is still sore.

Azzo leads a tough side - they are like a special school but hard at the footy - I concur on Azzo 100%

So we are a bit over a week away from the jets announcing there very first div 2 coach, and my tip is that it will be former div 1 coach Horne .

Im wondering if any of his former charges will make the move with him.
If it is indeed him and( im only geussing i mite add,) i would think there div 3 side would also be advantaged.

Any of you jets care to comment, any rumors on player numbers or coaches ?

So we are a bit over a week away from the jets announcing there very first div 2 coach, and my tip is that it will be former div 1 coach Horne .

Im wondering if any of his former charges will make the move with him.
If it is indeed him and( im only geussing i mite add,) i would think there div 3 side would also be advantaged.

Any of you jets care to comment, any rumors on player numbers or coaches ?

Spoiler has heard this rumour as well. Don't think too many players will be coming north with him though.

Some brief scouting thoughts on the Grand Final – mostly CD 2’s;

If I was a Jet – Need disciplined effort to close down the hard running off the Swans HB line and round the wings. Be patient with the footy and make them run hard to close out across half back, then switch and move the ball forward. Must have good disposal – turnovers against the faster Swans must be minimal. Make the Swans lesser players try and deliver into Froward 50 not the starts. Then can defend better. Need a team effort on the FF (no 2) and not let him go one on one. And winger (18) needs help to get the ball out of his hands. Archie did really well in the semi, so will probably get the job again. Musn’t let Stevie Armstrong (7) and Dawso (6) get short cheap possessions – must stay tight through the middle of the ground. Rusty (9) will get his posies, but make him kick to contests. No 8 at HB / wing mustn’t be allowed to sweep off packs and switch the ball. Must pressure all day to try and get turnovers and not let defence get set. Need to create some goals from broken play. Run, run, run.

If I was a Swan – stay disciplined in the backline. This has been a strength all year and must be so in GF. Protect our major ball winners (listed above) with shepherds which didn’t happen in the semi – hence the pressure got thru and caused turnovers which Swans have been good at reducing all year. Can’t let the jets HB line just sweep the ball out and run it down the wings. This happened way too easily in the semi, and has been a Jets staple all year (well against me anyway) Must kick straight – a close game at then end will be dangerous. Must continue to “play your role” and not get out of your ability level by trying to do too much. Must step up the tackle pressure from the semi.

Summary - Overall, I see it as a contest between the evenness and overall probably better talent of the Jets versus the bit better talent of the handful of Swans “stars.” And my call is on a big, firm Manuka deck, the hard running and pace of the Swans will win it and make up for their slightly off day in the first semi.

And on to CD1’s – Uni to take the confidence of their fighting last quarter into the GF and over power the Hogs in an epic.

All the best to all teams this weekend. Hopefully fine and sunny and two cracker games.

And regarding hardest teams etc – I was by far sorer after Harman games this year than any other. Maybe just that day, but they certainly protected their blokes with the footy with some really good, hard but fair shepherds. Yass are up there, as are Jets and Coota maybe surprisingly to some.

Some brief scouting thoughts on the Grand Final – mostly CD 2’s;

If I was a Jet – Need disciplined effort to close down the hard running off the Swans HB line and round the wings. Be patient with the footy and make them run hard to close out across half back, then switch and move the ball forward. Must have good disposal – turnovers against the faster Swans must be minimal. Make the Swans lesser players try and deliver into Froward 50 not the starts. Then can defend better. Need a team effort on the FF (no 2) and not let him go one on one. And winger (18) needs help to get the ball out of his hands. Archie did really well in the semi, so will probably get the job again. Musn’t let Stevie Armstrong (7) and Dawso (6) get short cheap possessions – must stay tight through the middle of the ground. Rusty (9) will get his posies, but make him kick to contests. No 8 at HB / wing mustn’t be allowed to sweep off packs and switch the ball. Must pressure all day to try and get turnovers and not let defence get set. Need to create some goals from broken play. Run, run, run.

If I was a Swan – stay disciplined in the backline. This has been a strength all year and must be so in GF. Protect our major ball winners (listed above) with shepherds which didn’t happen in the semi – hence the pressure got thru and caused turnovers which Swans have been good at reducing all year. Can’t let the jets HB line just sweep the ball out and run it down the wings. This happened way too easily in the semi, and has been a Jets staple all year (well against me anyway) Must kick straight – a close game at then end will be dangerous. Must continue to “play your role” and not get out of your ability level by trying to do too much. Must step up the tackle pressure from the semi.

Summary - Overall, I see it as a contest between the evenness and overall probably better talent of the Jets versus the bit better talent of the handful of Swans “stars.” And my call is on a big, firm Manuka deck, the hard running and pace of the Swans will win it and make up for their slightly off day in the first semi.

And on to CD1’s – Uni to take the confidence of their fighting last quarter into the GF and over power the Hogs in an epic.

All the best to all teams this weekend. Hopefully fine and sunny and two cracker games.

And regarding hardest teams etc – I was by far sorer after Harman games this year than any other. Maybe just that day, but they certainly protected their blokes with the footy with some really good, hard but fair shepherds. Yass are up there, as are Jets and Coota maybe surprisingly to some.

Agreed - Harman make you pay. Coota have a couple of ex leaguies - not Karmichael yet

Twobobs, you missed the point. I totally agree with what you say however I was replying to Sir Ramblor who was insinuating that the Ex wildcat players were just making up numbers and had not significantly made a difference to the Woden Blues Club. Sure it's great that the players have somewhere to go and the team is stronger but lets not pretend that the Woden Blues would have been in the finals without them.

Cheers mate, wasnt having a dig at you personally, (although it might have looked that way!!) just quoted the last thread when I replied to the whole topic of Woden/Wildcats. Woden would not have got to where they did without the Wildcats blokes for sure, and it looks like we both agree that it is a good thing for CD footy, even if some blokes deny the difference it has made. To make finals you need more than just a handful of good players, it requires hard work from a lot of people both on and off the field.

So, two teams left in each grade. From the tips I made at start of finals I have still managed to get the 3s GF right, even if I was arse about in how the teams got there. It is more even than I thought, and with the huge Manuka Oval I have doubts over Harman's fitness. There are rumours that both Griggs boys will play (both are apparently injured). Mind you, I have no idea about the ANU injury list. Anyway, I will stick with Harman, and they will do it after extra time in a drawn GF.

Goulburn will cap off a great season with a premiership. They had a hiccup a few weeks ago like yass did in 2008, but I think they will bounce back.

Some other predictions for GF day:
1. TD to do another nudie run after the final siren in the 3s game
2. Umpiring to be conducted by opposing captains for the best umpiring seen in years at CD level
3. Manuka Oval staff will not lock the main entrance and force patrons to walk around the block to the other gate like Ainslie knuckleheads last year
4. New Jets coach for 2010 Leo Barry taking notes in both GFs
5. Bigger crowd than the ACTAFL GF the following week.

Cam Griggs will win the League B&F this week by a mile. I have not seen too much 4s footy this year so I will go with close to home and put my $1 each way on Stuart Dunn from BMFC.

As much as it pains me to say it, I reckon Gungahlin will repeat their job of two weeks ago on the Swans and take the 4th grade premiership comfortably this weekend.
If what he says is true and he really is hanging the boots up, surely the Jets will shift it up another notch for Arch in his last game.
While Goulburn have a good mix of experience and youth and have had a great year, Gungahlin's extra depth, eligible 3rd grade players and the week off give the Jets a huge edge for mine.

3rd grade shapes up to be a ripper!
The weather is forecast to be ordinary on Sunday, so it's likely to be a repeat of the semi-final - a tough, physical contest.
While Harman will have benefited from the week off, I'm still not sure they'll be able to match ANU.
ANU to take the momentum of running all over Woden last weekend and roll Harman in a tight one.

Cheers mate, wasnt having a dig at you personally, (although it might have looked that way!!) just quoted the last thread when I replied to the whole topic of Woden/Wildcats. Woden would not have got to where they did without the Wildcats blokes for sure, and it looks like we both agree that it is a good thing for CD footy, even if some blokes deny the difference it has made. To make finals you need more than just a handful of good players, it requires hard work from a lot of people both on and off the field.

So, two teams left in each grade. From the tips I made at start of finals I have still managed to get the 3s GF right, even if I was arse about in how the teams got there. It is more even than I thought, and with the huge Manuka Oval I have doubts over Harman's fitness. There are rumours that both Griggs boys will play (both are apparently injured). Mind you, I have no idea about the ANU injury list. Anyway, I will stick with Harman, and they will do it after extra time in a drawn GF.

Goulburn will cap off a great season with a premiership. They had a hiccup a few weeks ago like yass did in 2008, but I think they will bounce back.

Some other predictions for GF day:
1. TD to do another nudie run after the final siren in the 3s game
2. Umpiring to be conducted by opposing captains for the best umpiring seen in years at CD level
3. Manuka Oval staff will not lock the main entrance and force patrons to walk around the block to the other gate like Ainslie knuckleheads last year
4. New Jets coach for 2010 Leo Barry taking notes in both GFs
5. Bigger crowd than the ACTAFL GF the following week.

Cam Griggs will win the League B&F this week by a mile. I have not seen too much 4s footy this year so I will go with close to home and put my $1 each way on Stuart Dunn from BMFC.

When TD does nude run at least 30 girls in crowd to claim they have swallowed that pen1s - and it likely to be truth

I have been tipping Harman as the team to beat in the 1's all year so I will stick with them. I think the week off will be handy given how tough the preliminary was.

I'm hoping Harman get over the line this weekend too, but it looks like there is a bit of rain, and it's going to be chilly! I was hoping against hope that we might actually get a pearler of a day and see what both sides are made of. If it's anything like the last final they played it will be a beauty.

Would be very interested to hear if there are any injuries to either camp. I haven't been to any of Harman's trainings in a while, but word is cam will play (from what i've been told he's not even injured, so I'm not sure where that came from) but his brother is no chance. Not sure what spear ended up doing, but word is he's not going to play. Other than that i haven't heard a whisper about anyone else. I heard something about a Harman backline player, but i think it might be a load of crap so i'll keep hush about that.

I cannot wait to see this game. The two teams match up really well against each other, and i hope we see a little bit of niggle as well, just to liven the day up a bit more.

I'm picking Harman by 9 points. Bring it on! Go the hoggies!

just to make a comment about the impact the creek boys have had on the blues:

in one word HUGE!!

alty, eggo, steamer and googs were all great this year.

but it takes more than 4 guys to win a footy match - and there are a lot of guys that played great this season, guys from interstate, marist, belco, eastlakes, not to mention the guys that have played with the blues for many years.

The turning point in our season was when we started playing more as a team. getting to know each others games took a little time, hopefully the trust will grow over preseason, (can’t believe I’ve already mentioned that word) and next year is only gonna get better for us.

bring on 2010.

Ps. Who’s the hardest player running around – big Azzo from cooma, lost count of the number of times he ironed me out over the years. Top bloke too.

and my GF prediction - Pumper to be in close pursuit of a naked TD - sounds like a man crush to me. ha ha. good luck to all the teams playing and good luck to TD, don't trip mate, there's some places you just don't wanna graze.

Fearless Predictions

Harman vs ANU

Harman by 4 goals

Harman are the quality team of 09 in this division. Great defence, great midfield, plenty of potential goal kickers. Only missing Griggs Jnr and Ben Dwyer (ACL) , should be strong enough to win.
ANU are missing Will Quinny this year - with him in the side rather than ACL forced retired, the result could be different. However, if Wes Heinke plays ANU are a more balanced and dangerous side. Any report on Wes and his availability?

Jets vs Goulburn

Jets by 6 goals.

The Gungahlin side has a ton of Div 3 experience and former Premiership players in Ports, David Jean, Heywood Jab etc. Big game experience helps.

Only seen Goulburn one this year and that was last weekend - The Swans looked tired and slow last weekend and only just held on against ANU. Swans have a number of very good players, but I don't think they can match up across the ground as well as they want to.

Womens

Go Hawkettes over whoever they are playing. The Hawkettes will have the support of Tuggeranong/Murrumbidgee/Woden as there are wives, sisters, cousins all running around in the team...

Fearless Predictions

Harman vs ANU

Harman by 4 goals

Harman are the quality team of 09 in this division. Great defence, great midfield, plenty of potential goal kickers. Only missing Griggs Jnr and Ben Dwyer (ACL) , should be strong enough to win.
ANU are missing Will Quinny this year - with him in the side rather than ACL forced retired, the result could be different. However, if Wes Heinke plays ANU are a more balanced and dangerous side. Any report on Wes and his availability?

Jets vs Goulburn

Jets by 6 goals.

The Gungahlin side has a ton of Div 3 experience and former Premiership players in Ports, David Jean, Heywood Jab etc. Big game experience helps.

Only seen Goulburn one this year and that was last weekend - The Swans looked tired and slow last weekend and only just held on against ANU. Swans have a number of very good players, but I don't think they can match up across the ground as well as they want to.

Womens

Go Hawkettes over whoever they are playing. The Hawkettes will have the support of Tuggeranong/Murrumbidgee/Woden as there are wives, sisters, cousins all running around in the team...

BIASED OPINION

Harman vs ANU - ??? (Jets can't beat Woden but would beat either side on weekend)

Goulburn vs Jets - Jets by 8 goals Goulburn are not 'faster': their 'seagull' approach adopted all year didn't work in the first semi and a tougher 'get the ball at all costs' approach will even better suit the harder Jets. I was playing 3's until injury (not well mind you) but am fully fit now and deservedly can't make the bench in this 4's team. Jets to overrun the Swans in the second half and produce a boring finish!

Womens - Isn't it just great that the 'fairer' sex has embraced the game? I don't know who'll win (or have a prediction) but I hope all the women enjoy themselves, encourage others to get playing and play again themselves next year.

Actually I hope that for all the CDL (or whatever they call Monaro League these days) players.

ON ANOTHER SUBJECT - BITCHING
I haven't read much of this blog? this year but F*ck there's been a lot of bitching. I'll play next year despite the fact that I'll be 39, 63.5kg and still a midget, and unable to make our 4's team. Why? Because of the mateship, the laughs, the shared common experiences. I can tell you it doesn't change much from club to club (at senior level having played for Murrumbidgee Juggerwallys, UC Wombats, Kingston Wolves, Jets, Eastlake, Belconnen, Watsonia Sharks and Rivcoll Bushpigs (biggest pissheads) along with a few rep teams). The dudes you are 'hating' and having pathetic word game internet 'fights' with may well be your best mate in different circumstances. Haven't you disagreed with a good mates opinion? Stick to objective arguments and more people may read and contribute to lively discussion on this blog (or whatever it's called).

BIASED OPINION

Harman vs ANU - ??? (Jets can't beat Woden but would beat either side on weekend)

Goulburn vs Jets - Jets by 8 goals Goulburn are not 'faster': their 'seagull' approach adopted all year didn't work in the first semi and a tougher 'get the ball at all costs' approach will even better suit the harder Jets. I was playing 3's until injury (not well mind you) but am fully fit now and deservedly can't make the bench in this 4's team. Jets to overrun the Swans in the second half and produce a boring finish!

Womens - Isn't it just great that the 'fairer' sex has embraced the game? I don't know who'll win (or have a prediction) but I hope all the women enjoy themselves, encourage others to get playing and play again themselves next year.

Actually I hope that for all the CDL (or whatever they call Monaro League these days) players.

ON ANOTHER SUBJECT - BITCHING
I haven't read much of this blog? this year but F*ck there's been a lot of bitching. I'll play next year despite the fact that I'll be 39, 63.5kg and still a midget, and unable to make our 4's team. Why? Because of the mateship, the laughs, the shared common experiences. I can tell you it doesn't change much from club to club (at senior level having played for Murrumbidgee Juggerwallys, UC Wombats, Kingston Wolves, Jets, Eastlake, Belconnen, Watsonia Sharks and Rivcoll Bushpigs (biggest pissheads) along with a few rep teams). The dudes you are 'hating' and having pathetic word game internet 'fights' with may well be your best mate in different circumstances. Haven't you disagreed with a good mates opinion? Stick to objective arguments and more people may read and contribute to lively discussion on this blog (or whatever it's called).
good call damon, yes footy is very addictive, i also agree that the jets will be too strong this weekend, even more hungry after coming second last year, also agree with goulburn not being tough enough, they deserva a lot of respect for going unbeaten, but i think it will be too much for them unless they play 10 times better than last week, i can see the cup going back to the city or the ghetto at least. good luck all players

just to make a comment about the impact the creek boys have had on the blues:

in one word HUGE!!

alty, eggo, steamer and googs were all great this year.

but it takes more than 4 guys to win a footy match - and there are a lot of guys that played great this season, guys from interstate, marist, belco, eastlakes, not to mention the guys that have played with the blues for many years.

The turning point in our season was when we started playing more as a team. getting to know each others games took a little time, hopefully the trust will grow over preseason, (can’t believe I’ve already mentioned that word) and next year is only gonna get better for us.

bring on 2010.

Ps. Who’s the hardest player running around – big Azzo from cooma, lost count of the number of times he ironed me out over the years. Top bloke too.

and my GF prediction - Pumper to be in close pursuit of a naked TD - sounds like a man crush to me. ha ha. good luck to all the teams playing and good luck to TD, don't trip mate, there's some places you just don't wanna graze.

Early tip for the gf next year blueys - but you are right about one thing big azzo is the hardest - led by two or three other cooma cats

Most clubs wouldn't even turn up on the back of the floggings the cats get

Any results from the League Vote Count last night?

Did Cam Griggs pick up the league B&F as expected?

Hey GF,

Cam certainly did win and won quite easily in the end, I think from Sirr from ANU. Dale Cummins and Ben Serafin tied for the medal in the 4's -congratulations to all players.

Enjoyed the night last night although it did feel a bit like an ACTWAFL celebration that 3's and 4's were invited along to. Great to see women's footy in the ACT getting celebrated with different awards such as life membership, the rising star (which my sister in law won - well done Nic!!) etc but it made me think that maybe we need to separate the nights again next year so we can have our own rising star, milestone celebrations, team of the year etc, Just my thoughts.

To the games tomorrow and good luck to all four sides - let's hope the weather holds up and both games are crackers. I'm really looking forward to the Div 4 GF and hope it's a close one. Damon, I think you're being a beat harsh on Goulburn and their 'seagull' approach. They have been the best side all year and their hard running footy has been too good for all other sides. The Jets did get over them in the major semi but it's one game and, without making too much of it, they are being helped out with at least 3 guys who would not have qualified to play for 4's in finals in past years. They are playing within the rules though and the problem again is with the rules, not the clubs. That's all I'll say about that but I think you're being a bit unfair to talk about how the Jets are harder when Goulburn beat them during the year quite easily when the Jets had their 'regular?' 4's side in.

Anyway, welcome back to the forum Damon and good luck again to all on Sunday.

Skip.

would someone please beat goulburn and knock them off their perch. cant believe they are still un defeated. for a young team with no prior form they think they are so good. if 18 cummins win b and f i will walk nude around goulburn jail. he is dirty and cocky, just like most of their team. contenders or pretenders. i say pretenders.

Hey middle I've been hanging onto this just in case. A bets a bet so let us know what day and time is best. I have a few mates who are screws and they should be able to get ya in.:D

Seriously though congrats to all winners last night. Good to see the women's comp getting some recognition:thumbsu:.

I cant speak much about 3's but i think the two winners in 4's were worthy. Sero is a gun and leads Yass well. Cumo is only playing his 3rd year of footy and is only 20 so he has alot of improvement in him but he has had a great year too.

Good luck to the other teams in the finals.