AFL Canberra Div 3, div 4 (Canb Dist)

I also cannot believe that Yass are still going on about it. Guys just accept the fact that at finals time especially teams with 2 grades are going to be swapping players between the grades based on form/injuries & availability.

Sorry to say but the more you go on about it the sillier you look. ;)

The season has been over for sometime now and the only thing you can do in your spare time is get on the INTERNET and complain about the season finals and what happened. No matter what you say on the INTERNET the only opinions to change will be that of those who looked at you guys in a particular way and now look at you differently.

The biggest thing to realise is this is the INTERNET. If you want to make people change their minds do it on the football field. Get over the fact you didn't go the season undefeated and reside in the fact that you beat a team who may have had 1st grade players in the side and won the GF. :thumbsu:
hey longhaul, juicy and co, we are not wingeing you w***ers, you are the ones who are upset, we won the gf and i can retire a happy man, as i said i have played in a lot of different comps, 16 clubs all up in all states of australia and i have never come across a competition weirder than this, i was having a go at the league and the way things are run, Yass will go up when they have enough players and that wont be for a while, gungahlin wont go up because i expect a lot of players to leave , juicy i hope i do find out who you are because you have nothing good to say about anyone at anytime, i feel sorry for you, you must be such a happy person, hopefully someone will catch up with you and put you on your ass you pathetic fool. dont bother replying because i have had enough of this site, :thumbsdown:

Well I am glad you have not let me down. :p

When someones first response is the throw out an insult, tells me they know what is being said is the truth. When ever someone has had something to say to you or about you DJ your first response is to insult them in some way.

Tell me what I have to be upset about DJ? I am just a spectator and call it how I see it.

All I was saying was that you need to rejoice in the fact you won the GF and forget about what the league says or does and the rules they make because they are not going to change for you.

Yes I know you are going to umpire and good on you I say, good to see ex players stepping up and having a go, but the way you go on in here sometimes, is not going to see you gain much respect from the players when you step out on the field.

You want to carry on like a greasy pork chop on internet forums then you go right ahead champ :thumbsu:

as i said i have played in a lot of different comps, 16 clubs all up in all states of australia and i have never come across a competition weirder than this, i was having a go at the league and the way things are run, Yass will go up when they have enough players and that wont be for a while, gungahlin wont go up because i expect a lot of players to leave ,

Doesn't say a lot about Yass if 15 other clubs and entire states wouldn't have you............. I swear that will be the last insult sorry about that.

I do agree with your comment that you need to have enough players Ando (I don't know if you are still reading this forum). A better way of expressing it though would be that you need to have enough depth which is also a nice way of saying enough talent. Just nit picking but if you have enough players to field a team in Div 4 then you will have enough players to field a team in Div 3, the rules are all the same (this may not be easily recognisable to the casual observer as interpretation can vary from time to time). However I do read fluent pig latin and am assuming that you meant depth. This is also the reason Gungahlin hasn't moved up in the last 2 years. Until a club has Juniors and/or enough financial backing the ACTAFL is a waste of time and money.

I think that the league needs to have a good hard look at itself, the rules are crap and this was shown in the finals, Yass should have gone through undefeated, only to come up against 7 players who had played none or very few div 4 games, i have played in many different leagues and for a professional comp the rules here are rediculous, I mentioned this to david wark before prelim final and he had no answer. It is quite simple, you must play a certain amount of games in set division to be able to qaulify or if you play too many games in higher div then you cant go back. pretty basic but fair, would have stopped what gungahlin did and maybe the better team belconnen would have played yass in grand final. anyway hopefully the league can work something out to make it fair for everyone. also couldnt believe that stevo was allowed to play in grand final, he had played no games in div 3 then was put on team sheet to eat up his one week, pretty weak but as my mum always said to me "cheaters never prosper" by the way go hawks:thumbsu:

DJ Ando, I'll start off on a good note - good on you for umpiring. Personally I'd rather drink a schooner of urine, but I suppose someones got to do it (umpire that is). Anyway re: above comments, I'm fair dinkum astonished. "...stopped what Gungahlin did...". What did we do? The jets played their best 22 available in first grade all year and the rest played 2's or missed out. It's as simple as that, always has been always will be. I myself played one's all year, got injured then wasn't good enough to get back in the one's. The only games I played in the magoos where the last home and away and the finals. Do you think they should change the rules so that a bloke like me who's busted his little old ring out all year can't play at all? There were a few of us who played mostly ones but as the club reached full strength at the end of season we simply weren't good enough. Surely you wouldn't have us sit out because we can't make the ones? A fair dinkum ridiculous idea. I really shouldn't have replied as my Mum always said 'Don't pick on the handicapped kids or I'll turn you into one'.

gee you miss a couple of days (or actually do some work) and this place explodes:)

here is a thought, lets see who can add to this one:

if one team clubs have an issue with players from higher grades playing down in the division they play in, and

Those one team clubs have players that have the skill level to player a higher grade (including making Rep teams) but are unable to as the club they play for cant provide this, then

maybe we need to put in a rating system for players where each player recieves a rating points for his level of skill and each team can only field players that add up to a total of predertimed points for the whole 22. They one team clubs wont be able to play reperesentiative skilled players back in the magoos all year ;)

DJ ANDO My mum told me if you dont have something nice to say join a forum.
Seriousley though how am i ment to respond to your probing and prometing ? Your introduction to this site came in the form of an adverstisment for a new bussiness you intend to develope and i sincerly wish you all the best with your endeavers,however when you attack the opinons in regards to football of others i have to wonder what the dj will do if the crowd object to song you play!!.You say and maybe your rite that i dont have anything nice to say about anyone so let me break the mould with you.
Step back a bit and think before you post it is true that yass were the best side in div 4 this year and you should be content with the clubs acheivment you should also though give credit were it is due.In the major semi the jets played better footy on the day regardless of who they played you know by the statement you have made previously that there was no breach in rules.So lets leave it at that i would dare say that the rest of team dont share your veiws as you seem to be the only one happy to continue with it.
Like i said all the best with the new venture and i hope you do become an umpire it may well be a humbling experience for you .

gee you miss a couple of days (or actually do some work) and this place explodes:)

here is a thought, lets see who can add to this one:

if one team clubs have an issue with players from higher grades playing down in the division they play in, and

Those one team clubs have players that have the skill level to player a higher grade (including making Rep teams) but are unable to as the club they play for cant provide this, then

maybe we need to put in a rating system for players where each player recieves a rating points for his level of skill and each team can only field players that add up to a total of predertimed points for the whole 22. They one team clubs wont be able to play reperesentiative skilled players back in the magoos all year ;)
Hey not a bad idea i do know that the canberra league comp has a similar points system but im not sure how it works:thumbsu:

could do like a fantasy league how about this

kick = 1 point
handball = 1 point
mark = 2 points
tackle = 3 points
hitout = 1/2 point (rounded up)
behind = 1 point
goal = 4 points

depending on average of player of x rounds they would be graded
grade 1 40+ points
grade 2 30 -39 points etc etc

each team can only have 5 grade 1's, 6 grade 2's, 6 grade 3's etc

given that, at a guess how many grade 1's would each of the cd 4's have had this year, southcab, care to take an educated guess on Yass?

kick = 1 point
handball = 1 point
mark = 2 points
tackle = 3 points
behind = 1 point
goal = 4 points

grade 1 40+ points

given that, at a guess how many grade 1's would each of the cd 4's have had this year, southcab, care to take an educated guess on Yass?
I think i can see where you are headed 2 old 2 slow it is not yasses fault we only have one team just like its the jets good fortune 2 have the 2 sides.
I have previously stated that yass have atleast 10 players in my believe that could play the grade above.
This is the reason that yass are were talking affilation with ainslie.

well well well - you miss a few weeks on here and the place goes nuts

I think it might be time to least last reason rest. All the celebrations and comiserations are done and dusted. Nothing will change thats already been done.

Lets get this forum back to footy and let go of the bullshit, before people become disinterested in it.

DJ Ando, I'll start off on a good note - good on you for umpiring. Personally I'd rather drink a schooner of urine, but I suppose someones got to do it (umpire that is). Anyway re: above comments, I'm fair dinkum astonished. "...stopped what Gungahlin did...". What did we do? The jets played their best 22 available in first grade all year and the rest played 2's or missed out. It's as simple as that, always has been always will be. I myself played one's all year, got injured then wasn't good enough to get back in the one's. The only games I played in the magoos where the last home and away and the finals. Do you think they should change the rules so that a bloke like me who's busted his little old ring out all year can't play at all? There were a few of us who played mostly ones but as the club reached full strength at the end of season we simply weren't good enough. Surely you wouldn't have us sit out because we can't make the ones? A fair dinkum ridiculous idea. I really shouldn't have replied as my Mum always said 'Don't pick on the handicapped kids or I'll turn you into one'.
ok guys , im back, i said i wouldnt but i had to. After reading all this i guess i must apologise, i didnt realise exactly what happened with players getting dropped, i sincerly thought the jets stacked their team but yes i do now believe this was not the case. I was in a bad mood yestie and probably went overboard, I still believe the league has to change a few things but probably wont. Juicy nice to see you do have compassion, i knew you had it in you, I was stoked to lose only one game for the year and win the gf, it was great to retire with a flag, as for playing for 16 clubs , i was a bit of a backpacker i guess, moved around travelling and working and also coaching at a fair few clubs, i would have liked to notch up 100 games somewhere but im glad i did move around before i got married, it was great, i think i played 48 senior games at my hometown club finley then finished with 3 years at yass, not sure how many games, a lot of injuries (old) . I would recomend to any young guys who want to travel to do it and play footy as well. anyway no need to ramble on too much, but i hope umpiring isnt worse than drinking a glass of urine or maybe i will have to play again haha, no hard feelings to anyone, even you juicy, hopefully the umpiring standard will improve a little next year, a final note, leave yass in div 4 untill we get more players because the best thing for yass is more success, already young league kids swapping because the senior roos are going well, dont they say success breeds success. only one more sleep till the hawks take on the pussy cats, hope nature takes its cause, because yes i know cats eat birds by instinct, but i have never seen a cat kill a hawk. fingers crossed, would be great to see my old mate crawf finally win a flag, if anyone deserves one he does. go hawks:thumbsu:

agree with ports - lets leave all this finger pointing shit about who stacked what side etc and move on - at the end of the day we all pay to play the game rather than be payed cause we are either old/fat/lazy/have other commitments(multiples of old/fat/lazy acceptable) that dont allow us to play a higher grade. End of the year you get bragging rights if you win otherwise its just talk shit like every other week!

I am interested to know how end of season trips went etc before preseason training starts again in a few months!

Good points and bad points over the past few posts!

I acknowledge the work some of the Yass guys have done for trying to raise the profile of AFL in Canberra, but be careful accusing teams of unsportsman like behaviour, there can be sore winners as well as sore losers!

I have to agree with the Jets boys (yep, even as a Belconnen player!) but there is no way (in my opinion) that a club with teams in both grades would sacrifice good players from their first grade team (div 3 or whatever we are calling it) by dropping them to try and win a reserves (div 4) premiership. No way.

As for the Stevens suspension saga - If I was in the same position at my club, I would have (and lets be honest, most other clubs would) done exactly the same thing - it was legal, so why not, it was after all for a crack at a GF.

I do not known the by-laws, but in my opinion if a two team club have both teams playing in a final on the same weekend (semi's prelim or GF) then, as long as a player has played 4 games for the club (either grade) during the home and away season, they can be picked to play in either side for the weekend (which is what Belconnen, and Gungahlin in 2008 for that matter). It does get difficult for clubs like Belconnen that have ACTAFL teams as well, but from my understanding a player could not play in the CD finals if he had played more than hlaf (8 games) in the ACTAFL, and still needed at least 4 CD games. This is fair isnt it????

Nuff Said!

Footy trip -Belco went to Wollongong. Was a good weekend but cant give too much away because of the "what happens on tour stays on tour" rule. As usual though, someone shagged a horror, three blokes got fined for offensive behaviour (swimming nude in the fountain on the main street), someone shat in another blokes pillow (no, it was not me), and too much beer was consumed!!!!

Anymore presentation night results?

Pre season - ouch

Whilst I am on here......

Pre season comp? I was away when the Jugs (I think) hosted a carnival prior to this season, from all accounts it was good, any comments?

I have a suggestion for 2009 pre season. I am a fan of full game hit outs (as opposed to 20min halves on and off throughout the day - due to my dodgy hammys) and propose the following:
North side v South Side round robin, culminating in a playoff for the "preseason champs title" (doesnt mean much but it gives you a full hitout before the season starts) and it would run like this:
North side - Magpies, ANU, Jets, Ainslie, ADFA (for balance)
South Side - Woden, Tuggers, Harman, Bidgee, Eastlake
Play a practice match every week for 4 weeks against all other teams in your pool. (only have to be 15 min quarters, on a day during the week agreed by both teams competing - prob Thurs or Fri night). At the end of this 4 weeks each pool will have a leader (determined by wins, then for and against if required) and the leaders of each pool play off in a full game on the Saturday before Round 1.

I have just the person to umpire too....... Cheers Ando:thumbsu::D:thumbsu:

Would this work? Who would be interested in entering? Would CD2s teams (Yass, Cooma, Goulburn, Coota etc) be intersted?

Pre season comp? I was away when the Jugs (I think) hosted a carnival prior to this season, from all accounts it was good, any comments?

I have a suggestion for 2009 pre season. I am a fan of full game hit outs (as opposed to 20min halves on and off throughout the day - due to my dodgy hammys) and propose the following:
North side v South Side round robin, culminating in a playoff for the "preseason champs title" (doesnt mean much but it gives you a full hitout before the season starts) and it would run like this:
Play a practice match every week for 4 weeks against all other teams in your pool. (only have to be 15 min quarters, on a day during the week agreed by both teams competing - prob Thurs or Fri night). At the end of this 4 weeks each pool will have a leader (determined by wins, then for and against if required) and the leaders of each pool play off in a full game on the Saturday before Round 1.

Would this work? Who would be interested in entering? Would CD2s teams (Yass, Cooma, Goulburn, Coota etc) be intersted?
TWO BOBS This is a great idea and i think it could work with a little help from others. As im no longer the coach of the roos i can't speak for them but i will offer my opinon,the problem with the 1 team clubs would be cricket commitments if the rules allowed for it perhaps the 1 team clubs could help each other out and make up the 1 side to compete.
I for one would love to see a pre season comp.On another note the roos are on there end of season trip this weekend they are at the gf poor melbourne want know what hit it.
ps If clubs dont wish to enter teams maybe we could formulate teams made up of players from any club interested after all its all about the footy cheers 2 bobs keep up the good work.

Epp

I'm glad you asked

A dozen Blues boys ventured to Melbourne for two AFL Prelim Finals, the Underwood Stakes day where everyone cleaned up on the punt, and the added bonus of the VFL Prelim final.

As per 3GM WGOTSOT, it was a bloody belter of a trip and we'll do it again next year...

cheers twobobs, you organise and i will umpire, how good were the hawks today. great to win one again, good to see crawf finally taste success. "thats what i'm talking about", my tip is he will retire a happy man now. as for me 2 premierships in one year, doesnt get any better than that. go hawks

ok guys , im back, i said i wouldnt but i had to. After reading all this i guess i must apologise, i didnt realise exactly what happened with players getting dropped, i sincerly thought the jets stacked their team but yes i do now believe this was not the case. I was in a bad mood yestie and probably went overboard, I still believe the league has to change a few things but probably wont. Juicy nice to see you do have compassion, i knew you had it in you, I was stoked to lose only one game for the year and win the gf, it was great to retire with a flag, as for playing for 16 clubs , i was a bit of a backpacker i guess, moved around travelling and working and also coaching at a fair few clubs, i would have liked to notch up 100 games somewhere but im glad i did move around before i got married, it was great, i think i played 48 senior games at my hometown club finley then finished with 3 years at yass, not sure how many games, a lot of injuries (old) . I would recomend to any young guys who want to travel to do it and play footy as well. anyway no need to ramble on too much, but i hope umpiring isnt worse than drinking a glass of urine or maybe i will have to play again haha, no hard feelings to anyone, even you juicy, hopefully the umpiring standard will improve a little next year, a final note, leave yass in div 4 untill we get more players because the best thing for yass is more success, already young league kids swapping because the senior roos are going well, dont they say success breeds success. only one more sleep till the hawks take on the pussy cats, hope nature takes its cause, because yes i know cats eat birds by instinct, but i have never seen a cat kill a hawk. fingers crossed, would be great to see my old mate crawf finally win a flag, if anyone deserves one he does. go hawks:thumbsu:
DJ ando it takes a big man to admit they're wrong, good on you!

As for the pre-season competition, sounds like a great idea. As numbers are usually not fantastic at that time of year, perhaps the one team clubs could unite with the two team clubs to make up two teams. Yass could join with Gungahlin for example. I reckon that'd be great - then everyone might realise that the others aren't a bunch of pricks after all.

Cant see a problem with that damon.Bring it on i say.

hi damon, i played in a pre season comp in adelaide, it was 9 a side, smaller oval 3 forwards 3 centre and 3 backs, swaping each qtr, only forward could kick goals, i think there was about 8 teams and we played at night each week, it was really good. just a thought

hey longhaul, i received a private message from you but the pop up creen was blocked and i couldnt get to it, do you want to send it again, interested to see what you had to say

The Jets used to run a one day round robin carnival in the pre season. It was good for a hit out but the format did lend itself to injuries. Was a pain in the arse to organise as well.

You can get a sneak preview. div1 city/ suburbn barton cricket club. With former jetter Spank Morgan, kochy and the boys... :p

No probs we are in jets jerseys obviously cause we have 2 teams.lol:rolleyes:

note: little icons usually represent sarcasm or someone taking piss, think they need to be used a little more!:cool:

kick = 1 point
handball = 1 point
mark = 2 points
tackle = 3 points
behind = 1 point
goal = 4 points

grade 1 40+ points

I assume al of the suggestions to rate players etc is just taking the piss, however I just wanted to make the comment that the last thing we ever want to do is limit the talent pool. Div 3 and 4 is where you get some very good footballers still running around playing with their mates for fun. Occasionally you get a few blokes who could walk into an ACTAFL First Grade team but choose to play Div 3 and 4.

There were some great examples of it during the finals this year and I'm sure the spectators enjoyed it.