AFL Canberra Div3/Div2

Of course we thought we could win both games!! We are not in the business of playing games that we dont think we can win. I would dare say that if we had of played with 18 players in the 'reggies' then we would have won comfortably anyway. You are right in saying that may have made us more competitive in the Seniors ....maybe I need you on my coaching staff as that bit of advice would have been handy!

Also any talk that we played a full strength side in Div 3 is folly as only 9 regular Senior players played in that game and a further 2 came in for the Div 2 game. The fact that we lost the Div 2 game doesn't suprise me as much as the fact that we won the last quarter 4 goals to 0 with a team half made up of reserve grade players who had all just played 7 quarters of footy!!
I have never heard so much arrogance out of someone's mouth. If you are actually on the coaching staff I would be shocked at you saying what you have. I looked at both ladders and its obvious you will finish on top in div 2 and in div 3 you look a bit shakey. Hmmmm how bout we stack the div 3 with div 2 players get a huge percentage boost and hope to win the 2 s as well on the same day. Never seen or heard anything like this anywhere before. You say you only played about 9 div 2 players. That's half a team you realise. I did read something about in the spirit of the game that you can play 4 players or ask for more to the league. If you only have 24 players available its not rocket science you forfeit one game and play the other. It doesn't make any difference to the bay as far as finals goes but I would feel sorry for yass cooma or belconnen if they missed out on top 5 because adfa think they are above the law and sneak into finals on the back of a bullshit win.

I don't think Adfa set out to put the cleaners through the seahawks to boost there percentage , And I don't think that they aware of the spirit of the game rule (nor is Eastlake for that matter ) I think Adfa are a victim of circumstances .The only reason I brought it up was because we seen it last year were a team played 8 div 2 players against a div 3 side and the win was overturned. The amount of games that Adfa play outside of the designated roster must nearly make it nightmare as who would be legal and who's not, For example they have already played this weekends div 2 game weeks ago so that would mean that any player who played div 2 that night cant play threes this weekend as they have played in higher grade before the lower. Somewhat confusing I believe, mind you I don't have sympathy for Adfa and I doubt that want it either, at the end of the day they and the league new exactly what they were getting into. Send them up to div 1 that will fix all the problems.

My Bad !!! Just checked the draw Adfa Eastlake threes game is not on this weekend it is scheduled for July the 24th.It also means the same for Eastlake any player who played twos on the 6th of June for this weekends round 14 clash cant play threes either. Hope I have confused everybody enough for one day.

I have never heard so much arrogance out of someone's mouth. If you are actually on the coaching staff I would be shocked at you saying what you have. I looked at both ladders and its obvious you will finish on top in div 2 and in div 3 you look a bit shakey. Hmmmm how bout we stack the div 3 with div 2 players get a huge percentage boost and hope to win the 2 s as well on the same day. Never seen or heard anything like this anywhere before. You say you only played about 9 div 2 players. That's half a team you realise. I did read something about in the spirit of the game that you can play 4 players or ask for more to the league. If you only have 24 players available its not rocket science you forfeit one game and play the other. It doesn't make any difference to the bay as far as finals goes but I would feel sorry for yass cooma or belconnen if they missed out on top 5 because adfa think they are above the law and sneak into finals on the back of a bullshit win.
Someone is in love with the word "Arrogance".

I think the weekend is the exact reason why Adfa can't go to Div one. If Seahawks beat the best team they can put on the park imagine what a 1st Div team would have done.

Someone is in love with the word "Arrogance".

I think the weekend is the exact reason why Adfa can't go to Div one. If Seahawks beat the best team they can put on the park imagine what a 1st Div team would have done.

Probably the same thing that your div 2 side did to the bays div 3

Righto I think everyone else has had a crack and now it is my turn....

Given the circumstances I think what ADFA did was not as bad as everyone is making it out to be. At the end of the day there were two games of footy held at Batemans Bay on the weekend instead of one - so that is a positive as far as I am concerned. Forfeits suck, but I would rather have an opportunity to play footy then to sit on the sidelines and do nothing.... But that is just me.

I am in favour of ADFA playing in Div 1 and 2 (Div 1 is a joke at the moment - look at the draw!) in the interests of football in Canberra, but that is for AFL Canberra to grow some balls and sort out. Enough has been said on that topic and no matter what is said on here today nothing anyone writes will change the number of teams competing for the flag this season in Div 2 and Div 3, and that includes ADFA. In the meantime, find out a way to beat them!

I do not know the intricate details of the by-laws, but some of you on here appear to be experts so I will be cautiously guided by your advice. If rules were broken then fine, enforce the penalties. If all was above board then lets get on with footy. As for those that are worried about missing out on finals because of this one game - get over it. there are 5 or so rounds left so work harder on the track to win more games and win by bigger margins - just to make sure that you have the points and/or percentage to get into the 5 come finals time. If you miss out, dont blame this one game of ADFA v Seahawks. Instead, get your arse to training more, work harder on game day, have a recovery program - whatever. just stop looking for other people to blame - that is probably one of the reasons why you are not winning already!!!!

And whoever made the comment about finishing 1 or 2 is no different - just to clarify: I think we have a top 5 this year, so first will get a week off whilst 2v3 in a qualifying final and 4v5 in an elimination final. That means top spot does have an advantage (and rightly so)!

For those that dont know me I am from Belco, not ADFA. So whilst ADFA are the arch enemy on field for me personally, I an actually understand the decison they made on the weekend - 44 blokes got a game for the Seahawks on Saturday and not 22. Well done to the Sea Hawks for knocking them off in Div 2!

If you are a former BMFC player make sure you get down to the past players day at The Nest from Midday this Saturday to catch up with old mates :)

Brentford, word on the street is that Mr Fleming is set to miss one of the remaining games .Could be huge towards the outcome ;)

That is quite a story! He takes a comfortable 10 goal lead with 5 games to go, just happy to be competing with the big fella, would've been quite the season if not for the unfortunate injury of ANU's sharpshooter. Perhaps then it may have been a trio of goal sneaks.

Looking forward to the game against Cooma in a couple of weeks. Maybe someone associated with Cooma could shed some light on the story, because I had him down for 10 against Bidgee or Gunners. So if he misses one of those then it's massive.

That is quite a story! He takes a comfortable 10 goal lead with 5 games to go, just happy to be competing with the big fella, would've been quite the season if not for the unfortunate injury of ANU's sharpshooter. Perhaps then it may have been a trio of goal sneaks.

Looking forward to the game against Cooma in a couple of weeks. Maybe someone associated with Cooma could shed some light on the story, because I had him down for 10 against Bidgee or Gunners. So if he misses one of those then it's massive.
I'm usually a Holden man but I'm hoping a ford can win it !! Good luck

T
Righto I think everyone else has had a crack and now it is my turn....

Given the circumstances I think what ADFA did was not as bad as everyone is making it out to be. At the end of the day there were two games of footy held at Batemans Bay on the weekend instead of one - so that is a positive as far as I am concerned. Forfeits suck, but I would rather have an opportunity to play footy then to sit on the sidelines and do nothing.... But that is just me.

I am in favour of ADFA playing in Div 1 and 2 (Div 1 is a joke at the moment - look at the draw!) in the interests of football in Canberra, but that is for AFL Canberra to grow some balls and sort out. Enough has been said on that topic and no matter what is said on here today nothing anyone writes will change the number of teams competing for the flag this season in Div 2 and Div 3, and that includes ADFA. In the meantime, find out a way to beat them!

I do not know the intricate details of the by-laws, but some of you on here appear to be experts so I will be cautiously guided by your advice. If rules were broken then fine, enforce the penalties. If all was above board then lets get on with footy. As for those that are worried about missing out on finals because of this one game - get over it. there are 5 or so rounds left so work harder on the track to win more games and win by bigger margins - just to make sure that you have the points and/or percentage to get into the 5 come finals time. If you miss out, dont blame this one game of ADFA v Seahawks. Instead, get your arse to training more, work harder on game day, have a recovery program - whatever. just stop looking for other people to blame - that is probably one of the reasons why you are not winning already!!!!

And whoever made the comment about finishing 1 or 2 is no different - just to clarify: I think we have a top 5 this year, so first will get a week off whilst 2v3 in a qualifying final and 4v5 in an elimination final. That means top spot does have an advantage (and rightly so)!

For those that dont know me I am from Belco, not ADFA. So whilst ADFA are the arch enemy on field for me personally, I an actually understand the decison they made on the weekend - 44 blokes got a game for the Seahawks on Saturday and not 22. Well done to the Sea Hawks for knocking them off in Div 2!

If you are a former BMFC player make sure you get down to the past players day at The Nest from Midday this Saturday to catch up with old mates :)
This is all true , and as I said it won't affect the Seahawks but what if one of the teams do as you say and bust there ass to win every game and still miss out on finals by percentage. ??

As a change of subject. What are some thoughts on making the comp more even? I'm not a fan of having divisions with 11 and 13 teams. Unnecessary byes and it's just too many teams for Div 3.

As there is a total of 24 sides, wouldn't it make sense to add an extra division and have 8 sides in each? I could solve a couple of problems.

i) I know of some people who believe the season is too long. Perhaps if we have three divisions of 8 sides the season could be reduced to 14 rounds (play each side twice). A top 4 finals would be fair for a division consisting of 8 teams. Maybe a bye round or two could be used to host a City vs Country or North vs South game but that's another matter. Helps draw the season out a little bit more in case people think 14 rounds is too short.

ii) No more byes (except for general byes obviously). Everyone is happy. Also it would be so much easier to create a draw where you won't get annoying instances like ANU and Goulburn meeting in Round 1 and then having no more games for the rest of the season.

iii) The matches mean more. It's a more even comp and the games have greater importance.

I would think that after this season the top 8 sides in Div Two would remain. The bottom 3 join the top 5 in Div Three. The remaining 8 make the new Div Four comp. Likely make up could be (and this is no disrespect to any team. Just made the list based on final predictions)...

Div One
ADFA
ANU
Belconnen
Ainslie
Gungahlin
Eastlake
Murrumbidgee
Harman

Div Two
Sth Coast
Woden
Tuggeranong
Goulburn
ANU
Yass
ADFA
Belconnen

Div Three
Cooma
Cootamundra
Ainslie
Gungahlin
Eastlake
Sth Coast
Harman
Murrumbidgee

I personally like this system. Sides like Tuggeranong who have struggled for so long and Woden who have lost a lot of experienced players of late could play on a more even playing field. Sth Coast might be able to attract some more players being in a more competitive comp.

As a change of subject. What are some thoughts on making the comp more even? I'm not a fan of having divisions with 11 and 13 teams. Unnecessary byes and it's just too many teams for Div 3.

As there is a total of 24 sides, wouldn't it make sense to add an extra division and have 8 sides in each? I could solve a couple of problems.

i) I know of some people who believe the season is too long. Perhaps if we have three divisions of 8 sides the season could be reduced to 14 rounds (play each side twice). A top 4 finals would be fair for a division consisting of 8 teams. Maybe a bye round or two could be used to host a City vs Country or North vs South game but that's another matter. Helps draw the season out a little bit more in case people think 14 rounds is too short.

ii) No more byes (except for general byes obviously). Everyone is happy. Also it would be so much easier to create a draw where you won't get annoying instances like ANU and Goulburn meeting in Round 1 and then having no more games for the rest of the season.

iii) The matches mean more. It's a more even comp and the games have greater importance.

I would think that after this season the top 8 sides in Div Two would remain. The bottom 3 join the top 5 in Div Three. The remaining 8 make the new Div Four comp. Likely make up could be (and this is no disrespect to any team. Just made the list based on final predictions)...

Div One
ADFA
ANU
Belconnen
Ainslie
Gungahlin
Eastlake
Murrumbidgee
Harman

Div Two
Sth Coast
Woden
Tuggeranong
Goulburn
ANU
Yass
ADFA
Belconnen

Div Three
Cooma
Cootamundra
Ainslie
Gungahlin
Eastlake
Sth Coast
Harman
Murrumbidgee

I personally like this system. Sides like Tuggeranong who have struggled for so long and Woden who have lost a lot of experienced players of late could play on a more even playing field. Sth Coast might be able to attract some more players being in a more competitive comp.

Any idea to better the comp is a great one ,problem I believe is the separation in division from say div 1 to div 3 most clubs only have just have enough personal to handle double headers and are spread to thin if teams are playing different divs at different venues. The other problem is the 1 team clubs I think all the 1 teams clubs have to be in the same division. Clubs with two teams should be getting better looked after than they do currently .Maybe mergers are the go, but I don't know how they would work either. I really like your idea and with changes to the format and some adjusting of the by laws it has great merit.

I like the idea of having a rep game, would be good to get a couple of blokes together to showcase the talent in the grades, the problem with the system of the grading is just the turnover of players. Goulburn are a bit up and down, they were apparently struggling for numbers and speaking to Stevie on the weekend.

He said they called about 5 blokes they hadn't had for a while to play, needless to say I like the idea of playing everyone twice, then you don't have complaints that one team got to play the weaker sides twice, top stuff hangdog!

Yeah there's a couple of teams that struggle with numbers throughout the year. ADFA usually need to reschedule a game or two a year, ANU lose players around exams/mid year holidays etc which tests their depth. Not surprised if a couple of other sides do.

I hope it's something they consider. I had a rough go at doing a draw and you can still ensure more than half of the games are double headers at least for the two team clubs.

I do like this idea, but doubt AFL Canberra would like it with their "pathways" etc.
But while we're on about it, promotion and relegation between the divisions would be good too I think. The only problem that you might end up with two teams from one club in the same division. You could just suspend the promotion/relegation for any years in which a second's team wins the division below their firsts. I guess you might get tanking too, with some teams wanting to be a big fish in a small pond, type scenario.

T
This is all true , and as I said it won't affect the Seahawks but what if one of the teams do as you say and bust there arse to win every game and still miss out on finals by percentage. ??
What's done is done, they obviously thought they were doing the right thing, I couldn't imagine they loaded a team up just to win the 3rd div. I honestly think they only had 24 players and wanted two games played. Do you play for the Seahawks at all?

Nah mate , just a supporter part time now as I miss a lot of games with work.

Lets celebrate your first grade win then!

Big games Cooma Anu, Cooma should win, I would assume there is a few students away and home ground advantage.

Swans vCoota depends on what sort of team Coota gets to make the trip but an upset could be on the cards...

ANU over Cooma 90 - 81 after Cooma being down 32 points at 3qt, great fight back but not quite!

Lol Fordy only 13 outta 21 this week, new favourite

Still an underdog, Tony will kick 20 between the Bidgee and Jets games, plus should kick a bag against us.

ANU and Belco will do the job on me, so there will be no worries as to who will win.

AFL Canberra Div3/Div2