AFL Canberra Div3/Div2

[quottz, post: 29760955, member: 120032"]I've got a question for a belco Rep and a uni Rep, what do you tell the bloke that you had to drop from the 3rd grade final side to allow another bloke who had hardly played a game or not played a game all year that he can't play because he's not good enough?

Wow...I've got a question, was 20 years worth the wait?[/quote]

Good input.

Got your first tip right, Motley! ANU into the grand final with a 23 point win over Goulburn!
Swans all over Uni in the first two quarters and then a complete turnaround in the second half.
Bodes well for the minor premier being knocked out in straight sets! :p

Amazing... Left at half time, Goulburn looked liked they'd shit it in. Num 18 is very handy. Well done to Robba and his boys.

Good effort by ANU today. It was a fantastic response by all the boys after half time. We shut down their play makers big time and barely gave them a sniff. We're only half way there though and have to back up that effort in a fortnight.

In Div 2, I left early but was there to see a big clash which saw one of our boys knocked out in the first quarter. The ADFA bloke didn't even seem overly remorseful about it either (even if it was an accident which is highly debatable). He got plenty of pats on the back on the bench after being sent off too.

Good win today Anu, how many actual 3rd graders played in the game. Number 11 for Anu is an absolute grub. Take on someone ur own size instead of being a sniper and taking out kids. Weak dog

Pretty much every ANU player out there against Goulburn today has played mostly Div 3 footy. Some blokes have played a mixture of both grades due to injuries but it was by no stretch a stacked side. We just happen to have pretty good depth with comfortably 60 blokes who could play across both grades. Why would we anyway? Our 1s had a massive clash against ADFA in a cut throat final to win so there's no way they'd play anything less than their strongest side possible.

Goulburn can hardly talk about grubs given what their player-coach is like:rolleyes:. He's the king of the cheap shot behind the play.

Pretty much every ANU player out there against Goulburn today has played mostly Div 3 footy. Some blokes have played a mixture of both grades due to injuries but it was by no stretch a stacked side. We just happen to have pretty good depth with comfortably 60 blokes who could play across both grades. Why would we anyway? Our 1s had a massive clash against ADFA in a cut throat final to win so there's no way they'd play anything less than their strongest side possible.

Goulburn can hardly talk about grubs given what their player-coach is like:rolleyes:. He's the king of the cheap shot behind the play.

Didn't think there was any stacking, Anu played better than us.

Was pretty heroic from number 11, and not sure Steve is a grub Archie. Hopefully get a win next week and see you in two weeks.

Was impressed by Yass today. Very disciplined side today and really deserve their win. They will test goulburn next week. If yass play the way they did today next week it will be a ripping game.

Also noticed yesterday that number 6 for ANUS had a cricket thigh guard protecting his right ribs.

Belconnen too good for us in the 2s today, played some really structured and disciplined footy, win well deserved... Not sure how far you will go now that your coach turtle got done for giving some cheap shots, not real smart when your are 8 goals up, good luck coaching from behind the fence champion...

Was impressed by Yass today. Very disciplined side today and really deserve their win. They will test goulburn next week. If yass play the way they did today next week it will be a ripping game.

Also noticed yesterday that number 6 for ANUS had a cricket thigh guard protecting his right ribs.
Thanks Jumpin Jac
I was very happy with our discipline as well makes a big difference, With regards to the result though, I fear we were flattered by the fact that the Belconnen boy's were so under strength .Cooma boy's really took it out of them. The game was played in great spirit though and thanks to Jezza who went out of his way to visit the Yass dressing shed after the game and talk to the boy's. Show's great character :thumbsu:

Belconnen too good for us in the 2s today, played some really structured and disciplined footy, win well deserved... Not sure how far you will go now that your coach turtle got done for giving some cheap shots, not real smart when your are 8 goals up, good luck coaching from behind the fence champion...

Watching from the grandstand yesterday I thought that Ainslie were very one dimensional for the whole game. You guys were only looking to hurt or injure our better players in the second half once the team realised success for 2013 was out of your reach. No doubt that would have been a hard realisation to come to considering you won your first finals game in 9 years last week over a very poor and under strength Jets team. The only thing Turtle was doing was protecting the guys that have been the best, week in and week out for his team and the guys that could potentially win the comp for the Pies. It's just a pity that the Ainslie div 2 side have players in there who are no where near up to the standard and only want to hurt guys because they are better than them. What more would you expect from a success starved div 2 and 3 squad. See you next year. Have a great mad Monday...........

Hahaha.

Come in under a crappy user name and throw around junk like this for your first post. Vintage Belconnen hero. Giving the good blokes at your club a bad name.

Southcab. Only thing that has stopped you winning the comp in the last few years was discipline. I like watching you guys play when the side is switched on and on the same page.

I got to Greenway at half time and couldn't believe the score .Belconnen was my pick to win the comp. I guess now I will have to say that Anu will go back to back as will Adfa in the twos .I cant remember the last time that teams went back to back in both grades. Still some interesting games ahead .

Belco had been pretty ordinary in the 4s for most of the year I thought, clearly best 3 teams left now for mine.

Come in under a crappy user name and throw around junk like this for your first post. Vintage Belconnen hero. Giving the good blokes at your club a bad name.
First of all, it is only your opinion that the user name is crappy and frankly I don't care for your opinion. Secondly, it is only my opinion, that I have posted, in reply to something that was directed at a fellow clubman and has nothing to do with you. So, unless you know me personally, keep your unwarranted comments to yourself and maybe come down to the Belconnen footy club and meet everyone personally before you make silly comments like you have. We are all great people. That is why from NEAFL, 1's, 2's, 3's, women's and rising stars we have a very successful culture and can continually be a force in whatever division throughout Canberra.

G'day Magpie Madness and welcome to the forum, I can see that you are going to be a one of those contributors that keeps us all guessing with your very knowledgeable posts, we are so lucky to have you on board.
So, we were out there trying to hurt or injure your players for the entire second half were we.... how did we go? What was the count.... maybe 0. In fact being 7 or 8 goals down late in the 3rd quarter, we could have started all kind of fights knowing the game was to far gone to win, and that none of the belco boys would retaliate in case they were suspended and would sit out the rest of the finals, but we didnt.
There were probably two minor scuffles in the whole game, cause lets face it, it was finals footy and we both wanted to win.
I'm glad you are a gracious winner mate and that the vision out of that one eye of yours is nice and clear. Glad the umpires saw Turtle's antics differently to you, maybe you and Turtle can compare notes in the stands next week.
The Division 2 will see their deserved success in the near future. Sorry about not winning a premiership in the Division 3 yet mate, only our second year in the competition... but I'm pretty sure we stitched you boys up this year.

Fro
G'day Magpie Madness and welcome to the forum, I can see that you are going to be a one of those contributors that keeps us all guessing with your very knowledgeable posts, we are so lucky to have you on board.
So, we were out there trying to hurt or injure your players for the entire second half were we.... how did we go? What was the count.... maybe 0. In fact being 7 or 8 goals down late in the 3rd quarter, we could have started all kind of fights knowing the game was to far gone to win, and that none of the belco boys would retaliate in case they were suspended and would sit out the rest of the finals, but we didnt.
There were probably two minor scuffles in the whole game, cause lets face it, it was finals footy and we both wanted to win.
I'm glad you are a gracious winner mate and that the vision out of that one eye of yours is nice and clear. Glad the umpires saw Turtle's antics differently to you, maybe you and Turtle can compare notes in the stands next week.
The Division 2 will see their deserved success in the near future. Sorry about not winning a premiership in the Division 3 yet mate, only our second year in the competition... but I'm pretty sure we stitched you boys up this year.
From what I understand after speaking to some officials, the report was actually made after the game by and AFL Canberra official who was actually sitting in the stands. It was for rough conduct, for a head lock that was put on. The three field umpires didn't see fit, at the time of the incident, to report him, but awarded a free kick to the Ainslie player. From what I could see the incident was minor and, in my opinion, Ainslie were trying to hurt some of the Belconnen better players at differents stages and succeeded with two of the Belconnen guys requiring stitches after the game. Again, this is only my opinion and I hope that you can understand that,as I wouldn't like to cause any friction

Because no one has ever been cut open during the regular flow of a contested finals contest? It MUST have been foul play?

I don't know what you define as intent to injure belco players? If you refer to tackling hard and putting blocks on players so they don't get a free run after they've cut you up in the 1st half then I'll definitely put my hand up and say I did that. I'd expect no less from any opposition I play against, especially in a final.

But I certainly don't throw elbows at players off the ball at players not looking and I'm pretty glad Turtle's missed my head.

AFL Canberra Div3/Div2