• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

AFL Canberra Part 2

A couple of points of note:
1) What is the position that Queanbeyan find themselves in? please enlighten.
2) you must have talked to wark recently. you were pretty quick to slag the administration last year now your embracing the old leader? seems a bit of a flip flop.
3) Not sure if Belconnen offer was even in the ball park with eastlake so imagine what the other (ainslie) offer was. Can you enlighten your previous notation that an Ainslie official called him "intoxicated" and asked a particular question. you obviously know more here.
4) i would imagine that would put a few ainslie players noses out of joint. i couldn't imagine that Gibsons, ex norwood team mate like Ryan Lewis would like Gibson to be offered more then him to play at Ainslie. i still cant beleive with that connection they couldn't put pen to paper. maybe a thumbs down for the Chris Rourke who must now be looking over his shoulder at Bourke who is waiting in the wings incase Rouke has another brain snap.

Wonky I will attempt to answer your points -

Point 1 - Qbn Tigers were not in the position to offer the amount required to obtain his services.
Point 2 - This is Bullsh*t. I never slagged DW or the administration off. I was the one who was defending them when all were getting stuck in. In particular the WC - Tuggers merger affair.
Point 3 - This is also Bullsh*t. I never mentioned it was an "official", I simply stated someone.
Point 4 - I know you werent asking for "enlightenment" here and I can't speak for Lewis but if a player who could be the difference between winning or losing a final came to my club, I couldn't give a rats what he was getting paid if he was delivering on the park.

Something for you to consider Wonky - think before typing, do your homework and then think again.;)

Cheers:)

I agree with MG's points here on un coachability.
Also, if club is going to offer big salaries then they need to learn how to massage and manage egos of those on the big salaries.
Perhaps the coaching staff at AFC needed to not label Billy as ' high maintenance' as the excuse to let him go and look at how they coached him.
Utility07's comments which sound to be from an internal point of view at Ainslie totally contradict Big Unit 101's :confused: One minute Billy loves AFC and it was hard to leave the next he is uncoachable and they are better off with out him?? Who will step up to rack up the 35 + possies which no doubt helped AFC into fiinals contention last year
Who are the recruits ? Billy fed alot of the runners at AFC last year in games i saw against Belco which set up their wins.:thumbsdown:

Don't get me wrong i think Billy is a good player i just think now that he has left, ainslie will start to function better as a team. Obviously ainslie are going to have a new captan which is more than likely going to be Ryan Lewis and i think under his guidence and leadership they will be better off.. In my opinion now that he has left the midfield will start to function a bit better, with two new ruckmen and a good midfielder form S.A to add to the midfield of Lewis, Holmes and Lawless (etc) ainslie will stop looking for Billy in situations were they shouldnt and look for the right option....
Lets be honest two or three years ago ainslie were rubbish and were often found looking for Billy in situations were they shouldnt and this has carried on over the years and maybe now that he has gone they may start to play better footy....
Think the one to step up and gather those possies will be Ryan Lewis

Hi Utility07,

your comments make more sense than some of your AFC mates;)

can you elaborate on what exactly you mean though by not fitting into AFC culture??

He trained hard, played hard, led from the front with his actions and from what i hear totally professional in his prep and recovery - what do you guys want for $50K ???:confused:

Its obvious maybe being surrounded by over paid 'prima donnas' wasnt Billy's cup of tea either. Ive heard several players at AFC all believe that they let a premiership slip in 08 and were the best side in comp and had Belco's measure ? Let it slip alright - got tipped out in the first semi.:(

Sorry AFC boys - have to be in it..... first - to win it!!!:eek:

In saying he didnt really fit into the ainslie culture all i mean by that is that players were often found walking around on egg shells whenever Billy was around, he wasnt one to say g'day unless you say g'day to him first.. The Ainslie football club is huge about 'welcoming new people to the club' its like there biggest 'motto' and he just wasnt one to do that. After trainings of a thursday night ainslie often head over to the social rooms for pasta and for the team to be read out for saturdays game (this is compulsery to all players expecting to play seniors) and Billy was never there... Just didnt make a good impression on new players

So it was compulsory to be there but he never was? and the senior coach didn't have the balls to do something about it? No player anywhere is bigger than the team and if this is what transpired then I am not surprised that many at Ainslie believe Billy was "uncoachable".
Interesting that this comes to light and his unainslie like behavior only comes out after he has left the club...

Thought it time to tidy up some of the general banter that has been going on around David Wark & Eastlake "Star" recruit Gibson.

Someone described David Wark as "shopping" players around Canberra. My mail is that DW is assisting players who are interested in our competition. Even though he has left the ACT he can't speak highly enough of our standard and of our set up over here and any player who is remotely interested in coming to Canberra, David informs clubs of players who might relocate. The player and the clubs do the negotiating. DW's only role is to get the ball rolling.

Someone asked if Gibson spoke to Queanbeyan - The answer is no as DW understands the position the club is in.

Gibson did receive a bigger offer to play elsewhere in Canberra but Eastlake & in particular Clarke impressed the most that his decision was an easy one. The Eastlake FC also were able to secure him employment at ACTEW which also went along way to obtaining his services.

Thought it should be known that while DW is no longer here, he is still promoting what we all on here already know. That Canberra footy is a very good standard that many underestimate. If David is able to get a better standard of player to our competition by informing clubs of players that may be keen to come over, then I applaud him for that. After all he is doing something for free that all clubs pay a person to do....and that can't harm our comp now can it.:thumbsu:

ABH,

This post contradicts your original on the topic. Quite clearly E/lake lined up their ducks using the $$$$ they have and the connections to find employment.
So they outbidded the other clubs - bit harsh having a crack at Ainslie/Tugg over missing the signing.

Also, big news coming up on a signing at Belco - watch this space;)

So it was compulsory to be there but he never was? and the senior coach didn't have the balls to do something about it? No player anywhere is bigger than the team and if this is what transpired then I am not surprised that many at Ainslie believe Billy was "uncoachable".
Interesting that this comes to light and his unainslie like behavior only comes out after he has left the club...
Hey Guys Billy has gone........ He is a great player and hope he goes well at lavington. no point pointing the finger at anyone. On other recruiting news, not huge signings but two young guys from Yass are having a crack at Eastlake this year. Leigh french and ryan cox. Frenchy is a stocky ranger who played CHF for us last year, and coxy is a fast tall CHB , played for the districts rep side last year, These guys wont be kpp straight away, but the few years i played with them, i could see a lot of potential there, good luck guys:thumbsu:

ABH,

This post contradicts your original on the topic. Quite clearly E/lake lined up their ducks using the $$$$ they have and the connections to find employment.
So they outbidded the other clubs - bit harsh having a crack at Ainslie/Tugg over missing the signing.

Also, big news coming up on a signing at Belco - watch this space;)

BRK I only post the information that is presented to me at the time. If my post changes its only due to the information changing or coming from a different source. I was told Tuggers were given first dibs and Horney said it wasn't in his plans. If this is not true, I have not heard any different. I was also told what happened at Ainslie and posted that. Nothing more, nothing less. This is why If I dont know it to be fact all usually start with "Rumour has it" or " I heard from a good source"....I dont make this stuff up as I have better things to concern myself with.

My guess is and this is my opinion. He was offered more money at Ainslie, Eastlake made a good offer, he received the phone call from a drunken Ainslie person, Eastlake got him a job to go with their offer and all these events made his decision for him.

Any news from Tuggers way - how are they looking in their attempt to field 4 senior sides for 2009?

Don't get me wrong i think Billy is a good player i just think now that he has left, ainslie will start to function better as a team. Obviously ainslie are going to have a new captan which is more than likely going to be Ryan Lewis and i think under his guidence and leadership they will be better off.. In my opinion now that he has left the midfield will start to function a bit better, with two new ruckmen and a good midfielder form S.A to add to the midfield of Lewis, Holmes and Lawless (etc) ainslie will stop looking for Billy in situations were they shouldnt and look for the right option....
Lets be honest two or three years ago ainslie were rubbish and were often found looking for Billy in situations were they shouldnt and this has carried on over the years and maybe now that he has gone they may start to play better footy....

Great to see the fantastic junior development program at Tricolours pumping out names like Lewis, Holmes, Lawless , Pieterson & a new one from SA ( un-named) - even your best juniors come from the coast or tuggers??? any focus on juniors at AFC or just get Corey to flop out the cheque book every off season???:cool:

Wonky I will attempt to answer your points -

Point 1 - Qbn Tigers were not in the position to offer the amount required to obtain his services. [I]this seems strange considering the money left over from Jacques. surely Gibson would have been an ideal replacement for DJ (i know you will mention that you already have a ruckmen or something crap). Or maybe the powell flights might be costing you guys out of a long term player here? [/I]
Point 2 - This is Bullsh*t. I never slagged DW or the administration off. I was the one who was defending them when all were getting stuck in. In particular the WC - Tuggers merger affair. Not true you were slagging off everybody including wark. you were the reason why Wark wrote the speel in the program, due to your insiduous postings. ask him on your next conversation.
Point 3 - This is also Bullsh*t. I never mentioned it was an "official", I simply stated someone. [I]well thats why i asked. surely only an "official" would have access to a person during negotaiations. so how about you let us know who is "rumoured" to have called him drunk. [/I]Point 4 - I know you werent asking for "enlightenment" here and I can't speak for Lewis but if a player who could be the difference between winning or losing a final came to my club, I couldn't give a rats what he was getting paid if he was delivering on the park. [I]i wasn;t implying that you are Ryan Lewis, i was asking your opinion of what Ryan Lewis reaction would be considering his hefty ego. [/I]
Something for you to consider Wonky - think before typing, do your homework and then think again.;)

Cheers:)

so how about you read the questions and answer them next time.

Oh Wonky, your not even half as smart as you think you are - in fact you make me laugh that your that daft.

Point 1 - This is my opinion on the Tigers and mine alone - ever thought that at some point a club is going to come to that fork in the road and say "do we continue to spend" or "do we ease off spending". Given the results over the past couple of years and the players that have come to the club in that time, maybe, just maybe the club has decided enough is enough for the time being.....Just my take on it.

Point 2 - Have never slagged David Wark or the League. He and I had talks on a variety of topics throughout last season and we still continue to talk all things football to this day. The article your refering to (please let me know if its another) was in relation to comments made about Clarke & Armstrongs abilities. DW never had an issue with posters commenting honestly about any situation but what annoyed him actually it p*ssed him off, was the "gutless" nature of posters coming on and slagging players while they remained anonymous. Since DW and most others knew that A Bit High was myself, one can safely say that the article was not written because of comments that I made. I have his number if you wish to call him, just PM me and I will gladly provide it and trust me he would LOVE to talk to you!!

Point 3 - I was not provided with the name of the person who made the phone call. So I'm not in the position to give you the answer. Besides I'm not keen on deforming anyone unless I have 100% proof.

Point 4 - Thanks for clearing up the fact that I'm not Ryan Lewis, *Phew*. I did however provide you with what I would be thinking if I was placed in a similar situation as I obviously cant comment on what his reaction would be because I have never met the guy.

Hopefully this has answered your questions for the 2nd time, not sure how many ways I can say similar things but happy to give it another go to assist it in finally sinking in for you......Nice to have you back and thanks for re confirming what many on this site think of you....You would be amazed at how many PM's I have received about you! Your not a well liked poster is about as nice as I can be.

Wow, maybe you blokes need a room or something - as a new reader and first time poster I didnt realise this was a place for you blokes to argue - thought it was meant to be about what was going on in footy in Canberra

Watch this space.....

Wow, maybe you blokes need a room or something - as a new reader and first time poster I didnt realise this was a place for you blokes to argue - thought it was meant to be about what was going on in footy in Canberra

Watch this space.....

Welcome FL - Nah dont worry about that mate as its just friendly banter. Its a site that when people dont quite agree they let each other know about it, no big deal....However my identity is common knowledge to most and it makes it easier for me that way..if anyone has an issue with what I post they can always come up to me in the street and have a chat about it. I am very approachable:)

Hi all ,

I have discovered who the SA midfielder is - John Pratt from West Adelaide /Norwood . Hope AFC have him signed as he will be drinking at Eastlake over summer - likes to play a bit of cricket as well :D

Hi all ,

I have discovered who the SA midfielder is - John Pratt from West Adelaide /Norwood . Hope AFC have him signed as he will be drinking at Eastlake over summer - likes to play a bit of cricket as well :D

Hey BRK - My mail is that he has signed for Ainslie and apparently is a better player than Lewis.

Great to see the fantastic junior development program at Tricolours pumping out names like Lewis, Holmes, Lawless , Pieterson & a new one from SA ( un-named) - even your best juniors come from the coast or tuggers??? any focus on juniors at AFC or just get Corey to flop out the cheque book every off season???:cool:

BRK you didn't happen to play in the 90's did you when Ainslie dominated with numerous premierships?? Sounds like you are still hurting deep down buddy.. Haven't picked many up at all - just kept most from last year which to me is a good sign!! Dont you worry mate Ainslie does spend a lot of resources on junior development - hense it had its own junior development officer who runs training sessions, school clinics, holiday programs ect and has other staff involving the junior club.. Anyways can you tell me the juniors at Belco so we can see how much better the program is at the porky pies??:(

Who was / is the last Ainslie junior to play senior footy at Ainslie? Would it be James Hird? Or even earlier? I might be wrong but I cant think of too many who haven't been bought from somewhere else............

Nick Paine, Shaun Austin, Matt Barber, Pete McGrath. Just off the top of my head they are a few ACT rep players over the last 5 years that were Ainslie Juniors that played seniors at Ainslie. FL, you will learn soon that you need facts before you post :p

Talking of juniors, Stevens and Kirkwood from QBN, Tutt from Ainslie and the younger Bruce from Eastlake made the RAMS squad for this season- so id imagine they would get senior opportunities at those clubs. Well done to those lads, puts them in the top 40 u18 players in the state.

Nick Paine, Shaun Austin, Matt Barber, Pete McGrath. Just off the top of my head they are a few ACT rep players over the last 5 years that were Ainslie Juniors that played seniors at Ainslie. FL, you will learn soon that you need facts before you post :p

Talking of juniors, Stevens and Kirkwood from QBN, Tutt from Ainslie and the younger Bruce from Eastlake made the RAMS squad for this season- so id imagine they would get senior opportunities at those clubs. Well done to those lads, puts them in the top 40 u18 players in the state.

Wow, four damn good players right there EF! A pity the last three left because the club didn't value them. The stories why McGrath and Barber left are pretty embarrassing for such a proud club that values it juniors. LOL!

There would barely be a post on this forum if we started applying that standard.....

Kirkwood has been playing senior footy for the last 2 seasons ef, played in the 2007 GF.
Tutt I recalled has played at least 1 senior game (again in 2007 against Swans in Sydeny)
Stevens will debut this year and from what I saw of Bruce at the state trials he could push for senior selection, no problems.