AFL Canberra Part 2

Footy Fotographer: you don’t know Neil Irwin. He doesn’t feel pressure, he is like those fish that live deep under the ocean under extreme pressure and have those little torches on their heads so he can see what he is doing. Great foot skills, great hands, great voice, great leadership, great bloke.
Easily the best tall back in the comp and with Roy Jacques going down at the weekend should be a shoe in for Rep duties and deserves it. I could see him and Whatman teaming up in rep team and icing SFL, like they do ACTAFL forwards. Would be great to see the big fella in a ACT jumper scaring those Sydney players.

Oh yeah.....
Thats why they are 3 wins from 9 and 2 of those wins are against Tuggers who sit on bottom of ladder
they must really be on fire!!
He really iced Danger that day at Dairy park when he kicked 9.6 - Irwin was like a lost sheep
get real please

Footy Fotographer: you don’t know Neil Irwin. He doesn’t feel pressure, he is like those fish that live deep under the ocean under extreme pressure and have those little torches on their heads so he can see what he is doing. Great foot skills, great hands, great voice, great leadership, great bloke.
Easily the best tall back in the comp and with Roy Jacques going down at the weekend should be a shoe in for Rep duties and deserves it. I could see him and Whatman teaming up in rep team and icing SFL, like they do ACTAFL forwards. Would be great to see the big fella in a ACT jumper scaring those Sydney players.

I know Neil well enough, but I could've been a little clearer in my message. I caught up with him after the game for a chat and a laugh. He shook his head, smiled, and said "Mate, it felt like all of Tuggeranong was on my back for that quarter." But he wasn't worried. :)

As for rep selection, I reckon he'd have to be in the mix. A backline is more than one player, so singling him out against Danger is a bit harsh. Andrew Ainger is going pretty well this season, against everybody. And he'd better keep it up: I've bet my house on him kicking 100 (no pressure mate :D).

Cheers

Tigers will miss Powell !! How many weeks out??
The Growlers deck are always very quiet when we play out there??!!
Also R Jaques - sternum inj ?? whats the deal with that - how many weeks?:confused:

The above is a need to know basis and I dont think you need to be told.

As for the Growlers being quiet, my guess is you shouldn't be hearing them if your concentrating on your performance.

Another guess would be your a first year player at the club or a 2nd's player.

As for this weeks games -

I saw enough from the Tigers last weekend to suggest they should have enough to defeat the Swans.

Belconnen to strong for Eastlake, Eastlake have been tinkering with a loss over the last month and they are cherry ripe for a defeat.

Ainslie V Tuggers is a tough one. Heart says Tuggers but head says Ainslie. You cant defeat Belco one week unless you have some talent so its Ainslie for me.

Great round of local footy over two weekends;

Just dont think the Tigers will rise to the ocassion tmorrow after last weekends effort. Too much taken out of them with only six day turnaround. Swans by three goals with top up players being prominant !

Belco will defeat Demons next week by five goals. Tuggers will provide the first nail in Ainslies attempts and win by 2 goals.

Just dont think the Tigers will rise to the ocassion tmorrow after last weekends effort. Too much taken out of them with only six day turnaround. Swans by three goals with top up players being prominant !

Belco will defeat Demons next week by five goals. Tuggers will provide the first nail in Ainslies attempts and win by 2 goals.

prominent top up players ??!!, are they playing david waters again :confused:

What are you guys going to provide some this time round??

Greetings!

In a few seconds I'll be sending forth to flickr another 140+ footy photos, this time from Round 7 Queanbeyan v Belconnen.

www.flickr.com/photos/red3photography :thumbsu:

I'm going to try and catch up a few more rounds this long weekend, but having been crook all of last week, and then standing in the cold yesterday arvo at Dairy Farmers, I'm back to feeling about 23%. :(

Cheers

(And be nice to Eckers: I know that he was just doing his bit to clean up after the game.) ;)

Hey fellas. Just interested in how you blokes rate your league compared to the Ovens and Murray League
The AFL Canberra Comp has to be rated above the O&M at the moment in regards to standard. AFL Canberra won the Country Champs last year against the best country players from around Aus (including O&M's best in the Vic side) when there are only 5 sides to pick from (excluding Swannies 2's) so week in week out you are going to get quality games.

Bitterly dissapointing performance by Queanbeyan - They took one step forward against Eastlake but then took 3 steps back against the Swans.

At times what I witnessed was embarrassing.
What's the story with the Quenbeyan side at the moment? Is Mark Armstrong struggling to get the best out of what is still a quality list on paper? Or are injuries just continually hurting the Tigers?

Having played alongside Merv and been coached by him also, I can definitely say that he works as hard as any coach in this league. He would be as bemused and dissapointed as anyone involved at the club.

My comments can only be guided by what I witness on the park.

Unfortunately on the weekend (unlike the week before) to much was left to too few. On the weekend a number of Tigers looked like front runners, to many players think that zoneing off is effective (and it is not and will never be) and some appeared to only have a fair dinkum crack when it suited.

Of course this is just how it looked and having played with a number of them I'm sure this is not the case. But as I stated, I am commenting on what we all saw on a dissapointing Saturday afternoon.

Having played alongside Merv and been coached by him also, I can definitely say that he works as hard as any coach in this league. He would be as bemused and dissapointed as anyone involved at the club.

My comments can only be guided by what I witness on the park.

Unfortunately on the weekend (unlike the week before) to much was left to too few. On the weekend a number of Tigers looked like front runners, to many players think that zoneing off is effective (and it is not and will never be) and some appeared to only have a fair dinkum crack when it suited.

Of course this is just how it looked and having played with a number of them I'm sure this is not the case. But as I stated, I am commenting on what we all saw on a dissapointing Saturday afternoon.

Couldn't agree more was the first game i have watched in a number of years and i have to say i walked away very dissapointed. The things that the club prided itself on during the 90's and early 2000's has completely disappered. Blokes like the Gilberts, Vizy, Aus even yourself ABH wouldn't have accepted that performance ever, and i can tell you Dore would of made us hurt for it. The Tigers really lacked a lot of heart and desperation when the game was on the line and for such a big game for the club was really disappointing to watch. Hopefully the boys take the bye to discover some pride and come out in the 2nd half of the year and play like the Tigers of Old.....

The above is a need to know basis and I dont think you need to be told.

As for the Growlers being quiet, my guess is you shouldn't be hearing them if your concentrating on your performance.

Another guess would be your a first year player at the club or a 2nd's player.

Well 'sporting pulse' answers the R Jaques question as he played v Swans - no need for your help there ABH.

10 listed players for Swans with , 1 scholarship +13 top ups - Nick Smith 50% fit , no Barlow /Currie/ Bird from previous weeks.......

:confused:

Id say Queanbeyan boys had that one pencilled in and got caught short

ABH, whats all the sucking up to Swans supporters on their blog? providing them with reports on their players ?? please ..... do you rate your footy knowledge that highly???

maybe stick to rating the Qybn players - or couldnt you bring yourself to be that honest about some of them ......:cool:

1. over rated 2. slow 3. bland 4. slow 5. insipid 6. slow:eek:

wonky lives:thumbsu:

Hey fellas. Just interested in how you blokes rate your league compared to the Ovens and Murray League

CB,

coming from O&M some time back i can tell you AFL Canberra is streets ahead is talent at the top of div 1
as you move down then O&M has more depth and stronger juniors

Preseason form this year indicate a larger gap between AFL C sides and O&M than previous.

with only 5 sides we have strong depth in senior ranks - added by talent of Swans of course which has increased the standard 3 fold

a Belco or Eastlake would beat top O&M sides comfortably

Rep side would also be easy winners over O&M rep side

Round 8 Belconnen v Hawks is now available for your personal viewing pleasure.

www.flickr.com/photos/red3photography :thumbsu:

I've done a lot of photo processing over the last few days, and I've noticed something: Eastlake matches are not filled with high-flying action. There are not many high marks. Just an observation; they're obviously doing something right to be so high up the ladder. :)

Round 9 was a bye for me, as that's when I started getting sick and decided to stay indoors. Sorry folks.

Cheers

Hey Carlton Blue, it is a very good question and I am sure this will be hotly debated. Obviously there will be some passionate responses and bring this shit boring thread back to life. I grew up with O&M, now living in Canberra. I have never played either at the highest level, so mine is purely from a spectators view. I am not trying to offend anyone, just my opinion...

I think two different styles of footy are played, and the O&M is a lot more physical, the AFLC is quicker. It is comparing apples to oranges in some respects.
I disagree with BelcoBlueBoy (even though we are both from BMFC) and I reckon that this year's Albury side would beat any AFLC team. Yarra are playing well too, and Wodonga are thereabouts. Forget about pre season games, that is not even worth comparing. Lavi have been playing Ainslie during preseason for many years now, and Timba (Lavi coach) certainly plays blokes out of position for experimental purposes and also includes a lot of youth.
Put it this way, if Albury (on top of O&M ladder at the moment) were playing in AFLC this year, they would win the GF. If Eastlake (on top of AFLC ladder at the moment) were in the O&M this year, I dont think they would make the GF (yes, I know they played Albury in preseaon... again, means f#ck all).
In saying this, I think the leagues are very closely matched and any year could be completely different. The BMFC team that won 2002-2004 was sensational, and I reckon that they could have knocked pff the O&M premiers of those years (I think it was Nth Albury, Corowa, Wodonga) and they would have been awesome to watch.
As for rep teams, I just want to add that AFLC has an advantage given that all players are close to training venues etc. Let's face it, a big part of rep footy is getting players to "gel" as a group - the players selected already know how to play footy. Some O&M players live in Melbs and find it difficult to get to rep training. The O&M team that beat Goulburn Valley FL only got about 20 blokes to the last training. Full credit must be given to AFLC boys though, who obviously take rep duties seriously, and subsequently benefit from it. I do not thin rep games in modern footy give a good indication of league status.
The best thing about the O&M is that it is 10 teams, that play the 9 opponents twice (although Myrtleford might not be around much longer) at both home and away, and in the past 15 years (since the Rovers won in 1994) every team has won at least one GF except Myrtleford - who have played in a few GFs (2001, 2005, 2006) in the past few years. Compare this to a 6 team comp that is very predictalbe and lop-sided.
Good luck to Gungahlin Jets as they start to build toward a Div 1 side (but this could take years) and goodluck to Myrtleford who are currently on the end of 20 goal drubbings but I hope they continue to improve and get back on the winners list.
Carn the Black, White, Teal (and Red)!!!!!

Hey Carlton Blue, it is a very good question and I am sure this will be hotly debated. Obviously there will be some passionate responses and bring this shit boring thread back to life. I grew up with O&M, now living in Canberra. I have never played either at the highest level, so mine is purely from a spectators view. I am not trying to offend anyone, just my opinion...

I think two different styles of footy are played, and the O&M is a lot more physical, the AFLC is quicker. It is comparing apples to oranges in some respects.
I disagree with BelcoBlueBoy (even though we are both from BMFC) and I reckon that this year's Albury side would beat any AFLC team. Yarra are playing well too, and Wodonga are thereabouts. Forget about pre season games, that is not even worth comparing. Lavi have been playing Ainslie during preseason for many years now, and Timba (Lavi coach) certainly plays blokes out of position for experimental purposes and also includes a lot of youth.
Put it this way, if Albury (on top of O&M ladder at the moment) were playing in AFLC this year, they would win the GF. If Eastlake (on top of AFLC ladder at the moment) were in the O&M this year, I dont think they would make the GF (yes, I know they played Albury in preseaon... again, means f#ck all).
In saying this, I think the leagues are very closely matched and any year could be completely different. The BMFC team that won 2002-2004 was sensational, and I reckon that they could have knocked pff the O&M premiers of those years (I think it was Nth Albury, Corowa, Wodonga) and they would have been awesome to watch.
As for rep teams, I just want to add that AFLC has an advantage given that all players are close to training venues etc. Let's face it, a big part of rep footy is getting players to "gel" as a group - the players selected already know how to play footy. Some O&M players live in Melbs and find it difficult to get to rep training. The O&M team that beat Goulburn Valley FL only got about 20 blokes to the last training. Full credit must be given to AFLC boys though, who obviously take rep duties seriously, and subsequently benefit from it. I do not thin rep games in modern footy give a good indication of league status.
The best thing about the O&M is that it is 10 teams, that play the 9 opponents twice (although Myrtleford might not be around much longer) at both home and away, and in the past 15 years (since the Rovers won in 1994) every team has won at least one GF except Myrtleford - who have played in a few GFs (2001, 2005, 2006) in the past few years. Compare this to a 6 team comp that is very predictalbe and lop-sided.
Good luck to Gungahlin Jets as they start to build toward a Div 1 side (but this could take years) and goodluck to Myrtleford who are currently on the end of 20 goal drubbings but I hope they continue to improve and get back on the winners list.
Carn the Black, White, Teal (and Red)!!!!!
deffinately got your twobobs worth their. very well said. wouldnt it be good to play a round robin with finals from the premiership team from actafl o and m gvfl ballarat sfl diamond valley etc. the best of the best for title of the best country/state football team, at least someone would have bragging rights

Rep footy is another world to club footy. To say Eastlake wouldnt make the o+m gf this year is a giggle. Put Eastlake, Belco and Ainslie in the o+m right now and all 3 wouldnt drop a game until they came up against eachother.
When Ainslie play Lavi in preseason and "Lavi" experiment, does Ainslie play their full side, no chance. Ainslie by memory went to lavi preseason and bopped them to the tune of 10ish goals and Ainslie are only just a side in ACTFL terms.

Rep game ACTFL by the length of Northbourne

Premiers facing off has ACTFL by 8/12gls
hi kp how would you rate the ballarat league

Rep footy is another world to club footy. To say Eastlake wouldnt make the o+m gf this year is a giggle. Put Eastlake, Belco and Ainslie in the o+m right now and all 3 wouldnt drop a game until they came up against eachother.
When Ainslie play Lavi in preseason and "Lavi" experiment, does Ainslie play their full side, no chance. Ainslie by memory went to lavi preseason and bopped them to the tune of 10ish goals and Ainslie are only just a side in ACTFL terms.

Rep game ACTFL by the length of Northbourne

Premiers facing off has ACTFL by 8/12gls

AFLC clubs would struggle in front of a crowd. :eek::p