AFL Canberra Part 2

itktm ,You sir have me at a disadvantage just which one of those big boys you so readily refer to are you ?

Also that must have really hurt Darren cracking off 4 astreroids.

If i were gay wouldn't that make me a team mate of yours .

I just figured out there is a clue in your post name ITKTM
(Im The Knowall That Mouthsoff), problem is you have so many mates out your way that the clue is useless.:D
Well thats just nasty JF

Guys,

Hate to put a dampener on this apparent act of genius to uncover who 'Wonky' is, but I can 99.9% gaurantee it is not Darren Denneman.

Firstly, knowing Denno pretty well, the last thing he would want to do is waste his time on trawling through the majority of this dribble on a regular or even occasional basis.

Secondly, Denno would also be the last bloke to take pot-shots at people hiding behind an alias. He would be the first to say who he is, and back his comments up with a pretty strong and articulate message/argument.

Lastly, Denno doesn't live in Canberra anymore either, and aside from keeping an idea on the scores and watching the occasisonal game as a part of his role with the NSW AFL, I couldn't imagine him having the time to attempt to voice his 'up-to-date' opinions on a forum such as this.

No disrespect to Wonky, whoever he is, but let's please give Denno a little bit more credit than thinking he would be bothered to be 'Wonky'.

ABH's recollection of the 04 GF, for my money, is pretty much spot on.

Juicy, I can guarantee that Denno would remeber that game better than most and would not require a DVD version.

03 was a belter of a match also. Loved every minute of playing in it, and I have certainly watched that game several times on DVD.

02 was alright... might have watched that DVD a few 1000 times myself over the years since... last time i played a half decent game... ; )

To even the ledger, I remember being a 15 year old devastated in 98, and even more crushed in 99.

What goes around comes around.

Very good Misty Tillyard, did you win a Jezza that year. would be good to hear about it 48 time like some others on this forum.

1 thing I do know is that the girls at the Hair salon think that the Jack Daniels rep who drops off bottles of grog trying to get free hair cut is a sleaze. They don’t like being the object of his desire. Sad sad sad :rolleyes:

Mmm me thinks this may be your view of events and that green is your new colour:rolleyes:

Obviously your not and have not been involved in sales.

There was a time were alcohol was liquid money for me Codola but thats sometime ago now.

Keep trying champion.

Can we organise a legends (in their own lunchbox) match so you has-beens can all go out and belt the snot out of each other?

It would get the biggest crowd to an ACTAFL event in years :D:D:D

Re: AFL Canberra

Have heard Belco spoke with Knowles, who didn't want a bar of it, apparently he was close to getting a development job with collingwood, but has accepted an offer from a SANFL team.

Whispers Belco also spoke with one of the Cannon boys (coached Eastlake?) who didn't like the set-up out there either.

Could be scraping the bottom of the barrell out North?

Last one on the Grapevine, apparently morale wasn't high leading into the GF this year for the Magpies, after one of the boys was involved in extra curricular activity with another players property, if you know what I mean.

Whats with Rogers leaving Eastlake, have they run out of shorts after he soiled himself too many times, the bloke is Sh!t scared, only started getting a kick when he went down back and could play from behind, skillful player but never going to win you a tight one, or a final.

I hear the Tricklers have picked up a Ruckman from Tassie.

Any other news out there?

Long time reader, first time poster, so happy to take some stick from the regular contributors to this forum :eek:

Carlton Draught you must be, or have been, a hard unit when you played footy. What's with your comment above about Rogers? Are you talking about the bloke that played CHB for the Rep side, won Team of the Year selection and pretty much dominated everyone that he played on this year? Your opinion is ill informed at best and obviously you talk a lot of BS at worst - very poor post!!!

CD maybe you should just stick to sinking fizz (as your pseudonym suggests you enjoy) rather than posting to this site, it might be a better use of everyones time...

Interesting following the threads about the Magpies recently. Seems a real shame that Mahar has stepped down, but it will give bubba a real challenge. The bloke bleeds for the magpies and seemed to do a good job with the 2's so he might be a suprise packet. Losing a few players may be a concern, but they have been good recruiters in recent times. I have heard the rumour about Tivendale and Ainslie, would be an interesting choice for the ex-Richmond player, but stranger things have happened......... Ainslie seem to have the purse wide open so I suspect we will see some imports trickling in before the season commences.

Hey MT, how are you??

Yeh sorry about the Charny bashing, I could have chosen several suburbs on the Northside but not all have had a stabbing at their shops lately.

Agree with you about Bubba. While I wanted to smash him as a player, I do respect his club loyalty and passion for the cause. He is belco thru and thru and that gets 2 thumbs up from me.

He is a different person to Maher and it will be interesting to see how the playing group adjusts to the change.

Guys,

Hate to put a dampener on this apparent act of genius to uncover who 'Wonky' is, but I can 99.9% gaurantee it is not Darren Denneman.

Firstly, knowing Denno pretty well, the last thing he would want to do is waste his time on trawling through the majority of this dribble on a regular or even occasional basis.

Secondly, Denno would also be the last bloke to take pot-shots at people hiding behind an alias. He would be the first to say who he is, and back his comments up with a pretty strong and articulate message/argument.

Lastly, Denno doesn't live in Canberra anymore either, and aside from keeping an idea on the scores and watching the occasisonal game as a part of his role with the NSW AFL, I couldn't imagine him having the time to attempt to voice his 'up-to-date' opinions on a forum such as this.

No disrespect to Wonky, whoever he is, but let's please give Denno a little bit more credit than thinking he would be bothered to be 'Wonky'.

ABH's recollection of the 04 GF, for my money, is pretty much spot on.

Juicy, I can guarantee that Denno would remeber that game better than most and would not require a DVD version.

03 was a belter of a match also. Loved every minute of playing in it, and I have certainly watched that game several times on DVD.

02 was alright... might have watched that DVD a few 1000 times myself over the years since... last time i played a half decent game... ; )

To even the ledger, I remember being a 15 year old devastated in 98, and even more crushed in 99.

What goes around comes around.

What are you saying Misty? Denno doesn't care about ACTAFL. how well do you know him?

Carlton Draught you must be, or have been, a hard unit when you played footy. What's with your comment above about Rogers? Are you talking about the bloke that played CHB for the Rep side, won Team of the Year selection and pretty much dominated everyone that he played on this year? Your opinion is ill informed at best and obviously you talk a lot of BS at worst - very poor post!!!

No worries Fat Boy, point taken, but I still stand by my observations, in 2007 Rogers was played predominantly as a forward, and spent most weeks running around, dropping marks and ducking his head. He has since been moved to the Backline, (where he can play from behind) and has improved. As for the State team, some average players have an ACT jumper (Petterson, C.Mathis, etc) so it isn't saying much. Rogers is never going to win you a tough game, and that is what finals are all about. Thats just my observation, and no-one has to agree with it.

I hear Eastlake are chasing a few boys from the Apple Isle? Any news out there?

No worries Fat Boy, point taken, but I still stand by my observations, in 2007 Rogers was played predominantly as a forward, and spent most weeks running around, dropping marks and ducking his head. He has since been moved to the Backline, (where he can play from behind) and has improved. As for the State team, some average players have an ACT jumper (Petterson, C.Mathis, etc) so it isn't saying much. Rogers is never going to win you a tough game, and that is what finals are all about. Thats just my observation, and no-one has to agree with it.

I hear Eastlake are chasing a few boys from the Apple Isle? Any news out there?

Agree with fatboy, Rogers was one of the better backman in the comp this year, had a great year will be missed by eastlake if he goes.. He def was like a brick wall against the tri's this year and got the better of most of our forwards he played on.. Also disagree that Petterson and Mathis are average players.. Mathis was one of the best running players in 07 and 08, has pace to burn and if he can keep improving on his kicking will become even more deadly.. Petterson was one of if not the best young player in the comp this year.. At 19 he was one of the most consistent players at ainslie - great deception and hands, was top 10 in mulrooney.. if not for groin trouble in last 1/4 of year he prob would have finished higher - so would argue that he is just an average player.. I know at ainslie they rate both boys fairly highly

Very good Misty Tillyard, did you win a Jezza that year. would be good to hear about it 48 time like some others on this forum.

Firstly how the F#$k would you know anything about the girls in the hairsalon. And Secondly i find it hard to believe that someone would try and exchange grog for a haircut?? idiot, does someone have a tissue to wipe the sHit coming out of this guys mouth???

What a curious way to introduce yourself to the forum. Sounds like somebody hit a nerve ...

CODOLA, Interestingly enough I happen to know one of the lovely ladies at the salon, and I have to say she was a little bemused as to the grog stories origin.
She is not aware of the carlton rep offering up such goods & she informs me and I readily believe, if it was offered he certainly would have got the haircut all be it an ordinary one.
Me thinks someone is telling porkie pies !!! :eek:

Cracking choice by Belconnen for our reserve grade coach. A real blast from the past to bring some steel into the club. Should be announced shortly.

come on 3rd grade, give us something better than that! Who from your club, before about 1998, would bring any steel to your club?:p

Leigh McPhan?:D

For those in the know at Ainslie. How does billy neely go ? will he be playin thier again next season ? he's the club captain isnt he :thumbsu:

Billy Neely goes very well. If not the best player in act would be in the top 3.. Consistently get over 35 possies a game no matter how hard he is tagged.. the complete professional does evrything he can to get the best out of his football.. not sure if he has signed on yet - early signs said he would but he usually doesn't make his mind up to just before or after xmas.. Yes he was the club captain and we are hoping he signs on for at least another year is a great role model for youngsters about how to prepare yourself to be at your best!!