AFL Canberra Season 2015

Huge Event Coming Up - Plenty of boys have been in touch on facebook - Woden Blues 20 year celebration - looks so good for a great club - and although I won't be there can't wait to see my team mates Carts, Altie, Steamer, Googs, Cabbage, Noser, Platty, Lawny, Schicken, Starky, Viss and Dicko named in the 20 year side - be a few blokes unlucky to miss out but some great names to make it

If people fail to post on here once a week it will be a $50 fine. If your post is too small, lacks correct punctuation then you will be fine an extra $50 for each infringement.
Is the league serious? They are so out of touch with community football. Some clubs battle with bare numbers to assist as support and yet the league will hand out fines for failure to correctly enter sporting pulse data by Monday morning. That'll do me

If people fail to post on here once a week it will be a $50 fine. If your post is too small, lacks correct punctuation then you will be fine an extra $50 for each infringement.
Is the league serious? They are so out of touch with community football. Some clubs battle with bare numbers to assist as support and yet the league will hand out fines for failure to correctly enter sporting pulse data by Monday morning. That'll do me

ruck r0v3r will be in for a few $50s, he seems to have disappeared rather quickly.

That's stiff.

Serious? Fines? For cricket you just drop points if you don't have proper results loaded up by the Tuesday night. Seems a better way of going about it.

I also see in that same email that the league have now confirmed that if you have less then 20 players and you give the other side enough notice, They CANT refuse your rite to play the 16 a side rule. Something we tried to tell coota round 1 when they refused and played full strength. Better late then never!!! as far as the fines go I hope they included the GST component so we don't get a bill like this year for last years umpiring fees :mad: . I wonder if they will enforce it ? sounds like a hollow threat to me :eek:

I hear Cooma are struggling for players again this week. Where did players from Gungahlin & Eastlake that either didn't want to or weren't at a level to play those higher grades go? Surely there were some blokes that loved their footy but weren't up to 1st or 2nd grade around that wanted to keep playing footy and enjoy the social side..

UC Magpies I believe that there is some sort of arrangement between them and the Jets

I was expecting them to have a few young blokes playing ones, but many? Feel sorry for their blokes who've been there for a while and suddenly are playing a grade or two higher, going to be a very long season I suspect.

I'll pass on your condolences to our players. Thanks for your concern.

Cooma struggling at the moment, with 10 injuries out of the pre season hawk cup and first two rounds with a playing list of only about 25/26... Still striving to get a team out each week and be competitive as slowly getting blokes back. New to thread by the way. Long time reader first time poster haha

He'd have to be.

Good on him I reckon, saw him kick a lot of goals when I was younger.

I do wonder if it's a temporary thing, given their 2s are playing 16/side.

Anyone from QBN here? Are there heaps of injuries at the moment or?

Yes, Merv is making a comeback. It took some convincing, but he'll play some games this year. As a teacher/coach at Erindale College he spends a fair bit of time training with his schoolboys team and is still fit enough. Dangerous tall forward target other clubs will be wary of.

We have lost well over 40 players from our list last year. It's been hard work trying to replace that many, and while we have done pretty well with recruiting we are still pretty tight on numbers. We have a few injuries and three or four unavailable across the grades so could only come up with 19 for the Seconds at team selection night hence the 16-a-side request a day or so ago. We may have scraped together/convinced another couple since then and might be able to get back to a full 18-a-side game by game-time (fingers crossed).

Coota over Tuggeranong by 40 points. Hard, physical encounter with both sides relentless. Best for Coota, Adrian Edwards, Dyl and Red Dog. Roadtrip to cooma next Saturday

Goulburn over Ainslie by 40 in a similarly good physical game. Thanks to the Swans boys, good bunch of lads.
Not sure the 40 point margin tells the story of how the game was played, a competitive contest with plenty of big hits and some excellent passages from both teams. Seems like a fairly even comp early in the season. The Jets get a win first up, Just curious how many 1sts players were from Gungahlin and how many Neafl players top the team up? The Canberra Times story didn't seem to mention too many jets players it was more centred around the Neafl players.

Think it was 8 from Ainslie, might need one of the Jets boys to confirm... Definitely at least 5 off the top of my head.

Just curious, do these guys score B&F votes for the Jets?

AFL Canberra Season 2015