AFL Canberra Season 2017

We get the average score of the round mate ,yes forfeits can hurt it's not the first time molonglo have forfeited to yass in yass .

Cool thanks mate, So I suppose you sit back and hope for some big blow outs then haha.

I actually thought Molonglo were going ok numbers wise this year? wasn't there talk of them doing what the jets did and stepping up to Div 2 and Div 1?

Think we will find a lot out about Woden over the next few weeks. Currently sitting in first but they have a fairly tough run.
On another note when do Uni holidays end? I can't remember them being belted like this ever so I assume they can't wait to get them all back. Still the pick to win it for me

Think we will find a lot out about Woden over the next few weeks. Currently sitting in first but they have a fairly tough run.
On another note when do Uni holidays end? I can't remember them being belted like this ever so I assume they can't wait to get them all back. Still the pick to win it for me

A lot of injuries on top of uni holidays has compounded it somewhat is what I've heard. Still reckon they'll be thereabouts in both grades, pretty important result over the Juggernauts for their 3s on the weekend.

Would think that them and Woden, and possibly ADFA would be in line for a shuffle up to 2nd grade footy should the league look at a restructure again next year. Have to go a long way back to find a season where ANU weren't competing in both grades, barring the one year where they were pushed up. Seems about time they try to step up properly.

A lot of injuries on top of uni holidays has compounded it somewhat is what I've heard. Still reckon they'll be thereabouts in both grades, pretty important result over the Juggernauts for their 3s on the weekend.

Would think that them and Woden, and possibly ADFA would be in line for a shuffle up to 2nd grade footy should the league look at a restructure again next year. Have to go a long way back to find a season where ANU weren't competing in both grades, barring the one year where they were pushed up. Seems about time they try to step up properly.

From what I understand they were happy to stay up when the league moved them back down for Gungahlin. Looks like a silly move now.
They certainly have been the most dominant club over the last 10 or so years. I think it'd be great for them to have another go just not sure if they have the resources to compete against the big boys either. Couldn't be worse then the first grade comp as it is now though

From what I understand they were happy to stay up when the league moved them back down for Gungahlin. Looks like a silly move now.
They certainly have been the most dominant club over the last 10 or so years. I think it'd be great for them to have another go just not sure if they have the resources to compete against the big boys either. Couldn't be worse then the first grade comp as it is now though

They'd have to stagger it, only go into second grade first, and have 5 years there or so to try and become competitive, then look at fielding first grade outfits with the backing of a club or more outlay from the University/Defence in ANU/ADFA's case. ADFA a bit harder with all of their scheduling issues I guess.

It'd be good to see Eastlake return to 3s and 4s footy as well.

Hope Woden not travelling too well lol . We have them this week and we're still struggling with injurys and availabilitys plus there threes have the bye .

Adfa must be a real chance in the fours having already pre played 3 of the last 5 rounds .Resulting in two 100 point wins and one 30 point loss, they will go into the finals fresh .While on the last five rounds I see the league still have to tidy up the draw .Round 13 witch Goulburn have already played and lost to ADFA there down as playing coota also .Then in round 14 Tuggers who have also played and lost to ADFA are down to play another team also. Be interesting to see who fills the remaining spots

ADFAs draws each annoy me as much as anyone, but most of them are headed out field for at least a fortnight, some more, over the next 3 - 4 weeks, which is arguably a lot tougher physically than playing a game of footy each Saturday, so don't think the "fresh" argument holds much weight, especially with tough clashes against Yass & Cooma as their last 2 games before finals.

They did also play some of their games mid-week followed by a game 2 or 3 days later, as they do most years, so would hardly have been fresh come the 2nd game back then.

Without a doubt there is plenty of water to go under the bridge in the last 5 rounds though, and not a lot of certainty about the finals make-up. Results have shown that any of the top 9 can beat each other, so whichever teams make finals and are in the best form at that stage are probably good shots, no matter where they finish in the top 6

What's with the desire to push more clubs up? Look at the current situation where there are 4 strong clubs and two that I can't see improving without their own licencef clubs (yes, I know the history there).

Gungahlin and Tuggeranong have junior programs, long term and we'll established, but don't have any way to improve their the financial resources to compete.

By pushing say Molonglo, Woden, ADFA and ANU up, you are not going to improve the quality of the league, but make it even less competitive. These clubs don't pay players and have never had the financial capacity to do so. They are built on guys wanting to play footy - participation rather than professional players, even if the clubs do work hard on their professionalism in training and presentation.

The game has changed a lot in my 25 years watching - you don't see too many full forwards having a half time gasper behind the sheds any more :)

What's with the desire to push more clubs up? Look at the current situation where there are 4 strong clubs and two that I can't see improving without their own licencef clubs (yes, I know the history there).

Gungahlin and Tuggeranong have junior programs, long term and we'll established, but don't have any way to improve their the financial resources to compete.

By pushing say Molonglo, Woden, ADFA and ANU up, you are not going to improve the quality of the league, but make it even less competitive. These clubs don't pay players and have never had the financial capacity to do so. They are built on guys wanting to play footy - participation rather than professional players, even if the clubs do work hard on their professionalism in training and presentation.

The game has changed a lot in my 25 years watching - you don't see too many full forwards having a half time gasper behind the sheds any more :)

I don't think anyone is arguing that the top-end quality of the league would improve with these teams going up, but it might spread the load amongst a few more clubs. Each of the "lower tier" clubs would get thrashed less because they wouldn't play the top teams so often, while also having more opportunities to actually win matches against teams that are of a similar standard. It might, and I only say might, help Tuggies & Gunnas improve in the long run if they can be middle-table teams that provide an avenue into first grade for players, rather than the graveyards they are becoming at the moment where players rock up 3 out of every 4 weeks knowing they are going to get thrashed...not much fun.

Ideal? Certainly not. Ideally you'd have 6-8 well funded clubs that could all compete pretty equally in a first grade comp. But the reality is that we only have 4 clubs with those sorts of resources and a 4 team first grade comp is a horrible horrible outcome for AFL in Canberra. Having an 8-10 team comp where the bottom 6 are all competitive against each other could be an improvement. Or it could be a flop. But it wouldn't be worse than what is happening this year.

The thinking with putting more clubs up at once is that you have 6 clubs that have the chance to beat each other and 4 outliers. Over time those clubs improve from playing at a higher standard. They might still get belted every time they play Ainslie, QBN, Belco and Eastlake for the first couple of years. But they would have a chance against all other teams. Winning 5 or 6 games each year and improving over time is better than winning one game in three years and losing all your players and having to drop back down again.

I agree wholeheartedly with the sentiment here. Sure by pushing other clubs up Gungahlin and Tuggeranong get the chance to get a few wins from time to time, but you are not addressing the real issue. The split between the clubs with the financial resources and every other club in Canberra means that there is no way to get a level playing field in the current environment. So instead of 2 teams you will now have 4,5,6 teams getting belted by the Big 4. I dont blame Ainslie and Co for the situation by any stretch, but pretending it doesnt exisit and sacrificing other clubs will not help anyone either. First grade will be no more legitimate by forcing clubs up that will just end up folding due to lack of resources and guys just walking away.

For mine AFL NSWACT need to bite the bullet and set up a Sydney-Canberra League. Either a new Premier Division or simply add the big 4 to the exisitng Sydney Premier Division.

Next couple of weeks huge in the 4s competition. At the moment I think it comes down to 4 teams fighting for 1 spot. Woden, ANU, Coota, Cats and ADFA I can't see missing out looking at the draw and the jump they have on these 4 especially with their draws.

Looking at the draw though and seeing what is to come, its fantastic that it actually looks like these 4 teams play each and have tough games to win to fight for that last spot.

The following is who is who these teams have to play and I honestly can't see who to pick.

Goulburn (6th) - ANU (H), Coota (A), Molongolo (H), Tuggeranong (A), Cats (H), Bye
Yass (7th) - Woden (H), Ainslie (A), Bay (A), Belconnen (H), ADFA (H), Tuggeranong (H)
Ainslie (8th) - Googong (A), Yass (H), Cats (A), ANU (A), Bye, Woden (H)
Belconnen (9th) - Coota (A), Tuggeranong (H), Googong (H), Yass (A), Bye, ANU (A)

Looking at that, Goulburn are nearly my pick to make it. They have drawn ANU at the perfect time to draw Uni with holidays and they have Molongolo and Tuggeranong to play. Coota and Cats will be great derbys but Cats at home is a massive plus.

Yass and Belconnen's season could near be decided this weekend if they both lose. Yass have a game in hand and the best percentage (definitely very handy right now) but also have to face Ainslie next week in a do or die for the season and with Ainslie, who knows. Absolute horror run home but if anyone can do it I'd expect a side like them coming from the strong club background to do it. Same with Belconnen, if they manage 4 points against Coota this week - they have a few easy weeks before a massive finish (Yass and ANU) and in previous years with the strong club background they will find depth somewhere I'm sure.

Anyway, who knows - it may just be easier throwing a dart at the dart board. Cracker of a finish we are set for.

Don't think ADFA as secure as the extra games played makes them look. Very likely they only win 1 of their last 3, taking them to 8 wins, plus decent percentage. Remaining teams fighting for 5 & 6 could only need 2 or 3 out of 5 to level that win record...

Next couple of weeks huge in the 4s competition. At the moment I think it comes down to 4 teams fighting for 1 spot. Woden, ANU, Coota, Cats and ADFA I can't see missing out looking at the draw and the jump they have on these 4 especially with their draws.

Looking at the draw though and seeing what is to come, its fantastic that it actually looks like these 4 teams play each and have tough games to win to fight for that last spot.

The following is who is who these teams have to play and I honestly can't see who to pick.

Goulburn (6th) - ANU (H), Coota (A), Molongolo (H), Tuggeranong (A), Cats (H), Bye
Yass (7th) - Woden (H), Ainslie (A), Bay (A), Belconnen (H), ADFA (H), Tuggeranong (H)
Ainslie (8th) - Googong (A), Yass (H), Cats (A), ANU (A), Bye, Woden (H)
Belconnen (9th) - Coota (A), Tuggeranong (H), Googong (H), Yass (A), Bye, ANU (A)

Looking at that, Goulburn are nearly my pick to make it. They have drawn ANU at the perfect time to draw Uni with holidays and they have Molongolo and Tuggeranong to play. Coota and Cats will be great derbys but Cats at home is a massive plus.

Yass and Belconnen's season could near be decided this weekend if they both lose. Yass have a game in hand and the best percentage (definitely very handy right now) but also have to face Ainslie next week in a do or die for the season and with Ainslie, who knows. Absolute horror run home but if anyone can do it I'd expect a side like them coming from the strong club background to do it. Same with Belconnen, if they manage 4 points against Coota this week - they have a few easy weeks before a massive finish (Yass and ANU) and in previous years with the strong club background they will find depth somewhere I'm sure.

Anyway, who knows - it may just be easier throwing a dart at the dart board. Cracker of a finish we are set for.

I think Uni started again this week so Goulburn should be against a strong side. I don't see Yass losing another game so I have them locked in. Coota a shoe in for the Minor Premiership. ANU safe and ADFA will need to win a couple to secure their place.
As strange as it is I think Woden are the team most likely to drop out. I know there first but they play Yass, the Cats, ANU, Coota plus a tricky game against Ainslie. Win one/two of them and there safe but they could potentially be on 6 loses.
Great to see a very even comp where the top 6 probably won't be set until the last weekend.

I think Uni started again this week so Goulburn should be against a strong side. I don't see Yass losing another game so I have them locked in. Coota a shoe in for the Minor Premiership. ANU safe and ADFA will need to win a couple to secure their place.
As strange as it is I think Woden are the team most likely to drop out. I know there first but they play Yass, the Cats, ANU, Coota plus a tricky game against Ainslie. Win one/two of them and there safe but they could potentially be on 6 loses.
Great to see a very even comp where the top 6 probably won't be set until the last weekend.

Dart board it is then boys, I thought I was starting to confuse myself trying to work out where teams would fit. Set to be a cracker. I do think this is very funny though that this is the lowest comp in the AFL canberra league yet set to be the most exciting in the lead up to finals. 1st grade and 2nd grade look to be close runs for the finals.......LOL

The thinking with putting more clubs up at once is that you have 6 clubs that have the chance to beat each other and 4 outliers. Over time those clubs improve from playing at a higher standard. They might still get belted every time they play Ainslie, QBN, Belco and Eastlake for the first couple of years. But they would have a chance against all other teams. Winning 5 or 6 games each year and improving over time is better than winning one game in three years and losing all your players and having to drop back down again.
All very true mate , problem is as the New teams and players get introduced to the financial clubs the better players those clubs have and need to be competitive end up over at the financial clubs on coin the lower clubs don't have and can't afford .

Certainly a tough one...you can see the effect over the years both dollars & potential success have had on player movements from juniors at Tuggeranong/Gungahlin/Weston creek etc over to Ainslie/Queanbeyan especially, as well as Belconnen & Eastlake. Just another of the disadvantages that have hamstrung an even competition

I actually think the player points system that has been introduced this season in 1st grade will discourage that to an extent, because teams start having to worry about team balance rather than just the depth of their chequebooks and the lure of success. If I read the points system correctly (no guarantee), then currently players from Div 3 & 4 clubs would count as 2pt players (development community player) because they are from a lower division of the AFL Canberra Competition. IF, hypothetically, some teams moved up to Div 1, their players would become classified as 3pt players (Community Player) by virtue of being in the same division as the potential poaching clubs. AND their best players would be counted as 4pt players (Premium Community Player). As they are competing against their own club too, their is an additional 1pt penalty. That puts those players from ANU/Woden/Gungahlin/whoever hypothetically went up at 5pts, on par with recruits from Tier 1 State Leagues (VFL/SANFL/WAFL) or ex-AFL players. When the clubs have to allocate 4pts to the player, they essentially need to know the player is an absolute Div 1 gun whose place is guaranteed in the side.

I know it affected Ainslie this year a bit, with a few recruits from before the system came in essentially becoming over-valued points wise and so ending up playing reserves while a local junior who was of a lesser standard played Div 1 because it was 1pt vs 5pts and the 1pt player was needed so that the senior team could maintain selection of the gun players they deemed essential.

It's one of the few concepts that AFL Canberra has implemented that I think has real potential to strengthen & even the playing field in our Div 1, even if it has been a headache for my club this year.

Link to the points system: http://aflnswact.com.au/wp-content/...Sustainability-Program-PPS-Criteria-FINAL.pdf

AFL Canberra Season 2017