AFL Clubs Fear An "Arms Race" - AGE

Skimpy cheer leaders serving full strength beer.

I find the idea of stealing what is frankly a rather misogynistic american tradition of cheerleaders for the football cringeworthy. We are inclusive towards all peoples and races and the same should apply to genders. Envisage being a woman at the football with her husband and kids trying to watch a football game and having a team of clueless bimbos kicking their legs in the air and squealing like drunk sorority girls in front of you. Footy is better than that. Way better!

Cheerleading at an elite level is a bit mysoginistic, yes, but college level, far from it, so much so its as well attended as basketball, and has a male participation rate at around 15%

What a poor article, this journo writes a piece about what the AFL are going to do - and cites no one.
This insipid cretin couldn't even come up with a single name. What a flog! This makes me sick.
This is unaccountable journalism and it shouldn't be tolerated. Maybe I'm missing something?
But If I were Gil, I wouldn't want some bumbling amateur speaking on my behalf about the direction of the AFL.

The banner that players used to run through not duck under?

Freekick practice

Seriously, its not the literal meaning, its just the illustration that decision makers are totally off course to what fans want.

Remember all too well how the variable pricing fiasco was introduced to help the fan experience

Whats wrong with underlining the uniqueness of our game, instead of another me too approach ? Isnt that a marketing strategy ?

Those active zones at a league will keep more people away than they attract, 95% young males carrying on like they think happens in europe

This is being spear headed by some ridiculous essendon ideas.

One game where the lights are off and players are introduced individually under spotlight.
They did this at the opening of Docklands (in 2000?) v Port Adelaide. Geez it was an absolute waste of time.
Then they turned the lights on and flogged us by 94 points. They should kept the place dark.

AFL isn't like other sports. We do not need cheerleaders to make going to the game worth while. Plus we want a female friendly environment. Having cheerleaders there would tell the women that this is a game that is designed for just the enjoyment of men.

It also might encourage females present to get their salt lake cities out.

I don't think spending 300k on match day experience would be overly profitable over the course of the year - will a Collingwood fan really choose to go to Collingwood/GWS at the MCG (for example) because of the 'experience'? I doubt it.

Pretty much.

Also I couldn’t help it, looked up this fixture and sure enough it is on there this year. Is this is the first time in 4 seasons that Collingwood have played GWS at home?

I think we're a little quick to point to the 'tacky' side of entertainment.

At Essendon for example, ~5 years ago they coined the term 'theming' and began making Essendon home games more 'Essendon'.

Some examples include:

- Pillars/posters with game highlights playing on the concourse to the ground
- Air raid siren
- Entry music
- Large banners inside the ground
- Bomber 'arrival' video on the big screen

Now some I like and some I don't, but I certainly applaud the effort, and hope they continue to try different things.

And as for a cap on match day engagement? **** me, some people won't be happy until we are all basically the same damn club with a different strip.

It might encourage the women who is at the football to get into shape.

How many blokes you think go drinking at the football, see the players and get "encouraged" to get into shape?

Isn't this practically what it is in Melbourne already? Started not long after all clubs started playing out of the same stadia.

That's one of the reasons I enjoy the clubs attempting to differentiate themselves through this sort of activity.

A bar no one asked nor wanted to be raised.

I agree, I was one of those who never asked/wanted for it.

Yet it was delivered, and it was most successful for our club and well received by our supporters. A win-win any way you skin it.
The media certainly liked it and gave a us a great run. Fox's 360 had a year long love affair with Port for the whole experience it provided.
It elevated the club's profile and inspired this very article and a new conversation amongst clubs.

Personally, I just wanted see the game, but I'm enjoying the show and the success that this new look has delivered to the club on so many levels.
Watching most of the stadium chant/sing like Liverpool fans before the game is a positive for my club.

If you haven't already, you should come n see...

Correction. It like what you THINK a liverpool game is like

Heres the tip, they dont need the words on the screen for one.

Its so wannabee. But I will concede, SA fans are the most like british soccer fans so that sfuff goes down well

Anyway, lets just reinforce th stereotypes shall we ?

Hawthorn - pets day
Carlton - gangsters beutician wives/girlfirnds day
Richmond - drinking games and abusing your kids
Geelong - dole bludger surfies
bulldogs - same as Collingwood
Collingwood - same as bulldogs
Melbourne - old guys bringing theor kids who support someone else
Saints - probably have the most material to go at

Did I miss anyone ?

Ps I think I just got home from richmonds day

Anyway, lets just reinforce th stereotypes shall we ?

Hawthorn - pets day
Carlton - gangsters beutician wives/girlfirnds day
Richmond - drinking games and abusing your kids
Geelong - dole bludger surfies
bulldogs - same as Collingwood
Collingwood - same as bulldogs
Melbourne - old guys bringing theor kids who support someone else
Saints - probably have the most material to go at

Did I miss anyone ?

Ps I think I just got home from richmonds day

You did. And I'm both stunned, and a little hurt......

AFL Clubs Fear An "Arms Race" - AGE