AFL Evolution - Out May 5 - (Cont in LAUNCH THREAD - link in OP)

Who wants EA to make a game?

They constantly neglect the career mode aspect of FIFA, and spend 95% of their budget on Ultimate Team.

FUT is essentially a freemium game but you have to pay around $90 for.

Nothing new is ever added to Career Mode (some small things every year) and there are so many bugs that have been in the mode for years but are never fixed.

You would never, ever see EA reading through forums to see what they need to improve on. Never. EA see only cash.

Good on you Wicked Witch. Thank you for listening to the community, we are forever grateful.

Every second comment on the Facebook post is "Why aren't EA making it?" FFS people are morons. Even if you assume for the sake of argument that EA would dive into the charity business and make a game that's going to sell so few copies, they can't even make a decent basketball game any more (which would be child's play compared to AFL) after spending 20 years making them.

You know, the more I think about it the more I would like to see a cover with the "future Big 3" (Bont, Cripps and Zerrett) all on it.

I'd prefer Danger.

"Brownlow medal" edition would include a mode which all players can partake in mundane activities in suits and have Fox and the rest of the media fawn over them, filming the players every move.

I have good hopes for this game, just looking at these screenshots of player likeness, I think WW have stepped up.

I think people keep on forgetting that WW had only 12 months to make a game in time for the 2013 finals series. If anyone knows about game mechanics and how long it takes to develop, it's fair to say it's nearly impossible to make a good engine for a game that has so much action happening at the one time. AFL would have to be one of the hardest games to re-create, and with the tactic of remaining silent, they would've had ample time to try and get the little things right along with better player models.

Early days though, I have my hopes up. I'll give WW a chance to redeem themselves :)

I'd prefer Danger.

"Brownlow medal" edition would include a mode which all players can partake in mundane activities in suits and have Fox and the rest of the media fawn over them, filming the players every move.
That might be stretching it there.

Even for when you choose to manage a club. I'd like to play as the Power on one day, then play as the Maggies (Reserves side) on the next day.

These just had generic players though.

Can pretty much guarantee that AFL will be the only licensed league in it. They may include all the state leagues, but just have the basic jumpers (no sponsors) and generic players because of licenses

These just had generic players though.

With a fan hub mode though, people could actually create real players for these league and upload them. Imagine that - classic teams, finally! Essendon 2000 vs Brisbane 2003, or Carlton 1995 vs Carlton 1970, Collingwood 1958 vs St Kilda 1966.... so many possibilities if it's included

In my opinion AFL premiership 2007 was the greatest AFL game ever made and I dont think i ever skipped the intro! was straight fire!

Funnily enough IR Gurus Hurling game (which was based on the 2007 engine) plays better than any AFL game they made

Anyway in regards to Evolution with these graphics and a MyCareer type mode (without the same depth obviously) I'm all in

Is it just me or does anyone get the feeling that all 3 parties (WW,tru blu and AFL) are really taking it seriously and giving it a red hot crack this time

Reading through the release again, what do you guys reckon the chances are of a journey style mode in the game? Would be a pretty 'unique experience ' for an AFL game.

All the game modes sound great (finally, a be a pro mode in an AFL game!!), but unless the gameplay is there, it means next to nothing. I couldn't sit through more than one match in Live 2 so career mode was pointless for me.

Gameplay >>>>> Game Modes.

Will wait for the trailer before getting my hopes up too much. WW have a lot of making up to do for the abomination that was Live 2.

With a fan hub mode though, people could actually create real players for these league and upload them. Imagine that - classic teams, finally! Essendon 2000 vs Brisbane 2003, or Carlton 1995 vs Carlton 1970, Collingwood 1958 vs St Kilda 1966.... so many possibilities if it's included
AFL Live 2004 had the missions where u played classic matches and finish off the game (like the Crows 1997 prelim)

Reading through the release again, what do you guys reckon the chances are of a journey style mode in the game? Would be a pretty 'unique experience ' for an AFL game.

A snowball's chance in hell. The fact that they said there's going to be a "Be a Pro" mode already exceeded my expectations. There's just no budget for an Australian dev team to create a mode like The Journey alongside all the rest of it – they'd need voice actors, more mo-cap, an entirely different team of animators just to work on that mode alone...

For what it's worth, the FIFA mode is average anyway. The story is nice albeit cliched but there's zero variation to the mode itself and everything feels predetermined.

A snowball's chance in hell. The fact that they said there's going to be a "Be a Pro" mode already exceeded my expectations. There's just no budget for an Australian dev team to create a mode like The Journey alongside all the rest of it – they'd need voice actors, more mo-cap, an entirely different team of animators just to work on that mode alone...

For what it's worth, the FIFA mode is average anyway. The story is nice albeit cliched but there's zero variation to the mode itself and everything feels predetermined.
I don't reckon there will be either but I'm expecting something unusual given they said "AFL Evolution will deliver a unique experience for footy fans, taking them to the heart of the action in a virtual footy world." Maybe that's just the be a pro mode though.

Wouldn't read too much into that it just sounds like the usual marketing spin (pretty sure something like this would've been said about every AFL game prior to release)

so in other words, lying.

I think what they mean is that they are trying to use all the power of next gen consoles to make the best experience possible for fans who play the video game.

Is it just me or does anyone get the feeling that all 3 parties (WW,tru blu and AFL) are really taking it seriously and giving it a red hot crack this time
Don't mistake a Facebook post for the AFL actually caring. They're getting a license fee, and possibly a cut of every sale. That's all they care about. They wouldn't give a rat's arse about the actual game itself. Old mate Darren Birch wouldn't know a Nintendy Playbox from a toaster.

I have no doubt WW are taking it seriously and trying their best. It just remains to be seen whether their best is actually any good. I'm not confident but I'd love to be proved wrong.