AFL Fixture 2025

Have no problem with a tough draw.
If we want to be the best you want the best and toughest thrown at you.
Bring it on mofos!!

4 contending clubs copped 3 double ups versus top 6 sides whereas we only got 2. Some people still want to cry about the toughness of our draw though. Granted this reaction has been the most tempered I have seen in well over a decade.

Very happy with our fixture, great to be back in primetime. With young kids, half the games the last few seasons I've had to watch on delay or via my phone between kids sports and birthday parties, so it's nice to be playing a lot more night footy.

Sucks that Marvel tenants are slowly creeping up on our MCG home games (Carlton with the same number as us WTF), but beyond that I think we've been looked after well.

Because Carlton and Essendon have wisely lobbied for more MCG games. On the other hand - The Bulldogs and Saints only have 2 total and Norf have 3. I don't hate * and Carltank getting more at the G if it just means that the minnow clubs are playing at Marvel more - the more those two sides play at the G the more future away games we play against them will not be at Marvel.

That's a cracking fixture. Pretty tough, but that's great.

If I could change one thing I would play the Dees at UTAS and Port at the G. But, overall, can't wait.
Agree.

The five day break before the Suns game is my only concern.

It's in our hands now.

All MCG games except against the reigning premiers are against MCG tenants. Carlton (a part marvel tenant) have more MCG games than us and double ups against West Coast and North and finished one spot below us
Carlton finished 8th and we finished 6th.

So we get top 6 draw they get middle 6 draw.

They have to play the premiers twice and we don't play them at all.

Of course Swans and cats looked after with the cushy fixture…

For **** sake - both of them have the maximum 3 double ups versus top 6 sides from this year. But yes - 'looked after'.

Sydney have to play Brisbane, Port, Freo, GWS and Port twice and travel to Perth twice - how exactly is that being looked after?

The good:
  • So glad to be back in Prime time, so the draw is great from that perspective :)
  • Mix of teams we play is fine - tough start, but a good test for us and could launch our season
  • Centenary game against Tiggers is a nice touch.
  • At least our "home" Marvel game is not against a Marvel tenant.
The "I live in Melbourne and I like to use my membership to go to home games at the MCG, so....." view:
  • a 7-week break between home games at the 'G btw rounds 1 and 8 - Huh?
  • 3 home games in a row at UTAS... in the middle of winter.... and at least 1 of them as a night game... WTF!
  • ..... resulting in a 9-week break between MCG home games between rounds 11-20... Say whaaaat?
  • meaning that we have only 4 home games at the G between Rounds 1 to 20 inclusive - SWEET MERCIFUL CRAP!!
  • I know we play some away games at the 'G in amongst all that, so there is that. But it's not the same.
  • Port in Tassie is a gutless, money-driven decision by the AFL.
At least we finish with a nice little flurry of some big home games :)

So, all in all, from a football/team perspective, pretty happy.

The "I live in Melbourne and I like to use my membership to go to home games at the MCG, so....." view:
  • 3 home games in a row at UTAS... in the middle of winter.... and at least 1 of them as a night game... WTF!
  • ..... resulting in a 9-week break between MCG home games between rounds 11-20... Say whaaaat?
  • meaning that we have only 4 home games at the G between Rounds 1 to 20 inclusive - SWEET MERCIFUL CRAP!!
  • I know we play some away games at the 'G in amongst all that, so there is that. But it's not the same.

When I look at the fixture I always ignore the home and away element with games at the MCG. We sell 4 games to Tassie and that always buggers up our home MCG allotment and throws them all over the place. The fact that I can go to the G and watch us 7 times in the opening 12 rounds and then 3 times in the final 5 rounds makes up for the fact that I have to endure going to Marvel twice in the winter months. The worst stretch is the month we don't play in Melbourne but I can live with that.

And to people bent out of shape about the Port game in Launceston. My suggestion - when we play the Lions here in May make sure you get out in big numbers and get at least 60,000 to the game. If you don't - expect more and more interstate teams to play us at Marvel or UTAS.

The good:
  • So glad to be back in Prime time, so the draw is great from that perspective :)
  • Mix of teams we play is fine - tough start, but a good test for us and could launch our season
  • Centenary game against Tiggers is a nice touch.
  • At least our "home" Marvel game is not against a Marvel tenant.
At least we finish with a nice little flurry of some big home games :)

So, all in all, from a football/team perspective, pretty happy.
Don't forget the three home games we get in Week 1 and 3 and 4 of the finals

For **** sake - both of them have the maximum 3 double ups versus top 6 sides from this year. But yes - 'looked after'.

Sydney have to play Brisbane, Port, Freo, GWS and Port twice and travel to Perth twice - how exactly is that being looked after?
It is kinda bullshit that Sydney and Geelong have an easier fixture than North.

Don't forget the three home games we get in Week 1 and 3 and 4 of the finals
This makes me all tingly inside :)

When I look at the fixture I always ignore the home and away element with games at the MCG. We sell 4 games to Tassie and that always buggers up our home MCG allotment and throws them all over the place. The fact that I can go to the G and watch us 7 times in the opening 12 rounds and then 3 times in the final 5 rounds makes up for the fact that I have to endure going to Marvel twice in the winter months. The worst stretch is the month we don't play in Melbourne but I can live with that.

And to people bent out of shape about the Port game in Launceston. My suggestion - when we play the Lions here in May make sure you get out in big numbers and get at least 60,000 to the game. If you don't - expect more and more interstate teams to play us at Marvel or UTAS.

TBH I'm generally the same when it comes to the H&A fixturing, as it isn't too long between home matches.. I think this year might have had 1 longish break... but I reckon next year does seem just a bit extreme with the 2 long breaks and the associated dearth of home games btw rounds 1 and 20. Obviously caused by compressing 3 home Tassie games the way they have... never seem that before.

It is kinda bullshit that Sydney and Geelong have an easier fixture than North.
It's pretty subjective though. Sydney, as the Minor Premier, is going to find it easier to win games than North, who were second last. Every game is hard when you're shit.

Oh Yeah Yes GIF

This is pretty much it. If you’re ever confused why things are the way they are just follow the money trail.

It’s a recipe for disaster if we got to round 18-19 and port or us are lingering in the bottom half of the ladder. Its 30k in a 100k stadium

Because Carlton and Essendon have wisely lobbied for more MCG games. On the other hand - The Bulldogs and Saints only have 2 total and Norf have 3. I don't hate * and Carltank getting more at the G if it just means that the minnow clubs are playing at Marvel more - the more those two sides play at the G the more future away games we play against them will not be at Marvel.
From last year, Blues and Dogs are playing and Extra MCG games, Cats and Dees one less. Same number of MCG games, one less at Marvel overall. Bombers did it get the extra MCG home games and plays fewer away games there next season.

AFL Fixture 2025