AFL Hunter Coast 2013 - Black Diamond Cup

Good to see a few clubs have already started training this week. Its going to be an intersting year. Could be one of the closest compeitions we've seen in Premier Division with the likes of Terrigal keen to back to back.

Cariff and City will xontinue to be strong forces, but it will be intersting to see the likes of KV, W Bay & Lake Macq on where they have improved since finishing the 2012 season.

Will Singo be able to live upto all the off field hype and hit the ground running in Premier Division?

There's some excitement down on the coast atm. With the iron grip City & Cardiff had on the premiership broken, perhaps an all CC based club Grand Final in 2013.

From all reports it certainly sounds like the comp will be the most even possibly ever. Great to hear a few clubs are already on the track and from the sounds of it, are all getting strong numbers. With the dissolving of the Under 18s competition, it should ensure the top 18 year olds, and possibly some 17 year olds are playing senior footy fresh, which will only add to the improvement of the standard of the comp.

Be interesting to see what happens with player movement and clubs ins and outs. Will Terrigal, City and Cardiff remain as the big 3? Will Warners, Killarney, Lake Mac or Singleton push up the ladder this year and challenge the usual contenders? Will players like Polglase, Roach, Mumford, Singleton, Mitchell, Brassington etc, step up and take over from the usual names we see dominating games? And what about the clubs in the lower divisions? Will they start to build and push to have a really strong premier comp in 4-5 years time? I hope they do as it would be great to see a good 10 team premier comp in a few years. In a region with close to 1 million people in it, surely this is an achievable goal if everyone is on the same page.

Good luck to all teams, committees and the board over the pre-season and 2013. I hope it is the best year the league has produced.

After the changes forced on the league last year, it is pretty exciting to be looking forward to this year. The divisional structure looks like it is going to promote some growth and hopefully will see the quality of football improve as well. Hopefully clubs will get what they want from the team nominations but, even if not, they can now see a way forward. Very much looking forward to getting underway.

Season to start on the 6th April

Prem div
Cardiff
KV
Lake Macq
Singo
City
Terrigal
Warners

1st Div
Cardiff
KV
Maitland
Nelsons
City
Terrigal
Warners
Wyong

2nd Div
Maitland
Nelsons
Lake Macq
Singo
City
Terrigal
Warners

More info on bdafl website

Looks about how we thought it would... Great to see Nelsons and Maitland put in a 2nd side (the 3 divs makes it easier to promote growth in numbers than the old system)

Was pretty confident the Dockers werent going to field 3 teams (even tho it on their web) and as such the div 1 comp looks really good (and even!) Disapointed Wyong are only fielding one team after scrapping for so long under the old system (this would of been perfect time for 2nd side,but I guess they couldnt muster the req numbers)

Premier div should be reasonably competitive, with 'the big 3' around the same level, and then the bottom 4 around the same mark as well (depending on recruits etc) all are capable of making finals and/or causing an upset or 2.

Div 1 should be real close now with Singo rightfully in the top flight, Nelsons will surely be gunning for a title after a few seasons of almost. Wyong should be up there too (with some ins and outs looking to keep them at the same level as last year at least) the prem div reserve teams have all had good success at this level with most winning it at diff times City,Cardiff were about there last year Terrigal will want a good 2's team to help cover for any injuries etc to their top team and KV and Warners both proved they should be in div 1 last year (Warners winning it,as they have the old reserve grade in recent years).
Maitland will be interesting as they need to continue the momentum they started last year,it wont be easy but I think they made the right call in going up (to challenge and improve their better players and maybe entice more as they at a higher level but also to allow more players into a 2nd team)

Div 2 really is for new/returning players,ppl with time constraints familly work etc but I think it is great that we finally have this option!!
It will really be an unknown this year but you would think the prem div reserve teams should go ok as they have fielded a team the last couple years and the Dockers made finals (the other 3 all been promoted) they will prob start favourites.
It will be good to see what City,Warners and Terr look like but an early guess would be a mixture of old faces that may have not played much in recent years mixed with some new/under 18 young players getting used to playing against men.
Nelsons have had good numbers/success in 16 and 18 year old levels so if they can keep them they could be a surprise at this level!!

I like the eveness of the competition on paper at this stage ... Singo in Premier, Maitland in Div 1 and the a couple of new club teams coming in ... not sure about Nelsons, Maitland, or Singo Div 2 sides are going to be competitive but a great place for some social footy to occur nonetheless.

Agree with Deitzy about the positive of no U18 comp ... fresh talented youngsters getting go in Premier. I also thinkit is an age gap in the comp. Not sure how we fix it as we have no got the numbers for 3 Divs and and U18/U19 comp as well.

Think it is def worth looking at 16 per side in Div 2 and possibly free agents for this Div so as numbers can be maintained ... maybe some of the Masters boys could fill in or randoms around the place to get a casual game (ie Free Agents) with any side looking for numbers.

I like the eveness of the competition on paper at this stage ... Singo in Premier, Maitland in Div 1 and the a couple of new club teams coming in ... not sure about Nelsons, Maitland, or Singo Div 2 sides are going to be competitive but a great place for some social footy to occur nonetheless.

Agree with Deitzy about the positive of no U18 comp ... fresh talented youngsters getting go in Premier. I also thinkit is an age gap in the comp. Not sure how we fix it as we have no got the numbers for 3 Divs and and U18/U19 comp as well.

Think it is def worth looking at 16 per side in Div 2 and possibly free agents for this Div so as numbers can be maintained ... maybe some of the Masters boys could fill in or randoms around the place to get a casual game (ie Free Agents) with any side looking for numbers.

Looks like quite a few coaching gigs have been appointed with some of the 'developing' clubs looking outside their own ranks (hopefully this may help bridge the gap).

Singleton have Harbrow coaching (from Cardiff) so should know how to build and be successful and Maitland in div 1 who I thought might struggle to make an impact have former penno premiership player rob eddy player/coaching them and he has been in 'the system' for awhile so maybe he has a few blokes he can drag with him (but more importantly get the best out of what they have!!)

I think Nelsons,Singo and to a lesser extent Maitland will be competitive because they will be playing against each other (therefore all in the same boat) and against other clubs 3's which surely they can at least compete in!! As iv stated before Dockers would be favourites and they didnt win a game for a year or 2!!! A very open div!! and a great way to get more ppl into our game

Great to see some new coaches in the comp and can confirm Rob Eddy is a quality bloke and coach. I think he will do wonders with the Maitland guys. Not sure on Harbrow (before my time) but his old man is life member of Cardiff and we wish him all the best as well.
Also good to see some genuine excitement about the year ahead and hopefully quality footy to go with it.

Great to see some new coaches in the comp and can confirm Rob Eddy is a quality bloke and coach. I think he will do wonders with the Maitland guys. Not sure on Harbrow (before my time) but his old man is life member of Cardiff and we wish him all the best as well.
Also good to see some genuine excitement about the year ahead and hopefully quality footy to go with it.

Good first week at Maitland with training a lot of fun. About forty on the track so far with a few more to come. We're looking forward to a good year - we'll certainly be fit! Rob Eddy will bring a new dimension to the club and we hope to get between 60 and 70 on the books. It's growing out here as the word gets around. Still had guys turning up this week who didn't know there was a team last year until it was too late. While the guys are training, the girls have the personal trainer down as well so there is a big group at each session too. Just can't wait for things to really get started.

What is everyone's predictions 1st through to last for all 3 grades?
And at this early stage who will win the medals??

Hey mate good question... and the answer would need someone who can look into the future (and prob make some money!! lol) That we prob cannot predict the ladders top to bottom is great news for the comp and gives most the chance to be optimistic about a good season ahead (different clubs different goals) but most should be aiming for finals action if not premeirships!!

The ins/outs will obviously have a big say on procedings but given all that Il give it a shot...

Prem: City,Cardiff,Terr will go 1 2 3 and Im guessing in that order (someone mentioned the poss neafl players from up north have gone eleswhere and not Terr as posted earlier so that why iv dropped them down a spot or 2. KV to snag 4th but thinking (and hopeing) Warners Singo and Dockers are all around the mark and pushing each other!!

Div 1: Nelsons,Wyg (who have 1 gun returning confirmed but another prob out) still around the mark and on their day can win it, Cardiff,City to make finals just over Warners and KV with Maitland also surprising a few and being right up there battling for 4th. Terrigal will do their best but as before without a few top ins in prem div cant see them improving in this grade just yet.

Div 2: absolutly any ones game and thats prob how it should be!!! Nearly all teams could finish near top or near bottom depending on who plays (and higher grades injuries etc) No idea on medals as players yet to be confirmed but this grade will prob be an 'experienced' older player who can get heaps of the ball but maybe just not as quick as he used to be!! lol (hence why they not in higher grade)

Happy fot others to give it a shot and see how close we get!!!

A little help requested. What do other clubs do with respect to physios or medical personnel for weekends as far as compensation? We have a ripper who comes on Saturdays and also rehabs Tuesday nights. He does get the benefit of some referrals but also cancels blocks of time to be there for us. Do clubs pay their physics? If so, is it too rude to ask how much or what the structure is?

Great to see some decent, well written news stories up on the league website over the last couple of weeks. Certainly keeps the interest up and good to see what the clubs are doing down that way. Something I thought the league had really dropped off on over the last couple of years, but great to see this is being rectified. Great way to sell the league and clubs.
Missing Garry B already from AFL Sydney....do you think the improvement in the league website already, has something to do with him ?

It's clearance time, and I see that Mitch Crawford has put in for a clearance from Pennant Hills into the BD comp (or whatever it's called this year).
He played some handy games for Penno last year and topped up with the Swans on a few occasions. But it seems that his time has passed so he is going back to his roots - did he come from the Newcastle area ?

Yes he did/does, and will be a handy inclusion at the Blues.

A few interesting clearances lodged so far. It'll be interesting once all clubs have lodged there clearance for the preseason. City have a few incoming, as do WB by the look. A few players swapping clubs which is always interesting.

Hey guys
Has anyone got any trial games booked in yet?
Singo have three, against Maitland, Muswellbrook and City.

Exciting times.

AFL Hunter Coast 2013 - Black Diamond Cup