AFL LIVE 2011 - 360, PS3 & PC - Part 18 - READ FAQ BEFORE POSTING

There's been games that tell you much of what someone is doing in a game (like for Blops it's "Playing TDM on Summit" or something like NBA 2K gives you "Is browsing the menu", but I've never seen something as in-depth as updating the scores in a match.

I have seen cricket games that show the live score because my brother was laughing at me when i was 4/8 of 4 overs, he was following it in his room on his xbox.

Does anyone have a pic of the sydney swans starting line up?

Go to http://www.bigant.com/screens/*****.jpg

Replace the ***** with the team name. Make sure you use capitals.

Sydney.jpg

Had an interesting thought last night, one that Glenno can probably shoot down or confirm for me.

How much trouble can your average EB staffer get in from breaking a street date?

How hard would it be to say, slip the bloke behind the counter a $50 or hell even 10 people slip him a fiver or tenner for him to release it early. I know the bribing thing is illegal for him to take the cash (at least I'd assume it is) but for those of you that are absoutely hurting to own this game, it would be a possibility no? All you'd need to know is, when EB/Game/JB have it in stock.

Probably wouldn't work though, they'd be too scared to try it for $50 cash

I don't think employees that work during the day are likely to be that desperate for cash that they will risk their jobs for a tenner or even 50 bucks. Its generally managers that work during the days anyways. In busier stores at least)

They can be fired on the spot. Selling a game before the street date is a massive breach of our contract with the Vendor (in this case, HES) The punishment to the company depends on how annoyed the Vendor is.

K-Mart got slapped with a MASSIVE penalty for breaking the Fable 2 date

Glenno, If it trade in MW2, Smackdown vs Raw 09, NBA 2k9 How much would i get at EB.
Im not aiming for much just enought to cut the price down. Im running low in cash! :D

Call your local store, i don't know every trade price for every game. If you make it 4 games though, you would get an extra 30% value on top of the total. Trade 8 games or more and get 50% extra

A question for Glenno23: Any further word on a "AFL Live console offer"?
It may be a good time to get rid of the old original 80gb console. Cheers :thumbsu:

Haven't heard anything. The change is due on the Wednesday night ready for Thursday morning. If it happens, i dare say we'll get the marketing for it on the Tuesday/ Monday

street date has to be broken i want this game by monday i cannot wait any longer this is like torture

Its 4 days. Its really not that long. I guess having a wife, a kid and another due soon, i don't get time to dwell on this. I guess kids will be on holidays and very bored. So i can see why you want it..... but its 4 days!

To clarify the "sell out" - I believe the game will be on the shelf for day one at some stores, however, some stores will run out early, others that have ordered heaps will have it for as long as a week.

There are some retailers that have not ordered enough copies and I think they may well be dropping the price to $89 with no chance of having stock and are doing it to cause disruption at other retailers via price matches (and of course to drag people through their stores to the back counter :) )

Bastards!

Haven't seen how many i'm getting, but the rumour is i'm getting a huge amount (on top of my orders) due to us being the official launch store (on the Thursday 21st! :p)

EB Games Browns Plains? I have a preordered copy btw so I have 48 hours thank god haha.

Did EB Games in Browns Plains get many copies off your head Ross? :p

Do you really think Ross would know how many each store is getting?

Its 4 days. Its really not that long. I guess having a wife, a kid and another due soon, i don't get time to dwell on this. I guess kids will be on holidays and very bored. So i can see why you want it..... but its 4 days!

yeah on holidays getting bored wanna have a full week and a bit to play be4 gotta do homework and concentrate on school :thumbsdown:

I got so excited when I was on my ps3 and saw Ross playing afl live. Also loved the updating scores through friends list. For some reason going back to getting my butt kicked on FIFA 10 wasn't very exciting after the intial excitment of seeing Ross playing the game. The way I saw the score of Ross's game it was about Carlton 3.0.18 vs Collingwood 3.4.22 why you ask Ross?

I think it would be a good idea if the next game had it where you can adjust certain difficulties eg. set shot difficulty, marking, kicking,etc.

i have a master plan to get it early
Tuesday arvo i will call eb games and say i saw someone on my xbox live/psn playing afl live hopefully it will work

Luckily for me, my uni break starts on the...

You guessed it, the 21st. :p

Ha, exactly the same for me as well!:D

Sometimes, on the very odd occasion, life just works out nicely doesn't it.:p

Same for me and they even cancelled my business law lecture for that day as well so now I finish uni earlier, can get it earlier, and no doubt will not be making it down to footy training that night

just a question regarding the kick 5000 goals trophy when your playing human vs. human offline do both players goals go towards that or is it just when playing single player games??

There's been games that tell you much of what someone is doing in a game (like for Blops it's "Playing TDM on Summit" or something like NBA 2K gives you "Is browsing the menu", but I've never seen something as in-depth as updating the scores in a match.

Yeah we get that, but also with sports games we get live scores as well, cricket has it, FIFA has it, NBA 2K has it (usually shows what quarter as well), the awesome thing about NBA is if someone is playing My Player, their gamercard status shows their live match stats.

I am a ex-Xbox 360 player (changed to PS3 :thumbsu:) and I'm pretty sure that for the 360 it had updated scores on NBA 2K9 when you were viewing what someone was doing. Could be wrong but I'm pretty sure about it.
As for the PS3, yes, first time I have seen this as well

Have any of you 3 checked to see how the pre-orders have been going in the area, im wondering if its that necessary to pre order in traralgon.

well im wondering the same but everyone on this site said that all the copies of afl live has been shipped out. so i was scared that because i haven't pre ordered it i might miss out, but Ross reassured me before that alot of shops will have spare copies soooo i'd say on thursday hit eb games and if there is no copies head over to k mart, and if your desperate head to mid valley in morwell and check big w and eb games.

and if your desparate for money punch sum teth out an put em under ur pilow.

Under your psn it said - AFL Live CARL (1.0 6) vs COLL (1.3 9) when I saw it.

:eek:
VERY impressed by this.
I know a lot of games have live (game mode) info but I certainly wasn't expecting it in this, the first release. And to go as far as live scores... Employee of the month to whoever wrote the code/ came up with that inclusion.

Ross, I've known you for 3 years and I never thought you had an evil streak, but after reading your last few posts I'm seeing you in a new light.

Tease ;)

Yeah, once a few PM's came in I felt pretty bad... I got over it when I beat Collingwood, was going for a draw but just couldn't bring myself to do it! :)

just a question regarding the kick 5000 goals trophy when your playing human vs. human offline do both players goals go towards that or is it just when playing single player games??

I believe all goals count... that one is going to take quite a while!

There will be copies on the shelf in major cities on day one, less so in the RL states. I could be wrong, has been known to happen :), but with every copy shipped and invoiced supply might be tight.

.And yet not one trophy earned as of yet...retail version or still gold master?

Yeah... well... um... my excuse was I was trying different things to make sure the disk was good :)

I'm happy to say it was the retail build.

I and anyone else from Big Ant won't be stealing anyone's thunder and getting the first Platinum - we will be sure to leave that honour to someone that deserves it.

I don't think employees that work during the day are likely to be that desperate for cash that they will risk their jobs for a tenner or even 50 bucks. Its generally managers that work during the days anyways. In busier stores at least)

They can be fired on the spot. Selling a game before the street date is a massive breach of our contract with the Vendor (in this case, HES) The punishment to the company depends on how annoyed the Vendor is.

I thought that might have been the case mate :D in any rate I'm happy to wait until Thursday to pick it up. Ive waited 26 years for a good AFL game (well, 22 if you include the original NES one which was amazing) whats an extra few days! :cool:

Yeah... well... um... my excuse was I was trying different things to make sure the disk was good :)

I'm happy to say it was the retail build.

Well I think it's a good thing you're on here posting. If you'd found any NEW bugs, you'd probably be in crisis mode :D

I just have this feeling I am going to get a missed call on Saturday whilst playing footy that you can come in and pick up your copy of AFL Live.

Well 1 week to go...... For those people going crazy like myself, see if you can answer this question.

Who are the 10 current day players who have featured in every AFL game since the PS1 version in 1998? I'll post the answer tonight, good luck!!

Well 1 week to go...... For those people going crazy like myself, see if you can answer this question.

Who are the 12 current day players who have featured in every AFL game since the PS1 version in 1998? I'll post the answer tonight, good luck!!

Brent Harvey
Dustin Fletcher
Simon Black
Luke Power

cant think of any more off the top of my head