AFL LIVE 2011 - 360, PS3 & PC - Part 9 - READ FAQ BEFORE POSTING

Re: New AFL Video Game - 360, PS3 & PC - Part 9 - READ FAQ BEFORE POSTING

1qs6yq.jpg
Yep, awesome cover. Definitely trumps the real one tbh.

If I was working at a JB or EB and could put up 'slicks' other than those shitty AFL 2006 one's I would've asked for a fully printable version of that and used it in the interim, it just looks right.

Not sure if this has been discussed but will the ratings of players, season statistics and so on be updated on a regular basis via live updates? Similar to NBA 2K11 where player's ratings and season statistics are updated regularly.

Seriously, why is a ruck contest featured on the cover. If they wanna use something from the Grand Final, well, you know what I'd want. But even a pack contesting for the mark would be better.Otherwise something like a FIFA cover would be best. Also the 'live' made out of lightbulbs does look preeety tacky.

Although, this could be HES's answer to the use of AFL 2006 in advertising. I'm hoping it's just something to use for advertising for the time being until the real cover is finalised.

Not sure if this has been discussed but will the ratings of players, season statistics and so on be updated on a regular basis via live updates? Similar to NBA 2K11 where player's ratings and season statistics are updated regularly.

Ok, I'm really over this and so is everyone else. READ THE FAQ. It says it in the title for a reason. If something is not in the FAQ then and only then post. Just because you're new isn't an excuse. If you can spell, I'm sure you're able to read.

Prefer the real one. Not that it's not a cracking effort JW I just prefer the originality and game sense that the real one provides, rather than going for a FIFAish look.

I don't really care which players are in the photo btw. Someone said do HES know footy at all, Ross did say the photos were supplied by the AFL. It's no biggie. I love the cover.

I think it's Kim D

LMFAO , it could well and truley be, she does like st.kilda and collingwood players.

I dont really think the cover is that great, it does look good, but its not that appealing and the AFL logo stands out and doesnt really fit in, maybe they could try lowering the opacity of it. The "live" text needs a thin boarder around each letter and it doesnt really match the afl logo. I also really dislike jolly and gardnier going up in the ruck its not in the best position.

looks fairly poorly photo shoped, in this i mean it looks like any joe blow with decent photoshop skills can put in the pictures in and fix up the lighting in a couple of hours.

This is only my oppinion but, others may see it differently to how i see it.

I noticed that the GAME site only listed the Wii, PS3 and XBOX 360 versions. Are the PC version still on? (just want to make sure since I don't have a console and really would love to play this game)

PC is still on but it will come out later due to piracy.

Prefer the real one. Not that it's not a cracking effort JW I just prefer the originality and game sense that the real one provides, rather than going for a FIFAish look.

I don't really care which players are in the photo btw. Someone said do HES know footy at all, Ross did say the photos were supplied by the AFL. It's no biggie. I love the cover.

Yeah I completely agree with this :)

Seriously, why is a ruck contest featured on the cover. If they wanna use something from the Grand Final, well, you know what I'd want. But even a pack contesting for the mark would be better.Otherwise something like a FIFA cover would be best. Also the 'live' made out of lightbulbs does look preeety tacky.

Although, this could be HES's answer to the use of AFL 2006 in advertising. I'm hoping it's just something to use for advertising for the time being until the real cover is finalised.

Yeah you would think if they were going to go down that line with a cover that they would have goddard all over it.

So many people criticising and nit-picking the box art. Sigh. Can't believe some of you... missed the fact that the Grand Final is being played under lights and the players only have one shadow. Deal-breaker for sure. :p

Personally I'll be looking at the game as I play it, not staring at the cover - so it could be a photo of Demetriou smiling like a Cheshire Cat for all I care. ;) :thumbsu:

So many people criticising and nit-picking the box art. Sigh. Can't believe some of you... missed the fact that the Grand Final is being played under lights and the players only have one shadow. Deal-breaker for sure. :p

Personally I'll be looking at the game as I play it, not staring at the cover - so it could be a photo of Demetriou smiling like a Cheshire Cat for all I care. ;) :thumbsu:

i do agree with you in the highlighted parts that the quality of the game itself is more important than the cover , but a cover is very important, a good cover can attract the eye of comsumers which means more sales, it is also an important part of the games marketing.

As strange as it might seem there's more to a cover than the content.

There are many things that need to be considered, for example put it on the shelf with 100 over covers, does it catch the eye or blend in with all of the other covers? There are great covers here but only in isolation, they would not survive well on the shelf.

The cover is meant to sell the game in the same way that a cereal box does.

As it happens, I actually like the cover and think that the AFL and HES have done a great job.

I personally like it, it is unique and hearing nothing about the game i would go and buy it because it has that ''want factor'' grab me kind of thing....
This time stkilda will beat collingwood in a grand final :D
77 days ehh.... thats kinda cool.... wish it was tomorrow though :) :)

this cover and your one with swan are both very appealing to the eye, great use of colours that all fit in , its simple and blends in well, the only down fall is that its a bit of a rip off of FIFA covers, which is also a good thing because adleast you know they are successful covers and do give a sporting feel to it.

No worries mate. I only made it for fun and to test out my skills after a good 2 years without using Photoshop.

Most sporting covers this days do follow the same trend though, especially EA sports games. Will usually feature a star of the game who has been contrasted to hell with some sort of sports arena background.

This.

As they say, don't judge a book by its cover or in this case, don't judge a game by it's cover.
;)

This.

As they say, don't judge a book by its cover or in this case, don't judge a game by it's cover.
;)

yeah i agree, but at the same time generally 60% of the time people buy a book based on the cover, thats why the cover is important.

I'm very annoyed that the game will be released on April 24th, really don't want to wait another two months, not happy at all.

Also, normally you would have a marquee player on the cover right? Pendles, Swan and Hayes(?) are marquee I guess but FIFA and Madden covers look alot better. Although this cover will capture the eye and look different to others. 'Live' is pretty gimmicky though

I'm very annoyed that the game will be released on April 24th, really don't want to wait another two months, not happy at all.

Also, normally you would have a marquee player on the cover right? Pendles, Swan and Hayes(?) are marquee I guess but FIFA and Madden covers look alot better. Although this cover will capture the eye and look different to others. 'Live' is pretty gimmicky though

My thoughts exactly, cover doesnt bother me to much but id prefer it without the 'Live'