AFL on iOS

Hello Big Footy!
Ah you beat us to it! Yes it seems the game has gone live almost a full day before expected, so I am posting the information as promised before it goes up on our own site! ;)

This AFL version is an adaption of the popular Wii version, and features : Quick Match, Custom Match, Career Manager and Competition Mode, life like animation, realistic ball physics, true to life 3D stadium, quality graphics & sound, fully animated 3D motion captured players, dynamic camera angles, Over 50 licensed teams from the AFL, VFL, TAC Cup, and under 18’s competitions, authentic club songs, customise players & teams, Achievements, Intuitive virtual controls, Very easy through to Legend difficulty and much more!

Indeed the game is aud$9.49 however we will not be charging for a 2012 version as this will be a major free update (and basically a sequel). Further to that, we want people to have their say, let us know your thoughts and feedback, and we will try our very best to add the features that people want most as time goes on, to make the best game we can for all of us.

I hope you can understand our position, and consider supporting us.

For more information, questions, tips, screenshots or such, please post here, or email us.

Thank you again for your support!

Sincerely,

Great to hear that you will updating the games rosters among with other things. I can understand people complaining about he price because it's a mobile game but really for what you are getting its pretty damn good. Add on the fact that come next year the game will be complete with 2012 teams and players and being upgraded, thats pretty damn good.

Question for you WW, will the Android version work on a Galaxy 10.1 tab?

Cheers and good luck with the game!

Have purchased and rate it pretty high.
Now it may just be because its an AFL game on the iphone but it was enough to get $10 out of me.

It is certainly something that will take up my time over this Xmas period.

Cheers WW.

Hi WW, first of congrats on getting the game running on ios, graphically much better than the wii version. after my first game ive got to be honest, didnt like it very much. but then turned off the mini games and found that the v easy setting was too slow so bumped that to medium, with these settings changed game feels much more fluid, i like how marking is now 1 button press as opposed to the wii version, overall i cant believe we have an afl game on my mobile, brilliant

suggested fixes

player ( in control ) responsiveness feels sluggish as opposed to ai, wonder if this could be fine tuned. maybe controller button could be a bit bigger as you tend to lose it while playing

make the handball button as big as the kick button ( screen is quite small and understand size limitations )

will let you know if i think of anymore, great effort guys

Played it on my iphone 4 and ipad 1, mixed impressions.

Its technically very impressive to have the full simulation running on a mobile device at a good frame rate. However the actual game is really clunky, and the controls are not very well suited to a touch device at all.

It is better on the ipad with the extra space, but i think some of the systems need to redesigned or tweaked for ios. Managing sprint/stamina is really clunky and should probably just be automatic like the nhl series does. The game could also benefit from a 'homing' tackle button like the 360/ps3 versions have, where you hold the tackle button and your character automatically runs towards the ball carrier, the pick up ball button should 'home in' on the ball, the current system is a bit janky.

overall technically impressive but the game has a fair bit of scope for improvement. i am however impressed that Wicked Witch got this out so smothly, and that their dedicated to free updates and improvements so i dont mind paying the 9 bucks, i just cant wait for the 2012 list update so the eagles arn't the worst team in the comp!!!!!!! grrrrrrrrrr:rolleyes:

I don't like how the left touch screen moves everytime you move it off the screen (sets to a new place).

Far too often I have to readjust my thumb to see wtf is going on and it keeps moving. There's only a small delay, but it's there.

It should be set.

The game is really clunky and annoying to play. However it looks great and plays at a steady rate. Does anyone know how to disable the stupid mini-games because they are soooo annoying? Cheers fellas

Hi guys,

Thanks for the comments so far! Yes you can turn them off under 'mini contests' in the options. Here you can change camera modes, slow downs, zooms and a range of other things.

Difficulty and some other settings can be changed to increase the speed and fluidity of play.

Please let us know if this helps, perhaps they should default to 'off'

Everyone let us know the other options you want! We can add more options and settings in the next update so everyone gets to play the game the way they want.

This is as much YOUR afl game as it is ours!

Spread the word! ;)

Purchased it today and had a few games so far. Basically speed wins, you can't tackle people. It's far to hard to get in the right position to press the button, a button to hold down would be much better. Seems seriously slow, needs to be more smoother. Can't really pass a ball and kicking for goal is hard. Set shots should go into a mode like AFL live.

If you got the gameplay of AFL live but the features of your app you'd have an absolute winner.

I would recommend this game to anyone who enjoys afl whether that be playing, watching ect. Cheers for making an AFL game for the iPhone and iPad:) really appreciate it.

Agree with the comments above about the homing tackle and pick up ball. Very hard to get the right angle with the controls and my players over steps the ball a lot and misses tackles.

A had a bit of a chuckle when I saw the celebrations at the end of the match. Pavlich was running around doing an aeroplane and the opposition was slapping the ground and having a big sook. :)

This is AFL, not Soccer!

SoRry to harp on about it but player responsiveness really needs a tweak, feels like your stuck in mud! Also I tend not to use handball because of the randomness, I think auto select the nearest teammate would work really well especially with the small screen ( like bigants version ). I hate it when your clear and the balls near you the sluggish response means that an opposition player who was no where near it gets there before you!!!

Had an issue returning to a saved competition - just got eliminated from the NAB cup playing as the Dons, rather than allow me to play my round 1 matchup v the Doggies, the game loaded up Tigers v Blues instead.

Haven't replicated the issue, but keen to hear if other users had this problem?

Aside from that am enjoying it muchly!

Got this a couple of days ago. Not much of a fan of the actual gameplay itself (though I haven't played it too much tbh), but I am enjoying the "Career Manager" mode a fair bit so far. Am up to round 16 just simulating the games as Hawthorn and am coming about 10th.

A few things;

Stamina - The players' stamina seems to drop rather quickly during the course of a season. In particular, the Hawk's defense can't seem to play more than 2-3 consecutive games before most of them need a rest in the reserves to regain their stamina. I normally let my players' stamina get down to about 75 before giving them a rest for a week, is this about right? I understand that each player has a stamina rating and so naturally each player's stamina will deplete at a different rate, and I also know that I can train them using the "time-trial drill" to increase their stamina levels, but so far I've been struggling to keep my team on the park! Which brings me to my next point.

Injuries/Suspensions - OK, so not so much the suspensions, but the injuries seem to happen quite frequently so far in my season. So far in 16 rounds I've lost 10-15 players to injury ranging mostly between 2-7 weeks but also including losing Hodge with an ACL for 54 weeks, Roughead with a PCL for 48 weeks and Young for 14 weeks with an arm injury I think it was. I reckon I've also had about 10 players up for suspension as well ranging from 1-8 weeks. Managed to get a few guys off though by appealing :thumbsu:

Stats - Seem extremely random most times. Some players star in one game and then get 2 touches in the next game and I even had a case where Isaac Smith had 8 marks for 4 disposals :eek:. Have also had my substitute player star with 30+ disposals more than once which would be ok except that my substitute player is normally the worst player in my 22...Think some major work needs to be done on this front...

Positions - Some of the player's preferred positions are laughable, but I guess it's only a minor thing really. Stratton on a wing? Bailey at full forward instead of the ruck? Some of the player's overall ratings aren't perfect either, but you get that.

Also, I wouldn't mind a bit of a rundown on the different match tactics for each position and if they actually do anything when you simulate a game instead of playing it? Anyway, despite the above issues/queries, like I said, I'm rather enjoying the managing aspect of the game so far, can't wait to get to trade and draft time! Good, solid effort WW.

Bought it a few weeks ago and it was pretty good but I seem to play it less and less because of the difficulty. It has just become a tackle fest.
The brownlow medal kind of got me excited. I thought there was going to be some kind of ceremony or something so maybe in the next game you could add a short cut scene of the brownlow medal and show how many brownlow votes your own player got. There should also be a cut scene of the person holding the norm smith medal or something.
Really like the diversity of modes i.e. Under 18s, VFL, AFL that kind of stuff

Graphics - the people should really fix the hair colour because I saw Mitch Morton with dark brown hair when he clearly has blonde hair. But since mobile device apps aren't really as good as computer or console graphics i don't really have anything to complain about.

Bugs - keeps crashing at least 3 or 4 times a day

Excellent job in expanding your market to not only the Wii market but also the mobile market

Quality app wicked witch studios, havent put it down hardly since i bought it the other day. love the career manager mode, carlton dominating the comp 3 premierships in a row now :)
cheers

I joined the forum just to add my 2 cents worth as im in the US (aussie) and downloaded the app to play.
Yeh, lovely we can do this on an iphone and the game play aint all that bad. Seriously $9 is nothing to complain about for this quality.
Its really hard to aim for goal, unless im missing something??? I too have missed from the goal square. Its even harder to aim for goal when you are not using the 'behind' camera angle.
Player does feel slow and if they are free on the wing and go to pick up the ball the computer will almost beat you everytime even though they are much further behind the ball.
The tutorials took a bit to work out, i was expecting a gameplay commentry.
Overall, once i worked it out its addicting. But still frustrating- but thats cos i have only had it 2 days.
We really should start logging tips for one another on how each of us are finding ways to play this game well.
All up, great effort first time around.

I joined the forum just to add my 2 cents worth as im in the US (aussie) and downloaded the app to play.
Yeh, lovely we can do this on an iphone and the game play aint all that bad. Seriously $9 is nothing to complain about for this quality.
Its really hard to aim for goal, unless im missing something??? I too have missed from the goal square. Its even harder to aim for goal when you are not using the 'behind' camera angle.
Player does feel slow and if they are free on the wing and go to pick up the ball the computer will almost beat you everytime even though they are much further behind the ball.
The tutorials took a bit to work out, i was expecting a gameplay commentry.
Overall, once i worked it out its addicting. But still frustrating- but thats cos i have only had it 2 days.
We really should start logging tips for one another on how each of us are finding ways to play this game well.
All up, great effort first time around.
Increase your marking. Just tackle, tackle, tackle. You'll eventually get a free kick for holding the ball. Then you can kick and mark your way to the goal square. Increase your kicking power up to like 99 for each player.

they should really tell us what the attributes help, they just tell us jumping, but what does it affect?? their rucking? their marking?
what about strength? their rucking? their hip and shoulder? their sheparding?

also nic naitanui's jumping is underrated in this game. he should at least be in the 90s, when i got him from a trade his jumping was only 70 something.

So after a couple of months of playing this game, i can say its pretty awesome for a phone game- in fact fantastic- i play several games a day. Great shitter, lunch break, before bed etc game!
There are a couple of limitations bought on by the fact its on a phone (buttons so close for example, perhaps even the fact you dont have room for a player map to see where your team mates are located).
One thing, ive gotten pretty good at this game and have now got to the stage where im playing the hardest settings - Legend difficulty. Bloody big step up from the next lowest difficulty. The opposition RARELY drop a mark or miss a goal and they continually bump your players off the ball- which shts me to tears as it seems as though the computer has the ability to multitask with all its players while i can only use the selected player (or my non-selected players dont bump like the computer does).
Marking the ball alone in this game is my greatest challenge. I turned off the mini games as that sucks and takes away the flow of the game. But for the life of me i cant work out how to mark consistently.
Tagging is annoying too, players dont seem to stick to their man no matter what game tactics you use to set that up. Ill have 5 players around the ball and leaving my oppositions forward line open as hell with their players - not fun at times.
Overall, gotta give it to WW for this game. Im not bored yet- just a few niggling things i wished could be fixed.
Any one else playing this still?

So after a couple of months of playing this game, i can say its pretty awesome for a phone game- in fact fantastic- i play several games a day. Great shitter, lunch break, before bed etc game!
There are a couple of limitations bought on by the fact its on a phone (buttons so close for example, perhaps even the fact you dont have room for a player map to see where your team mates are located).
One thing, ive gotten pretty good at this game and have now got to the stage where im playing the hardest settings - Legend difficulty. Bloody big step up from the next lowest difficulty. The opposition RARELY drop a mark or miss a goal and they continually bump your players off the ball- which shts me to tears as it seems as though the computer has the ability to multitask with all its players while i can only use the selected player (or my non-selected players dont bump like the computer does).
Marking the ball alone in this game is my greatest challenge. I turned off the mini games as that sucks and takes away the flow of the game. But for the life of me i cant work out how to mark consistently.
Tagging is annoying too, players dont seem to stick to their man no matter what game tactics you use to set that up. Ill have 5 players around the ball and leaving my oppositions forward line open as hell with their players - not fun at times.
Overall, gotta give it to WW for this game. Im not bored yet- just a few niggling things i wished could be fixed.
Any one else playing this still?

Since this is old thread,
could someone open a new thread on AFL gold for iphone/ipad. (I don't have that privilege yet:)I am new to these forums. I think they are working on a new release or upgrade to the current version. Would be cool to be able to give Wicked Witch/ Tru Blu some feedback. This game is actually very fun,(after you learn all the controls it is actually fairly advanced) takes about a week of play to get used to using the controls but it has lots of options, evades, fake hand passes, different types of kicks, you control when you want to try to specky,mark, spoil and with some upgrades could be an awesome iphone/ipad game.

Does anyone know if Wicked Witch is still posting here and getting feedback? There AFL Gold application, is a great application and I know in the past Wicked Witch has worked from feedback to improve there games.

Cheers and Salud

AFL on iOS